tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/09/2015 : HUNTRESS - Static

HUNTRESS

Static

MusicCD
Hard RockMetal

[60/100]   

Napalm Records
22/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Sometimes friends tell me: "You lucky man, you hear and receive all the newest, good music." That is partly true. I really get some great music, but it's not always my taste and it’s certainly not always that good. Fortunately, there are many good releases.

I consider Huntress for various reasons not as strong, although singer Jill Janus is a blonde vamp who can reach four octaves. We always believe what they’re saying in the press sheet, but unfortunately her lyrics are too simple and too much based on simple rhyme schemes. And to top it all, you really can hear that she wants to sing in a tough way, like Doro, but on a lesser level. Don’t do it, I’d say!

Musically they also sound like Doro. So, not exactly the most original hard rock/metal band you’ll find in town, although it is not bad, the problem is just that the songs are far too predictable.

Because of their connection with Motörhead (the single I want to fuck you to death is done with Lemmy), but apart from that, I can’t say this is an asset for my collection.

Wim GUILLEMYN
22/09/2015


NL

Vrienden zeggen mij soms wel eens: “Gelukzak, je hoort en krijgt de nieuwste, goeie muziek”. Dat is gedeeltelijk waar. Ik krijg inderdaad veel muziek, maar het is niet altijd mijn smaak en zeker niet altijd goed. Gelukkig zijn er wel veel goede releases.

Huntress beschouw ik om verschillende redenen niet meteen als een sterke release, ook al is zangeres Jill Janus een blonde vamp die volgens de perssheet 4 octaven kan bereiken. Dat zal wel zo zijn, helaas zijn haar lyrics wat simpel en te veel gebaseerd op eenvoudige rijmschema’s. Daarnaast hoor je wel dat ze stoer wil zingen, maar in tegenstelling tot bijv. Doro gaat haar dit haar toch minder goed af. Niet doen zou ik zeggen!

Ook muzikaal gaan ze een beetje in de richting van Doro. Niet bepaald originele hardrock/metal dus, ofschoon het niet slecht is en ook de productie best meevalt, maar het probleem is gewoon dat de songs te voorspelbaar zijn.

Dat ze toch wat weerklank krijgen, zal wel door hun connectie met Motörhead komen (de single I want to fuck you to death is met Lemmy, binnenkort een bootconcert samen op de Bahama’s…). Los daarvan, vind ik het niet bepaald een aanwinst in mijn collectie.

Wim GUILLEMYN
22/09/2015


 

Next reviews
DOWNPILOT • Radio Ghost
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Jon Savage's Secret History Of Second Wave Psychedelia 1988-93
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015
• ENTREMURALHAS: A BLAST!
WAYNE HUSSEY • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
HITHERSIDE • Hitherside
ELECTROGENIC • Double Exposure
W.A.S.P. • Golgotha
MONSTER MAGNET • Cobras and Fire (The Mastermind Redux)
LAURA CANNELL • Beneath Swooping Talons

 

Same combination of genres: HARD ROCK + METAL
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock
FIELDS OF TROY • Hardship
HEART ATTACK • Heart Revolution
HARBOUR OF SOULS • Mountain Of Fire
DIEMONDS • Never Wanna Die
CRUCIFIED BARBARA • In The Red

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis