tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/03/2015 : IDLEWILD - Everything Ever Written

IDLEWILD

Everything Ever Written

MusicCD
Alternative RockIndie Rock

[85/100]   

Empty Words
07/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

I know Idlewild especially from their 2002 album The Remote Part: a very fine album with melodic indiepoprock with some influences from The Smiths and The Veils. But that is already ages ago…

With this new album the band wants to start a new chapter on both personal and creative level. It is also the first album with two new band members. But the main question of course is: is it a good album?

Yes, although it is a typical Idlewild album with a lot of variation and beautiful melodic songs. The first two songs on the album are more rock oriented: Collect Yourself and Come On Ghost. Beside that we get also some melodic tracks like So Many Things To Decide or Every Little Means Trust. Some songs like Nothing I can Do About It or All Things Different could be on their earlier work. Use It If You Can Use It has a bluesy guitar and that must definitely work on stage.

Have they musically changed a lot? Not really, as it is all recognisable, but that is not bad, albeit they sound more adult now. A little less Britpop maybe, but nonetheless surprising.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/03/2015


NL

Ik ken Idlewild van The Remote Part uit 2002: hun topalbum met melodieuze pop/rock-nummers, dat invloeden van o.a. The Smiths en The Veils bevatt, maar dat is intussen al jaren geleden.

Met dit nieuwe album wil de band op creatief en persoonlijk vlak een nieuw hoofdstuk beginnen. Tevens het eerste album met twee nieuwe bandleden. En is het ook een goede plaat geworden?

Ja, Het is een typisch Idlewild-album met veel afwisseling en mooie melodieuze liedjes. In het begin krijgen we twee meer rockgerichte nummers: Collect Yourself en Come On Ghost (met een lange, gruizige gitaar- en saxofoonsolo). Daarnaast ook rustige, warme en melodieuze nummers zoals So Many Things To Decide of Every Little Means Trust.

Er staan ook nummers op deze nieuweling die tussen hun vroeger werk konden staan zoals Nothing I can Do About It of All Things Different. Use it if you can use It heeft een bluesgitaar. Dit moet live voor vuurwerk zorgen! Ook de rest van de nummers zitten goed in elkaar en kunnen overtuigen.

Is er nu veel veranderd ten opzichte van hun vroeger werk? Niet zo heel veel. Het blijft heel herkenbaar als Idlewild en dat is niet erg. De veranderingen zijn eerder subtiel. Ik vind wel dat de band meer volwassen klinkt en dat het plezier er meer lijkt van af te stralen. Iets minder Britpop misschien, maar wel een warme, verrassende en volwassen plaat. Sterk!

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/03/2015


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag