tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : SEVEN EYED CROW - Dark Ways to the Sun

SEVEN EYED CROW

Dark Ways to the Sun

MusicCD (EP)
Alternative RockProg Rockprogressive metal

[70/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The French band began in 2013 and released its debut EP now. If we do not count the short intro The Hunt, then we hear six tracks that can be described as alternative and progressive rock / metal.
Dark Ways To The Sun begins with fine guitar work. The clean vocals sound quite American, we also hear some growls. Walk Into the Wild has a bridge with an interesting interplay between guitar and bass. Leaky Frames is the best song: the vocals reminds me of Kowalski by Live. Life On The Other Side starts with some great chords, and immediately after you hear a heavy riff.

Seven Eyed Crow made a decent, but a predictable EP. The songs are constructed in the same way and the riffs sounds too much as a cliché. Jay sings well, but I would like to hear him doing some memorable vocal lines. Nonetheless, a good debut fort he fans of The Long Escape and Oceansize.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Deze Franse band startte in 2013 en heeft nu een eerste ep uit. Als we de korte intro The Hunt niet meetellen, horen we hier zes tracks die qua stijl ergens tussen alternatieve en progressieve rock/metal zweven. Dark Ways To The Sun vloeit voort uit The Hunt en begint met stevig en fijn gitaarwerk. De cleane zang klinkt eigenlijk vrij Amerikaans. In het verdere verloop van de song krijgen we ook nog wat growls in de vocals. Walk Into the Wild bevat een bridge met een interessant samenspel tussen gitaar en bas. Leaky Frames is verreweg de beste song: de zang doet wat aan Kowalski van Live denken. Life On The Other Side begint met leuke akkoorden, om er nadien een zware riff tegenaan te gooien. Salt and Lime begint snedig om dan via de gekende weg op te bouwen.

Seven Eyed Crow heeft een degelijke, maar wat voorspelbare ep uit. De songs lijken allen een beetje op dezelfde manier opgebouwd en de riffs zijn nogal clichématig voor het genre. Jay zingt goed, maar ik zou hem toch graag iets meer onvergetelijke zanglijnen horen zingen. De bas en de drum zijn goed op elkaar ingespeeld en leveren degelijk werk af. Een verdienstelijk debuut die liefhebbers van The Long Escape, Oceansize zullen weten te appreciëren.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!
29
08
41 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag
15
09
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Die Interimsliebenden