tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

11/12/2016 : ELYSIAN GATES - Crossroads

ELYSIAN GATES

Crossroads

MusicCD
Female Fronted Metalprogressive metalSymphonic Metal

[85/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Elysian Gates from Luxembourg began in 2010. In the first years there were some different vocalists. In 2014 they started a new chapter by making Elysian Gates a female fronted band. Since 2015 the band got a definite form with the arrival of Noémie Leer who you might know as former singer of Rude Revelation.

Crossroads is the first album with her and includes choirs, cello and violins. What can we hear on Crossroads? Nicely detailed and subtle progressive metal with a symphonic touch. The style reminds me somewhat of the German band Eyes of Eden.
The vocal style comes close to Franziska Huth and misically there are some other similarities. But Elysian Gates does have an own face and a superb singer. A warm voice to which it is great to listen to. The songs are well developed and the mix makes the listening process easy and enjoyable.
Some metal fans will think the production is too smooth, but I think it fits very well with the band’s style. The tracks last between 4 and 10 minutes. The longest track Far From Home is an emotional epic with lots of variety and a strong melody. It's their piece de resistance. But in addition, you can discover some beautiful tracks like the fragile ballad Mary Ann, or Broken Inside which is symphonic metaland Human Infection. As a bonus track we hear Nothern Winds from 2014.

If you’re keen on female fronted bands like Eyes of Eden, Nemesea, Leaves' Eyes of Nightwish you definitely will enjoy Crossroads. A strong self-released album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

De band uit Luxemburg ontstond in 2010. De band kreeg in de eerste jaren veschillende vocalisten, maar in 2014 startte men een nieuw hoofdstuk door van Elysian Gates een female fronted band te maken. Sedert 2015, met de komst van de zangeres Noémie Leer lijkt de band een vaste bezetting te hebben. Noémie ken je misschien als de voormalige zangeres van Rude Revelation.

Crossroads is het eerste album in deze bezetting en bevat koorwerk, cello en violen. Je hoort mooi uitgewerkte en subtiele progressieve metal met een symfonisc kantje. De stijl doet mij wat denken aan de Duitse band Eyes of Eden. De zangstijl en –kleur komt in de buurt van Franziska Huth en muzikaal zijn er ook wel wat gelijkenissen. Maar Elysian Gates heeft wel degelijk een eigen gezicht en een goede vocaliste in huis. Een warme stem waarnaar het aangenaam luisteren is.

Sommige metalliefhebbers gaan dit misschien wat gladjes geproducet vinden, maar ik vind dat het goed bij hun stijl past. De tracks duren tussen 4 en 10 minuten en dat versterkt het progressieve element. Het langste nummer Far From Home is een sterk emotioneel epos met veel variatie en sterke melodieën. Maar daarnaast valt er nog veel moois te ontdekken zoals de breekbare ballade Mary Ann, de naar symfonische metal neigende Broken Inside en Human Infection. Als bonus track horen we nog Nothern Winds uit 2014.

Wie van female fronted bands zoals Eyes of Eden, Nemesea, Leaves’ Eyes of Nightwish houdt, zal hier zeker plezier aan beleven. Een sterk album dat in eigen beheer is uitgebracht.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
DARKHER • Realms
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man
ODONIS ODONIS • Post Plague
PRO-PAIN • The Truth Hurts
PRO-PAIN • Foul Taste Of Freedom
DEVILDRIVER • Trust No One
S/HE • Who Do You Love
THE ROADRUNNERS • Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves

 

Same genre: FEMALE FRONTED METAL
ENEMY OF REALITY • Arakhne
XANDRIA • Fire And Ashes EP
ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD • Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014)
ELUVEITIE • Origins
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 2, 18/10/2014 | Leaves' Eyes, Sirenia, The Sirens and more...
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 1, 17/10/2014 | MFV United, Ayin Aleph and more...
LIV KRISTINE • Vervain
SKEPTICAL MINDS • Run for your live 2014
SOULOST • The Way I Feel Pt. 2 EP

 

Same genre: PROGRESSIVE METAL
OPETH • Sorceress
ODDLAND • Origin
BLIND EGO • Liquid
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
DUSTERLUST • Düster Lust
SEVEN EYED CROW • Dark Ways to the Sun
INFINITE SPECTRUM • Haunter of the Dark
PERPETUAL ESCAPE • Into My Dreams
SAHONA • SAHONA
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears

 

Same genre: SYMPHONIC METAL
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
EILERA • Face Your Demons
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back
ANTIMATTER • Zoetermeer, De Boerderij (25/03/2016)
ELFERYA • Eden's Fall
END OF THE DREAM • All I Am
EMBASSY OF SILENCE • Verisimilitude
LIV KRISTINE • Roeselare, De Verlichte Geest (19/12/2015)
END OF THE DREAM • Roeslare, De Verlichte Geest (19/12/2015)
KAMELOT • Haven

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
OMD, MIDGE URE and more confirmed at XIV. AMPHI FESTIVAL 2018
17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury
13
01
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)