tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : DEEP PURPLE - Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)

DEEP PURPLE

Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)

Concert
Hard Rock 11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

After two amazing shows by the voice and guitar of Pink Floyd, David Gilmour, on wednesday and thursday, on friday, on the first day of the Suikerrockfestival, Tienen had another important date with rock and roll history. British hard rock giants Deep Purple headlined on friday, july 29th and were killing it in Tienen with a grand show reducing all other bands that day to support acts.

Kicking off with a smashing Highway Star and ending with Black Night the rest of the setlist contained more ear candy and lots of fan favourites. And eventhough the band play the same setlist each and every night you can clearly see and feel they're enjoying themselves to the full. No auto-pilote alert. Or they're really good actors.

The oldest song in the set was the Joe South classic Hush, made famous by Purple MK I in 1968, and the most recent songs were from 2013, from the splendid Now What?! Album. Rumour has it that the band are currently working on their 20th album.

Always a pleasure to see these rock legends play, providing the perfect sound. Age doesn't seem to have that much effect on original band members such as drummer Ian Paice, with perfect timed percussion and always spot and, maybe the kindest bass player on earth, the mighty Roger Glover. And then there's Steve Morse on guitar of course, the blonde God with his everlasting smile. Replacing the late Jon Lord seemed impossible at the time but Don Airey does a really great job on keyboards.

Maybe the weakest link in the Purple machinerey nowadays is Ian Gillan. It's no news that Gillan can't hit the high notes like he used to. Therefore a song like Child In Time is omitted from the setlists since long. But also Highway Star was a real struggle for Gillan, maybe another song to drop from the setlist? Gillan really had to concentrate hard to get the singing right and produce enough volume. Maybe the band has to work on some song arrangements tot fit Ian's limited vocal range.
The only Purple-singer* who's still able to hit all high notes is Glenn Hughes. But getting Hughes back is maybe not an option, and for most fans Gillan is thé Deep Purple front man. Oh, maybe better a somewhat broken voice then what we had to endure during the show by Zornik, with singer Koen Buyse who surely will win every contest that would be based on singing out of tune! Alright, back to Purple!

The finest moments of the gig for me were certainly Demon's Eye, Vincent Price, Uncomman Man, the mighty Perfect Strangers and an epic Lazy that wasn't so lazy at all. Of and of course Strange Kind of Woman and a feasty, and groovy and very powerful Space Truckin'.

Steve Morse could showcase his talents in Contact Lost and The Well Dressed Guitar. The delicious hammondsolo's were the prelude to Perfect Strangers. Black Night, in the encores, was preceeded by a powerful bass solo by Glover.

Smoke on the Water was the obligate closing song of the main set. Are they really going to play this one?, one of my mates asked me, they always do!, I replied. Hush was precedeed by Green Onions (Booker T & The MG's) and of course it took the band not long get the audience singing the nah-nah-nah-nah-nah-nah-nah-nah-nah-nah-naaa bits of Hush.

When the final notes of Black Night bursted through the speakers it was midnight. Perfect timing, no?

Sadly no Sometimes I Feel Like Screaming nor When A Blind Man Cries in the set. Songs which would match rather good with Gillan's voice in it's current condition, me thinks.

Deep Purple is not retiring yet and they're still good for a couple of more years in the live circuit, if you ask me. But what about Gillan's vocals then? Anayways, when Purple returns to a stage nearby there's a really big chance you'll see me there, cheering and singing along, helping out Ian?

(*) Glenn Hughes (bass/ vocals) was part of Deep Purple Mark III and IV, from 1973 to 1976.


picture: © Franky Bruyneel


Setlist:
Intro tape: The Planets opus 32 (Gustaf Holst) / Highway Star / Bloodsucker / Hard Lovin' Man / Strange Kind of Woman / Vincent Price / Contact Lost / Uncommon Man / The Well-Dressed Guitar / Lazy / Demon's Eye / Hell To Pay / Keyboard solo / Perfect Strangers / Space Truckin' / Smoke on the Water

Encores:
Green Onions (Booker T & The MG's) / Hush (Joe South) / Bass Solo / Black Night

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Terwijl Tienen amper bekomen was van de magie die Pink Floyd-icoon David Gilmour naar de Suikerstad bracht op woensdag en donderdag, stond er op vrijdag 29 juli 2016, tijdens de eerste Suikerrockdag, alweer een grote naam uit de rockgeschiedenis op het podium. De Britse hardrocksensatie Deep Purple speelde de spreekwoordelijke pannen van het dak op de Grote Markt met een setlist met heel veel publieksfavorieten. De band was bijzonder goed op dreef en dus kon de avond niet meer stuk. Aan enthousiasme en spelplezier absoluut geen gebrek, de heren spelen nog steeds met de flair van jonge honden.

Nog steeds is het een lieve lust om oerlid bassist Roger Glover aan het werk te zien en te horen, Steve Morse is nog steeds die sympathieke altijd glimlachende blonde God op gitaar en Ian Paice's nauwgezette percussiewerk is altijd boenk erop. Dat keyboard-tovenaar Don Airey de zware taak heeft om de betreurde Jon Lord te vervangen en dat met verve doet, hoeft misschien niet te worden gezegd, maar toch.

Ian Gillan, die voor gulle gastheer speelde en nooit om een grapje verlegen zat, is misschien de zwakste schakel in de Puperen machine. Je merkt dat hij zich goed moet concentreren op de zanglijnen, soms merkte je dat hij niet genoeg volume uit zijn stem kreeg. Dat Gillan de allerhoogste octaven niet meer aan kan, is een publiek geheim. Daarom dus nooit nog Child In Time, maar dat mag je de man niet aanrekenen. Gillan kweet zich behoorlijk van zijn taak. Soms was het duidelijk moeilijk, misschien moeten ze sommige songs anders arrangeren opdat Ian in lagere toonaard zou kunnen zingen, of ze moeten gewoon uit de set worden gehaald. Of Glenn Hughes* weer engageren? Gillan is natuurlijk voor de meesten dé Deep Purple-zanger. Ach, liever een versleten stem dan wat Koen Buyse van Zornik presteerde, een uur voor Purple aantrad: continu tergend vals zingen alsof het een wedstrijd was die hij absoluut zou winnen.

Maar terug naar Deep Purple. De setlist is dan wel elke avond dezelfde, de heren spelen de songs alsof ze dat voor 't eerst doen en met evenveel zichtbaar plezier. En zo niet, dan zijn het stuk voor stuk goede acteurs. Het oudste materiaal uit de set stamt uit 1968 en de jongste songs uit 2013, want zo 'oud' is 'Now What?!', het recentste Deep Purple-album al. Maar de heren zijn bijna klaar met hun 20ste album naar verluidt.

Highway Star en Bloodsucker, meteen vooraan in de set, waren misschien geen cadeau voor Gillans beproefde stem, maar ze zorgden natuurlijk wel dat het rock 'n rollfeestje meteen stevig op gang getrapt werd en dat iedereen mee was. De fijnste momenten in de set waren zeer zeker Demon's' Eye, Vincent Price, Uncommon Man, het machtige Perfect Strangers en een allesbehalve Lazy met epische proporties. En natuurlijk ook Strange Kind of Woman en een bijzonder feestelijk en krachtig Space Truckin'.

In The Well Dressed Guitar en Contact Lost kon stergitarist Steve Morse zich heerlijk uitleven, wat de man niet naliet natuurlijk, altijd met die eeuwige glimlach op het gezicht. De zalige hammond- en keyboardsoli van Don Airey gingen Perfect Strangers vooraf. Het obligate Smoke On The Water - een van mijn gezellen vroeg me: gaan ze dat nu écht doen? Mijn antwoord: Ja, altijd! - was de traditionele afsluiter van de set.

In de bisronde werd Green Onions van Booker T & The MG's naadloos gekoppeld aan Joe Souths Hush, maar vooral bekend in Purple's versie en het publiek leverde gewillig de nah-nah-nah, nah-nah-nah-nah-nah-nah-nah-naaa-vocalen. Na een een potige bassolo van Roger Glover volgde nog Black Night, als ultieme slotakkoord. Het was net middernacht geworden.

Helaas géén Sometimes I Feel Like Screaming, noch When A Blind Man Cries, best geschikt voor Ians stem in de huidige situatie, bedenk ik net, maar een mens kan niet alles willen, niet?

Deep Purple kan gerust nog een paar jaar mee in het live-circuit. Maar misschien moet dan toch naar oplossingen gezocht worden voor de vocals van Ian? Alleszins, als de legendarische hardrockers straks weer op een Belgisch podium staan, ben ik er allicht ook weer bij.

(*) Glenn Hughes maakte deel uit van de Deep Purple-line-up, als zanger van 1973 tot en met 1976, Mark III en IV

foto: © Franky Bruyneel

Setlist:
Intro tape: The Planets opus 32 (Gustaf Holst) / Highway Star / Bloodsucker / Hard Lovin' Man / Strange Kind of Woman / Vincent Price / Contact Lost / Uncommon Man / The Well-Dressed Guitar / Lazy / Demon's Eye / Hell To Pay / Keyboard solo / Perfect Strangers / Space Truckin' / Smoke on the Water

Encores:
Green Onions (Booker T & The MG's) / Hush (Joe South) / Bass Solo / Black Night

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

28
06
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
THE MISSION
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
IAMX
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
W.H. LUNG
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
FORCED TO MODE
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
TORUL
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
ATMOSPHERE
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete