tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : THE PINEAPPLE THIEF - Your Wilderness

THE PINEAPPLE THIEF

Your Wilderness

MusicCD
Prog Rock

[92/100]   

Kscope
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Steven Wilson and Porcupine Tree, along with the The Pineapple Thief, are a concept and a quality brand of the progressive rock. We haven't heard of Porcupine Tree for quite a while (pause, stop?...), so Bruce Soord (singer/guitarist) and his band have become the pioneers of atmospheric and progressive rock. And he does so with gusto on this album.

On Your Wilderness they collaborated with Gavin Harrison (Porcupine Tree), John Gelliwell (Supertramp), Geoffrey Richardson (Caravan, the band for which they did the opening shows years ago, enabling them to grow) and Darran Charles (Godsticks). A lot of names, but the collaboration sparked the creativity, according to Bruce. And you can hear that, because the album sounds atmospheric, but it also contains a very mature and confident sound. As a consequence, Your Wilderness has become a strong record. I discovered the band on the occasion of the release of Someone Here is Missing in 2010. I liked it but I thought that Porcupine Tree was still the absolute prog rock band (with Fear of a Blank Planet and The Incident on their account). But meanwhile, Bruce and his band grew and All The Wars and Magnolia were albums that could compete with the work of Steven Wilson. On Your Wilderness they continue in the same direction. The album contains beautiful atmospheric songs with melodies that make you dream. It is very layered and contains a lot of variety and a kind of warmth, thanks to the vocals (and the backings) and the harmonies. It sounds harmonious and organic without getting bored or becoming stale. Styllistically they sometimes refer to today's Anathema of Kansas, as in Noman's Land or Tear You Up, but everything sounds authentic and is impeccably recorded and mixed: listen to the guitars on Take Your Shot, the great drums of Harrison on In Exile or the wonderful clarinet solo by Helliwell on Fend Yourself. Full of feel and melancholy. There is one long song (nine minutes) among the eight tracks: The Final Thing on My Mind, a track that sounds grand without pathos and megalomania.

Your Wilderness is a top album, perhaps the best yet, containing eight strong adult songs with intensity, melody and depth. Magnolia was more pop rock-oriented, this one is rather progrock. Personally, I find it more interesting. We hear music-making at the highest level, without sounding complicated or complex. This album can also serve as listening and mood music. The Pineapple Thief steps into the void left by Porcupine Tree and does so with gusto! There is also a deluxe edition available with seven songs on a separate disk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Steven Wilson is met Porcupine Tree en samen met The Pineapple Thief een begrip en een kwaliteitsmerk voor de progressieve rock. Nu het stil is geworden rond Porcupine Tree (in pauze, einde?...) is Bruce Soord (zanger/gitarist) met zijn band de voortrekker van de atmosferische progrock.

Er werd voor Your Wilderness onder andere samengewerkt met Gavin Harrison (Porcupine Tree), John Gelliwell (Supertramp), Geoffrey Richardson (Caravan, de band waarvoor ze jaren geleden het voorprogramma deden en waardoor de band begon te groeien) en Darran Charles (Godsticks). Een hele rij namen, maar het wakkerde ook de creativiteit aan volgens Bruce. En dat hoor je. Het album klinkt atmosferisch maar heeft ook een heel volwassen en zelfverzekerd geluid. Zoals je nu al tussen de regels leest is Your Wilderness een sterke plaat geworden. Ik ontdekte de band echt goed na de release van Someone Here is Missing uit 2010. Ik vond het toen een sterke plaat, maar ik koos toch Porcupine Tree als de absolute progrocktopper (die toen Fear of a Blank Planet en The Incident op z'n conto had staan). Maar Bruce en de zijnen groeiden ondertussen en All The Wars en Magnolia zijn albums die met het oeuvre van Steven Wilson kunnen wedijveren. Op Your Wilderness woredt die lijn doorgetrokken. De plaat bevat mooie atmosferische songs met melodieën die doen dromen. Het album is heel gelaagd en bevat veel variatie en een soort warmte vanwege de vocalen (én de backings) en de harmonieën. Het klinkt harmonisch en organisch zonder te vervelen of belegen te worden. Soms wordt qua stijl gerefereerd aan bv. het hedendaagse Anathema of Kansas zoals in Noman’s Land of Tear You Up, maar alles klinkt authentiek en is piekfijn opgenomen en gemixt. Luister maar eens naar de gitaren in Take Your Shot, de fantastische drums van Harrison op In Exile of de schitterende klarinetsolo van Helliwell in Fend Yourself. Vol gevoel en melancholie. Er staat één lange track (negen minuten) op het album: The Final Thing on My Mind, een track die halfweg groots klinkt zonder in pathos of grootheidswaanzin te vervallen om nadien klein te eindigen.

Your Wilderness is een topplaat, misschien wel hun beste tot hier toe, met acht sterke en volwassen songs: intens, melodieus met diepgang. Magnolia was een meer poprock georiënteerde plaat terwijl deze eerder als progrock klinkt. Persoonlijk vind ik dat net iets boeiender. Er wordt hier op topniveau gemusiceerd zonder dat het ingewikkeld of al te complex klinkt. Deze plaat kan tevens als luister- en sfeermuziek dienen. The Pineapple Thief heeft de lege plaats van Porcupine Tree ingenomen en doet dat met verve! Er is ook een deluxe edition verkrijgbaar met zeven tracks op een aparte schijf.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo