tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/09/2015 : HUNTRESS - Static

HUNTRESS

Static

MusicCD
Hard RockMetal

[60/100]   

Napalm Records
22/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Sometimes friends tell me: "You lucky man, you hear and receive all the newest, good music." That is partly true. I really get some great music, but it's not always my taste and it’s certainly not always that good. Fortunately, there are many good releases.

I consider Huntress for various reasons not as strong, although singer Jill Janus is a blonde vamp who can reach four octaves. We always believe what they’re saying in the press sheet, but unfortunately her lyrics are too simple and too much based on simple rhyme schemes. And to top it all, you really can hear that she wants to sing in a tough way, like Doro, but on a lesser level. Don’t do it, I’d say!

Musically they also sound like Doro. So, not exactly the most original hard rock/metal band you’ll find in town, although it is not bad, the problem is just that the songs are far too predictable.

Because of their connection with Motörhead (the single I want to fuck you to death is done with Lemmy), but apart from that, I can’t say this is an asset for my collection.

Wim GUILLEMYN
22/09/2015


NL

Vrienden zeggen mij soms wel eens: “Gelukzak, je hoort en krijgt de nieuwste, goeie muziek”. Dat is gedeeltelijk waar. Ik krijg inderdaad veel muziek, maar het is niet altijd mijn smaak en zeker niet altijd goed. Gelukkig zijn er wel veel goede releases.

Huntress beschouw ik om verschillende redenen niet meteen als een sterke release, ook al is zangeres Jill Janus een blonde vamp die volgens de perssheet 4 octaven kan bereiken. Dat zal wel zo zijn, helaas zijn haar lyrics wat simpel en te veel gebaseerd op eenvoudige rijmschema’s. Daarnaast hoor je wel dat ze stoer wil zingen, maar in tegenstelling tot bijv. Doro gaat haar dit haar toch minder goed af. Niet doen zou ik zeggen!

Ook muzikaal gaan ze een beetje in de richting van Doro. Niet bepaald originele hardrock/metal dus, ofschoon het niet slecht is en ook de productie best meevalt, maar het probleem is gewoon dat de songs te voorspelbaar zijn.

Dat ze toch wat weerklank krijgen, zal wel door hun connectie met Motörhead komen (de single I want to fuck you to death is met Lemmy, binnenkort een bootconcert samen op de Bahama’s…). Los daarvan, vind ik het niet bepaald een aanwinst in mijn collectie.

Wim GUILLEMYN
22/09/2015


 

Next reviews
DOWNPILOT • Radio Ghost
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Jon Savage's Secret History Of Second Wave Psychedelia 1988-93
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015
• ENTREMURALHAS: A BLAST!
WAYNE HUSSEY • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
HITHERSIDE • Hitherside
ELECTROGENIC • Double Exposure
W.A.S.P. • Golgotha
MONSTER MAGNET • Cobras and Fire (The Mastermind Redux)
LAURA CANNELL • Beneath Swooping Talons

 

Same combination of genres: HARD ROCK + METAL
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock
FIELDS OF TROY • Hardship
HEART ATTACK • Heart Revolution
HARBOUR OF SOULS • Mountain Of Fire
DIEMONDS • Never Wanna Die
CRUCIFIED BARBARA • In The Red

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)

Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela