tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : DEUTSCH NEPAL - Dystopian Partycollection II

DEUTSCH NEPAL

Dystopian Partycollection II

MusicCD
Avant-gardeDark AmbientIndustrial

[85/100]   

Entartete Musikk
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

So far, many things have been written about it, but the Swedish label Cold Meat Industry created dark ambient, a genre that was copied ad nauseam. It is impossible to keep track of the number of releases in this genre, and although it contains many gems, a whole bunch of disks is nothing more than a copy of the masters of the genre.

This label was founded in 1987 by Roger Karmanik, who makes music himself with Brighter Death Now. Deutsch Nepal was on Cold Meat Industry from the beginning: the musical project of Peter Andersson (or if you prefer: Lina Baby Doll). The one-man project, founded in 1991 and named after the track Wolf City by Amon Düül, released the remarkable Alcohology earlier this year. Now, Dystopian Party Collection II comes available, which is obviously a sequel to the first volume from 2008. It includes lots of unreleased material.

The second part contains 12 tracks, recorded between 2009 and 2016. Although each song comes from a different period, there is a homogeneous line in this compilation. Using the word 'accessible' when describing Deutsch Nepal may be a bridge too far, but the experimental (almost avant-garde) songs on this album are far away from dark ambient or power electronics.

it didn't occurre to me earlier, but Peter's voice actually sounds very much like Blaine L. Reininger. You hear the same melancholy, but also that typical despair.

The cover mentions the words "Party! Party! Party! "(those who are familiar with Peter know that he loves a can of beer). All tracks, however, are very heavy (although they don’t require too much effort from the listener).

As mentioned, you find some rare or reworked recordings here, like the obscure singles Institution and We Shall Live Again that features Thomas Ekelund of Trepanieringsritualen on guitar.

Dolly Parton is also present. Her song The Lonely Comming Down (a single on Old Europa Cafe) gets a very special treatment, to say the least. Two songs (To The Earth and The Other End Of The Bottle) are done with Der Blutharsh And The Infinite Church Of The Leading Hand.

Whether you know Deutsch Nepal or not, you always have a reason to buy this compilation. Either to discover the music, or just to have the release in your collection!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Er heeft in de undergroundscène al heel wat inkt over gevloeid, maar het Zweedse Cold Meat Industry is het label dat dark ambient creëerde, een genre dat vaak tot vervelens toe is gekopieerd. Het aantal releases in dit genre is bijna niet bij te houden, en ofschoon er heel wat pareltjes te ontdekken zijn, blijf je vaak met een hele hoop schijfjes achter die niet meer dan een kopie van de grootmeesters uit het genre zijn.

Dit label werd in 1987 door Roger Karmanik opgericht die zelf ook met Brighter Death Now muziek maakt. Een groep die er vanaf het begin bijzat was Deutsch Nepal: het muzikale project van Peter Andersson (of indien je dat liever hoort :Lina Baby Doll). Het in 1991 opgerichte eenmansproject dat naar een track uit Wolf City van Amon Düül is vernoemd, bracht begin dit jaar nog de opmerkelijke Alcohology uit. Nu is er Dystopian Partycollection II, wat uiteraard een vervolg is op het eerste deel uit 2008 en waarop een hele resem onuitgebracht of onvindbaar materiaal stond.

Het tweede luik bevat 12 tracks die tussen 2009 en 2016 zijn opgenomen. Hoewel iedere song uit een verschillende periode komt, zit er toch een homogene lijn in deze compilatie. Het woord ‘toegankelijk” bij Deutsch Nepal gebruiken is misschien net een brug te ver, toch liggen de experimentele (bijna avant-gardistische) songs op deze plaat ver af van dark ambient of power electronics.

Zelf heb ik er nooit bij stilgestaan, maar Peters stem lijkt eigenlijk ontzettend veel op die van Blaine L. Reininger. Je merkt dezelfde weemoed, maar ook die typische wanhoop.

Het hoesje vermeldt wel de woorden “Party! Party! Party!” (wie Peter kent, weet dat een blikje bier meer of minder voor hem geen probleem is), toch zijn alle tracks loodzwaar zonder dat ze van de luisteraar al te veel moeite vergen.

Zoals gezegd gaat het om herwerkte opnames, of songs die alleen maar op een obscure 7” stonden (Institution of We Shall Live Again met op gitaar Thomas Ekelund van Trepanieringsritualen).

Ook Dolly Parton moet eraan geloven, zo krijgt haar The Lonely Comming Down (als single op Old Europa Cafe verschenen) toch wel een zeer aparte bewerking. Op twee songs (To The Earth en In The Other End Of The Bottle) hoor je de medewerking van Der Blutharsh And The Infinite Church Of The Leading Hand.

Of je nu Deutsch Nepal kent of niet, je hebt altijd een reden om deze compilatie in huis te halen. Ofwel om te ontdekken, of gewoon om er alles van in huis te hebben!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
TELEVISION + LAIL ARAD • London, Electric Brixton (12/06/2016)
NEIL YOUNG+PROMISE OF THE REAL + LAURA MARLING • London, O2 Arena (11/06/2016)
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
OUT OUT • Look Up Hannah
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
ELECTRIC DRAGON • Paranormalizer
TRUE ZEBRA • War Of The Words
WOLF IN THE WOOD • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (10/06/2016)

 

Other reviews from DEUTSCH NEPAL
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Alcohology

 

Same genre: AVANT-GARDE
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
MCHNRY • The Shape
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Heartless
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)
LAURIE ANDERSON • Strange Angels
STEVE REICH • Four Organs/Phase Patterns

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
DARKHER • Realms
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MORBUS M. • Fight Or Die
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler
SPHYXION • Sphyxion

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap