tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : SEVEN EYED CROW - Dark Ways to the Sun

SEVEN EYED CROW

Dark Ways to the Sun

MusicCD (EP)
Alternative RockProg Rockprogressive metal

[70/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The French band began in 2013 and released its debut EP now. If we do not count the short intro The Hunt, then we hear six tracks that can be described as alternative and progressive rock / metal.
Dark Ways To The Sun begins with fine guitar work. The clean vocals sound quite American, we also hear some growls. Walk Into the Wild has a bridge with an interesting interplay between guitar and bass. Leaky Frames is the best song: the vocals reminds me of Kowalski by Live. Life On The Other Side starts with some great chords, and immediately after you hear a heavy riff.

Seven Eyed Crow made a decent, but a predictable EP. The songs are constructed in the same way and the riffs sounds too much as a cliché. Jay sings well, but I would like to hear him doing some memorable vocal lines. Nonetheless, a good debut fort he fans of The Long Escape and Oceansize.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Deze Franse band startte in 2013 en heeft nu een eerste ep uit. Als we de korte intro The Hunt niet meetellen, horen we hier zes tracks die qua stijl ergens tussen alternatieve en progressieve rock/metal zweven. Dark Ways To The Sun vloeit voort uit The Hunt en begint met stevig en fijn gitaarwerk. De cleane zang klinkt eigenlijk vrij Amerikaans. In het verdere verloop van de song krijgen we ook nog wat growls in de vocals. Walk Into the Wild bevat een bridge met een interessant samenspel tussen gitaar en bas. Leaky Frames is verreweg de beste song: de zang doet wat aan Kowalski van Live denken. Life On The Other Side begint met leuke akkoorden, om er nadien een zware riff tegenaan te gooien. Salt and Lime begint snedig om dan via de gekende weg op te bouwen.

Seven Eyed Crow heeft een degelijke, maar wat voorspelbare ep uit. De songs lijken allen een beetje op dezelfde manier opgebouwd en de riffs zijn nogal clichématig voor het genre. Jay zingt goed, maar ik zou hem toch graag iets meer onvergetelijke zanglijnen horen zingen. De bas en de drum zijn goed op elkaar ingespeeld en leveren degelijk werk af. Een verdienstelijk debuut die liefhebbers van The Long Escape, Oceansize zullen weten te appreciëren.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams