tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : THE PINEAPPLE THIEF - Your Wilderness

THE PINEAPPLE THIEF

Your Wilderness

MusicCD
Prog Rock

[92/100]   

Kscope
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Steven Wilson and Porcupine Tree, along with the The Pineapple Thief, are a concept and a quality brand of the progressive rock. We haven't heard of Porcupine Tree for quite a while (pause, stop?...), so Bruce Soord (singer/guitarist) and his band have become the pioneers of atmospheric and progressive rock. And he does so with gusto on this album.

On Your Wilderness they collaborated with Gavin Harrison (Porcupine Tree), John Gelliwell (Supertramp), Geoffrey Richardson (Caravan, the band for which they did the opening shows years ago, enabling them to grow) and Darran Charles (Godsticks). A lot of names, but the collaboration sparked the creativity, according to Bruce. And you can hear that, because the album sounds atmospheric, but it also contains a very mature and confident sound. As a consequence, Your Wilderness has become a strong record. I discovered the band on the occasion of the release of Someone Here is Missing in 2010. I liked it but I thought that Porcupine Tree was still the absolute prog rock band (with Fear of a Blank Planet and The Incident on their account). But meanwhile, Bruce and his band grew and All The Wars and Magnolia were albums that could compete with the work of Steven Wilson. On Your Wilderness they continue in the same direction. The album contains beautiful atmospheric songs with melodies that make you dream. It is very layered and contains a lot of variety and a kind of warmth, thanks to the vocals (and the backings) and the harmonies. It sounds harmonious and organic without getting bored or becoming stale. Styllistically they sometimes refer to today's Anathema of Kansas, as in Noman's Land or Tear You Up, but everything sounds authentic and is impeccably recorded and mixed: listen to the guitars on Take Your Shot, the great drums of Harrison on In Exile or the wonderful clarinet solo by Helliwell on Fend Yourself. Full of feel and melancholy. There is one long song (nine minutes) among the eight tracks: The Final Thing on My Mind, a track that sounds grand without pathos and megalomania.

Your Wilderness is a top album, perhaps the best yet, containing eight strong adult songs with intensity, melody and depth. Magnolia was more pop rock-oriented, this one is rather progrock. Personally, I find it more interesting. We hear music-making at the highest level, without sounding complicated or complex. This album can also serve as listening and mood music. The Pineapple Thief steps into the void left by Porcupine Tree and does so with gusto! There is also a deluxe edition available with seven songs on a separate disk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Steven Wilson is met Porcupine Tree en samen met The Pineapple Thief een begrip en een kwaliteitsmerk voor de progressieve rock. Nu het stil is geworden rond Porcupine Tree (in pauze, einde?...) is Bruce Soord (zanger/gitarist) met zijn band de voortrekker van de atmosferische progrock.

Er werd voor Your Wilderness onder andere samengewerkt met Gavin Harrison (Porcupine Tree), John Gelliwell (Supertramp), Geoffrey Richardson (Caravan, de band waarvoor ze jaren geleden het voorprogramma deden en waardoor de band begon te groeien) en Darran Charles (Godsticks). Een hele rij namen, maar het wakkerde ook de creativiteit aan volgens Bruce. En dat hoor je. Het album klinkt atmosferisch maar heeft ook een heel volwassen en zelfverzekerd geluid. Zoals je nu al tussen de regels leest is Your Wilderness een sterke plaat geworden. Ik ontdekte de band echt goed na de release van Someone Here is Missing uit 2010. Ik vond het toen een sterke plaat, maar ik koos toch Porcupine Tree als de absolute progrocktopper (die toen Fear of a Blank Planet en The Incident op z'n conto had staan). Maar Bruce en de zijnen groeiden ondertussen en All The Wars en Magnolia zijn albums die met het oeuvre van Steven Wilson kunnen wedijveren. Op Your Wilderness woredt die lijn doorgetrokken. De plaat bevat mooie atmosferische songs met melodieën die doen dromen. Het album is heel gelaagd en bevat veel variatie en een soort warmte vanwege de vocalen (én de backings) en de harmonieën. Het klinkt harmonisch en organisch zonder te vervelen of belegen te worden. Soms wordt qua stijl gerefereerd aan bv. het hedendaagse Anathema of Kansas zoals in Noman’s Land of Tear You Up, maar alles klinkt authentiek en is piekfijn opgenomen en gemixt. Luister maar eens naar de gitaren in Take Your Shot, de fantastische drums van Harrison op In Exile of de schitterende klarinetsolo van Helliwell in Fend Yourself. Vol gevoel en melancholie. Er staat één lange track (negen minuten) op het album: The Final Thing on My Mind, een track die halfweg groots klinkt zonder in pathos of grootheidswaanzin te vervallen om nadien klein te eindigen.

Your Wilderness is een topplaat, misschien wel hun beste tot hier toe, met acht sterke en volwassen songs: intens, melodieus met diepgang. Magnolia was een meer poprock georiënteerde plaat terwijl deze eerder als progrock klinkt. Persoonlijk vind ik dat net iets boeiender. Er wordt hier op topniveau gemusiceerd zonder dat het ingewikkeld of al te complex klinkt. Deze plaat kan tevens als luister- en sfeermuziek dienen. The Pineapple Thief heeft de lege plaats van Porcupine Tree ingenomen en doet dat met verve! Er is ook een deluxe edition verkrijgbaar met zeven tracks op een aparte schijf.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
NOISE
Quiet
25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis