tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : SEVEN EYED CROW - Dark Ways to the Sun

SEVEN EYED CROW

Dark Ways to the Sun

MusicCD (EP)
Alternative RockProg Rockprogressive metal

[70/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The French band began in 2013 and released its debut EP now. If we do not count the short intro The Hunt, then we hear six tracks that can be described as alternative and progressive rock / metal.
Dark Ways To The Sun begins with fine guitar work. The clean vocals sound quite American, we also hear some growls. Walk Into the Wild has a bridge with an interesting interplay between guitar and bass. Leaky Frames is the best song: the vocals reminds me of Kowalski by Live. Life On The Other Side starts with some great chords, and immediately after you hear a heavy riff.

Seven Eyed Crow made a decent, but a predictable EP. The songs are constructed in the same way and the riffs sounds too much as a cliché. Jay sings well, but I would like to hear him doing some memorable vocal lines. Nonetheless, a good debut fort he fans of The Long Escape and Oceansize.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Deze Franse band startte in 2013 en heeft nu een eerste ep uit. Als we de korte intro The Hunt niet meetellen, horen we hier zes tracks die qua stijl ergens tussen alternatieve en progressieve rock/metal zweven. Dark Ways To The Sun vloeit voort uit The Hunt en begint met stevig en fijn gitaarwerk. De cleane zang klinkt eigenlijk vrij Amerikaans. In het verdere verloop van de song krijgen we ook nog wat growls in de vocals. Walk Into the Wild bevat een bridge met een interessant samenspel tussen gitaar en bas. Leaky Frames is verreweg de beste song: de zang doet wat aan Kowalski van Live denken. Life On The Other Side begint met leuke akkoorden, om er nadien een zware riff tegenaan te gooien. Salt and Lime begint snedig om dan via de gekende weg op te bouwen.

Seven Eyed Crow heeft een degelijke, maar wat voorspelbare ep uit. De songs lijken allen een beetje op dezelfde manier opgebouwd en de riffs zijn nogal clichématig voor het genre. Jay zingt goed, maar ik zou hem toch graag iets meer onvergetelijke zanglijnen horen zingen. De bas en de drum zijn goed op elkaar ingespeeld en leveren degelijk werk af. Een verdienstelijk debuut die liefhebbers van The Long Escape, Oceansize zullen weten te appreciëren.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
Today, 44 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
79 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
30 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Rabbit Junk Brings Fatalism And Frustration To 'Apocalypse For Beginners'
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
46 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2

PHOTOS

08
12
TARJA TURUNEN
Christuskirche Bochum
05
12
SONAR
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TEST DEPT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
RADICAL G
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
FIX8:SED8
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TC75
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
SOFT RIOT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
12
HELENA HAUFF
Sworn To Secrecy Part II
07
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
06
12
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
05
12
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
04
12
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
03
12
GOOSE
Synrise
02
12
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks