tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : DATE AT MIDNIGHT - Songs To Fall And Forget

DATE AT MIDNIGHT

Songs To Fall And Forget

MusicCD
BatcaveGothicGothic Rock

[82/100]   

Manic Depression
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Four years ago, the French label Manic Depression released the second album of the Italian goth rock band Date At Midnight. A memorable CD that disappeared in the collection of goths who stick to the old school sound. So, you won’t discover any innovations, but that’s what makes Songs To Fall And Forget such an excellent album. That, and especially the fact that this third album by this Rome-based band is very varied!

Everything starts with the cover, out of a seductive woman's mouth escapes cigarette smoke. An erotic photo in black and white, one that reminds you of the golden 80s and 90s: the period in which the dark genre was at its best. It still is, you just need to crose some darker corridors before the dark splendor embraces you.

Each track sounds traditional, but there’s no weak moment on this third album which feels like a ride on a rollercoaster that takes you through two decades of dark music. In the opener Cold Modern World and Waves (hence that title!) you’ll discover some Asylum Party, although this Italian cold wave (sung in English) is quite heavy at times. Sometimes, you hear The Cure (Beautiful Life (Let It Die)) or the echoes of Bauhaus, as in Follow.

The title track (which lasts almost 8 minutes) is an epic goth orgasm, but you also hear some death rock in Christian Death style (Dust) or the influence of The Cramps (Black Ashes). And if you force us to choose a favorite, we would shout loudly: Running 'Round.

Songs To Fall And Forget is a goth rock album (or whatever you want to call it) that needs to be in your record collection.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Vier jaar geleden bracht het Franse label Manic Depression het tweede album van de Italiaanse gothrockformatie Date At Midnight uit. Een memorabel schijfje dat in de collectie verdween van goths die trouw zweren aan het old school-geluid. Vernieuwing hoef je bij deze band uit Rome dus niet te zoeken, en het is net dat wat van Songs To Fall And Forget zo’n uitstekend album maakt. En vooral het feit dat dit derde album ontzettend gevarieerd is!

Alles start met het hoesje, een verleidelijke vrouwenmond waaruit een walm sigarettenrook verdwijnt. Een erotische foto in zwart-wit, eentje die je aan de gouden jaren 80 en 90 doet denken, de periode waarin het donkere genre welig tierde. Dat doet het nog, hoor, alleen moet je wat meer donkere gangen doorkruisen vooraleer de duistere pracht je omarmt.

Hoe traditioneel iedere track ook klinkt, er zit toch geen enkel zwak moment in deze derde plaat en het voelt aan alsof je in een achtbaan zit die je doorheen twee decennia donkere muziek voert.

In opener Cold Modern World en Waves (die titel!) zit er een snuifje Asylum Party, ofschoon de cold wave van deze Italianen best wel heftig is. Soms hoor je een echo’s van The Cure (Beautiful Life (Let It Die)) of Bauhaus zoals in afsluiter Follow.

De titeltrack (een kanjer van zo’n 8 minuten) is een episch goth-hoogtepunt, maar je hoort tevens stevige death rock in Christian Death-stijl (Dust) en de invloeden van The Cramps (Black Ashes). En als je ons dan toch dwingt om een favoriet te kiezen, dan roepen we luidkeels: Running’ Round.

Songs To Fall And Forget is een gothrockplaat (of hoe je ze ook wil noemen) die in je platenverzameling thuishoort.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
PATENBRIGADE: WOLFF • Trabantenstadt
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
THE CULT OF FREE LOVE • Love Revolution
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
TELEVISION + LAIL ARAD • London, Electric Brixton (12/06/2016)
NEIL YOUNG+PROMISE OF THE REAL + LAURA MARLING • London, O2 Arena (11/06/2016)
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
OUT OUT • Look Up Hannah

 

Other reviews from DATE AT MIDNIGHT
DATE AT MIDNIGHT • No Love

 

Same combination of genres: BATCAVE + GOTHIC + GOTHIC ROCK
SKELETAL FAMILY • Eternal Singles-Albums-Rarities-BBC Sessions-Live-Demos (1982-2015)

 

Same genre: BATCAVE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
ANDI SEXGANG • Achilles In The Eurozone
HEMGRAVEN • Saudade
SAIGON BLUE RAIN, SOROR DOLOROSA AND THE BREATH OF LIFE • Fantastic.Night XLIII, TAG, Brussels, Belgium, 4/10/2014
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan

Music reviews

18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature
19
12
ORANGE SECTOR
Alles wird Gold

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
Horror Punk Band CUT LIKE THIS Personifies Insomnia With Latest Single, 'The Boogeyman' Featuring ANGELSPIT
18
01
On this day, 42 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
FREDRIK CROONA Condemns The Vain With New Project & Debut Single, 'Scum'
17
01
Today, 37 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
27 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 4 Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
17
01
MATT HART
Decimate
16
01
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
15
01
FATAL CASUALTIES
No Heaven
14
01
DI*OVE
Please Stop!
13
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Socopelli
12
01
AEX
Selected Memories