tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ELYSIAN GATES - Crossroads

ELYSIAN GATES

Crossroads

MusicCD
Female Fronted Metalprogressive metalSymphonic Metal

[85/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Elysian Gates from Luxembourg began in 2010. In the first years there were some different vocalists. In 2014 they started a new chapter by making Elysian Gates a female fronted band. Since 2015 the band got a definite form with the arrival of Noémie Leer who you might know as former singer of Rude Revelation.

Crossroads is the first album with her and includes choirs, cello and violins. What can we hear on Crossroads? Nicely detailed and subtle progressive metal with a symphonic touch. The style reminds me somewhat of the German band Eyes of Eden.
The vocal style comes close to Franziska Huth and misically there are some other similarities. But Elysian Gates does have an own face and a superb singer. A warm voice to which it is great to listen to. The songs are well developed and the mix makes the listening process easy and enjoyable.
Some metal fans will think the production is too smooth, but I think it fits very well with the band’s style. The tracks last between 4 and 10 minutes. The longest track Far From Home is an emotional epic with lots of variety and a strong melody. It's their piece de resistance. But in addition, you can discover some beautiful tracks like the fragile ballad Mary Ann, or Broken Inside which is symphonic metaland Human Infection. As a bonus track we hear Nothern Winds from 2014.

If you’re keen on female fronted bands like Eyes of Eden, Nemesea, Leaves' Eyes of Nightwish you definitely will enjoy Crossroads. A strong self-released album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

De band uit Luxemburg ontstond in 2010. De band kreeg in de eerste jaren veschillende vocalisten, maar in 2014 startte men een nieuw hoofdstuk door van Elysian Gates een female fronted band te maken. Sedert 2015, met de komst van de zangeres Noémie Leer lijkt de band een vaste bezetting te hebben. Noémie ken je misschien als de voormalige zangeres van Rude Revelation.

Crossroads is het eerste album in deze bezetting en bevat koorwerk, cello en violen. Je hoort mooi uitgewerkte en subtiele progressieve metal met een symfonisc kantje. De stijl doet mij wat denken aan de Duitse band Eyes of Eden. De zangstijl en –kleur komt in de buurt van Franziska Huth en muzikaal zijn er ook wel wat gelijkenissen. Maar Elysian Gates heeft wel degelijk een eigen gezicht en een goede vocaliste in huis. Een warme stem waarnaar het aangenaam luisteren is.

Sommige metalliefhebbers gaan dit misschien wat gladjes geproducet vinden, maar ik vind dat het goed bij hun stijl past. De tracks duren tussen 4 en 10 minuten en dat versterkt het progressieve element. Het langste nummer Far From Home is een sterk emotioneel epos met veel variatie en sterke melodieën. Maar daarnaast valt er nog veel moois te ontdekken zoals de breekbare ballade Mary Ann, de naar symfonische metal neigende Broken Inside en Human Infection. Als bonus track horen we nog Nothern Winds uit 2014.

Wie van female fronted bands zoals Eyes of Eden, Nemesea, Leaves’ Eyes of Nightwish houdt, zal hier zeker plezier aan beleven. Een sterk album dat in eigen beheer is uitgebracht.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
DARKHER • Realms
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man
ODONIS ODONIS • Post Plague
PRO-PAIN • The Truth Hurts
PRO-PAIN • Foul Taste Of Freedom
DEVILDRIVER • Trust No One
S/HE • Who Do You Love
THE ROADRUNNERS • Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves

 

Same genre: FEMALE FRONTED METAL
ENEMY OF REALITY • Arakhne
XANDRIA • Fire And Ashes EP
ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD • Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014)
ELUVEITIE • Origins
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 2, 18/10/2014 | Leaves' Eyes, Sirenia, The Sirens and more...
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 1, 17/10/2014 | MFV United, Ayin Aleph and more...
LIV KRISTINE • Vervain
SKEPTICAL MINDS • Run for your live 2014
SOULOST • The Way I Feel Pt. 2 EP

 

Same genre: PROGRESSIVE METAL
OPETH • Sorceress
ODDLAND • Origin
BLIND EGO • Liquid
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
DUSTERLUST • Düster Lust
SEVEN EYED CROW • Dark Ways to the Sun
INFINITE SPECTRUM • Haunter of the Dark
PERPETUAL ESCAPE • Into My Dreams
SAHONA • SAHONA
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears

 

Same genre: SYMPHONIC METAL
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
EILERA • Face Your Demons
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back
ANTIMATTER • Zoetermeer, De Boerderij (25/03/2016)
ELFERYA • Eden's Fall
END OF THE DREAM • All I Am
EMBASSY OF SILENCE • Verisimilitude
LIV KRISTINE • Roeselare, De Verlichte Geest (19/12/2015)
END OF THE DREAM • Roeslare, De Verlichte Geest (19/12/2015)
KAMELOT • Haven

Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
10
06
O VEUX
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
APPARAAT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ENZO KREFT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ROSA PARKS
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno
12
06
THE EDEN HOUSE
Misery