tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/03/2015 : IDLEWILD - Everything Ever Written

IDLEWILD

Everything Ever Written

MusicCD
Alternative RockIndie Rock

[85/100]   

Empty Words
07/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

I know Idlewild especially from their 2002 album The Remote Part: a very fine album with melodic indiepoprock with some influences from The Smiths and The Veils. But that is already ages ago…

With this new album the band wants to start a new chapter on both personal and creative level. It is also the first album with two new band members. But the main question of course is: is it a good album?

Yes, although it is a typical Idlewild album with a lot of variation and beautiful melodic songs. The first two songs on the album are more rock oriented: Collect Yourself and Come On Ghost. Beside that we get also some melodic tracks like So Many Things To Decide or Every Little Means Trust. Some songs like Nothing I can Do About It or All Things Different could be on their earlier work. Use It If You Can Use It has a bluesy guitar and that must definitely work on stage.

Have they musically changed a lot? Not really, as it is all recognisable, but that is not bad, albeit they sound more adult now. A little less Britpop maybe, but nonetheless surprising.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/03/2015


NL

Ik ken Idlewild van The Remote Part uit 2002: hun topalbum met melodieuze pop/rock-nummers, dat invloeden van o.a. The Smiths en The Veils bevatt, maar dat is intussen al jaren geleden.

Met dit nieuwe album wil de band op creatief en persoonlijk vlak een nieuw hoofdstuk beginnen. Tevens het eerste album met twee nieuwe bandleden. En is het ook een goede plaat geworden?

Ja, Het is een typisch Idlewild-album met veel afwisseling en mooie melodieuze liedjes. In het begin krijgen we twee meer rockgerichte nummers: Collect Yourself en Come On Ghost (met een lange, gruizige gitaar- en saxofoonsolo). Daarnaast ook rustige, warme en melodieuze nummers zoals So Many Things To Decide of Every Little Means Trust.

Er staan ook nummers op deze nieuweling die tussen hun vroeger werk konden staan zoals Nothing I can Do About It of All Things Different. Use it if you can use It heeft een bluesgitaar. Dit moet live voor vuurwerk zorgen! Ook de rest van de nummers zitten goed in elkaar en kunnen overtuigen.

Is er nu veel veranderd ten opzichte van hun vroeger werk? Niet zo heel veel. Het blijft heel herkenbaar als Idlewild en dat is niet erg. De veranderingen zijn eerder subtiel. Ik vind wel dat de band meer volwassen klinkt en dat het plezier er meer lijkt van af te stralen. Iets minder Britpop misschien, maar wel een warme, verrassende en volwassen plaat. Sterk!

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/03/2015


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
02
Johnathan|Christian Addresses Rejection & Resilience With New EP
07
02
Gimme Danger | The Stooges Raw Power Is 50-Today!
06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
02
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face