tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/09/2015 : SOLSTICE COIL - Commute

SOLSTICE COIL

Commute

MusicCD
Prog Rock

[90/100]   

Taklit Music
23/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the third album by this band from Israel. In all honesty, I've never heard of them before, and that's actually a shame, as they made one of the best prog albums I've heard this year. In 2012 they played at the Rendez-Vous Festival and the NH7 in India where they shared the stage with legends like Megadeth. In 2006 they played in Belgium.

Actually, everything on this album is of superior quality: the artwork, the production, and of course the songs.The band plays at a high level and everything sounds superb. That’s not surprising when you know that Jens Borgen (Opeth, Katatonia, hooks...) did the mastering and Shai Yallin the mixing. In addition to guitar and drums, they also use keys, synths, E-Bow, piano and a Fender Rhode. The cover is a wonderful artwork by Pavel Postovoit.

Let me prove it with the best song on this album (at least that’s what I think): The Bargain. With its nine minutes, this song is also the longest one and starts with a nice metal guitar that stops briefly, and then starts like a real song. It is supplemented with some keys and a piano. Halfway through we hear how the song evolves to a 70s sound, a bit like The Doors, but mores pacey. A very nice track and we get lots of them on this album. They usually are a little shorter, but always with variety and many ideas.

Other great tracks are: Forget You Ever Saw Us, Her Silent Silhouette, Nowhere and the opener New Eyes. Moreover, they know how to keep everything exciting by adding unexpected twists at times when you don’t expect it.

Highly recommended, a great album of original prog band!

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/09/2015


NL

Dit is het derde album van deze Israëlische band. Ik heb nog nooit van ze gehoord, en dat is eigenlijk een schande. Ze hebben namelijk één van de betere progalbums gemaakt die ik dit jaar heb gehoord. In 2012 speelden ze op het Rendez-Vous Festival en het NH7 in India waar ze het podium deelden met mannen als Megadeth. In 2006 speelden ze trouwens in Belgium.

Eigenlijk is alles op dit album van uitstekende kwaliteit: van het artwork tot de productie, alsook de nummers. De band speelt op een hoog niveau en alles klinkt meer dan goed. Niet zo verwonderlijk als je weet dat Jens Borgen (Opeth, Katatonia, Haken…) de mastering en Shai Yallin de mixing deed. Naast gitaar, drums maken ze ook gebruik van keys, synths, E-Bow, piano of een Fender Rhode. De cover is een smaakvolle illustratie door Pavel Postovoit.

Laten we mijn beweringen eens staven aan de hand van de beste song, die volgens mij toch The Bargain is. Met zijn negen minuten is het meteen ook het langste nummer dat start met een mooie metalgitaaren dat eventjes stilvalt, om daarna als een echte song te starten. Het wordt met warme keys gebracht en een klaterende piano die in het refrein met een rockgitaar openbreekt. Halfweg horen we het nummer stilaan naar een jaren 70-sound evolueren, een beetje zoals The Doors, maar ook wat spacey. Een heel fijn nummer en we krijgen op dit album er heel wat te horen. Meestal zijn ze iets korter, maar telkens met variatie en veel ideeën.

Andere sterke nummers zijn: Forget You Ever Saw Us, Her Silent Silhouette, Nowhere en de opener New Eyes. Bovendien weten ze het spannend te houden door onverwachte wendingen aan te brengen op momenten waarop je het minder zou verwachten.

Een aanrader, een sterk album van een originele progband!

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/09/2015


Music reviews

17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree
16
10
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Chance Versus Causality
16
10
MASSIVE ATTACK
Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold