tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : THE PINEAPPLE THIEF - Your Wilderness

THE PINEAPPLE THIEF

Your Wilderness

MusicCD
Prog Rock

[92/100]   

Kscope
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Steven Wilson and Porcupine Tree, along with the The Pineapple Thief, are a concept and a quality brand of the progressive rock. We haven't heard of Porcupine Tree for quite a while (pause, stop?...), so Bruce Soord (singer/guitarist) and his band have become the pioneers of atmospheric and progressive rock. And he does so with gusto on this album.

On Your Wilderness they collaborated with Gavin Harrison (Porcupine Tree), John Gelliwell (Supertramp), Geoffrey Richardson (Caravan, the band for which they did the opening shows years ago, enabling them to grow) and Darran Charles (Godsticks). A lot of names, but the collaboration sparked the creativity, according to Bruce. And you can hear that, because the album sounds atmospheric, but it also contains a very mature and confident sound. As a consequence, Your Wilderness has become a strong record. I discovered the band on the occasion of the release of Someone Here is Missing in 2010. I liked it but I thought that Porcupine Tree was still the absolute prog rock band (with Fear of a Blank Planet and The Incident on their account). But meanwhile, Bruce and his band grew and All The Wars and Magnolia were albums that could compete with the work of Steven Wilson. On Your Wilderness they continue in the same direction. The album contains beautiful atmospheric songs with melodies that make you dream. It is very layered and contains a lot of variety and a kind of warmth, thanks to the vocals (and the backings) and the harmonies. It sounds harmonious and organic without getting bored or becoming stale. Styllistically they sometimes refer to today's Anathema of Kansas, as in Noman's Land or Tear You Up, but everything sounds authentic and is impeccably recorded and mixed: listen to the guitars on Take Your Shot, the great drums of Harrison on In Exile or the wonderful clarinet solo by Helliwell on Fend Yourself. Full of feel and melancholy. There is one long song (nine minutes) among the eight tracks: The Final Thing on My Mind, a track that sounds grand without pathos and megalomania.

Your Wilderness is a top album, perhaps the best yet, containing eight strong adult songs with intensity, melody and depth. Magnolia was more pop rock-oriented, this one is rather progrock. Personally, I find it more interesting. We hear music-making at the highest level, without sounding complicated or complex. This album can also serve as listening and mood music. The Pineapple Thief steps into the void left by Porcupine Tree and does so with gusto! There is also a deluxe edition available with seven songs on a separate disk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Steven Wilson is met Porcupine Tree en samen met The Pineapple Thief een begrip en een kwaliteitsmerk voor de progressieve rock. Nu het stil is geworden rond Porcupine Tree (in pauze, einde?...) is Bruce Soord (zanger/gitarist) met zijn band de voortrekker van de atmosferische progrock.

Er werd voor Your Wilderness onder andere samengewerkt met Gavin Harrison (Porcupine Tree), John Gelliwell (Supertramp), Geoffrey Richardson (Caravan, de band waarvoor ze jaren geleden het voorprogramma deden en waardoor de band begon te groeien) en Darran Charles (Godsticks). Een hele rij namen, maar het wakkerde ook de creativiteit aan volgens Bruce. En dat hoor je. Het album klinkt atmosferisch maar heeft ook een heel volwassen en zelfverzekerd geluid. Zoals je nu al tussen de regels leest is Your Wilderness een sterke plaat geworden. Ik ontdekte de band echt goed na de release van Someone Here is Missing uit 2010. Ik vond het toen een sterke plaat, maar ik koos toch Porcupine Tree als de absolute progrocktopper (die toen Fear of a Blank Planet en The Incident op z'n conto had staan). Maar Bruce en de zijnen groeiden ondertussen en All The Wars en Magnolia zijn albums die met het oeuvre van Steven Wilson kunnen wedijveren. Op Your Wilderness woredt die lijn doorgetrokken. De plaat bevat mooie atmosferische songs met melodieën die doen dromen. Het album is heel gelaagd en bevat veel variatie en een soort warmte vanwege de vocalen (én de backings) en de harmonieën. Het klinkt harmonisch en organisch zonder te vervelen of belegen te worden. Soms wordt qua stijl gerefereerd aan bv. het hedendaagse Anathema of Kansas zoals in Noman’s Land of Tear You Up, maar alles klinkt authentiek en is piekfijn opgenomen en gemixt. Luister maar eens naar de gitaren in Take Your Shot, de fantastische drums van Harrison op In Exile of de schitterende klarinetsolo van Helliwell in Fend Yourself. Vol gevoel en melancholie. Er staat één lange track (negen minuten) op het album: The Final Thing on My Mind, een track die halfweg groots klinkt zonder in pathos of grootheidswaanzin te vervallen om nadien klein te eindigen.

Your Wilderness is een topplaat, misschien wel hun beste tot hier toe, met acht sterke en volwassen songs: intens, melodieus met diepgang. Magnolia was een meer poprock georiënteerde plaat terwijl deze eerder als progrock klinkt. Persoonlijk vind ik dat net iets boeiender. Er wordt hier op topniveau gemusiceerd zonder dat het ingewikkeld of al te complex klinkt. Deze plaat kan tevens als luister- en sfeermuziek dienen. The Pineapple Thief heeft de lege plaats van Porcupine Tree ingenomen en doet dat met verve! Er is ook een deluxe edition verkrijgbaar met zeven tracks op een aparte schijf.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd
08
11
Bauhaus' David J announces 'Missive to an Angel from the Halls of Infamy and Allure' LP and Euro/UK tour!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams
06
11
SOCIETY 1
It's Yours Now