tempobet yeni adresi

17/10/2014 : LIV KRISTINE - Vervain

LIV KRISTINE

Vervain

MusicCD
Dream MetalEthereal / Heavenly VoicesFemale Fronted MetalHard RockHeavy Metal

[87/100]   

Napalm Records
17/10/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Liv Kristine is one of those artists who are worldwide known (first from Theatre of Tragedy, than later from Leaves Eyes and now as a solo artist ). This is already her 5th solo album! Last time something got reviewed from her on Peek-a-Boo was when she was featured on the compilation (Absolute grrls manifesto chapter 1), so you can for sure say that somewhere there’s hunger for more!

Music wise, one can say that after a while some tracks pop-up as being the better ones from the album, being a bit catchier and having a more haunting melody. It's only 10 tracks and feels like like that: only 10 tracks. For sure they are all well-crafted and her voice still sounds like a nightingale! 

The good thing about this album is the great variation in the sound! To start with the more rock orientated opening track My Wilderness. Her voice is great and the sound is very catchy. The roaring guitars might seduce you to some air guitar play! I can see this one getting a lot of positive vibes during her upcoming gigs!

Love Decay is more gothic minded (little piano synth part included) and has the help from Michelle Darkness (End of Green). The lyrics are meant to seduce vampire story lovers. Another thing that needs to be said is that the male and female vocal fight in this one is just great and lifting it up to a higher ground! It's for sure one of my favorite tracks!

Vervain, the title track is one of these haunting melodic tracks! Her voice catches you: bitter and sweet. It's an ethereal metal beauty with influences from Type O Negative.

Another great duet comes with The Stronghold of Angels! Doro Pesch (known from Warlock, but also from her great solo work) catches that something special and makes of this another highlight on the album! It's simply a great metal female fronted vocal battle! Hunters has a higher drive and is over before you realize it. Lotus starts as a soft ballad, but turns into a power ballad and gets some dramatically sound and great guitars! It could be the female version of November Rain by Guns ‘n Roses.

Elucidation is a nice one, but not a highlight (genre: sweet hard rock). Two and a Heart sounds a bit like older tracks and thus reminding of good things! This is one of these tracks that could create a great vibe during a concert with a lot of variation within the track! Creeper is a catchy track, with a pinch of doom and vocals that fly from high to low, just like a majestic butterfly! Oblivious is a good song to end with: giving a last blast and showing off for the last time Liv's great vocal powers!

It was a nice trip through a magical album! We are definitely looking forward to see her on stage.

Filip VAN MUYLEM
17/10/2014


 

Next reviews
LAMB • Backspace Unwind
SUDABEH MORTEZAI • Macondo (FilmFest Ghent 2014)
MARCO BELLOCCHIO • Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014)
HUMAN LEAGUE • Classics: Dare
DOUG LIMAN • Edge Of Tomorrow
VARIOUS ARTISTS • LABEL NOIR VOL.2 SAMPLER
SETH MACFARLANE • A Million Ways To Die In The West
• DRACULA SEASON 1
PEAKING LIGHTS • Cosmic Logic
GEOFFREY ENTHOVEN • Halfweg

 

Other reviews from LIV KRISTINE
LIV KRISTINE • Roeselare, De Verlichte Geest (19/12/2015)

 

Same genre: DREAM METAL
THE MORGANATICS • We Come From The Stars
EUROROCK FEST • Day 1 (15/05/2015)
ELUVEITIE • Origins
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 2, 18/10/2014 | Leaves' Eyes, Sirenia, The Sirens and more...
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 1, 17/10/2014 | MFV United, Ayin Aleph and more...
SKEPTICAL MINDS • Run for your live 2014
KALIDIA • LIES DEVICE
DISKELION • Remember Sorrow
SAVN • Savn
XANDRIA • Sacrificum

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
BRODKA • Clashes
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest

 

Same genre: FEMALE FRONTED METAL
ENEMY OF REALITY • Arakhne
ELYSIAN GATES • Crossroads
XANDRIA • Fire And Ashes EP
ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD • Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014)
SOULOST • The Way I Feel Pt. 2 EP

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORANGE OUTLAW • Desert Wolf
MOTORHEAD • Black Magic

Music reviews

16
08
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND
Mercury Fountain
10
08
CONVERGE
I Can Tell You About Pain
05
08
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION
Split EP
03
08
NTTX
Of Beauty and Chaos'
01
08
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD
Murder Of The Universe
30
07
LIE DETECTOR
To Fly!

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Sinead O' Connor posts desperate help-call video on her Facebook
13
08
Kirlian Camera co-operate with Covenant and announce new album
11
08
Hocico - Spell of The Spider - German tour dates
08
08
Wool-E's physical shop closing down - Up to 50% discount on stock-sales!
07
08
Silken Tofu on yearly Atlantikwall nocturnal, 19th August
04
08
New single/video Gary Numan ‘My Name Is Ruin' online!

Concert reviews

28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller
26
06
KRYONIX, SYNTHATTACK, BLEIB MODERN, WHISPERING SONS, THE VISION BLEAK
Zondag 4 juni
09
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
08
DICEPEOPLE
'Electro with an Industrial/Gothic edge and broad range of other influences'
09
08
SEEMING
I'm trying to paint a world where humans are not the stars or the narrators—where it's not about us at all.
06
08
THE MESCALINE BABIES
'I love Christian death, but their first album is nearly 40 years old, we should try to evolve the concept.'
03
08
LIQUID TRAUMA
OUR MEMORIES OF A BETTER PAST ARE OFTEN FAKE
31
07
DEAD BORN BABIES
'They are about the livings who spoke us out. We adapted all the haunted and horror idioms to make them synonyms of “politicians”, “Global corporations”, “society “'

PHOTOS

28
07
EISBRECHER
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
COMBICHRIST
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
LETZTE INSTANZ
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
HOCICO
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
DAS ICH
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
STAHLMANN
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
VNV NATION
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

17
08
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
17
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Virus
17
08
DIE KRUPPS
Nazis Auf Speed
15
08
VIRGIN IN VEIL
Of Tears and Poisons
14
08
JAMBINAI
They Keep Silence
13
08
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Exorcism
12
08
AEVERIUM
Hunted