tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : THE PINEAPPLE THIEF - Your Wilderness

THE PINEAPPLE THIEF

Your Wilderness

MusicCD
Prog Rock

[92/100]   

Kscope
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Steven Wilson and Porcupine Tree, along with the The Pineapple Thief, are a concept and a quality brand of the progressive rock. We haven't heard of Porcupine Tree for quite a while (pause, stop?...), so Bruce Soord (singer/guitarist) and his band have become the pioneers of atmospheric and progressive rock. And he does so with gusto on this album.

On Your Wilderness they collaborated with Gavin Harrison (Porcupine Tree), John Gelliwell (Supertramp), Geoffrey Richardson (Caravan, the band for which they did the opening shows years ago, enabling them to grow) and Darran Charles (Godsticks). A lot of names, but the collaboration sparked the creativity, according to Bruce. And you can hear that, because the album sounds atmospheric, but it also contains a very mature and confident sound. As a consequence, Your Wilderness has become a strong record. I discovered the band on the occasion of the release of Someone Here is Missing in 2010. I liked it but I thought that Porcupine Tree was still the absolute prog rock band (with Fear of a Blank Planet and The Incident on their account). But meanwhile, Bruce and his band grew and All The Wars and Magnolia were albums that could compete with the work of Steven Wilson. On Your Wilderness they continue in the same direction. The album contains beautiful atmospheric songs with melodies that make you dream. It is very layered and contains a lot of variety and a kind of warmth, thanks to the vocals (and the backings) and the harmonies. It sounds harmonious and organic without getting bored or becoming stale. Styllistically they sometimes refer to today's Anathema of Kansas, as in Noman's Land or Tear You Up, but everything sounds authentic and is impeccably recorded and mixed: listen to the guitars on Take Your Shot, the great drums of Harrison on In Exile or the wonderful clarinet solo by Helliwell on Fend Yourself. Full of feel and melancholy. There is one long song (nine minutes) among the eight tracks: The Final Thing on My Mind, a track that sounds grand without pathos and megalomania.

Your Wilderness is a top album, perhaps the best yet, containing eight strong adult songs with intensity, melody and depth. Magnolia was more pop rock-oriented, this one is rather progrock. Personally, I find it more interesting. We hear music-making at the highest level, without sounding complicated or complex. This album can also serve as listening and mood music. The Pineapple Thief steps into the void left by Porcupine Tree and does so with gusto! There is also a deluxe edition available with seven songs on a separate disk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Steven Wilson is met Porcupine Tree en samen met The Pineapple Thief een begrip en een kwaliteitsmerk voor de progressieve rock. Nu het stil is geworden rond Porcupine Tree (in pauze, einde?...) is Bruce Soord (zanger/gitarist) met zijn band de voortrekker van de atmosferische progrock.

Er werd voor Your Wilderness onder andere samengewerkt met Gavin Harrison (Porcupine Tree), John Gelliwell (Supertramp), Geoffrey Richardson (Caravan, de band waarvoor ze jaren geleden het voorprogramma deden en waardoor de band begon te groeien) en Darran Charles (Godsticks). Een hele rij namen, maar het wakkerde ook de creativiteit aan volgens Bruce. En dat hoor je. Het album klinkt atmosferisch maar heeft ook een heel volwassen en zelfverzekerd geluid. Zoals je nu al tussen de regels leest is Your Wilderness een sterke plaat geworden. Ik ontdekte de band echt goed na de release van Someone Here is Missing uit 2010. Ik vond het toen een sterke plaat, maar ik koos toch Porcupine Tree als de absolute progrocktopper (die toen Fear of a Blank Planet en The Incident op z'n conto had staan). Maar Bruce en de zijnen groeiden ondertussen en All The Wars en Magnolia zijn albums die met het oeuvre van Steven Wilson kunnen wedijveren. Op Your Wilderness woredt die lijn doorgetrokken. De plaat bevat mooie atmosferische songs met melodieën die doen dromen. Het album is heel gelaagd en bevat veel variatie en een soort warmte vanwege de vocalen (én de backings) en de harmonieën. Het klinkt harmonisch en organisch zonder te vervelen of belegen te worden. Soms wordt qua stijl gerefereerd aan bv. het hedendaagse Anathema of Kansas zoals in Noman’s Land of Tear You Up, maar alles klinkt authentiek en is piekfijn opgenomen en gemixt. Luister maar eens naar de gitaren in Take Your Shot, de fantastische drums van Harrison op In Exile of de schitterende klarinetsolo van Helliwell in Fend Yourself. Vol gevoel en melancholie. Er staat één lange track (negen minuten) op het album: The Final Thing on My Mind, een track die halfweg groots klinkt zonder in pathos of grootheidswaanzin te vervallen om nadien klein te eindigen.

Your Wilderness is een topplaat, misschien wel hun beste tot hier toe, met acht sterke en volwassen songs: intens, melodieus met diepgang. Magnolia was een meer poprock georiënteerde plaat terwijl deze eerder als progrock klinkt. Persoonlijk vind ik dat net iets boeiender. Er wordt hier op topniveau gemusiceerd zonder dat het ingewikkeld of al te complex klinkt. Deze plaat kan tevens als luister- en sfeermuziek dienen. The Pineapple Thief heeft de lege plaats van Porcupine Tree ingenomen en doet dat met verve! Er is ook een deluxe edition verkrijgbaar met zeven tracks op een aparte schijf.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
02
Johnathan|Christian Addresses Rejection & Resilience With New EP
07
02
Gimme Danger | The Stooges Raw Power Is 50-Today!
06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
02
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face