tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH - The Perfect Enemy For God

THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH

The Perfect Enemy For God

MusicCD
IndieShoegaze

[79/100]   

Fuzz Club
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Underground Youth from Manchester is no stranger on our pages. Is this musical project of Craig Dyer indie or shoegaze? Well, actually it is both and that is why the music of this Briton sounds unique.

It began in 2008 as a bedroom band with composing lo-fi psychedelic songs. Craig did this at a very fast pace, and meanwhile his act has become one of the most important bands on the fantastic Fuzz Club. Moreover, this label re-releases his albums, at the request of the fans because the first editions are almost impossible to find. The Perfect Enemy For God is the band’s sixth album and was originally released in 2013.

Eight songs are on it. Sometimes acoustic which makes you think of Galaxie 500 (Veil and Runaway) and of course Craig Dyer’s familiar indie sound that refers to the C86 sound. Besides absolutely gems like the dreamy opener Tokyo Blue or The Stooges-infected In Sofia's Reflection, you also find the lovely underground hit Juliette on it. So addictive and so good that the word classic is required. Indie pearl!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

The Underground Youth uit Manchester is al lang geen onbekende meer op onze pagina’s. Is dit muzikale project van Craig Dyer nu indie of shoegaze? Wel, eigenlijk eet deze Brit van twee walletjes waardoor The Underground Youth tamelijk uniek klinkt.

Het begon in 2008 als een bedroomband met het componeren van lekkere lo-fi psychedelische songs. Craig deed dit aan een razendsnel tempo, ondertussen is zijn act wel uitgegroeid tot één van de belangrijkste op het fantastische Fuzz Club. Het is trouwens dit label dat de releases, op vraag van de fans heruitbrengt omdat de eerste uitgaven onvindbaar zijn. The Perfect Enemy For God is het zesde album dat oorspronkelijk in 2013 werd uitgebracht.

Acht songs vind je erop. Soms akoestisch waardoor je wel aan Galaxie 500 denkt (Veil en Runaway) en natuurlijk ook het vertrouwde indiegeluid van Craig Dyer dat meer dan eens naar het C86-geluid verwijst. Naast de absoluut te ontdekken pareltjes zoals de dromerige opener Tokyo Blue of het door The Stooges besmette In Sofia’s Reflection, vind je er ook nog de heerlijke undergroundhit Juliette op terug. Zo verslavend en zo goed dat het woord klassieker zich opdringt. Heerlijke plaat!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ROLAND BEELEN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
GIUSEPPE TAIBI (EUROPEAN GHOST) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER DE KONING (HEDERA HELIX, HYBRYDS) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
FABIO VITELLI (HIDDEN PLACE)
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
ERIC RANDOM • Words Made Flesh
OMD • Architecture and Morality / Dazzle Ships Live
SEVERED HEADS • Stretcher
THE INVISIBLE • Patience

 

Other reviews from THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Haunted
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Beautiful and Damned

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + SHOEGAZE
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
SIGNAPORE SLING • Psych Fuck
MAFF • Maff
THE HOUSE OF LOVE • Spy In The House Of Love
THE SPECTORS • Light Stays Close
BELL GARDENS • Slown Dawn For Lost Conclusions
UMMAGMA • UMMAGMA
HOUSE OF LOVE • She paints words in red
NOTHING • Suns And Lovers EP

 

Same genre: INDIE
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder

Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed