tempobet yeni adresi

17/10/2014 : LIV KRISTINE - Vervain

LIV KRISTINE

Vervain

MusicCD
Dream MetalEthereal / Heavenly VoicesFemale Fronted MetalHard RockHeavy Metal

[87/100]   

Napalm Records
17/10/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Liv Kristine is one of those artists who are worldwide known (first from Theatre of Tragedy, than later from Leaves Eyes and now as a solo artist ). This is already her 5th solo album! Last time something got reviewed from her on Peek-a-Boo was when she was featured on the compilation (Absolute grrls manifesto chapter 1), so you can for sure say that somewhere there’s hunger for more!

Music wise, one can say that after a while some tracks pop-up as being the better ones from the album, being a bit catchier and having a more haunting melody. It's only 10 tracks and feels like like that: only 10 tracks. For sure they are all well-crafted and her voice still sounds like a nightingale! 

The good thing about this album is the great variation in the sound! To start with the more rock orientated opening track My Wilderness. Her voice is great and the sound is very catchy. The roaring guitars might seduce you to some air guitar play! I can see this one getting a lot of positive vibes during her upcoming gigs!

Love Decay is more gothic minded (little piano synth part included) and has the help from Michelle Darkness (End of Green). The lyrics are meant to seduce vampire story lovers. Another thing that needs to be said is that the male and female vocal fight in this one is just great and lifting it up to a higher ground! It's for sure one of my favorite tracks!

Vervain, the title track is one of these haunting melodic tracks! Her voice catches you: bitter and sweet. It's an ethereal metal beauty with influences from Type O Negative.

Another great duet comes with The Stronghold of Angels! Doro Pesch (known from Warlock, but also from her great solo work) catches that something special and makes of this another highlight on the album! It's simply a great metal female fronted vocal battle! Hunters has a higher drive and is over before you realize it. Lotus starts as a soft ballad, but turns into a power ballad and gets some dramatically sound and great guitars! It could be the female version of November Rain by Guns ‘n Roses.

Elucidation is a nice one, but not a highlight (genre: sweet hard rock). Two and a Heart sounds a bit like older tracks and thus reminding of good things! This is one of these tracks that could create a great vibe during a concert with a lot of variation within the track! Creeper is a catchy track, with a pinch of doom and vocals that fly from high to low, just like a majestic butterfly! Oblivious is a good song to end with: giving a last blast and showing off for the last time Liv's great vocal powers!

It was a nice trip through a magical album! We are definitely looking forward to see her on stage.

Filip VAN MUYLEM
17/10/2014


 

Next reviews
LAMB • Backspace Unwind
SUDABEH MORTEZAI • Macondo (FilmFest Ghent 2014)
MARCO BELLOCCHIO • Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014)
HUMAN LEAGUE • Classics: Dare
DOUG LIMAN • Edge Of Tomorrow
VARIOUS ARTISTS • LABEL NOIR VOL.2 SAMPLER
SETH MACFARLANE • A Million Ways To Die In The West
• DRACULA SEASON 1
PEAKING LIGHTS • Cosmic Logic
GEOFFREY ENTHOVEN • Halfweg

 

Other reviews from LIV KRISTINE
LIV KRISTINE • Roeselare, De Verlichte Geest (19/12/2015)

 

Same genre: DREAM METAL
THE MORGANATICS • We Come From The Stars
EUROROCK FEST • Day 1 (15/05/2015)
ELUVEITIE • Origins
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 2, 18/10/2014 | Leaves' Eyes, Sirenia, The Sirens and more...
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 1, 17/10/2014 | MFV United, Ayin Aleph and more...
SKEPTICAL MINDS • Run for your live 2014
KALIDIA • LIES DEVICE
DISKELION • Remember Sorrow
SAVN • Savn
XANDRIA • Sacrificum

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
BRODKA • Clashes
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché

 

Same genre: FEMALE FRONTED METAL
ENEMY OF REALITY • Arakhne
ELYSIAN GATES • Crossroads
XANDRIA • Fire And Ashes EP
ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD • Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014)
SOULOST • The Way I Feel Pt. 2 EP

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORANGE OUTLAW • Desert Wolf
MOTORHEAD • Black Magic

Music reviews

16
10
AMORPHOUS
Shapeshifting
12
10
HELIOPHILE
Permeate
10
10
TEARFUL MOON
Evocation
08
10
SPECIAL LOVE
Unloveable
07
10
ASTARI NITE
Dreams Of Majesty
06
10
SUBTERFUGE
Blind To Reason

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
10
Amnesty International Belgium invites hundreds of artists
10
10
New Simi-Nah video 'Chacun Pour Soi' on YouTube!
02
10
New Wave cult & club classic band Crash Course In Science is back with a new (bomb) album!
01
10
New IMPLANT EP / Video - The Phone Call - Out now!
30
09
First two names for the International EBM Day (De Casino, St-Niklaas, B) announced!
29
09
VIII. E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL 2018 -NEWSLETTER- OF MASTERS, SERVANTS AND BIG MOMENTS!

Concert reviews

27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
10
BLANCMANGE
'We were making experimental music for a while, really just for ourselves, not thinking anyone would want to listen.'
13
10
KOL BELOV
I make strange animations, that look like music videos and strange music videos, that look like animation.
11
10
THE HORRORIST
'Sometimes I cringe when I hear some of my songs about sex or pain but at the same time it’s my diary.'
09
10
A SPLIT-SECOND
Marc Ickx talks about A Split-Second
03
10
PARADE GROUND
'We play with our figure as acrobats. We see the audience as instruments and love to play with them.'

PHOTOS

14
10
ATTRITION
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
VUDUVOX
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
CURXES
229 The Venue, London, UK
08
10
BLANCMANGE
229 The Venue, London, UK
27
09
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Rockhal Luxemburg
25
09
LLUMEN
Electrowerkz, London, UK
25
09
ASH CODE
Electrowerkz, London, UK

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

17
10
AND ALSO THE TREES
Your Guess
16
10
!DISTAIN
Conversation Overkill
15
10
TEHI TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD
The Beast
15
10
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
A Day
14
10
RED ZEBRA
The Art Of Conversation
12
10
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins