tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

11/12/2016 : MYRKUR - Mausoleum

MYRKUR

Mausoleum

MusicCD
AmbientClassicalEthereal / Heavenly VoicesFolkMedievalMystical

[90/100]   

Relapse Records
11/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

On the album Mausoleum you only hear piano, acoustic guitar and the angelic voices of Amalie Bruun and the Norwegian Girls Choir, recorded live in the Emanuel Vigeland Mausoleum in Oslo. The songs come from the album M (September 2014), but for this release they have been given a completely different arrangement. The difference with M could not be greater, because Myrkur - the solo project of Amalia Bruun - is a black metal project and therefore the compositions originally sounded very ominous, with dark guitars, rumbling drums and whistling synths.

In the Emanuel Vigeland Mausoleum, the songs sound almost religious. The bombastic musical arrangement is gone and replaced by the sparse sounds of a classical piano and a quiet guitar, while the focus is entirely on the voices.

The EP begins with the heavenly Vølvens Spådom, a stunning and resonant a cappella composition that suggests eternity but also infinite void. In Jeg Er Guden, I Er Tjenere the sound of the piano is added; the echoing voice is doubled and the choir gently enters. A ballad in honor of God and his servants. Skøgen Skulle Dø, again with an emphatic but restrained classical piano, has the quality of a neo-classical ballad. The voices swirl together as falling snowflakes and produce a pure and lofty sound like jubilant angels. The tone is dark because the lyrics are about a dying forest.

We hear the same darkness in the piano sound of Byssan Lull, but the composition seems more like a lullaby: innocent, simple and stunningly performed by the Norwegian Girls Choir.

Then there are two compositions that were not on the original album. Den Lille Piges Dod sounds fragile and brittle, a singer-songwriter composition with a gently rumbling acoustic guitar and emphatic interventions of the piano, in which we hear the ominous tone of the black metal version, without falling out of tune with the rest of the material. Again very nice, sensitive and delicate. In the intro of Frosne Vind, the acoustic guitar sounds like the instrument of a medieval minstrel and the voices sound like singing mermaids.

Onde Børn, with an accompaniment of piano and guitar, sounds fragile and brittle: a heavenly ballad for an old and faded Nordic fantasy world, populated by elves and nymphs. Song to Hall up High is also a new composition. You imagine Amalie Bruuns in an empty cathedral, while the sound of her beautiful voice is lost in the high vaults. Dypt I Skoven closes this wonderful but too short album with ethereal sounds that are rare in today's commercial music: an album for dreamers, for fans of Dead Can Dance and Hildegard von Bingen.

Tracklist:
1. Vølvens Spådom
2. Jeg Er Guden, I Er Tjenere
3. Skøgen Skulle Dø
4. Byssan Lull
5. Den Lille Piges Dod
6. Frosne Vind
7. Onde Børn
8. Song to Hall up High
9. Dypt I Skoven

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


NL

Op Mausoleum hoor je alleen piano, akoestische gitaar en de engelachtige stemmen van Amalie Bruun en het Norwegian Girls Choir, live opgenomen in Emanuel Vigeland Mausoleum in Oslo. De songs stonden eerder op het album M (september 2014), maar voor deze release hebben ze een totaal andere arrangement gekregen. Het verschil met de versies op M kon niet groter zijn, want eigenlijk is Myrkur – het soloproject van Amalia Bruun – een blackmetalproject en dus klonken de composities oorspronkelijk heel onheilspellend, met donkere gitaren, roffelende drums en fluitende synths.

In het Emanuel Vigeland Mausoleum klinkt het materiaal van Myrkur bijna religieus. De bombastische muzikale omlijsting is verdwenen en vervangen door spaarzame klanken van een klassieke piano en een rustige gitaar, terwijl de nadruk helemaal op de stemmen ligt.

De ep begint met het hemelse Vølvens Spådom, een bloedmooie en galmende a capellacompositie die eeuwigheid maar ook oneindige leegte suggereert. In Jeg Er Guden, I Er Tjenere wordt de klank van de piano toegevoegd, de galmende stem is verdubbeld en het koor doet voorzichtig zijn intrede. Een ballade ter ere van God en zijn dienaars. Skøgen Skulle Dø, opnieuw met een nadrukkelijke maar tegelijk ingehouden klassieke piano, heeft de kwaliteit van een neoklassieke ballade. De stemmen dwarrelen door elkaar als vallende sneeuwvlokken en produceren een zuiver en verheven geluid als van jubelende engelen. De toon is donker want de tekst gaat over een stervend bos.

Diezelfde donkerte zit in de pianoklank van Byssan Lull, maar de compositie lijkt eerder op een wiegeliedje: onschuldig, eenvoudig en bloedmooi uitgevoerd door het Norwegian Girls Choir.

Dan volgen twee composities die niet op het oorspronkelijke album stonden. Den Lille Piges Dod klinkt fragiel en breekbaar, een singer-songwriterscompositie met een voorzichtig roffelende akoestische gitaar en nadrukkelijke interventies van de piano, waarin de onheilspellende toon van de blackmetalversie doordringt, zonder dat de uitvoering uit de toon valt met de rest van het materiaal. Opnieuw heel erg mooi, gevoelig en delicaat. In de intro van Frosne Vind klinkt de akoestische gitaar als het geluid van middeleeuwse minstrelen en de stemmen als zingende sirenes.

Onde Børn, met een begeleiding van piano en gitaar, klinkt fragiel en breekbaar: een hemelse ballade voor een oude en vergane noordse fantasiewereld, bevolkt door elfen en nimfen. Ook Song to Hall up High is een nieuwe compositie. Je stelt je Amalie Bruuns voor in een lege kathedraal, terwijl het geluid van haar prachtige stem verloren gaat in het hoge gewelf. Dypt I Skoven sluit dit wondermooi maar veel te korte album af met etherische klanken die zeldzaam zijn in de huidige commerciële muziek: een album voor dromers, voor fans van Dead Can Dance en Hildegard von Bingen.

Tracklist:
1. Vølvens Spådom
2. Jeg Er Guden, I Er Tjenere
3. Skøgen Skulle Dø
4. Byssan Lull
5. Den Lille Piges Dod
6. Frosne Vind
7. Onde Børn
8. Song to Hall up High
9. Dypt I Skoven

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
XOTOX • Essentials
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
ROLAND BEELEN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
GIUSEPPE TAIBI (EUROPEAN GHOST) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER DE KONING (HEDERA HELIX, HYBRYDS) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
FABIO VITELLI (HIDDEN PLACE)

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
BE • One
SCATTER FACTORY • Scatter Factory

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH • Motetten (JardinDesVoix & Barokensemble Aspetti Musicali o.l.v. Koen Lamberechts, Gent, Sint-Elisabethkerk, 28/05/2016)
ANTONYMES • (For Now We See) Through a Glass Dimly
FOLIAS ANTIGUAS & CRIOLLAS (FROM THE OLD TO THE NEW WORLD) • Hesperion XXI & Tembembe Ensamble Continuo o.l.v. Jordi Savall (Antwerpen, deSingel, 20/4/2016)
MEILYR JONES • 2013
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
BRODKA • Clashes
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
RED MECCA • Electricity

 

Same genre: FOLK
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde
TANZWUT • Freitag der 13
FEUERSCHWANZ • Auf's Leben

 

Same genre: MYSTICAL
RON HOWARD • Inferno
JOZEF VAN WISSEM • It Is Time For You To Return
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
FORREST FANG • Letters To The Farthest Star
DIRK GEIGER • Connected Worlds
LISANDRO ALONSO • Jauja (Filmfest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors
03
12
IVANKOVA
Ivankovà EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video
14
12
This Friday the renowned Belgian Independent Music Festival 2017 (BIMFEST XVI) will kick-Off!
13
12
Brand new video by Crash Course In Science!
12
12
In Strict Confidence releases HERZ & FROZEN KISSES, a two-in-one single release with remixes and more!
11
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE to release entire catalogue remastered on EROMEDA RECORDS
10
12
Antwerp triphop / indiepop band Psy'Aviah announces new album!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
12
EUFORIC EXCISTENCE
Euforic Existence: We like to be put under the heading of EBM, but realize that we are an outsider. I would not want anything else.
09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’

PHOTOS

11
12
LACUNA COIL
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
11
12
CELLAR DARLING
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
05
12
FRONT 242
Ab Brussel
05
12
METROLAND
Ab Brussel
05
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
SHE PAST AWAY
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
GOLDEN APES
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

16
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE
Sunset Beach
15
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
14
12
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
13
12
BLANCMANGE
Blind Vision (HD)
12
12
THEN COMES SILENCE
The Dead Cry For No One
11
12
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Eclipse (Vintage Version - Live in Erfurt 2017)
10
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
A Rainbow Is Fading