tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : HIGH FIGHTER - Scars and Crosses

HIGH FIGHTER

Scars and Crosses

MusicCD
DoomsludgeStoner Rock

[85/100]   

Svart Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

After the EP The Goat Ritual from 2014, we now get the first album by High Fighter which is based in Hamburg. Immediately I notice Mona Miluski’s strong voice that fits perfectly with the gritty guitar play which reminds me of Kyuss. Indeed, the style is somewhere between stoner, doom and sludge.

The six minutes long opener A Silver Heart grabs me by the throat from the very beginning as it contains all the elements that make these band such a good one: well build up songs, nice guitar work and rhythm section. Darker Days is less complex and has ambition to become a single. The Gatekeeper starts with a beautiful distorted guitar line. It is a venomious song. Blinders contains some fine breaks, grunts and growls. A song that explores all the sides of High Fighter’s own universe. Also the last song Scars and Crosses is a strong track with a lot of rhythmic changes, stoner riffs and variation.

This is a good debut which shows High Fighter has a lot of potential and deserves an own place in the stoner genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Na de in 2014 verschenen EP The Goat Ritual is er nu het album van de Hamburgse band High Fighter. Wat meteen opvalt is de sterke stem en fijne zang van Mona Miluski die mooi samen gaat met het gruizige gitaarspel dat nu en dan aan Kyuss doet denken. De stijl ligt dan ook ergens op de kruising van stoner, doom en sludge.

De muziek grijpt me meteen bij de keel bij de zes minuten durende opener A Silver Heart die zowat alle elementen bevat die deze band goed maakt: een mooie opbouw, sterke vocals en fijn gitaarspel en ritmesectie.

Darkest Days is iets minder complex, maar heeft een snedige uptempo song met single ambities. The Gatekeeper start met een mooie distorted gitaarlijn en trekt de song op gang. Het is een venijnige track geworden. Blinders bevat leuke breaks, grunt en growls. Een song die alle kanten van hun eigen universum lijkt op te zoeken. Ook de afsluiter Scars and Crosses is sterk met veel tempowissels, stoner-riffs en afwisseling.

Een geslaagd debuut dat toont dat High Fighter voldoende in huis heeft om een eigen plaatsje in het stonermetalgenre op te eisen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : HIGH FIGHTER - Scars and Crosses 10/12/2016 : HIGH FIGHTER - Scars and Crosses

 

Next reviews
PROJECT PITCHFORK • Wonderland/One Million Faces (Remastered And Extended)
BLACK HEART • All Is Lost
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
MONOLITH • Domination
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
DINOSAUR JR. • Sint-Niklaas, De Casino 16-06-2016
LISA CUTHBERT • Kinky Star, Ghent (15/06/2016)
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
SAMARIS • Antwerp, Trix (15/06/2016)
DATE AT MIDNIGHT • Songs To Fall And Forget

 

Same genre: DOOM
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery

 

Same genre: SLUDGE
30,000 MONKIES • I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big
STEAK NUMBER EIGHT • Kortrijk, De Kreun (18/03/16)
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
MASSA • MASSA (EP)
BARONESS • Purple
AHAB • THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG
MEMBRANE • Reflect Your Pain
EMPUSAE & MARC T • Deugden Van Angst En Het Kwaad
LE SEUL ELEMENT • Meradiam
DESERT STORM • Omniscient

 

Same genre: STONER ROCK
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
KING GOBLIN • Cryptozoology
CENTIPEDE • Sarnath
HANGMAN'S CHAIR • This is not Supposed to be Positive

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete