tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ELYSIAN GATES - Crossroads

ELYSIAN GATES

Crossroads

MusicCD
Female Fronted Metalprogressive metalSymphonic Metal

[85/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Elysian Gates from Luxembourg began in 2010. In the first years there were some different vocalists. In 2014 they started a new chapter by making Elysian Gates a female fronted band. Since 2015 the band got a definite form with the arrival of Noémie Leer who you might know as former singer of Rude Revelation.

Crossroads is the first album with her and includes choirs, cello and violins. What can we hear on Crossroads? Nicely detailed and subtle progressive metal with a symphonic touch. The style reminds me somewhat of the German band Eyes of Eden.
The vocal style comes close to Franziska Huth and misically there are some other similarities. But Elysian Gates does have an own face and a superb singer. A warm voice to which it is great to listen to. The songs are well developed and the mix makes the listening process easy and enjoyable.
Some metal fans will think the production is too smooth, but I think it fits very well with the band’s style. The tracks last between 4 and 10 minutes. The longest track Far From Home is an emotional epic with lots of variety and a strong melody. It's their piece de resistance. But in addition, you can discover some beautiful tracks like the fragile ballad Mary Ann, or Broken Inside which is symphonic metaland Human Infection. As a bonus track we hear Nothern Winds from 2014.

If you’re keen on female fronted bands like Eyes of Eden, Nemesea, Leaves' Eyes of Nightwish you definitely will enjoy Crossroads. A strong self-released album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

De band uit Luxemburg ontstond in 2010. De band kreeg in de eerste jaren veschillende vocalisten, maar in 2014 startte men een nieuw hoofdstuk door van Elysian Gates een female fronted band te maken. Sedert 2015, met de komst van de zangeres Noémie Leer lijkt de band een vaste bezetting te hebben. Noémie ken je misschien als de voormalige zangeres van Rude Revelation.

Crossroads is het eerste album in deze bezetting en bevat koorwerk, cello en violen. Je hoort mooi uitgewerkte en subtiele progressieve metal met een symfonisc kantje. De stijl doet mij wat denken aan de Duitse band Eyes of Eden. De zangstijl en –kleur komt in de buurt van Franziska Huth en muzikaal zijn er ook wel wat gelijkenissen. Maar Elysian Gates heeft wel degelijk een eigen gezicht en een goede vocaliste in huis. Een warme stem waarnaar het aangenaam luisteren is.

Sommige metalliefhebbers gaan dit misschien wat gladjes geproducet vinden, maar ik vind dat het goed bij hun stijl past. De tracks duren tussen 4 en 10 minuten en dat versterkt het progressieve element. Het langste nummer Far From Home is een sterk emotioneel epos met veel variatie en sterke melodieën. Maar daarnaast valt er nog veel moois te ontdekken zoals de breekbare ballade Mary Ann, de naar symfonische metal neigende Broken Inside en Human Infection. Als bonus track horen we nog Nothern Winds uit 2014.

Wie van female fronted bands zoals Eyes of Eden, Nemesea, Leaves’ Eyes of Nightwish houdt, zal hier zeker plezier aan beleven. Een sterk album dat in eigen beheer is uitgebracht.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
DARKHER • Realms
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man
ODONIS ODONIS • Post Plague
PRO-PAIN • The Truth Hurts
PRO-PAIN • Foul Taste Of Freedom
DEVILDRIVER • Trust No One
S/HE • Who Do You Love
THE ROADRUNNERS • Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves

 

Same genre: FEMALE FRONTED METAL
ENEMY OF REALITY • Arakhne
XANDRIA • Fire And Ashes EP
ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD • Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014)
ELUVEITIE • Origins
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 2, 18/10/2014 | Leaves' Eyes, Sirenia, The Sirens and more...
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 1, 17/10/2014 | MFV United, Ayin Aleph and more...
LIV KRISTINE • Vervain
SKEPTICAL MINDS • Run for your live 2014
SOULOST • The Way I Feel Pt. 2 EP

 

Same genre: PROGRESSIVE METAL
OPETH • Sorceress
ODDLAND • Origin
BLIND EGO • Liquid
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
DUSTERLUST • Düster Lust
SEVEN EYED CROW • Dark Ways to the Sun
INFINITE SPECTRUM • Haunter of the Dark
PERPETUAL ESCAPE • Into My Dreams
SAHONA • SAHONA
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears

 

Same genre: SYMPHONIC METAL
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
EILERA • Face Your Demons
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back
ANTIMATTER • Zoetermeer, De Boerderij (25/03/2016)
ELFERYA • Eden's Fall
END OF THE DREAM • All I Am
EMBASSY OF SILENCE • Verisimilitude
LIV KRISTINE • Roeselare, De Verlichte Geest (19/12/2015)
END OF THE DREAM • Roeslare, De Verlichte Geest (19/12/2015)
KAMELOT • Haven

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift