tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : HIGH FIGHTER - Scars and Crosses

HIGH FIGHTER

Scars and Crosses

MusicCD
DoomsludgeStoner Rock

[85/100]   

Svart Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

After the EP The Goat Ritual from 2014, we now get the first album by High Fighter which is based in Hamburg. Immediately I notice Mona Miluski’s strong voice that fits perfectly with the gritty guitar play which reminds me of Kyuss. Indeed, the style is somewhere between stoner, doom and sludge.

The six minutes long opener A Silver Heart grabs me by the throat from the very beginning as it contains all the elements that make these band such a good one: well build up songs, nice guitar work and rhythm section. Darker Days is less complex and has ambition to become a single. The Gatekeeper starts with a beautiful distorted guitar line. It is a venomious song. Blinders contains some fine breaks, grunts and growls. A song that explores all the sides of High Fighter’s own universe. Also the last song Scars and Crosses is a strong track with a lot of rhythmic changes, stoner riffs and variation.

This is a good debut which shows High Fighter has a lot of potential and deserves an own place in the stoner genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Na de in 2014 verschenen EP The Goat Ritual is er nu het album van de Hamburgse band High Fighter. Wat meteen opvalt is de sterke stem en fijne zang van Mona Miluski die mooi samen gaat met het gruizige gitaarspel dat nu en dan aan Kyuss doet denken. De stijl ligt dan ook ergens op de kruising van stoner, doom en sludge.

De muziek grijpt me meteen bij de keel bij de zes minuten durende opener A Silver Heart die zowat alle elementen bevat die deze band goed maakt: een mooie opbouw, sterke vocals en fijn gitaarspel en ritmesectie.

Darkest Days is iets minder complex, maar heeft een snedige uptempo song met single ambities. The Gatekeeper start met een mooie distorted gitaarlijn en trekt de song op gang. Het is een venijnige track geworden. Blinders bevat leuke breaks, grunt en growls. Een song die alle kanten van hun eigen universum lijkt op te zoeken. Ook de afsluiter Scars and Crosses is sterk met veel tempowissels, stoner-riffs en afwisseling.

Een geslaagd debuut dat toont dat High Fighter voldoende in huis heeft om een eigen plaatsje in het stonermetalgenre op te eisen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : HIGH FIGHTER - Scars and Crosses 10/12/2016 : HIGH FIGHTER - Scars and Crosses

 

Next reviews
PROJECT PITCHFORK • Wonderland/One Million Faces (Remastered And Extended)
BLACK HEART • All Is Lost
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
MONOLITH • Domination
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
DINOSAUR JR. • Sint-Niklaas, De Casino 16-06-2016
LISA CUTHBERT • Kinky Star, Ghent (15/06/2016)
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
SAMARIS • Antwerp, Trix (15/06/2016)
DATE AT MIDNIGHT • Songs To Fall And Forget

 

Same genre: DOOM
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery

 

Same genre: SLUDGE
30,000 MONKIES • I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big
STEAK NUMBER EIGHT • Kortrijk, De Kreun (18/03/16)
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
MASSA • MASSA (EP)
BARONESS • Purple
AHAB • THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG
MEMBRANE • Reflect Your Pain
EMPUSAE & MARC T • Deugden Van Angst En Het Kwaad
LE SEUL ELEMENT • Meradiam
DESERT STORM • Omniscient

 

Same genre: STONER ROCK
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
KING GOBLIN • Cryptozoology
CENTIPEDE • Sarnath
HANGMAN'S CHAIR • This is not Supposed to be Positive

Music reviews

05
04
KALTE NACHT
The Last Breath
02
04
LOVATARAXX
Tilda Vaast
14
03
THEN COMES SILENCE
Trickery
13
03
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT
Remixes
27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 38 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
39 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
15
04
On this day, 23 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
37 years ago MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
11
04
LIVERNOIS Addresses The Human Reaction To Trauma With ':ablation:'

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.
03
04
FRONTAL BOUNDARY
An Interview With Harsh Electro Band, Frontal Boundary
20
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
An Interview With Bestial Mouths
19
03
TVASHTAR
We never insisted on being an all-female band.

PHOTOS

16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
FRACTIONAL
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
O VEUX
Wasted Night #5 Borgloon

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
ANIMACHINES
Pandemia
20
04
CHAOS RESEARCH
In Power we entrust the Love advocated
19
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
18
04
COCAINE PISS
The Dancer
17
04
CHMCL STR8JCKT
Dressed to Kill
16
04
30,000 MONKIES
Coproliet
15
04
WIM MERTENS
Struggle For Pleasure