tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/09/2015 : HUNTRESS - Static

HUNTRESS

Static

MusicCD
Hard RockMetal

[60/100]   

Napalm Records
22/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Sometimes friends tell me: "You lucky man, you hear and receive all the newest, good music." That is partly true. I really get some great music, but it's not always my taste and it’s certainly not always that good. Fortunately, there are many good releases.

I consider Huntress for various reasons not as strong, although singer Jill Janus is a blonde vamp who can reach four octaves. We always believe what they’re saying in the press sheet, but unfortunately her lyrics are too simple and too much based on simple rhyme schemes. And to top it all, you really can hear that she wants to sing in a tough way, like Doro, but on a lesser level. Don’t do it, I’d say!

Musically they also sound like Doro. So, not exactly the most original hard rock/metal band you’ll find in town, although it is not bad, the problem is just that the songs are far too predictable.

Because of their connection with Motörhead (the single I want to fuck you to death is done with Lemmy), but apart from that, I can’t say this is an asset for my collection.

Wim GUILLEMYN
22/09/2015


NL

Vrienden zeggen mij soms wel eens: “Gelukzak, je hoort en krijgt de nieuwste, goeie muziek”. Dat is gedeeltelijk waar. Ik krijg inderdaad veel muziek, maar het is niet altijd mijn smaak en zeker niet altijd goed. Gelukkig zijn er wel veel goede releases.

Huntress beschouw ik om verschillende redenen niet meteen als een sterke release, ook al is zangeres Jill Janus een blonde vamp die volgens de perssheet 4 octaven kan bereiken. Dat zal wel zo zijn, helaas zijn haar lyrics wat simpel en te veel gebaseerd op eenvoudige rijmschema’s. Daarnaast hoor je wel dat ze stoer wil zingen, maar in tegenstelling tot bijv. Doro gaat haar dit haar toch minder goed af. Niet doen zou ik zeggen!

Ook muzikaal gaan ze een beetje in de richting van Doro. Niet bepaald originele hardrock/metal dus, ofschoon het niet slecht is en ook de productie best meevalt, maar het probleem is gewoon dat de songs te voorspelbaar zijn.

Dat ze toch wat weerklank krijgen, zal wel door hun connectie met Motörhead komen (de single I want to fuck you to death is met Lemmy, binnenkort een bootconcert samen op de Bahama’s…). Los daarvan, vind ik het niet bepaald een aanwinst in mijn collectie.

Wim GUILLEMYN
22/09/2015


 

Next reviews
DOWNPILOT • Radio Ghost
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Jon Savage's Secret History Of Second Wave Psychedelia 1988-93
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015
• ENTREMURALHAS: A BLAST!
WAYNE HUSSEY • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
HITHERSIDE • Hitherside
ELECTROGENIC • Double Exposure
W.A.S.P. • Golgotha
MONSTER MAGNET • Cobras and Fire (The Mastermind Redux)
LAURA CANNELL • Beneath Swooping Talons

 

Same combination of genres: HARD ROCK + METAL
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock
FIELDS OF TROY • Hardship
HEART ATTACK • Heart Revolution
HARBOUR OF SOULS • Mountain Of Fire
DIEMONDS • Never Wanna Die
CRUCIFIED BARBARA • In The Red

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)

Music reviews

17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro