tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MYRKUR - Mausoleum

MYRKUR

Mausoleum

MusicCD
AmbientClassicalEthereal / Heavenly VoicesFolkMedievalMystical

[90/100]   

Relapse Records
11/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

On the album Mausoleum you only hear piano, acoustic guitar and the angelic voices of Amalie Bruun and the Norwegian Girls Choir, recorded live in the Emanuel Vigeland Mausoleum in Oslo. The songs come from the album M (September 2014), but for this release they have been given a completely different arrangement. The difference with M could not be greater, because Myrkur - the solo project of Amalia Bruun - is a black metal project and therefore the compositions originally sounded very ominous, with dark guitars, rumbling drums and whistling synths.

In the Emanuel Vigeland Mausoleum, the songs sound almost religious. The bombastic musical arrangement is gone and replaced by the sparse sounds of a classical piano and a quiet guitar, while the focus is entirely on the voices.

The EP begins with the heavenly Vølvens Spådom, a stunning and resonant a cappella composition that suggests eternity but also infinite void. In Jeg Er Guden, I Er Tjenere the sound of the piano is added; the echoing voice is doubled and the choir gently enters. A ballad in honor of God and his servants. Skøgen Skulle Dø, again with an emphatic but restrained classical piano, has the quality of a neo-classical ballad. The voices swirl together as falling snowflakes and produce a pure and lofty sound like jubilant angels. The tone is dark because the lyrics are about a dying forest.

We hear the same darkness in the piano sound of Byssan Lull, but the composition seems more like a lullaby: innocent, simple and stunningly performed by the Norwegian Girls Choir.

Then there are two compositions that were not on the original album. Den Lille Piges Dod sounds fragile and brittle, a singer-songwriter composition with a gently rumbling acoustic guitar and emphatic interventions of the piano, in which we hear the ominous tone of the black metal version, without falling out of tune with the rest of the material. Again very nice, sensitive and delicate. In the intro of Frosne Vind, the acoustic guitar sounds like the instrument of a medieval minstrel and the voices sound like singing mermaids.

Onde Børn, with an accompaniment of piano and guitar, sounds fragile and brittle: a heavenly ballad for an old and faded Nordic fantasy world, populated by elves and nymphs. Song to Hall up High is also a new composition. You imagine Amalie Bruuns in an empty cathedral, while the sound of her beautiful voice is lost in the high vaults. Dypt I Skoven closes this wonderful but too short album with ethereal sounds that are rare in today's commercial music: an album for dreamers, for fans of Dead Can Dance and Hildegard von Bingen.

Tracklist:
1. Vølvens Spådom
2. Jeg Er Guden, I Er Tjenere
3. Skøgen Skulle Dø
4. Byssan Lull
5. Den Lille Piges Dod
6. Frosne Vind
7. Onde Børn
8. Song to Hall up High
9. Dypt I Skoven

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


NL

Op Mausoleum hoor je alleen piano, akoestische gitaar en de engelachtige stemmen van Amalie Bruun en het Norwegian Girls Choir, live opgenomen in Emanuel Vigeland Mausoleum in Oslo. De songs stonden eerder op het album M (september 2014), maar voor deze release hebben ze een totaal andere arrangement gekregen. Het verschil met de versies op M kon niet groter zijn, want eigenlijk is Myrkur – het soloproject van Amalia Bruun – een blackmetalproject en dus klonken de composities oorspronkelijk heel onheilspellend, met donkere gitaren, roffelende drums en fluitende synths.

In het Emanuel Vigeland Mausoleum klinkt het materiaal van Myrkur bijna religieus. De bombastische muzikale omlijsting is verdwenen en vervangen door spaarzame klanken van een klassieke piano en een rustige gitaar, terwijl de nadruk helemaal op de stemmen ligt.

De ep begint met het hemelse Vølvens Spådom, een bloedmooie en galmende a capellacompositie die eeuwigheid maar ook oneindige leegte suggereert. In Jeg Er Guden, I Er Tjenere wordt de klank van de piano toegevoegd, de galmende stem is verdubbeld en het koor doet voorzichtig zijn intrede. Een ballade ter ere van God en zijn dienaars. Skøgen Skulle Dø, opnieuw met een nadrukkelijke maar tegelijk ingehouden klassieke piano, heeft de kwaliteit van een neoklassieke ballade. De stemmen dwarrelen door elkaar als vallende sneeuwvlokken en produceren een zuiver en verheven geluid als van jubelende engelen. De toon is donker want de tekst gaat over een stervend bos.

Diezelfde donkerte zit in de pianoklank van Byssan Lull, maar de compositie lijkt eerder op een wiegeliedje: onschuldig, eenvoudig en bloedmooi uitgevoerd door het Norwegian Girls Choir.

Dan volgen twee composities die niet op het oorspronkelijke album stonden. Den Lille Piges Dod klinkt fragiel en breekbaar, een singer-songwriterscompositie met een voorzichtig roffelende akoestische gitaar en nadrukkelijke interventies van de piano, waarin de onheilspellende toon van de blackmetalversie doordringt, zonder dat de uitvoering uit de toon valt met de rest van het materiaal. Opnieuw heel erg mooi, gevoelig en delicaat. In de intro van Frosne Vind klinkt de akoestische gitaar als het geluid van middeleeuwse minstrelen en de stemmen als zingende sirenes.

Onde Børn, met een begeleiding van piano en gitaar, klinkt fragiel en breekbaar: een hemelse ballade voor een oude en vergane noordse fantasiewereld, bevolkt door elfen en nimfen. Ook Song to Hall up High is een nieuwe compositie. Je stelt je Amalie Bruuns voor in een lege kathedraal, terwijl het geluid van haar prachtige stem verloren gaat in het hoge gewelf. Dypt I Skoven sluit dit wondermooi maar veel te korte album af met etherische klanken die zeldzaam zijn in de huidige commerciële muziek: een album voor dromers, voor fans van Dead Can Dance en Hildegard von Bingen.

Tracklist:
1. Vølvens Spådom
2. Jeg Er Guden, I Er Tjenere
3. Skøgen Skulle Dø
4. Byssan Lull
5. Den Lille Piges Dod
6. Frosne Vind
7. Onde Børn
8. Song to Hall up High
9. Dypt I Skoven

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
XOTOX • Essentials
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
ROLAND BEELEN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
GIUSEPPE TAIBI (EUROPEAN GHOST) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER DE KONING (HEDERA HELIX, HYBRYDS) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
FABIO VITELLI (HIDDEN PLACE)

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall

 

Same genre: FOLK
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
WALTER CELI • Blend
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde
TANZWUT • Freitag der 13

 

Same genre: MYSTICAL
RON HOWARD • Inferno
JOZEF VAN WISSEM • It Is Time For You To Return
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
FORREST FANG • Letters To The Farthest Star
DIRK GEIGER • Connected Worlds
LISANDRO ALONSO • Jauja (Filmfest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)