tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/09/2015 : HUNTRESS - Static

HUNTRESS

Static

MusicCD
Hard RockMetal

[60/100]   

Napalm Records
22/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Sometimes friends tell me: "You lucky man, you hear and receive all the newest, good music." That is partly true. I really get some great music, but it's not always my taste and it’s certainly not always that good. Fortunately, there are many good releases.

I consider Huntress for various reasons not as strong, although singer Jill Janus is a blonde vamp who can reach four octaves. We always believe what they’re saying in the press sheet, but unfortunately her lyrics are too simple and too much based on simple rhyme schemes. And to top it all, you really can hear that she wants to sing in a tough way, like Doro, but on a lesser level. Don’t do it, I’d say!

Musically they also sound like Doro. So, not exactly the most original hard rock/metal band you’ll find in town, although it is not bad, the problem is just that the songs are far too predictable.

Because of their connection with Motörhead (the single I want to fuck you to death is done with Lemmy), but apart from that, I can’t say this is an asset for my collection.

Wim GUILLEMYN
22/09/2015


NL

Vrienden zeggen mij soms wel eens: “Gelukzak, je hoort en krijgt de nieuwste, goeie muziek”. Dat is gedeeltelijk waar. Ik krijg inderdaad veel muziek, maar het is niet altijd mijn smaak en zeker niet altijd goed. Gelukkig zijn er wel veel goede releases.

Huntress beschouw ik om verschillende redenen niet meteen als een sterke release, ook al is zangeres Jill Janus een blonde vamp die volgens de perssheet 4 octaven kan bereiken. Dat zal wel zo zijn, helaas zijn haar lyrics wat simpel en te veel gebaseerd op eenvoudige rijmschema’s. Daarnaast hoor je wel dat ze stoer wil zingen, maar in tegenstelling tot bijv. Doro gaat haar dit haar toch minder goed af. Niet doen zou ik zeggen!

Ook muzikaal gaan ze een beetje in de richting van Doro. Niet bepaald originele hardrock/metal dus, ofschoon het niet slecht is en ook de productie best meevalt, maar het probleem is gewoon dat de songs te voorspelbaar zijn.

Dat ze toch wat weerklank krijgen, zal wel door hun connectie met Motörhead komen (de single I want to fuck you to death is met Lemmy, binnenkort een bootconcert samen op de Bahama’s…). Los daarvan, vind ik het niet bepaald een aanwinst in mijn collectie.

Wim GUILLEMYN
22/09/2015


 

Next reviews
DOWNPILOT • Radio Ghost
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Jon Savage's Secret History Of Second Wave Psychedelia 1988-93
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015
• ENTREMURALHAS: A BLAST!
WAYNE HUSSEY • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
HITHERSIDE • Hitherside
ELECTROGENIC • Double Exposure
W.A.S.P. • Golgotha
MONSTER MAGNET • Cobras and Fire (The Mastermind Redux)
LAURA CANNELL • Beneath Swooping Talons

 

Same combination of genres: HARD ROCK + METAL
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock
FIELDS OF TROY • Hardship
HEART ATTACK • Heart Revolution
HARBOUR OF SOULS • Mountain Of Fire
DIEMONDS • Never Wanna Die
CRUCIFIED BARBARA • In The Red

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day
19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls