tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH - The Perfect Enemy For God

THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH

The Perfect Enemy For God

MusicCD
IndieShoegaze

[79/100]   

Fuzz Club
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Underground Youth from Manchester is no stranger on our pages. Is this musical project of Craig Dyer indie or shoegaze? Well, actually it is both and that is why the music of this Briton sounds unique.

It began in 2008 as a bedroom band with composing lo-fi psychedelic songs. Craig did this at a very fast pace, and meanwhile his act has become one of the most important bands on the fantastic Fuzz Club. Moreover, this label re-releases his albums, at the request of the fans because the first editions are almost impossible to find. The Perfect Enemy For God is the band’s sixth album and was originally released in 2013.

Eight songs are on it. Sometimes acoustic which makes you think of Galaxie 500 (Veil and Runaway) and of course Craig Dyer’s familiar indie sound that refers to the C86 sound. Besides absolutely gems like the dreamy opener Tokyo Blue or The Stooges-infected In Sofia's Reflection, you also find the lovely underground hit Juliette on it. So addictive and so good that the word classic is required. Indie pearl!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

The Underground Youth uit Manchester is al lang geen onbekende meer op onze pagina’s. Is dit muzikale project van Craig Dyer nu indie of shoegaze? Wel, eigenlijk eet deze Brit van twee walletjes waardoor The Underground Youth tamelijk uniek klinkt.

Het begon in 2008 als een bedroomband met het componeren van lekkere lo-fi psychedelische songs. Craig deed dit aan een razendsnel tempo, ondertussen is zijn act wel uitgegroeid tot één van de belangrijkste op het fantastische Fuzz Club. Het is trouwens dit label dat de releases, op vraag van de fans heruitbrengt omdat de eerste uitgaven onvindbaar zijn. The Perfect Enemy For God is het zesde album dat oorspronkelijk in 2013 werd uitgebracht.

Acht songs vind je erop. Soms akoestisch waardoor je wel aan Galaxie 500 denkt (Veil en Runaway) en natuurlijk ook het vertrouwde indiegeluid van Craig Dyer dat meer dan eens naar het C86-geluid verwijst. Naast de absoluut te ontdekken pareltjes zoals de dromerige opener Tokyo Blue of het door The Stooges besmette In Sofia’s Reflection, vind je er ook nog de heerlijke undergroundhit Juliette op terug. Zo verslavend en zo goed dat het woord klassieker zich opdringt. Heerlijke plaat!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ROLAND BEELEN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
GIUSEPPE TAIBI (EUROPEAN GHOST) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER DE KONING (HEDERA HELIX, HYBRYDS) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
FABIO VITELLI (HIDDEN PLACE)
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
ERIC RANDOM • Words Made Flesh
OMD • Architecture and Morality / Dazzle Ships Live
SEVERED HEADS • Stretcher
THE INVISIBLE • Patience

 

Other reviews from THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Haunted
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Beautiful and Damned

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + SHOEGAZE
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
SIGNAPORE SLING • Psych Fuck
MAFF • Maff
THE HOUSE OF LOVE • Spy In The House Of Love
THE SPECTORS • Light Stays Close
BELL GARDENS • Slown Dawn For Lost Conclusions
UMMAGMA • UMMAGMA
HOUSE OF LOVE • She paints words in red
NOTHING • Suns And Lovers EP

 

Same genre: INDIE
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

12
06
12
06
12
06
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
NACHTMAHR
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
GROUND NERO
Westbad, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis
10
06
HANTE
Noir