tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/03/2015 : THE SPECTORS - Light Stays Close

THE SPECTORS

Light Stays Close

MusicCD
IndieShoegaze

[89/100]   

PIAS
07/03/2015, Didier BECU

Call me old fashioned or whatever, but I respect some rules, and one them is that a pop song has to be short and catchy. It is the goal of a pop song that it slips through your head, but if it has a fine chorus, it will stick there. Some will agree, others will disagree, but the best pop tunes in history were made like that, and that is why they are immortal. And it seems like The Spectors (not very difficult to guess who they are named after) have understood this rule, as they come up with ten such songs on their debut album Light Stays Close.

They were the support for My Bloody Valentine, and their EP was produced by Chris Urbanowicz, (yes, the Editors-guy!), and so it is easy to categorize them as postpunk-indie. They probably are, but the band that is formed around Marieke Hutsebaut (the band’s bass-player and songwriter) also adds a shoegaze touch, a C86-Primitives sound and a loveable 60’s feel to the songs, without forgetting that the calendar indicates 2015. You can start namedropping and citing bands like Lush or The Ronettes, and even if we are sure that you can find those records in their collection, The Spectors have found a personal sound. Before the release of their album, those youngsters were already included on lots of festivals and judging by the quality of Light Stays Close, that will be the case for many years. Belgium has another indieband to be proud of. Their name: The Spectors. Their name is not difficult to remember, and once you hear their sexy, irresistible shoegaze indie noise pop, you won’t anyway. Tip.

Didier BECU
07/03/2015


 

Next reviews
CONQUERING ANIMAL SOUND • Kammerspiel
IDLEWILD • Everything Ever Written
VIC ARMSTRONG • Left Behind
LONELADY • Bunkerpop
FLORENCE AND THE MACHINE • What Kind Of Man
GLASS CITY VICE • Landslide
TENFIVESIXTY • Dashboard Light
BLUTENGEL • Omen
THE LAMBRETTAS • Beat Boys In The Jet Age Redux:
SIMON SCHAMA • The History of the Jews, Part 1: Finding the Words (1000 BC – 1492)/De Geschiedenis van de Joden, Deel 1: De Woorden Vinden (1000 v.C. – 1492)

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + SHOEGAZE
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
SIGNAPORE SLING • Psych Fuck
MAFF • Maff
THE HOUSE OF LOVE • Spy In The House Of Love
BELL GARDENS • Slown Dawn For Lost Conclusions
UMMAGMA • UMMAGMA
HOUSE OF LOVE • She paints words in red
NOTHING • Suns And Lovers EP

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

28
06
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
THE MISSION
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
IAMX
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
W.H. LUNG
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
FORCED TO MODE
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
TORUL
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
ATMOSPHERE
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete