tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH - The Perfect Enemy For God

THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH

The Perfect Enemy For God

MusicCD
IndieShoegaze

[79/100]   

Fuzz Club
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Underground Youth from Manchester is no stranger on our pages. Is this musical project of Craig Dyer indie or shoegaze? Well, actually it is both and that is why the music of this Briton sounds unique.

It began in 2008 as a bedroom band with composing lo-fi psychedelic songs. Craig did this at a very fast pace, and meanwhile his act has become one of the most important bands on the fantastic Fuzz Club. Moreover, this label re-releases his albums, at the request of the fans because the first editions are almost impossible to find. The Perfect Enemy For God is the band’s sixth album and was originally released in 2013.

Eight songs are on it. Sometimes acoustic which makes you think of Galaxie 500 (Veil and Runaway) and of course Craig Dyer’s familiar indie sound that refers to the C86 sound. Besides absolutely gems like the dreamy opener Tokyo Blue or The Stooges-infected In Sofia's Reflection, you also find the lovely underground hit Juliette on it. So addictive and so good that the word classic is required. Indie pearl!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

The Underground Youth uit Manchester is al lang geen onbekende meer op onze pagina’s. Is dit muzikale project van Craig Dyer nu indie of shoegaze? Wel, eigenlijk eet deze Brit van twee walletjes waardoor The Underground Youth tamelijk uniek klinkt.

Het begon in 2008 als een bedroomband met het componeren van lekkere lo-fi psychedelische songs. Craig deed dit aan een razendsnel tempo, ondertussen is zijn act wel uitgegroeid tot één van de belangrijkste op het fantastische Fuzz Club. Het is trouwens dit label dat de releases, op vraag van de fans heruitbrengt omdat de eerste uitgaven onvindbaar zijn. The Perfect Enemy For God is het zesde album dat oorspronkelijk in 2013 werd uitgebracht.

Acht songs vind je erop. Soms akoestisch waardoor je wel aan Galaxie 500 denkt (Veil en Runaway) en natuurlijk ook het vertrouwde indiegeluid van Craig Dyer dat meer dan eens naar het C86-geluid verwijst. Naast de absoluut te ontdekken pareltjes zoals de dromerige opener Tokyo Blue of het door The Stooges besmette In Sofia’s Reflection, vind je er ook nog de heerlijke undergroundhit Juliette op terug. Zo verslavend en zo goed dat het woord klassieker zich opdringt. Heerlijke plaat!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ROLAND BEELEN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
GIUSEPPE TAIBI (EUROPEAN GHOST) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER DE KONING (HEDERA HELIX, HYBRYDS) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
FABIO VITELLI (HIDDEN PLACE)
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
ERIC RANDOM • Words Made Flesh
OMD • Architecture and Morality / Dazzle Ships Live
SEVERED HEADS • Stretcher
THE INVISIBLE • Patience

 

Other reviews from THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Haunted
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Beautiful and Damned

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + SHOEGAZE
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
SIGNAPORE SLING • Psych Fuck
MAFF • Maff
THE HOUSE OF LOVE • Spy In The House Of Love
THE SPECTORS • Light Stays Close
BELL GARDENS • Slown Dawn For Lost Conclusions
UMMAGMA • UMMAGMA
HOUSE OF LOVE • She paints words in red
NOTHING • Suns And Lovers EP

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)