tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH - The Perfect Enemy For God

THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH

The Perfect Enemy For God

MusicCD
IndieShoegaze

[79/100]   

Fuzz Club
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Underground Youth from Manchester is no stranger on our pages. Is this musical project of Craig Dyer indie or shoegaze? Well, actually it is both and that is why the music of this Briton sounds unique.

It began in 2008 as a bedroom band with composing lo-fi psychedelic songs. Craig did this at a very fast pace, and meanwhile his act has become one of the most important bands on the fantastic Fuzz Club. Moreover, this label re-releases his albums, at the request of the fans because the first editions are almost impossible to find. The Perfect Enemy For God is the band’s sixth album and was originally released in 2013.

Eight songs are on it. Sometimes acoustic which makes you think of Galaxie 500 (Veil and Runaway) and of course Craig Dyer’s familiar indie sound that refers to the C86 sound. Besides absolutely gems like the dreamy opener Tokyo Blue or The Stooges-infected In Sofia's Reflection, you also find the lovely underground hit Juliette on it. So addictive and so good that the word classic is required. Indie pearl!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

The Underground Youth uit Manchester is al lang geen onbekende meer op onze pagina’s. Is dit muzikale project van Craig Dyer nu indie of shoegaze? Wel, eigenlijk eet deze Brit van twee walletjes waardoor The Underground Youth tamelijk uniek klinkt.

Het begon in 2008 als een bedroomband met het componeren van lekkere lo-fi psychedelische songs. Craig deed dit aan een razendsnel tempo, ondertussen is zijn act wel uitgegroeid tot één van de belangrijkste op het fantastische Fuzz Club. Het is trouwens dit label dat de releases, op vraag van de fans heruitbrengt omdat de eerste uitgaven onvindbaar zijn. The Perfect Enemy For God is het zesde album dat oorspronkelijk in 2013 werd uitgebracht.

Acht songs vind je erop. Soms akoestisch waardoor je wel aan Galaxie 500 denkt (Veil en Runaway) en natuurlijk ook het vertrouwde indiegeluid van Craig Dyer dat meer dan eens naar het C86-geluid verwijst. Naast de absoluut te ontdekken pareltjes zoals de dromerige opener Tokyo Blue of het door The Stooges besmette In Sofia’s Reflection, vind je er ook nog de heerlijke undergroundhit Juliette op terug. Zo verslavend en zo goed dat het woord klassieker zich opdringt. Heerlijke plaat!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ROLAND BEELEN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
GIUSEPPE TAIBI (EUROPEAN GHOST) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER DE KONING (HEDERA HELIX, HYBRYDS) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
FABIO VITELLI (HIDDEN PLACE)
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
ERIC RANDOM • Words Made Flesh
OMD • Architecture and Morality / Dazzle Ships Live
SEVERED HEADS • Stretcher
THE INVISIBLE • Patience

 

Other reviews from THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Haunted
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Beautiful and Damned

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + SHOEGAZE
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
SIGNAPORE SLING • Psych Fuck
MAFF • Maff
THE HOUSE OF LOVE • Spy In The House Of Love
THE SPECTORS • Light Stays Close
BELL GARDENS • Slown Dawn For Lost Conclusions
UMMAGMA • UMMAGMA
HOUSE OF LOVE • She paints words in red
NOTHING • Suns And Lovers EP

 

Same genre: INDIE
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked