tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : DATE AT MIDNIGHT - Songs To Fall And Forget

DATE AT MIDNIGHT

Songs To Fall And Forget

MusicCD
BatcaveGothicGothic Rock

[82/100]   

Manic Depression
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Four years ago, the French label Manic Depression released the second album of the Italian goth rock band Date At Midnight. A memorable CD that disappeared in the collection of goths who stick to the old school sound. So, you won’t discover any innovations, but that’s what makes Songs To Fall And Forget such an excellent album. That, and especially the fact that this third album by this Rome-based band is very varied!

Everything starts with the cover, out of a seductive woman's mouth escapes cigarette smoke. An erotic photo in black and white, one that reminds you of the golden 80s and 90s: the period in which the dark genre was at its best. It still is, you just need to crose some darker corridors before the dark splendor embraces you.

Each track sounds traditional, but there’s no weak moment on this third album which feels like a ride on a rollercoaster that takes you through two decades of dark music. In the opener Cold Modern World and Waves (hence that title!) you’ll discover some Asylum Party, although this Italian cold wave (sung in English) is quite heavy at times. Sometimes, you hear The Cure (Beautiful Life (Let It Die)) or the echoes of Bauhaus, as in Follow.

The title track (which lasts almost 8 minutes) is an epic goth orgasm, but you also hear some death rock in Christian Death style (Dust) or the influence of The Cramps (Black Ashes). And if you force us to choose a favorite, we would shout loudly: Running 'Round.

Songs To Fall And Forget is a goth rock album (or whatever you want to call it) that needs to be in your record collection.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Vier jaar geleden bracht het Franse label Manic Depression het tweede album van de Italiaanse gothrockformatie Date At Midnight uit. Een memorabel schijfje dat in de collectie verdween van goths die trouw zweren aan het old school-geluid. Vernieuwing hoef je bij deze band uit Rome dus niet te zoeken, en het is net dat wat van Songs To Fall And Forget zo’n uitstekend album maakt. En vooral het feit dat dit derde album ontzettend gevarieerd is!

Alles start met het hoesje, een verleidelijke vrouwenmond waaruit een walm sigarettenrook verdwijnt. Een erotische foto in zwart-wit, eentje die je aan de gouden jaren 80 en 90 doet denken, de periode waarin het donkere genre welig tierde. Dat doet het nog, hoor, alleen moet je wat meer donkere gangen doorkruisen vooraleer de duistere pracht je omarmt.

Hoe traditioneel iedere track ook klinkt, er zit toch geen enkel zwak moment in deze derde plaat en het voelt aan alsof je in een achtbaan zit die je doorheen twee decennia donkere muziek voert.

In opener Cold Modern World en Waves (die titel!) zit er een snuifje Asylum Party, ofschoon de cold wave van deze Italianen best wel heftig is. Soms hoor je een echo’s van The Cure (Beautiful Life (Let It Die)) of Bauhaus zoals in afsluiter Follow.

De titeltrack (een kanjer van zo’n 8 minuten) is een episch goth-hoogtepunt, maar je hoort tevens stevige death rock in Christian Death-stijl (Dust) en de invloeden van The Cramps (Black Ashes). En als je ons dan toch dwingt om een favoriet te kiezen, dan roepen we luidkeels: Running’ Round.

Songs To Fall And Forget is een gothrockplaat (of hoe je ze ook wil noemen) die in je platenverzameling thuishoort.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
PATENBRIGADE: WOLFF • Trabantenstadt
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
THE CULT OF FREE LOVE • Love Revolution
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
TELEVISION + LAIL ARAD • London, Electric Brixton (12/06/2016)
NEIL YOUNG+PROMISE OF THE REAL + LAURA MARLING • London, O2 Arena (11/06/2016)
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
OUT OUT • Look Up Hannah

 

Other reviews from DATE AT MIDNIGHT
DATE AT MIDNIGHT • No Love

 

Same combination of genres: BATCAVE + GOTHIC + GOTHIC ROCK
SKELETAL FAMILY • Eternal Singles-Albums-Rarities-BBC Sessions-Live-Demos (1982-2015)

 

Same genre: BATCAVE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
ANDI SEXGANG • Achilles In The Eurozone
HEMGRAVEN • Saudade
SAIGON BLUE RAIN, SOROR DOLOROSA AND THE BREATH OF LIFE • Fantastic.Night XLIII, TAG, Brussels, Belgium, 4/10/2014
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
NORMORIA • Origin

Music reviews

27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
01
ASHRR’S Dark Industrialized New Single, “ALL YOURS ALL MINE (DARKER DAYS MIX)” Is Streaming Now
25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

29
01
TALK TO HER
IBISCO
28
01
BIG TIME KILL
Again and Again
28
01
DEPECHE MODE
Enjoy The Silence
27
01
GEOMETRIC VISION
Apocalypse Queen
26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht