tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/03/2015 : IDLEWILD - Everything Ever Written

IDLEWILD

Everything Ever Written

MusicCD
Alternative RockIndie Rock

[85/100]   

Empty Words
07/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

I know Idlewild especially from their 2002 album The Remote Part: a very fine album with melodic indiepoprock with some influences from The Smiths and The Veils. But that is already ages ago…

With this new album the band wants to start a new chapter on both personal and creative level. It is also the first album with two new band members. But the main question of course is: is it a good album?

Yes, although it is a typical Idlewild album with a lot of variation and beautiful melodic songs. The first two songs on the album are more rock oriented: Collect Yourself and Come On Ghost. Beside that we get also some melodic tracks like So Many Things To Decide or Every Little Means Trust. Some songs like Nothing I can Do About It or All Things Different could be on their earlier work. Use It If You Can Use It has a bluesy guitar and that must definitely work on stage.

Have they musically changed a lot? Not really, as it is all recognisable, but that is not bad, albeit they sound more adult now. A little less Britpop maybe, but nonetheless surprising.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/03/2015


NL

Ik ken Idlewild van The Remote Part uit 2002: hun topalbum met melodieuze pop/rock-nummers, dat invloeden van o.a. The Smiths en The Veils bevatt, maar dat is intussen al jaren geleden.

Met dit nieuwe album wil de band op creatief en persoonlijk vlak een nieuw hoofdstuk beginnen. Tevens het eerste album met twee nieuwe bandleden. En is het ook een goede plaat geworden?

Ja, Het is een typisch Idlewild-album met veel afwisseling en mooie melodieuze liedjes. In het begin krijgen we twee meer rockgerichte nummers: Collect Yourself en Come On Ghost (met een lange, gruizige gitaar- en saxofoonsolo). Daarnaast ook rustige, warme en melodieuze nummers zoals So Many Things To Decide of Every Little Means Trust.

Er staan ook nummers op deze nieuweling die tussen hun vroeger werk konden staan zoals Nothing I can Do About It of All Things Different. Use it if you can use It heeft een bluesgitaar. Dit moet live voor vuurwerk zorgen! Ook de rest van de nummers zitten goed in elkaar en kunnen overtuigen.

Is er nu veel veranderd ten opzichte van hun vroeger werk? Niet zo heel veel. Het blijft heel herkenbaar als Idlewild en dat is niet erg. De veranderingen zijn eerder subtiel. Ik vind wel dat de band meer volwassen klinkt en dat het plezier er meer lijkt van af te stralen. Iets minder Britpop misschien, maar wel een warme, verrassende en volwassen plaat. Sterk!

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/03/2015


 

Next reviews
VIC ARMSTRONG • Left Behind
LONELADY • Bunkerpop
FLORENCE AND THE MACHINE • What Kind Of Man
GLASS CITY VICE • Landslide
TENFIVESIXTY • Dashboard Light
BLUTENGEL • Omen
THE LAMBRETTAS • Beat Boys In The Jet Age Redux:
SIMON SCHAMA • The History of the Jews, Part 1: Finding the Words (1000 BC – 1492)/De Geschiedenis van de Joden, Deel 1: De Woorden Vinden (1000 v.C. – 1492)
MINUTIAN • Inwards
WHITE SHADOW • Panopticon

 

Same combination of genres: ALTERNATIVE ROCK + INDIE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
PIXIES • Head Carrier
MY CRUEL GORO • Clash EP
TRUPA TRUPA • Headache
TOTAL BABES • Heydays
TWO GALLANTS • We Are Undone

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
KIM GORDON • No Home Record
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
RIDE • This Is Not a Safe Place
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
ARMSTRONG • Under Blue Skies
IN DEED • Everest - Expanded Edition
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days

Music reviews

09
04
DDDJMX
Oceaned
31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
04
Rabia Sorda strikes back with new single!
06
04
Blutengel and Hocico, have recorded the single 'Obscured' in collaboration!
04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
04
NZ
Attitude And Passion
30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
09
04
DAVID A. LINE
Der dunkelste Tag
08
04
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
07
04
HAUSCHKA
My Kids Live On Mars
06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL