tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ELYSIAN GATES - Crossroads

ELYSIAN GATES

Crossroads

MusicCD
Female Fronted Metalprogressive metalSymphonic Metal

[85/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Elysian Gates from Luxembourg began in 2010. In the first years there were some different vocalists. In 2014 they started a new chapter by making Elysian Gates a female fronted band. Since 2015 the band got a definite form with the arrival of Noémie Leer who you might know as former singer of Rude Revelation.

Crossroads is the first album with her and includes choirs, cello and violins. What can we hear on Crossroads? Nicely detailed and subtle progressive metal with a symphonic touch. The style reminds me somewhat of the German band Eyes of Eden.
The vocal style comes close to Franziska Huth and misically there are some other similarities. But Elysian Gates does have an own face and a superb singer. A warm voice to which it is great to listen to. The songs are well developed and the mix makes the listening process easy and enjoyable.
Some metal fans will think the production is too smooth, but I think it fits very well with the band’s style. The tracks last between 4 and 10 minutes. The longest track Far From Home is an emotional epic with lots of variety and a strong melody. It's their piece de resistance. But in addition, you can discover some beautiful tracks like the fragile ballad Mary Ann, or Broken Inside which is symphonic metaland Human Infection. As a bonus track we hear Nothern Winds from 2014.

If you’re keen on female fronted bands like Eyes of Eden, Nemesea, Leaves' Eyes of Nightwish you definitely will enjoy Crossroads. A strong self-released album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

De band uit Luxemburg ontstond in 2010. De band kreeg in de eerste jaren veschillende vocalisten, maar in 2014 startte men een nieuw hoofdstuk door van Elysian Gates een female fronted band te maken. Sedert 2015, met de komst van de zangeres Noémie Leer lijkt de band een vaste bezetting te hebben. Noémie ken je misschien als de voormalige zangeres van Rude Revelation.

Crossroads is het eerste album in deze bezetting en bevat koorwerk, cello en violen. Je hoort mooi uitgewerkte en subtiele progressieve metal met een symfonisc kantje. De stijl doet mij wat denken aan de Duitse band Eyes of Eden. De zangstijl en –kleur komt in de buurt van Franziska Huth en muzikaal zijn er ook wel wat gelijkenissen. Maar Elysian Gates heeft wel degelijk een eigen gezicht en een goede vocaliste in huis. Een warme stem waarnaar het aangenaam luisteren is.

Sommige metalliefhebbers gaan dit misschien wat gladjes geproducet vinden, maar ik vind dat het goed bij hun stijl past. De tracks duren tussen 4 en 10 minuten en dat versterkt het progressieve element. Het langste nummer Far From Home is een sterk emotioneel epos met veel variatie en sterke melodieën. Maar daarnaast valt er nog veel moois te ontdekken zoals de breekbare ballade Mary Ann, de naar symfonische metal neigende Broken Inside en Human Infection. Als bonus track horen we nog Nothern Winds uit 2014.

Wie van female fronted bands zoals Eyes of Eden, Nemesea, Leaves’ Eyes of Nightwish houdt, zal hier zeker plezier aan beleven. Een sterk album dat in eigen beheer is uitgebracht.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
DARKHER • Realms
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man
ODONIS ODONIS • Post Plague
PRO-PAIN • The Truth Hurts
PRO-PAIN • Foul Taste Of Freedom
DEVILDRIVER • Trust No One
S/HE • Who Do You Love
THE ROADRUNNERS • Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves

 

Same genre: FEMALE FRONTED METAL
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
ENEMY OF REALITY • Arakhne
XANDRIA • Fire And Ashes EP
ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD • Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014)
ELUVEITIE • Origins
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 2, 18/10/2014 | Leaves' Eyes, Sirenia, The Sirens and more...
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 1, 17/10/2014 | MFV United, Ayin Aleph and more...
LIV KRISTINE • Vervain
SKEPTICAL MINDS • Run for your live 2014
SOULOST • The Way I Feel Pt. 2 EP

 

Same genre: PROGRESSIVE METAL
KRALLICE • Mass Cathexis
OPETH • Sorceress
ODDLAND • Origin
BLIND EGO • Liquid
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
DUSTERLUST • Düster Lust
SEVEN EYED CROW • Dark Ways to the Sun
INFINITE SPECTRUM • Haunter of the Dark
PERPETUAL ESCAPE • Into My Dreams
SAHONA • SAHONA

 

Same genre: SYMPHONIC METAL
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
EILERA • Face Your Demons
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back
ANTIMATTER • Zoetermeer, De Boerderij (25/03/2016)
ELFERYA • Eden's Fall
END OF THE DREAM • All I Am
EMBASSY OF SILENCE • Verisimilitude
LIV KRISTINE • Roeselare, De Verlichte Geest (19/12/2015)
END OF THE DREAM • Roeslare, De Verlichte Geest (19/12/2015)

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
10
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession