tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : SEVEN EYED CROW - Dark Ways to the Sun

SEVEN EYED CROW

Dark Ways to the Sun

MusicCD (EP)
Alternative RockProg Rockprogressive metal

[70/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The French band began in 2013 and released its debut EP now. If we do not count the short intro The Hunt, then we hear six tracks that can be described as alternative and progressive rock / metal.
Dark Ways To The Sun begins with fine guitar work. The clean vocals sound quite American, we also hear some growls. Walk Into the Wild has a bridge with an interesting interplay between guitar and bass. Leaky Frames is the best song: the vocals reminds me of Kowalski by Live. Life On The Other Side starts with some great chords, and immediately after you hear a heavy riff.

Seven Eyed Crow made a decent, but a predictable EP. The songs are constructed in the same way and the riffs sounds too much as a cliché. Jay sings well, but I would like to hear him doing some memorable vocal lines. Nonetheless, a good debut fort he fans of The Long Escape and Oceansize.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Deze Franse band startte in 2013 en heeft nu een eerste ep uit. Als we de korte intro The Hunt niet meetellen, horen we hier zes tracks die qua stijl ergens tussen alternatieve en progressieve rock/metal zweven. Dark Ways To The Sun vloeit voort uit The Hunt en begint met stevig en fijn gitaarwerk. De cleane zang klinkt eigenlijk vrij Amerikaans. In het verdere verloop van de song krijgen we ook nog wat growls in de vocals. Walk Into the Wild bevat een bridge met een interessant samenspel tussen gitaar en bas. Leaky Frames is verreweg de beste song: de zang doet wat aan Kowalski van Live denken. Life On The Other Side begint met leuke akkoorden, om er nadien een zware riff tegenaan te gooien. Salt and Lime begint snedig om dan via de gekende weg op te bouwen.

Seven Eyed Crow heeft een degelijke, maar wat voorspelbare ep uit. De songs lijken allen een beetje op dezelfde manier opgebouwd en de riffs zijn nogal clichématig voor het genre. Jay zingt goed, maar ik zou hem toch graag iets meer onvergetelijke zanglijnen horen zingen. De bas en de drum zijn goed op elkaar ingespeeld en leveren degelijk werk af. Een verdienstelijk debuut die liefhebbers van The Long Escape, Oceansize zullen weten te appreciëren.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju
10
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
You, Vicious!
09
11
VIRGIN PRUNES
Hérésie
08
11
HATCHLING
Alpha

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!
09
11
Today, 37 years ago, Men At Work released their debut album Business As Usual!
08
11
This month its 31 years since Canadian industrial band Front Line Assembly released their first official album, The Initial Command!

Concert reviews

06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'
07
11
BRIX AND THE EXTRICATED
Interview with Brix Smith-Start

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)
11
11
DUSK
EPOKA 3000 (extended version)
10
11
PARADOX OBSCUR
Afterlife Effect (Official Video)
09
11
MEANDER
This is Meander.