tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/03/2015 : THE SPECTORS - Light Stays Close

THE SPECTORS

Light Stays Close

MusicCD
IndieShoegaze

[89/100]   

PIAS
07/03/2015, Didier BECU

Call me old fashioned or whatever, but I respect some rules, and one them is that a pop song has to be short and catchy. It is the goal of a pop song that it slips through your head, but if it has a fine chorus, it will stick there. Some will agree, others will disagree, but the best pop tunes in history were made like that, and that is why they are immortal. And it seems like The Spectors (not very difficult to guess who they are named after) have understood this rule, as they come up with ten such songs on their debut album Light Stays Close.

They were the support for My Bloody Valentine, and their EP was produced by Chris Urbanowicz, (yes, the Editors-guy!), and so it is easy to categorize them as postpunk-indie. They probably are, but the band that is formed around Marieke Hutsebaut (the band’s bass-player and songwriter) also adds a shoegaze touch, a C86-Primitives sound and a loveable 60’s feel to the songs, without forgetting that the calendar indicates 2015. You can start namedropping and citing bands like Lush or The Ronettes, and even if we are sure that you can find those records in their collection, The Spectors have found a personal sound. Before the release of their album, those youngsters were already included on lots of festivals and judging by the quality of Light Stays Close, that will be the case for many years. Belgium has another indieband to be proud of. Their name: The Spectors. Their name is not difficult to remember, and once you hear their sexy, irresistible shoegaze indie noise pop, you won’t anyway. Tip.

Didier BECU
07/03/2015


 

Next reviews
CONQUERING ANIMAL SOUND • Kammerspiel
IDLEWILD • Everything Ever Written
VIC ARMSTRONG • Left Behind
LONELADY • Bunkerpop
FLORENCE AND THE MACHINE • What Kind Of Man
GLASS CITY VICE • Landslide
TENFIVESIXTY • Dashboard Light
BLUTENGEL • Omen
THE LAMBRETTAS • Beat Boys In The Jet Age Redux:
SIMON SCHAMA • The History of the Jews, Part 1: Finding the Words (1000 BC – 1492)/De Geschiedenis van de Joden, Deel 1: De Woorden Vinden (1000 v.C. – 1492)

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + SHOEGAZE
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
SIGNAPORE SLING • Psych Fuck
MAFF • Maff
THE HOUSE OF LOVE • Spy In The House Of Love
BELL GARDENS • Slown Dawn For Lost Conclusions
UMMAGMA • UMMAGMA
HOUSE OF LOVE • She paints words in red
NOTHING • Suns And Lovers EP

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis