tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/09/2015 : SOLSTICE COIL - Commute

SOLSTICE COIL

Commute

MusicCD
Prog Rock

[90/100]   

Taklit Music
23/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the third album by this band from Israel. In all honesty, I've never heard of them before, and that's actually a shame, as they made one of the best prog albums I've heard this year. In 2012 they played at the Rendez-Vous Festival and the NH7 in India where they shared the stage with legends like Megadeth. In 2006 they played in Belgium.

Actually, everything on this album is of superior quality: the artwork, the production, and of course the songs.The band plays at a high level and everything sounds superb. That’s not surprising when you know that Jens Borgen (Opeth, Katatonia, hooks...) did the mastering and Shai Yallin the mixing. In addition to guitar and drums, they also use keys, synths, E-Bow, piano and a Fender Rhode. The cover is a wonderful artwork by Pavel Postovoit.

Let me prove it with the best song on this album (at least that’s what I think): The Bargain. With its nine minutes, this song is also the longest one and starts with a nice metal guitar that stops briefly, and then starts like a real song. It is supplemented with some keys and a piano. Halfway through we hear how the song evolves to a 70s sound, a bit like The Doors, but mores pacey. A very nice track and we get lots of them on this album. They usually are a little shorter, but always with variety and many ideas.

Other great tracks are: Forget You Ever Saw Us, Her Silent Silhouette, Nowhere and the opener New Eyes. Moreover, they know how to keep everything exciting by adding unexpected twists at times when you don’t expect it.

Highly recommended, a great album of original prog band!

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/09/2015


NL

Dit is het derde album van deze Israëlische band. Ik heb nog nooit van ze gehoord, en dat is eigenlijk een schande. Ze hebben namelijk één van de betere progalbums gemaakt die ik dit jaar heb gehoord. In 2012 speelden ze op het Rendez-Vous Festival en het NH7 in India waar ze het podium deelden met mannen als Megadeth. In 2006 speelden ze trouwens in Belgium.

Eigenlijk is alles op dit album van uitstekende kwaliteit: van het artwork tot de productie, alsook de nummers. De band speelt op een hoog niveau en alles klinkt meer dan goed. Niet zo verwonderlijk als je weet dat Jens Borgen (Opeth, Katatonia, Haken…) de mastering en Shai Yallin de mixing deed. Naast gitaar, drums maken ze ook gebruik van keys, synths, E-Bow, piano of een Fender Rhode. De cover is een smaakvolle illustratie door Pavel Postovoit.

Laten we mijn beweringen eens staven aan de hand van de beste song, die volgens mij toch The Bargain is. Met zijn negen minuten is het meteen ook het langste nummer dat start met een mooie metalgitaaren dat eventjes stilvalt, om daarna als een echte song te starten. Het wordt met warme keys gebracht en een klaterende piano die in het refrein met een rockgitaar openbreekt. Halfweg horen we het nummer stilaan naar een jaren 70-sound evolueren, een beetje zoals The Doors, maar ook wat spacey. Een heel fijn nummer en we krijgen op dit album er heel wat te horen. Meestal zijn ze iets korter, maar telkens met variatie en veel ideeën.

Andere sterke nummers zijn: Forget You Ever Saw Us, Her Silent Silhouette, Nowhere en de opener New Eyes. Bovendien weten ze het spannend te houden door onverwachte wendingen aan te brengen op momenten waarop je het minder zou verwachten.

Een aanrader, een sterk album van een originele progband!

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/09/2015


Music reviews

28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS
16
06
AUGER
Insurgence

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion
26
06
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
The Mercy Seat