tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : HIGH FIGHTER - Scars and Crosses

HIGH FIGHTER

Scars and Crosses

MusicCD
DoomsludgeStoner Rock

[85/100]   

Svart Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

After the EP The Goat Ritual from 2014, we now get the first album by High Fighter which is based in Hamburg. Immediately I notice Mona Miluski’s strong voice that fits perfectly with the gritty guitar play which reminds me of Kyuss. Indeed, the style is somewhere between stoner, doom and sludge.

The six minutes long opener A Silver Heart grabs me by the throat from the very beginning as it contains all the elements that make these band such a good one: well build up songs, nice guitar work and rhythm section. Darker Days is less complex and has ambition to become a single. The Gatekeeper starts with a beautiful distorted guitar line. It is a venomious song. Blinders contains some fine breaks, grunts and growls. A song that explores all the sides of High Fighter’s own universe. Also the last song Scars and Crosses is a strong track with a lot of rhythmic changes, stoner riffs and variation.

This is a good debut which shows High Fighter has a lot of potential and deserves an own place in the stoner genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Na de in 2014 verschenen EP The Goat Ritual is er nu het album van de Hamburgse band High Fighter. Wat meteen opvalt is de sterke stem en fijne zang van Mona Miluski die mooi samen gaat met het gruizige gitaarspel dat nu en dan aan Kyuss doet denken. De stijl ligt dan ook ergens op de kruising van stoner, doom en sludge.

De muziek grijpt me meteen bij de keel bij de zes minuten durende opener A Silver Heart die zowat alle elementen bevat die deze band goed maakt: een mooie opbouw, sterke vocals en fijn gitaarspel en ritmesectie.

Darkest Days is iets minder complex, maar heeft een snedige uptempo song met single ambities. The Gatekeeper start met een mooie distorted gitaarlijn en trekt de song op gang. Het is een venijnige track geworden. Blinders bevat leuke breaks, grunt en growls. Een song die alle kanten van hun eigen universum lijkt op te zoeken. Ook de afsluiter Scars and Crosses is sterk met veel tempowissels, stoner-riffs en afwisseling.

Een geslaagd debuut dat toont dat High Fighter voldoende in huis heeft om een eigen plaatsje in het stonermetalgenre op te eisen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : HIGH FIGHTER - Scars and Crosses 10/12/2016 : HIGH FIGHTER - Scars and Crosses

 

Next reviews
PROJECT PITCHFORK • Wonderland/One Million Faces (Remastered And Extended)
BLACK HEART • All Is Lost
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
MONOLITH • Domination
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
DINOSAUR JR. • Sint-Niklaas, De Casino 16-06-2016
LISA CUTHBERT • Kinky Star, Ghent (15/06/2016)
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
SAMARIS • Antwerp, Trix (15/06/2016)
DATE AT MIDNIGHT • Songs To Fall And Forget

 

Same genre: DOOM
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery

 

Same genre: SLUDGE
30,000 MONKIES • I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big
STEAK NUMBER EIGHT • Kortrijk, De Kreun (18/03/16)
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
MASSA • MASSA (EP)
BARONESS • Purple
AHAB • THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG
MEMBRANE • Reflect Your Pain
EMPUSAE & MARC T • Deugden Van Angst En Het Kwaad
LE SEUL ELEMENT • Meradiam
DESERT STORM • Omniscient

 

Same genre: STONER ROCK
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
KING GOBLIN • Cryptozoology
CENTIPEDE • Sarnath
HANGMAN'S CHAIR • This is not Supposed to be Positive

Music reviews

23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela