tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : HIGH FIGHTER - Scars and Crosses

HIGH FIGHTER

Scars and Crosses

MusicCD
DoomsludgeStoner Rock

[85/100]   

Svart Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

After the EP The Goat Ritual from 2014, we now get the first album by High Fighter which is based in Hamburg. Immediately I notice Mona Miluski’s strong voice that fits perfectly with the gritty guitar play which reminds me of Kyuss. Indeed, the style is somewhere between stoner, doom and sludge.

The six minutes long opener A Silver Heart grabs me by the throat from the very beginning as it contains all the elements that make these band such a good one: well build up songs, nice guitar work and rhythm section. Darker Days is less complex and has ambition to become a single. The Gatekeeper starts with a beautiful distorted guitar line. It is a venomious song. Blinders contains some fine breaks, grunts and growls. A song that explores all the sides of High Fighter’s own universe. Also the last song Scars and Crosses is a strong track with a lot of rhythmic changes, stoner riffs and variation.

This is a good debut which shows High Fighter has a lot of potential and deserves an own place in the stoner genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Na de in 2014 verschenen EP The Goat Ritual is er nu het album van de Hamburgse band High Fighter. Wat meteen opvalt is de sterke stem en fijne zang van Mona Miluski die mooi samen gaat met het gruizige gitaarspel dat nu en dan aan Kyuss doet denken. De stijl ligt dan ook ergens op de kruising van stoner, doom en sludge.

De muziek grijpt me meteen bij de keel bij de zes minuten durende opener A Silver Heart die zowat alle elementen bevat die deze band goed maakt: een mooie opbouw, sterke vocals en fijn gitaarspel en ritmesectie.

Darkest Days is iets minder complex, maar heeft een snedige uptempo song met single ambities. The Gatekeeper start met een mooie distorted gitaarlijn en trekt de song op gang. Het is een venijnige track geworden. Blinders bevat leuke breaks, grunt en growls. Een song die alle kanten van hun eigen universum lijkt op te zoeken. Ook de afsluiter Scars and Crosses is sterk met veel tempowissels, stoner-riffs en afwisseling.

Een geslaagd debuut dat toont dat High Fighter voldoende in huis heeft om een eigen plaatsje in het stonermetalgenre op te eisen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : HIGH FIGHTER - Scars and Crosses 10/12/2016 : HIGH FIGHTER - Scars and Crosses

 

Next reviews
PROJECT PITCHFORK • Wonderland/One Million Faces (Remastered And Extended)
BLACK HEART • All Is Lost
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
MONOLITH • Domination
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
DINOSAUR JR. • Sint-Niklaas, De Casino 16-06-2016
LISA CUTHBERT • Kinky Star, Ghent (15/06/2016)
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
SAMARIS • Antwerp, Trix (15/06/2016)
DATE AT MIDNIGHT • Songs To Fall And Forget

 

Same genre: DOOM
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery

 

Same genre: SLUDGE
30,000 MONKIES • I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big
STEAK NUMBER EIGHT • Kortrijk, De Kreun (18/03/16)
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
MASSA • MASSA (EP)
BARONESS • Purple
AHAB • THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG
MEMBRANE • Reflect Your Pain
EMPUSAE & MARC T • Deugden Van Angst En Het Kwaad
LE SEUL ELEMENT • Meradiam
DESERT STORM • Omniscient

 

Same genre: STONER ROCK
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
KING GOBLIN • Cryptozoology
CENTIPEDE • Sarnath
HANGMAN'S CHAIR • This is not Supposed to be Positive

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)