tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : DATE AT MIDNIGHT - Songs To Fall And Forget

DATE AT MIDNIGHT

Songs To Fall And Forget

MusicCD
BatcaveGothicGothic Rock

[82/100]   

Manic Depression
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Four years ago, the French label Manic Depression released the second album of the Italian goth rock band Date At Midnight. A memorable CD that disappeared in the collection of goths who stick to the old school sound. So, you won’t discover any innovations, but that’s what makes Songs To Fall And Forget such an excellent album. That, and especially the fact that this third album by this Rome-based band is very varied!

Everything starts with the cover, out of a seductive woman's mouth escapes cigarette smoke. An erotic photo in black and white, one that reminds you of the golden 80s and 90s: the period in which the dark genre was at its best. It still is, you just need to crose some darker corridors before the dark splendor embraces you.

Each track sounds traditional, but there’s no weak moment on this third album which feels like a ride on a rollercoaster that takes you through two decades of dark music. In the opener Cold Modern World and Waves (hence that title!) you’ll discover some Asylum Party, although this Italian cold wave (sung in English) is quite heavy at times. Sometimes, you hear The Cure (Beautiful Life (Let It Die)) or the echoes of Bauhaus, as in Follow.

The title track (which lasts almost 8 minutes) is an epic goth orgasm, but you also hear some death rock in Christian Death style (Dust) or the influence of The Cramps (Black Ashes). And if you force us to choose a favorite, we would shout loudly: Running 'Round.

Songs To Fall And Forget is a goth rock album (or whatever you want to call it) that needs to be in your record collection.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Vier jaar geleden bracht het Franse label Manic Depression het tweede album van de Italiaanse gothrockformatie Date At Midnight uit. Een memorabel schijfje dat in de collectie verdween van goths die trouw zweren aan het old school-geluid. Vernieuwing hoef je bij deze band uit Rome dus niet te zoeken, en het is net dat wat van Songs To Fall And Forget zo’n uitstekend album maakt. En vooral het feit dat dit derde album ontzettend gevarieerd is!

Alles start met het hoesje, een verleidelijke vrouwenmond waaruit een walm sigarettenrook verdwijnt. Een erotische foto in zwart-wit, eentje die je aan de gouden jaren 80 en 90 doet denken, de periode waarin het donkere genre welig tierde. Dat doet het nog, hoor, alleen moet je wat meer donkere gangen doorkruisen vooraleer de duistere pracht je omarmt.

Hoe traditioneel iedere track ook klinkt, er zit toch geen enkel zwak moment in deze derde plaat en het voelt aan alsof je in een achtbaan zit die je doorheen twee decennia donkere muziek voert.

In opener Cold Modern World en Waves (die titel!) zit er een snuifje Asylum Party, ofschoon de cold wave van deze Italianen best wel heftig is. Soms hoor je een echo’s van The Cure (Beautiful Life (Let It Die)) of Bauhaus zoals in afsluiter Follow.

De titeltrack (een kanjer van zo’n 8 minuten) is een episch goth-hoogtepunt, maar je hoort tevens stevige death rock in Christian Death-stijl (Dust) en de invloeden van The Cramps (Black Ashes). En als je ons dan toch dwingt om een favoriet te kiezen, dan roepen we luidkeels: Running’ Round.

Songs To Fall And Forget is een gothrockplaat (of hoe je ze ook wil noemen) die in je platenverzameling thuishoort.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
PATENBRIGADE: WOLFF • Trabantenstadt
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
THE CULT OF FREE LOVE • Love Revolution
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
TELEVISION + LAIL ARAD • London, Electric Brixton (12/06/2016)
NEIL YOUNG+PROMISE OF THE REAL + LAURA MARLING • London, O2 Arena (11/06/2016)
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
OUT OUT • Look Up Hannah

 

Other reviews from DATE AT MIDNIGHT
DATE AT MIDNIGHT • No Love

 

Same combination of genres: BATCAVE + GOTHIC + GOTHIC ROCK
SKELETAL FAMILY • Eternal Singles-Albums-Rarities-BBC Sessions-Live-Demos (1982-2015)

 

Same genre: BATCAVE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
ANDI SEXGANG • Achilles In The Eurozone
HEMGRAVEN • Saudade
SAIGON BLUE RAIN, SOROR DOLOROSA AND THE BREATH OF LIFE • Fantastic.Night XLIII, TAG, Brussels, Belgium, 4/10/2014
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)