tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/09/2015 : HUNTRESS - Static

HUNTRESS

Static

MusicCD
Hard RockMetal

[60/100]   

Napalm Records
22/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Sometimes friends tell me: "You lucky man, you hear and receive all the newest, good music." That is partly true. I really get some great music, but it's not always my taste and it’s certainly not always that good. Fortunately, there are many good releases.

I consider Huntress for various reasons not as strong, although singer Jill Janus is a blonde vamp who can reach four octaves. We always believe what they’re saying in the press sheet, but unfortunately her lyrics are too simple and too much based on simple rhyme schemes. And to top it all, you really can hear that she wants to sing in a tough way, like Doro, but on a lesser level. Don’t do it, I’d say!

Musically they also sound like Doro. So, not exactly the most original hard rock/metal band you’ll find in town, although it is not bad, the problem is just that the songs are far too predictable.

Because of their connection with Motörhead (the single I want to fuck you to death is done with Lemmy), but apart from that, I can’t say this is an asset for my collection.

Wim GUILLEMYN
22/09/2015


NL

Vrienden zeggen mij soms wel eens: “Gelukzak, je hoort en krijgt de nieuwste, goeie muziek”. Dat is gedeeltelijk waar. Ik krijg inderdaad veel muziek, maar het is niet altijd mijn smaak en zeker niet altijd goed. Gelukkig zijn er wel veel goede releases.

Huntress beschouw ik om verschillende redenen niet meteen als een sterke release, ook al is zangeres Jill Janus een blonde vamp die volgens de perssheet 4 octaven kan bereiken. Dat zal wel zo zijn, helaas zijn haar lyrics wat simpel en te veel gebaseerd op eenvoudige rijmschema’s. Daarnaast hoor je wel dat ze stoer wil zingen, maar in tegenstelling tot bijv. Doro gaat haar dit haar toch minder goed af. Niet doen zou ik zeggen!

Ook muzikaal gaan ze een beetje in de richting van Doro. Niet bepaald originele hardrock/metal dus, ofschoon het niet slecht is en ook de productie best meevalt, maar het probleem is gewoon dat de songs te voorspelbaar zijn.

Dat ze toch wat weerklank krijgen, zal wel door hun connectie met Motörhead komen (de single I want to fuck you to death is met Lemmy, binnenkort een bootconcert samen op de Bahama’s…). Los daarvan, vind ik het niet bepaald een aanwinst in mijn collectie.

Wim GUILLEMYN
22/09/2015


 

Next reviews
DOWNPILOT • Radio Ghost
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Jon Savage's Secret History Of Second Wave Psychedelia 1988-93
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015
• ENTREMURALHAS: A BLAST!
WAYNE HUSSEY • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
HITHERSIDE • Hitherside
ELECTROGENIC • Double Exposure
W.A.S.P. • Golgotha
MONSTER MAGNET • Cobras and Fire (The Mastermind Redux)
LAURA CANNELL • Beneath Swooping Talons

 

Same combination of genres: HARD ROCK + METAL
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock
FIELDS OF TROY • Hardship
HEART ATTACK • Heart Revolution
HARBOUR OF SOULS • Mountain Of Fire
DIEMONDS • Never Wanna Die
CRUCIFIED BARBARA • In The Red

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
DEMI LOVATO • HOLY FVCK
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)

Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
SOLAR FAKE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets