tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : DATE AT MIDNIGHT - Songs To Fall And Forget

DATE AT MIDNIGHT

Songs To Fall And Forget

MusicCD
BatcaveGothicGothic Rock

[82/100]   

Manic Depression
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Four years ago, the French label Manic Depression released the second album of the Italian goth rock band Date At Midnight. A memorable CD that disappeared in the collection of goths who stick to the old school sound. So, you won’t discover any innovations, but that’s what makes Songs To Fall And Forget such an excellent album. That, and especially the fact that this third album by this Rome-based band is very varied!

Everything starts with the cover, out of a seductive woman's mouth escapes cigarette smoke. An erotic photo in black and white, one that reminds you of the golden 80s and 90s: the period in which the dark genre was at its best. It still is, you just need to crose some darker corridors before the dark splendor embraces you.

Each track sounds traditional, but there’s no weak moment on this third album which feels like a ride on a rollercoaster that takes you through two decades of dark music. In the opener Cold Modern World and Waves (hence that title!) you’ll discover some Asylum Party, although this Italian cold wave (sung in English) is quite heavy at times. Sometimes, you hear The Cure (Beautiful Life (Let It Die)) or the echoes of Bauhaus, as in Follow.

The title track (which lasts almost 8 minutes) is an epic goth orgasm, but you also hear some death rock in Christian Death style (Dust) or the influence of The Cramps (Black Ashes). And if you force us to choose a favorite, we would shout loudly: Running 'Round.

Songs To Fall And Forget is a goth rock album (or whatever you want to call it) that needs to be in your record collection.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Vier jaar geleden bracht het Franse label Manic Depression het tweede album van de Italiaanse gothrockformatie Date At Midnight uit. Een memorabel schijfje dat in de collectie verdween van goths die trouw zweren aan het old school-geluid. Vernieuwing hoef je bij deze band uit Rome dus niet te zoeken, en het is net dat wat van Songs To Fall And Forget zo’n uitstekend album maakt. En vooral het feit dat dit derde album ontzettend gevarieerd is!

Alles start met het hoesje, een verleidelijke vrouwenmond waaruit een walm sigarettenrook verdwijnt. Een erotische foto in zwart-wit, eentje die je aan de gouden jaren 80 en 90 doet denken, de periode waarin het donkere genre welig tierde. Dat doet het nog, hoor, alleen moet je wat meer donkere gangen doorkruisen vooraleer de duistere pracht je omarmt.

Hoe traditioneel iedere track ook klinkt, er zit toch geen enkel zwak moment in deze derde plaat en het voelt aan alsof je in een achtbaan zit die je doorheen twee decennia donkere muziek voert.

In opener Cold Modern World en Waves (die titel!) zit er een snuifje Asylum Party, ofschoon de cold wave van deze Italianen best wel heftig is. Soms hoor je een echo’s van The Cure (Beautiful Life (Let It Die)) of Bauhaus zoals in afsluiter Follow.

De titeltrack (een kanjer van zo’n 8 minuten) is een episch goth-hoogtepunt, maar je hoort tevens stevige death rock in Christian Death-stijl (Dust) en de invloeden van The Cramps (Black Ashes). En als je ons dan toch dwingt om een favoriet te kiezen, dan roepen we luidkeels: Running’ Round.

Songs To Fall And Forget is een gothrockplaat (of hoe je ze ook wil noemen) die in je platenverzameling thuishoort.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
PATENBRIGADE: WOLFF • Trabantenstadt
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
THE CULT OF FREE LOVE • Love Revolution
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
TELEVISION + LAIL ARAD • London, Electric Brixton (12/06/2016)
NEIL YOUNG+PROMISE OF THE REAL + LAURA MARLING • London, O2 Arena (11/06/2016)
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
OUT OUT • Look Up Hannah

 

Other reviews from DATE AT MIDNIGHT
DATE AT MIDNIGHT • No Love

 

Same combination of genres: BATCAVE + GOTHIC + GOTHIC ROCK
SKELETAL FAMILY • Eternal Singles-Albums-Rarities-BBC Sessions-Live-Demos (1982-2015)

 

Same genre: BATCAVE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
ANDI SEXGANG • Achilles In The Eurozone
HEMGRAVEN • Saudade
SAIGON BLUE RAIN, SOROR DOLOROSA AND THE BREATH OF LIFE • Fantastic.Night XLIII, TAG, Brussels, Belgium, 4/10/2014
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?