tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MYRKUR - Mausoleum

MYRKUR

Mausoleum

MusicCD
AmbientClassicalEthereal / Heavenly VoicesFolkMedievalMystical

[90/100]   

Relapse Records
11/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

On the album Mausoleum you only hear piano, acoustic guitar and the angelic voices of Amalie Bruun and the Norwegian Girls Choir, recorded live in the Emanuel Vigeland Mausoleum in Oslo. The songs come from the album M (September 2014), but for this release they have been given a completely different arrangement. The difference with M could not be greater, because Myrkur - the solo project of Amalia Bruun - is a black metal project and therefore the compositions originally sounded very ominous, with dark guitars, rumbling drums and whistling synths.

In the Emanuel Vigeland Mausoleum, the songs sound almost religious. The bombastic musical arrangement is gone and replaced by the sparse sounds of a classical piano and a quiet guitar, while the focus is entirely on the voices.

The EP begins with the heavenly Vølvens Spådom, a stunning and resonant a cappella composition that suggests eternity but also infinite void. In Jeg Er Guden, I Er Tjenere the sound of the piano is added; the echoing voice is doubled and the choir gently enters. A ballad in honor of God and his servants. Skøgen Skulle Dø, again with an emphatic but restrained classical piano, has the quality of a neo-classical ballad. The voices swirl together as falling snowflakes and produce a pure and lofty sound like jubilant angels. The tone is dark because the lyrics are about a dying forest.

We hear the same darkness in the piano sound of Byssan Lull, but the composition seems more like a lullaby: innocent, simple and stunningly performed by the Norwegian Girls Choir.

Then there are two compositions that were not on the original album. Den Lille Piges Dod sounds fragile and brittle, a singer-songwriter composition with a gently rumbling acoustic guitar and emphatic interventions of the piano, in which we hear the ominous tone of the black metal version, without falling out of tune with the rest of the material. Again very nice, sensitive and delicate. In the intro of Frosne Vind, the acoustic guitar sounds like the instrument of a medieval minstrel and the voices sound like singing mermaids.

Onde Børn, with an accompaniment of piano and guitar, sounds fragile and brittle: a heavenly ballad for an old and faded Nordic fantasy world, populated by elves and nymphs. Song to Hall up High is also a new composition. You imagine Amalie Bruuns in an empty cathedral, while the sound of her beautiful voice is lost in the high vaults. Dypt I Skoven closes this wonderful but too short album with ethereal sounds that are rare in today's commercial music: an album for dreamers, for fans of Dead Can Dance and Hildegard von Bingen.

Tracklist:
1. Vølvens Spådom
2. Jeg Er Guden, I Er Tjenere
3. Skøgen Skulle Dø
4. Byssan Lull
5. Den Lille Piges Dod
6. Frosne Vind
7. Onde Børn
8. Song to Hall up High
9. Dypt I Skoven

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


NL

Op Mausoleum hoor je alleen piano, akoestische gitaar en de engelachtige stemmen van Amalie Bruun en het Norwegian Girls Choir, live opgenomen in Emanuel Vigeland Mausoleum in Oslo. De songs stonden eerder op het album M (september 2014), maar voor deze release hebben ze een totaal andere arrangement gekregen. Het verschil met de versies op M kon niet groter zijn, want eigenlijk is Myrkur – het soloproject van Amalia Bruun – een blackmetalproject en dus klonken de composities oorspronkelijk heel onheilspellend, met donkere gitaren, roffelende drums en fluitende synths.

In het Emanuel Vigeland Mausoleum klinkt het materiaal van Myrkur bijna religieus. De bombastische muzikale omlijsting is verdwenen en vervangen door spaarzame klanken van een klassieke piano en een rustige gitaar, terwijl de nadruk helemaal op de stemmen ligt.

De ep begint met het hemelse Vølvens Spådom, een bloedmooie en galmende a capellacompositie die eeuwigheid maar ook oneindige leegte suggereert. In Jeg Er Guden, I Er Tjenere wordt de klank van de piano toegevoegd, de galmende stem is verdubbeld en het koor doet voorzichtig zijn intrede. Een ballade ter ere van God en zijn dienaars. Skøgen Skulle Dø, opnieuw met een nadrukkelijke maar tegelijk ingehouden klassieke piano, heeft de kwaliteit van een neoklassieke ballade. De stemmen dwarrelen door elkaar als vallende sneeuwvlokken en produceren een zuiver en verheven geluid als van jubelende engelen. De toon is donker want de tekst gaat over een stervend bos.

Diezelfde donkerte zit in de pianoklank van Byssan Lull, maar de compositie lijkt eerder op een wiegeliedje: onschuldig, eenvoudig en bloedmooi uitgevoerd door het Norwegian Girls Choir.

Dan volgen twee composities die niet op het oorspronkelijke album stonden. Den Lille Piges Dod klinkt fragiel en breekbaar, een singer-songwriterscompositie met een voorzichtig roffelende akoestische gitaar en nadrukkelijke interventies van de piano, waarin de onheilspellende toon van de blackmetalversie doordringt, zonder dat de uitvoering uit de toon valt met de rest van het materiaal. Opnieuw heel erg mooi, gevoelig en delicaat. In de intro van Frosne Vind klinkt de akoestische gitaar als het geluid van middeleeuwse minstrelen en de stemmen als zingende sirenes.

Onde Børn, met een begeleiding van piano en gitaar, klinkt fragiel en breekbaar: een hemelse ballade voor een oude en vergane noordse fantasiewereld, bevolkt door elfen en nimfen. Ook Song to Hall up High is een nieuwe compositie. Je stelt je Amalie Bruuns voor in een lege kathedraal, terwijl het geluid van haar prachtige stem verloren gaat in het hoge gewelf. Dypt I Skoven sluit dit wondermooi maar veel te korte album af met etherische klanken die zeldzaam zijn in de huidige commerciële muziek: een album voor dromers, voor fans van Dead Can Dance en Hildegard von Bingen.

Tracklist:
1. Vølvens Spådom
2. Jeg Er Guden, I Er Tjenere
3. Skøgen Skulle Dø
4. Byssan Lull
5. Den Lille Piges Dod
6. Frosne Vind
7. Onde Børn
8. Song to Hall up High
9. Dypt I Skoven

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
XOTOX • Essentials
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
ROLAND BEELEN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
GIUSEPPE TAIBI (EUROPEAN GHOST) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER DE KONING (HEDERA HELIX, HYBRYDS) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
FABIO VITELLI (HIDDEN PLACE)

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH • Motetten (JardinDesVoix & Barokensemble Aspetti Musicali o.l.v. Koen Lamberechts, Gent, Sint-Elisabethkerk, 28/05/2016)
ANTONYMES • (For Now We See) Through a Glass Dimly

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
BRODKA • Clashes
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines

 

Same genre: FOLK
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde
TANZWUT • Freitag der 13

 

Same genre: MYSTICAL
RON HOWARD • Inferno
JOZEF VAN WISSEM • It Is Time For You To Return
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
FORREST FANG • Letters To The Farthest Star
DIRK GEIGER • Connected Worlds
LISANDRO ALONSO • Jauja (Filmfest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

22
07
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Pink Obsession
11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
07
R.I.P. Rüdiger Frank (1967-2019) (Printed At Bismarck's Death, The Tors Of Dartmoor)
18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

22
07
L'AME IMMORTELLE
Amphi
22
07
PINK TURNS BLUE
Amphi
22
07
HENRIC DE LA COUR
Amphi
22
07
BLUTENGEL
Amphi
22
07
LORD OF THE LOST
Amphi
22
07
HOCICO
Amphi
22
07
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
07
STIN SCATZOR
Hellgium
22
07
LIZARD SMILE
Silence In Your Eyes
21
07
MINUIT MACHINE
BATTLES
20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart