tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/03/2015 : IDLEWILD - Everything Ever Written

IDLEWILD

Everything Ever Written

MusicCD
Alternative RockIndie Rock

[85/100]   

Empty Words
07/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

I know Idlewild especially from their 2002 album The Remote Part: a very fine album with melodic indiepoprock with some influences from The Smiths and The Veils. But that is already ages ago…

With this new album the band wants to start a new chapter on both personal and creative level. It is also the first album with two new band members. But the main question of course is: is it a good album?

Yes, although it is a typical Idlewild album with a lot of variation and beautiful melodic songs. The first two songs on the album are more rock oriented: Collect Yourself and Come On Ghost. Beside that we get also some melodic tracks like So Many Things To Decide or Every Little Means Trust. Some songs like Nothing I can Do About It or All Things Different could be on their earlier work. Use It If You Can Use It has a bluesy guitar and that must definitely work on stage.

Have they musically changed a lot? Not really, as it is all recognisable, but that is not bad, albeit they sound more adult now. A little less Britpop maybe, but nonetheless surprising.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/03/2015


NL

Ik ken Idlewild van The Remote Part uit 2002: hun topalbum met melodieuze pop/rock-nummers, dat invloeden van o.a. The Smiths en The Veils bevatt, maar dat is intussen al jaren geleden.

Met dit nieuwe album wil de band op creatief en persoonlijk vlak een nieuw hoofdstuk beginnen. Tevens het eerste album met twee nieuwe bandleden. En is het ook een goede plaat geworden?

Ja, Het is een typisch Idlewild-album met veel afwisseling en mooie melodieuze liedjes. In het begin krijgen we twee meer rockgerichte nummers: Collect Yourself en Come On Ghost (met een lange, gruizige gitaar- en saxofoonsolo). Daarnaast ook rustige, warme en melodieuze nummers zoals So Many Things To Decide of Every Little Means Trust.

Er staan ook nummers op deze nieuweling die tussen hun vroeger werk konden staan zoals Nothing I can Do About It of All Things Different. Use it if you can use It heeft een bluesgitaar. Dit moet live voor vuurwerk zorgen! Ook de rest van de nummers zitten goed in elkaar en kunnen overtuigen.

Is er nu veel veranderd ten opzichte van hun vroeger werk? Niet zo heel veel. Het blijft heel herkenbaar als Idlewild en dat is niet erg. De veranderingen zijn eerder subtiel. Ik vind wel dat de band meer volwassen klinkt en dat het plezier er meer lijkt van af te stralen. Iets minder Britpop misschien, maar wel een warme, verrassende en volwassen plaat. Sterk!

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/03/2015


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked