tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/09/2015 : SOLSTICE COIL - Commute

SOLSTICE COIL

Commute

MusicCD
Prog Rock

[90/100]   

Taklit Music
23/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the third album by this band from Israel. In all honesty, I've never heard of them before, and that's actually a shame, as they made one of the best prog albums I've heard this year. In 2012 they played at the Rendez-Vous Festival and the NH7 in India where they shared the stage with legends like Megadeth. In 2006 they played in Belgium.

Actually, everything on this album is of superior quality: the artwork, the production, and of course the songs.The band plays at a high level and everything sounds superb. That’s not surprising when you know that Jens Borgen (Opeth, Katatonia, hooks...) did the mastering and Shai Yallin the mixing. In addition to guitar and drums, they also use keys, synths, E-Bow, piano and a Fender Rhode. The cover is a wonderful artwork by Pavel Postovoit.

Let me prove it with the best song on this album (at least that’s what I think): The Bargain. With its nine minutes, this song is also the longest one and starts with a nice metal guitar that stops briefly, and then starts like a real song. It is supplemented with some keys and a piano. Halfway through we hear how the song evolves to a 70s sound, a bit like The Doors, but mores pacey. A very nice track and we get lots of them on this album. They usually are a little shorter, but always with variety and many ideas.

Other great tracks are: Forget You Ever Saw Us, Her Silent Silhouette, Nowhere and the opener New Eyes. Moreover, they know how to keep everything exciting by adding unexpected twists at times when you don’t expect it.

Highly recommended, a great album of original prog band!

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/09/2015


NL

Dit is het derde album van deze Israëlische band. Ik heb nog nooit van ze gehoord, en dat is eigenlijk een schande. Ze hebben namelijk één van de betere progalbums gemaakt die ik dit jaar heb gehoord. In 2012 speelden ze op het Rendez-Vous Festival en het NH7 in India waar ze het podium deelden met mannen als Megadeth. In 2006 speelden ze trouwens in Belgium.

Eigenlijk is alles op dit album van uitstekende kwaliteit: van het artwork tot de productie, alsook de nummers. De band speelt op een hoog niveau en alles klinkt meer dan goed. Niet zo verwonderlijk als je weet dat Jens Borgen (Opeth, Katatonia, Haken…) de mastering en Shai Yallin de mixing deed. Naast gitaar, drums maken ze ook gebruik van keys, synths, E-Bow, piano of een Fender Rhode. De cover is een smaakvolle illustratie door Pavel Postovoit.

Laten we mijn beweringen eens staven aan de hand van de beste song, die volgens mij toch The Bargain is. Met zijn negen minuten is het meteen ook het langste nummer dat start met een mooie metalgitaaren dat eventjes stilvalt, om daarna als een echte song te starten. Het wordt met warme keys gebracht en een klaterende piano die in het refrein met een rockgitaar openbreekt. Halfweg horen we het nummer stilaan naar een jaren 70-sound evolueren, een beetje zoals The Doors, maar ook wat spacey. Een heel fijn nummer en we krijgen op dit album er heel wat te horen. Meestal zijn ze iets korter, maar telkens met variatie en veel ideeën.

Andere sterke nummers zijn: Forget You Ever Saw Us, Her Silent Silhouette, Nowhere en de opener New Eyes. Bovendien weten ze het spannend te houden door onverwachte wendingen aan te brengen op momenten waarop je het minder zou verwachten.

Een aanrader, een sterk album van een originele progband!

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/09/2015


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination