tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : DEUTSCH NEPAL - Dystopian Partycollection II

DEUTSCH NEPAL

Dystopian Partycollection II

MusicCD
Avant-gardeDark AmbientIndustrial

[85/100]   

Entartete Musikk
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

So far, many things have been written about it, but the Swedish label Cold Meat Industry created dark ambient, a genre that was copied ad nauseam. It is impossible to keep track of the number of releases in this genre, and although it contains many gems, a whole bunch of disks is nothing more than a copy of the masters of the genre.

This label was founded in 1987 by Roger Karmanik, who makes music himself with Brighter Death Now. Deutsch Nepal was on Cold Meat Industry from the beginning: the musical project of Peter Andersson (or if you prefer: Lina Baby Doll). The one-man project, founded in 1991 and named after the track Wolf City by Amon Düül, released the remarkable Alcohology earlier this year. Now, Dystopian Party Collection II comes available, which is obviously a sequel to the first volume from 2008. It includes lots of unreleased material.

The second part contains 12 tracks, recorded between 2009 and 2016. Although each song comes from a different period, there is a homogeneous line in this compilation. Using the word 'accessible' when describing Deutsch Nepal may be a bridge too far, but the experimental (almost avant-garde) songs on this album are far away from dark ambient or power electronics.

it didn't occurre to me earlier, but Peter's voice actually sounds very much like Blaine L. Reininger. You hear the same melancholy, but also that typical despair.

The cover mentions the words "Party! Party! Party! "(those who are familiar with Peter know that he loves a can of beer). All tracks, however, are very heavy (although they don’t require too much effort from the listener).

As mentioned, you find some rare or reworked recordings here, like the obscure singles Institution and We Shall Live Again that features Thomas Ekelund of Trepanieringsritualen on guitar.

Dolly Parton is also present. Her song The Lonely Comming Down (a single on Old Europa Cafe) gets a very special treatment, to say the least. Two songs (To The Earth and The Other End Of The Bottle) are done with Der Blutharsh And The Infinite Church Of The Leading Hand.

Whether you know Deutsch Nepal or not, you always have a reason to buy this compilation. Either to discover the music, or just to have the release in your collection!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Er heeft in de undergroundscène al heel wat inkt over gevloeid, maar het Zweedse Cold Meat Industry is het label dat dark ambient creëerde, een genre dat vaak tot vervelens toe is gekopieerd. Het aantal releases in dit genre is bijna niet bij te houden, en ofschoon er heel wat pareltjes te ontdekken zijn, blijf je vaak met een hele hoop schijfjes achter die niet meer dan een kopie van de grootmeesters uit het genre zijn.

Dit label werd in 1987 door Roger Karmanik opgericht die zelf ook met Brighter Death Now muziek maakt. Een groep die er vanaf het begin bijzat was Deutsch Nepal: het muzikale project van Peter Andersson (of indien je dat liever hoort :Lina Baby Doll). Het in 1991 opgerichte eenmansproject dat naar een track uit Wolf City van Amon Düül is vernoemd, bracht begin dit jaar nog de opmerkelijke Alcohology uit. Nu is er Dystopian Partycollection II, wat uiteraard een vervolg is op het eerste deel uit 2008 en waarop een hele resem onuitgebracht of onvindbaar materiaal stond.

Het tweede luik bevat 12 tracks die tussen 2009 en 2016 zijn opgenomen. Hoewel iedere song uit een verschillende periode komt, zit er toch een homogene lijn in deze compilatie. Het woord ‘toegankelijk” bij Deutsch Nepal gebruiken is misschien net een brug te ver, toch liggen de experimentele (bijna avant-gardistische) songs op deze plaat ver af van dark ambient of power electronics.

Zelf heb ik er nooit bij stilgestaan, maar Peters stem lijkt eigenlijk ontzettend veel op die van Blaine L. Reininger. Je merkt dezelfde weemoed, maar ook die typische wanhoop.

Het hoesje vermeldt wel de woorden “Party! Party! Party!” (wie Peter kent, weet dat een blikje bier meer of minder voor hem geen probleem is), toch zijn alle tracks loodzwaar zonder dat ze van de luisteraar al te veel moeite vergen.

Zoals gezegd gaat het om herwerkte opnames, of songs die alleen maar op een obscure 7” stonden (Institution of We Shall Live Again met op gitaar Thomas Ekelund van Trepanieringsritualen).

Ook Dolly Parton moet eraan geloven, zo krijgt haar The Lonely Comming Down (als single op Old Europa Cafe verschenen) toch wel een zeer aparte bewerking. Op twee songs (To The Earth en In The Other End Of The Bottle) hoor je de medewerking van Der Blutharsh And The Infinite Church Of The Leading Hand.

Of je nu Deutsch Nepal kent of niet, je hebt altijd een reden om deze compilatie in huis te halen. Ofwel om te ontdekken, of gewoon om er alles van in huis te hebben!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
TELEVISION + LAIL ARAD • London, Electric Brixton (12/06/2016)
NEIL YOUNG+PROMISE OF THE REAL + LAURA MARLING • London, O2 Arena (11/06/2016)
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
OUT OUT • Look Up Hannah
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
ELECTRIC DRAGON • Paranormalizer
TRUE ZEBRA • War Of The Words
WOLF IN THE WOOD • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (10/06/2016)

 

Other reviews from DEUTSCH NEPAL
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Alcohology

 

Same genre: AVANT-GARDE
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
MCHNRY • The Shape
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Heartless
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)
LAURIE ANDERSON • Strange Angels
STEVE REICH • Four Organs/Phase Patterns
SYL KOUGAÏ • IΧΘΥΣ Transmission

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
DARKHER • Realms
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MORBUS M. • Fight Or Die
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler
SPHYXION • Sphyxion
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Fractured Sign

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
12
This weekend, BIMFEST 2018 kicks off with Covenant, Leaether Strip, Light Asylum, Clock Dva & Agent Side Grinder amongst others!
12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!
10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls