tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : SEVEN EYED CROW - Dark Ways to the Sun

SEVEN EYED CROW

Dark Ways to the Sun

MusicCD (EP)
Alternative RockProg Rockprogressive metal

[70/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The French band began in 2013 and released its debut EP now. If we do not count the short intro The Hunt, then we hear six tracks that can be described as alternative and progressive rock / metal.
Dark Ways To The Sun begins with fine guitar work. The clean vocals sound quite American, we also hear some growls. Walk Into the Wild has a bridge with an interesting interplay between guitar and bass. Leaky Frames is the best song: the vocals reminds me of Kowalski by Live. Life On The Other Side starts with some great chords, and immediately after you hear a heavy riff.

Seven Eyed Crow made a decent, but a predictable EP. The songs are constructed in the same way and the riffs sounds too much as a cliché. Jay sings well, but I would like to hear him doing some memorable vocal lines. Nonetheless, a good debut fort he fans of The Long Escape and Oceansize.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Deze Franse band startte in 2013 en heeft nu een eerste ep uit. Als we de korte intro The Hunt niet meetellen, horen we hier zes tracks die qua stijl ergens tussen alternatieve en progressieve rock/metal zweven. Dark Ways To The Sun vloeit voort uit The Hunt en begint met stevig en fijn gitaarwerk. De cleane zang klinkt eigenlijk vrij Amerikaans. In het verdere verloop van de song krijgen we ook nog wat growls in de vocals. Walk Into the Wild bevat een bridge met een interessant samenspel tussen gitaar en bas. Leaky Frames is verreweg de beste song: de zang doet wat aan Kowalski van Live denken. Life On The Other Side begint met leuke akkoorden, om er nadien een zware riff tegenaan te gooien. Salt and Lime begint snedig om dan via de gekende weg op te bouwen.

Seven Eyed Crow heeft een degelijke, maar wat voorspelbare ep uit. De songs lijken allen een beetje op dezelfde manier opgebouwd en de riffs zijn nogal clichématig voor het genre. Jay zingt goed, maar ik zou hem toch graag iets meer onvergetelijke zanglijnen horen zingen. De bas en de drum zijn goed op elkaar ingespeeld en leveren degelijk werk af. Een verdienstelijk debuut die liefhebbers van The Long Escape, Oceansize zullen weten te appreciëren.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

14
08
LUKE LUND
Hopium
13
08
KRALLICE
Mass Cathexis
09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
08
MICK HARRIS (SCORN,LULL,EX-NAPALM DEATH...)
'I still see myself as a bit of a punk...'
10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AND ONE
Killing The Mercy
14
08
SEPTEMBER 87
Bad Dream Baby
13
08
KING DALTON
When The Bad Is Gone
12
08
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
11
08
JACK MANIAC
No Fate
10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands