tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

11/12/2016 : DARKWALKER - The Wastelands

DARKWALKER

The Wastelands

MusicCD
GrungeHard RockStoner Rock

[84/100]   

Sleaszy Rider Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A petrol station in the Arizona desert, a dry wind blowing through the bushes and a Harley stopping to refuel, the smell of burned oil and rubber... These are the images that Darkwalker recalls with the music on this album. The Wastelands is the debut of this American trio from Los Angeles. Musically the band can be situated somewhere between Monster Magnet and Audioslave: hard desert rock with stoner rock and grunge influences.

A lovely rusty guitar sound colors the tracks. We hear get melodic and clean vocals and great songs. An easy album. It rocks and revives the seventies and nineties. Like Chris Cornell (Soundgarden) and Michael Brown (Tracer), the singer has a good sounding voice. The lyrics are inspired by The Dark Tower books by Stephen King.

The Wastelands contains seven tracks. It is a great album that sounds good in the car with the volume to maximum.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Een benzinepomp in de woestijn van Arizona, een droge wind waait doorheen het struikgewas en een Harley stopt om te tanken. De geur van verbrand olie en rubber… Dit zijn de beelden die de muziek van Darkwalker bij mij oproepen. The Wastelands is het debuut van dit Amerikaanse trio uit Los Angeles. Muzikaal zit het ergens tussen Monster Magnet en Audioslave. Harde desertrock met wat stoner- en grunge-invloeden. Een heerlijk roestig gitaargeluid kleurt de tracks. Daarnaast is er sprake van melodieuze en cleane zang en goede songs. Alles samen een album dat zich lekker laat beluisteren. Het rockt als de beesten en doet de seventies alsook de nineties heropleven. Net zoals Chris Cornell (Soundgarden) of Michael Brown (Tracer) bezit de zanger een stem als een klok. Samen met de muziek horen we een stevig geheel dat roestig en ferm klinkt. Voor de teksten heeft men zich gebaseerd op de The Dark Tower-boekenreeks van Stephen King.

The Wastelands bevat zeven tracks en het mochten er wat mij betreft gerust nog wat meer zijn. Een fijne plaat die lekker klinkt in de auto met het volume hoog.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
EDENSONG • Years in the Garden of Years
JAN SWERTS • Brussel, AB Club (08/11/2016)
ODDLAND • Origin
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
SUICIDE COMMANDO • 30th Anniversary Show, Leopoldsburg
AUTOMAT • OstWest
WRANGLER • White Glue
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)

 

Same combination of genres: GRUNGE + HARD ROCK + STONER ROCK
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
TRACER • Water For Thirsty Dogs

 

Same genre: GRUNGE
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
SO PITTED • Neo
BLISSARD • Blissard
DOWNERS • Noose (EP)
CANDLEBAGS • Love Kills (ep)
DRY CAN • Meanwhile
THE GRAPHIC UK • Nothing's Wrong EP
PET THE PREACHER • The Cave & The Sunlight
CLASS OF KILL'EM HIGH! • Enjoy
AVATAR • Hail The Apocalypse

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock
FIELDS OF TROY • Hardship

 

Same genre: STONER ROCK
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
KING GOBLIN • Cryptozoology
ORGAN • Tetro
CENTIPEDE • Sarnath
MASSA • MASSA (EP)
HANGMAN'S CHAIR • This is not Supposed to be Positive
MONSTER MAGNET • Cobras and Fire (The Mastermind Redux)

Music reviews

16
10
AMORPHOUS
Shapeshifting
12
10
HELIOPHILE
Permeate
10
10
TEARFUL MOON
Evocation
08
10
SPECIAL LOVE
Unloveable
07
10
ASTARI NITE
Dreams Of Majesty
06
10
SUBTERFUGE
Blind To Reason

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
10
Amnesty International Belgium invites hundreds of artists
10
10
New Simi-Nah video 'Chacun Pour Soi' on YouTube!
02
10
New Wave cult & club classic band Crash Course In Science is back with a new (bomb) album!
01
10
New IMPLANT EP / Video - The Phone Call - Out now!
30
09
First two names for the International EBM Day (De Casino, St-Niklaas, B) announced!
29
09
VIII. E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL 2018 -NEWSLETTER- OF MASTERS, SERVANTS AND BIG MOMENTS!

Concert reviews

27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
10
BLANCMANGE
'We were making experimental music for a while, really just for ourselves, not thinking anyone would want to listen.'
13
10
KOL BELOV
I make strange animations, that look like music videos and strange music videos, that look like animation.
11
10
THE HORRORIST
'Sometimes I cringe when I hear some of my songs about sex or pain but at the same time it’s my diary.'
09
10
A SPLIT-SECOND
Marc Ickx talks about A Split-Second
03
10
PARADE GROUND
'We play with our figure as acrobats. We see the audience as instruments and love to play with them.'

PHOTOS

14
10
ATTRITION
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
VUDUVOX
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
CURXES
229 The Venue, London, UK
08
10
BLANCMANGE
229 The Venue, London, UK
27
09
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Rockhal Luxemburg
25
09
LLUMEN
Electrowerkz, London, UK
25
09
ASH CODE
Electrowerkz, London, UK

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

17
10
AND ALSO THE TREES
Your Guess
16
10
!DISTAIN
Conversation Overkill
15
10
TEHI TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD
The Beast
15
10
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
A Day
14
10
RED ZEBRA
The Art Of Conversation
12
10
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins