tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ELYSIAN GATES - Crossroads

ELYSIAN GATES

Crossroads

MusicCD
Female Fronted Metalprogressive metalSymphonic Metal

[85/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Elysian Gates from Luxembourg began in 2010. In the first years there were some different vocalists. In 2014 they started a new chapter by making Elysian Gates a female fronted band. Since 2015 the band got a definite form with the arrival of Noémie Leer who you might know as former singer of Rude Revelation.

Crossroads is the first album with her and includes choirs, cello and violins. What can we hear on Crossroads? Nicely detailed and subtle progressive metal with a symphonic touch. The style reminds me somewhat of the German band Eyes of Eden.
The vocal style comes close to Franziska Huth and misically there are some other similarities. But Elysian Gates does have an own face and a superb singer. A warm voice to which it is great to listen to. The songs are well developed and the mix makes the listening process easy and enjoyable.
Some metal fans will think the production is too smooth, but I think it fits very well with the band’s style. The tracks last between 4 and 10 minutes. The longest track Far From Home is an emotional epic with lots of variety and a strong melody. It's their piece de resistance. But in addition, you can discover some beautiful tracks like the fragile ballad Mary Ann, or Broken Inside which is symphonic metaland Human Infection. As a bonus track we hear Nothern Winds from 2014.

If you’re keen on female fronted bands like Eyes of Eden, Nemesea, Leaves' Eyes of Nightwish you definitely will enjoy Crossroads. A strong self-released album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

De band uit Luxemburg ontstond in 2010. De band kreeg in de eerste jaren veschillende vocalisten, maar in 2014 startte men een nieuw hoofdstuk door van Elysian Gates een female fronted band te maken. Sedert 2015, met de komst van de zangeres Noémie Leer lijkt de band een vaste bezetting te hebben. Noémie ken je misschien als de voormalige zangeres van Rude Revelation.

Crossroads is het eerste album in deze bezetting en bevat koorwerk, cello en violen. Je hoort mooi uitgewerkte en subtiele progressieve metal met een symfonisc kantje. De stijl doet mij wat denken aan de Duitse band Eyes of Eden. De zangstijl en –kleur komt in de buurt van Franziska Huth en muzikaal zijn er ook wel wat gelijkenissen. Maar Elysian Gates heeft wel degelijk een eigen gezicht en een goede vocaliste in huis. Een warme stem waarnaar het aangenaam luisteren is.

Sommige metalliefhebbers gaan dit misschien wat gladjes geproducet vinden, maar ik vind dat het goed bij hun stijl past. De tracks duren tussen 4 en 10 minuten en dat versterkt het progressieve element. Het langste nummer Far From Home is een sterk emotioneel epos met veel variatie en sterke melodieën. Maar daarnaast valt er nog veel moois te ontdekken zoals de breekbare ballade Mary Ann, de naar symfonische metal neigende Broken Inside en Human Infection. Als bonus track horen we nog Nothern Winds uit 2014.

Wie van female fronted bands zoals Eyes of Eden, Nemesea, Leaves’ Eyes of Nightwish houdt, zal hier zeker plezier aan beleven. Een sterk album dat in eigen beheer is uitgebracht.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
DARKHER • Realms
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man
ODONIS ODONIS • Post Plague
PRO-PAIN • The Truth Hurts
PRO-PAIN • Foul Taste Of Freedom
DEVILDRIVER • Trust No One
S/HE • Who Do You Love
THE ROADRUNNERS • Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves

 

Same genre: FEMALE FRONTED METAL
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
ENEMY OF REALITY • Arakhne
XANDRIA • Fire And Ashes EP
ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD • Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014)
ELUVEITIE • Origins
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 2, 18/10/2014 | Leaves' Eyes, Sirenia, The Sirens and more...
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 1, 17/10/2014 | MFV United, Ayin Aleph and more...
LIV KRISTINE • Vervain
SKEPTICAL MINDS • Run for your live 2014
SOULOST • The Way I Feel Pt. 2 EP

 

Same genre: PROGRESSIVE METAL
OPETH • Sorceress
ODDLAND • Origin
BLIND EGO • Liquid
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
DUSTERLUST • Düster Lust
SEVEN EYED CROW • Dark Ways to the Sun
INFINITE SPECTRUM • Haunter of the Dark
PERPETUAL ESCAPE • Into My Dreams
SAHONA • SAHONA
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears

 

Same genre: SYMPHONIC METAL
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
EILERA • Face Your Demons
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back
ANTIMATTER • Zoetermeer, De Boerderij (25/03/2016)
ELFERYA • Eden's Fall
END OF THE DREAM • All I Am
EMBASSY OF SILENCE • Verisimilitude
LIV KRISTINE • Roeselare, De Verlichte Geest (19/12/2015)
END OF THE DREAM • Roeslare, De Verlichte Geest (19/12/2015)

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day