tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/03/2015 : IDLEWILD - Everything Ever Written

IDLEWILD

Everything Ever Written

MusicCD
Alternative RockIndie Rock

[85/100]   

Empty Words
07/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

I know Idlewild especially from their 2002 album The Remote Part: a very fine album with melodic indiepoprock with some influences from The Smiths and The Veils. But that is already ages ago…

With this new album the band wants to start a new chapter on both personal and creative level. It is also the first album with two new band members. But the main question of course is: is it a good album?

Yes, although it is a typical Idlewild album with a lot of variation and beautiful melodic songs. The first two songs on the album are more rock oriented: Collect Yourself and Come On Ghost. Beside that we get also some melodic tracks like So Many Things To Decide or Every Little Means Trust. Some songs like Nothing I can Do About It or All Things Different could be on their earlier work. Use It If You Can Use It has a bluesy guitar and that must definitely work on stage.

Have they musically changed a lot? Not really, as it is all recognisable, but that is not bad, albeit they sound more adult now. A little less Britpop maybe, but nonetheless surprising.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/03/2015


NL

Ik ken Idlewild van The Remote Part uit 2002: hun topalbum met melodieuze pop/rock-nummers, dat invloeden van o.a. The Smiths en The Veils bevatt, maar dat is intussen al jaren geleden.

Met dit nieuwe album wil de band op creatief en persoonlijk vlak een nieuw hoofdstuk beginnen. Tevens het eerste album met twee nieuwe bandleden. En is het ook een goede plaat geworden?

Ja, Het is een typisch Idlewild-album met veel afwisseling en mooie melodieuze liedjes. In het begin krijgen we twee meer rockgerichte nummers: Collect Yourself en Come On Ghost (met een lange, gruizige gitaar- en saxofoonsolo). Daarnaast ook rustige, warme en melodieuze nummers zoals So Many Things To Decide of Every Little Means Trust.

Er staan ook nummers op deze nieuweling die tussen hun vroeger werk konden staan zoals Nothing I can Do About It of All Things Different. Use it if you can use It heeft een bluesgitaar. Dit moet live voor vuurwerk zorgen! Ook de rest van de nummers zitten goed in elkaar en kunnen overtuigen.

Is er nu veel veranderd ten opzichte van hun vroeger werk? Niet zo heel veel. Het blijft heel herkenbaar als Idlewild en dat is niet erg. De veranderingen zijn eerder subtiel. Ik vind wel dat de band meer volwassen klinkt en dat het plezier er meer lijkt van af te stralen. Iets minder Britpop misschien, maar wel een warme, verrassende en volwassen plaat. Sterk!

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/03/2015


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo