tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : DEUTSCH NEPAL - Dystopian Partycollection II

DEUTSCH NEPAL

Dystopian Partycollection II

MusicCD
Avant-gardeDark AmbientIndustrial

[85/100]   

Entartete Musikk
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

So far, many things have been written about it, but the Swedish label Cold Meat Industry created dark ambient, a genre that was copied ad nauseam. It is impossible to keep track of the number of releases in this genre, and although it contains many gems, a whole bunch of disks is nothing more than a copy of the masters of the genre.

This label was founded in 1987 by Roger Karmanik, who makes music himself with Brighter Death Now. Deutsch Nepal was on Cold Meat Industry from the beginning: the musical project of Peter Andersson (or if you prefer: Lina Baby Doll). The one-man project, founded in 1991 and named after the track Wolf City by Amon Düül, released the remarkable Alcohology earlier this year. Now, Dystopian Party Collection II comes available, which is obviously a sequel to the first volume from 2008. It includes lots of unreleased material.

The second part contains 12 tracks, recorded between 2009 and 2016. Although each song comes from a different period, there is a homogeneous line in this compilation. Using the word 'accessible' when describing Deutsch Nepal may be a bridge too far, but the experimental (almost avant-garde) songs on this album are far away from dark ambient or power electronics.

it didn't occurre to me earlier, but Peter's voice actually sounds very much like Blaine L. Reininger. You hear the same melancholy, but also that typical despair.

The cover mentions the words "Party! Party! Party! "(those who are familiar with Peter know that he loves a can of beer). All tracks, however, are very heavy (although they don’t require too much effort from the listener).

As mentioned, you find some rare or reworked recordings here, like the obscure singles Institution and We Shall Live Again that features Thomas Ekelund of Trepanieringsritualen on guitar.

Dolly Parton is also present. Her song The Lonely Comming Down (a single on Old Europa Cafe) gets a very special treatment, to say the least. Two songs (To The Earth and The Other End Of The Bottle) are done with Der Blutharsh And The Infinite Church Of The Leading Hand.

Whether you know Deutsch Nepal or not, you always have a reason to buy this compilation. Either to discover the music, or just to have the release in your collection!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Er heeft in de undergroundscène al heel wat inkt over gevloeid, maar het Zweedse Cold Meat Industry is het label dat dark ambient creëerde, een genre dat vaak tot vervelens toe is gekopieerd. Het aantal releases in dit genre is bijna niet bij te houden, en ofschoon er heel wat pareltjes te ontdekken zijn, blijf je vaak met een hele hoop schijfjes achter die niet meer dan een kopie van de grootmeesters uit het genre zijn.

Dit label werd in 1987 door Roger Karmanik opgericht die zelf ook met Brighter Death Now muziek maakt. Een groep die er vanaf het begin bijzat was Deutsch Nepal: het muzikale project van Peter Andersson (of indien je dat liever hoort :Lina Baby Doll). Het in 1991 opgerichte eenmansproject dat naar een track uit Wolf City van Amon Düül is vernoemd, bracht begin dit jaar nog de opmerkelijke Alcohology uit. Nu is er Dystopian Partycollection II, wat uiteraard een vervolg is op het eerste deel uit 2008 en waarop een hele resem onuitgebracht of onvindbaar materiaal stond.

Het tweede luik bevat 12 tracks die tussen 2009 en 2016 zijn opgenomen. Hoewel iedere song uit een verschillende periode komt, zit er toch een homogene lijn in deze compilatie. Het woord ‘toegankelijk” bij Deutsch Nepal gebruiken is misschien net een brug te ver, toch liggen de experimentele (bijna avant-gardistische) songs op deze plaat ver af van dark ambient of power electronics.

Zelf heb ik er nooit bij stilgestaan, maar Peters stem lijkt eigenlijk ontzettend veel op die van Blaine L. Reininger. Je merkt dezelfde weemoed, maar ook die typische wanhoop.

Het hoesje vermeldt wel de woorden “Party! Party! Party!” (wie Peter kent, weet dat een blikje bier meer of minder voor hem geen probleem is), toch zijn alle tracks loodzwaar zonder dat ze van de luisteraar al te veel moeite vergen.

Zoals gezegd gaat het om herwerkte opnames, of songs die alleen maar op een obscure 7” stonden (Institution of We Shall Live Again met op gitaar Thomas Ekelund van Trepanieringsritualen).

Ook Dolly Parton moet eraan geloven, zo krijgt haar The Lonely Comming Down (als single op Old Europa Cafe verschenen) toch wel een zeer aparte bewerking. Op twee songs (To The Earth en In The Other End Of The Bottle) hoor je de medewerking van Der Blutharsh And The Infinite Church Of The Leading Hand.

Of je nu Deutsch Nepal kent of niet, je hebt altijd een reden om deze compilatie in huis te halen. Ofwel om te ontdekken, of gewoon om er alles van in huis te hebben!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
TELEVISION + LAIL ARAD • London, Electric Brixton (12/06/2016)
NEIL YOUNG+PROMISE OF THE REAL + LAURA MARLING • London, O2 Arena (11/06/2016)
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
OUT OUT • Look Up Hannah
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
ELECTRIC DRAGON • Paranormalizer
TRUE ZEBRA • War Of The Words
WOLF IN THE WOOD • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (10/06/2016)

 

Other reviews from DEUTSCH NEPAL
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Alcohology

 

Same genre: AVANT-GARDE
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY • On Common Ground
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
MCHNRY • The Shape
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Heartless

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)