tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH - The Perfect Enemy For God

THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH

The Perfect Enemy For God

MusicCD
IndieShoegaze

[79/100]   

Fuzz Club
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Underground Youth from Manchester is no stranger on our pages. Is this musical project of Craig Dyer indie or shoegaze? Well, actually it is both and that is why the music of this Briton sounds unique.

It began in 2008 as a bedroom band with composing lo-fi psychedelic songs. Craig did this at a very fast pace, and meanwhile his act has become one of the most important bands on the fantastic Fuzz Club. Moreover, this label re-releases his albums, at the request of the fans because the first editions are almost impossible to find. The Perfect Enemy For God is the band’s sixth album and was originally released in 2013.

Eight songs are on it. Sometimes acoustic which makes you think of Galaxie 500 (Veil and Runaway) and of course Craig Dyer’s familiar indie sound that refers to the C86 sound. Besides absolutely gems like the dreamy opener Tokyo Blue or The Stooges-infected In Sofia's Reflection, you also find the lovely underground hit Juliette on it. So addictive and so good that the word classic is required. Indie pearl!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

The Underground Youth uit Manchester is al lang geen onbekende meer op onze pagina’s. Is dit muzikale project van Craig Dyer nu indie of shoegaze? Wel, eigenlijk eet deze Brit van twee walletjes waardoor The Underground Youth tamelijk uniek klinkt.

Het begon in 2008 als een bedroomband met het componeren van lekkere lo-fi psychedelische songs. Craig deed dit aan een razendsnel tempo, ondertussen is zijn act wel uitgegroeid tot één van de belangrijkste op het fantastische Fuzz Club. Het is trouwens dit label dat de releases, op vraag van de fans heruitbrengt omdat de eerste uitgaven onvindbaar zijn. The Perfect Enemy For God is het zesde album dat oorspronkelijk in 2013 werd uitgebracht.

Acht songs vind je erop. Soms akoestisch waardoor je wel aan Galaxie 500 denkt (Veil en Runaway) en natuurlijk ook het vertrouwde indiegeluid van Craig Dyer dat meer dan eens naar het C86-geluid verwijst. Naast de absoluut te ontdekken pareltjes zoals de dromerige opener Tokyo Blue of het door The Stooges besmette In Sofia’s Reflection, vind je er ook nog de heerlijke undergroundhit Juliette op terug. Zo verslavend en zo goed dat het woord klassieker zich opdringt. Heerlijke plaat!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ROLAND BEELEN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
GIUSEPPE TAIBI (EUROPEAN GHOST) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER DE KONING (HEDERA HELIX, HYBRYDS) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
FABIO VITELLI (HIDDEN PLACE)
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
ERIC RANDOM • Words Made Flesh
OMD • Architecture and Morality / Dazzle Ships Live
SEVERED HEADS • Stretcher
THE INVISIBLE • Patience

 

Other reviews from THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Haunted
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Beautiful and Damned

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + SHOEGAZE
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
SIGNAPORE SLING • Psych Fuck
MAFF • Maff
THE HOUSE OF LOVE • Spy In The House Of Love
THE SPECTORS • Light Stays Close
BELL GARDENS • Slown Dawn For Lost Conclusions
UMMAGMA • UMMAGMA
HOUSE OF LOVE • She paints words in red
NOTHING • Suns And Lovers EP

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS

Music reviews

29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 32 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...
03
03
DAVID SARDY
Producer David Sardy on his work with The Who, Oasis, Marilyn Manson and scoring work.

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes
25
03
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins
24
03
KRANKLAND
In the Realms of the Unreal