tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/09/2015 : TRUPA TRUPA - Headache

TRUPA TRUPA

Headache

MusicCD
Alternative RockIndie RockNoise

[80/100]   

Blue Tapes and X-Ray Records
24/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Trua Trupa from Gdansk, Poland, releases a guitar album on which US new wave is combined with British influences and mild psychedelics. The material was recorded in an ancient synagogue and a dilapidated machine factory and it sometimes sounds slightly like the disturbed sounds of The Sexgang Children (Snow), with dangerous but tuneful guitars, and then dreamy and secure (Halleyesonme) or - after an quiet intro – it explodes like a hard rock song (Sky is Falling) and then returns to a quieter level. The drums are loud, the guitars are whistling and - as if it was all a fantasy - the guitars float by quietly and the beautiful voice of frontman Grzegorz Kwiatkowski creates peace and order.

In Sacrifice the Polish poet sounds like John Lennon and you wouldn’t be surprised to find the song on a Lennon album, although the shrill guitar sounds in the background really make the difference. The mantra-like Getting Older, with triangle, groaning and popping drums and bell-like guitars as a background for the emphatic choral singing, is not only original, but also a slightly intoxicating composition. In Give ‘m All we hear an organ in the background, atmospheric guitars and a beautiful vocal line by Grzegorz Kwiatkowski, a quiet and very beautiful ballad, while the reverberating Wasteland moves in a psychedelic direction, an the fanning melody gets free rein in a whirl of guitars and voices. Very very nice.

Song number 8 is called Rise and Fall and sounds darker than the material we have heard so far. The guitars arte humming, the percussion is bombastic and again the repetitive chorus has the quality of an intoxicating mantra. Headache gets two interwoven vocal lines, insistent percussion, shrill guitars and is pure psychedelics, complemented with powerful rock guitars, but it's the vocals that ultimately dominates the composition, soft and mantra-like, later blatant as in pure hard rock and related styles. In Unbelievable in the band returns to the dreamy atmosphere of Halleyesonme with again a high Lennon level in terms of voice and mood. Picture Yourself initially has an exotic atmosphere with African-sounding guitars, but then evolves into a steaming rock song in which again the repetitive vocal lines create a heady atmosphere, mantra-like, with whistling electronics and nagging guitars. Very nice.

An Eastern European band is almost synonym of a wall of sound in the style of Bauhaus and associates, but Trupa Trupa sounds quieter and more versatile, with American and English influences and a repertoire that is coherent and at the same time very diverse: a very balanced and nice album.

The English lyrics are written by Mark Whitby, DJ at Dandelion Radio.

Tracklist:
1 Snow
2 Halleysonme
3 Sky is Falling
4 Sacrifice
5 Getting Older
6 Give ‘m All
7 Wasteland
8 Rise and Fall
9 Headache
0 Unbelievable
1 Picture Yourself

 

William LIÉNARD
24/09/2015


NL

Uit Gdansk, Polen, komt Trupa Trupa met een gitaaralbum waarop US new wave gecombineerd wordt met Engelse invloeden en een lichte vorm van psychedelica. Het materiaal is opgenomen in een oude synagoge en een bouwvallige machinefabriekshal en soms klinkt het lichtjes gestoord zoals The Sexgang Children (Snow), met gevaarlijke maar welluidende gitaren en vervolgens dromerig en veilig (Halleyesonme) om dan – na een al even rustige intro – te exploderen als een hardrocksong (Sky is Falling), waarna de rust weer even gauw terugkeert. De drums roffelen, de gitaren fluiten en dan - alsof het allemaal een fantasie was - dobberen de gitaren rustig voorbij en zorgt de mooie stem van frontman Grzegorz Kwiatkowski voor rust en orde.

Op Sacrifice klinkt de Poolse dichter als John Lennon en de compositie kan je je voorstellen op een Lennon-album, zij het dat de schrille gitaargeluiden op de achtergrond wel degelijk het verschil maken. Het mantra-achtige Getting Older, met triangel, ploffende en dan zuchtende drums en belachtige gitaren als achtergrond voor de nadrukkelijke koorzang, is niet alleen een originele, maar ook een lichtjes bedwelmende compositie. Give ‘m All krijgt orgelgeluid op de achtergrond, atmosferische gitaren en een prachtige zanglijn van Grzegorz Kwiatkowski, een rustige en heel erg mooie ballade, terwijl het echoënde Wasteland eerder de psychedelische kant opgaat, gas terugneemt en vervolgens de waaierende melodie opnieuw de vrije baan laat in een draaikolk van gitaargeluid en stemmen. Heel erg mooi ook.

Song nummer 8 heet Rise and Fall en klinkt donkerder dan het materiaal dat we tot nog toe gehoord hebben. De gitaren brommen, het slagwerk is bombast en het repetitieve koortje heeft opnieuw de kwaliteiten van een bedwelmende mantra. Headache krijgt twee verweven zanglijnen, drammerig slagwerk en schrille gitaren en is pure psychedelica, wordt aangevuld met krachtige rockgitaren, maar het zijn de zanglijnen die de compositie uiteindelijk toch domineren, zacht en mantra-achtig, later schreeuwerig als in pure hardrock en aanverwanten. In Unbelievable keert de band terug naar de dromerige sfeer van Halleyesonme met opnieuw een hoog Lennon-gehalte qua stemgeluid en sfeer. Picture Yourself krijgt aanvankelijk een exotisch sfeertje met Afrikaans aandoende gitaren, maar evolueert vervolgens tot een stomende rocksong waarin opnieuw de repetitieve zanglijnen voor een bedwelmende sfeer zorgen, mantra-achtig, met fluitende electronics en zeurende gitaren. Heel erg mooi.

Van een Oost-Europese band verwacht je een Wall of sound in de stijl van Bauhaus en consoorten, maar Trupa Trupa klinkt rustiger en veelzijdiger, met Amerikaanse en Engelse invloeden en een repertoire dat coherent en tegelijk zeer divers is. Door de bank genomen een heel evenwichtig en mooi album. De Engelse teksten zijn van de hand van Mark Whitby, DJ op Dandelion Radio.

William LIÉNARD
24/09/2015


24/09/2015 : TRUPA TRUPA - Headache 24/09/2015 : TRUPA TRUPA - Headache

 

Next reviews
IN THE NURSERY • The Fall of the House of Usher
SCOTT WALKER • Climate Of Hunter
PAUL HAIG • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
TROUM & RAISON D’ÊTRE • De Aeris in Sublunario Influxu
SOLSTICE COIL • Commute
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Haunted
ADRIAN BORLAND • The Amsterdam Tapes
DE DOOD • De Titelloze Eerste
JOHN MILK • Treat Me Right
JAN DEWULF (DISKONNEKTED, MILDREDA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
G.U.S.T. • Gust of wind
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
THE HEAT INC. • EP
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark

 

Same genre: NOISE
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design