tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : DEUTSCH NEPAL - Dystopian Partycollection II

DEUTSCH NEPAL

Dystopian Partycollection II

MusicCD
Avant-gardeDark AmbientIndustrial

[85/100]   

Entartete Musikk
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

So far, many things have been written about it, but the Swedish label Cold Meat Industry created dark ambient, a genre that was copied ad nauseam. It is impossible to keep track of the number of releases in this genre, and although it contains many gems, a whole bunch of disks is nothing more than a copy of the masters of the genre.

This label was founded in 1987 by Roger Karmanik, who makes music himself with Brighter Death Now. Deutsch Nepal was on Cold Meat Industry from the beginning: the musical project of Peter Andersson (or if you prefer: Lina Baby Doll). The one-man project, founded in 1991 and named after the track Wolf City by Amon Düül, released the remarkable Alcohology earlier this year. Now, Dystopian Party Collection II comes available, which is obviously a sequel to the first volume from 2008. It includes lots of unreleased material.

The second part contains 12 tracks, recorded between 2009 and 2016. Although each song comes from a different period, there is a homogeneous line in this compilation. Using the word 'accessible' when describing Deutsch Nepal may be a bridge too far, but the experimental (almost avant-garde) songs on this album are far away from dark ambient or power electronics.

it didn't occurre to me earlier, but Peter's voice actually sounds very much like Blaine L. Reininger. You hear the same melancholy, but also that typical despair.

The cover mentions the words "Party! Party! Party! "(those who are familiar with Peter know that he loves a can of beer). All tracks, however, are very heavy (although they don’t require too much effort from the listener).

As mentioned, you find some rare or reworked recordings here, like the obscure singles Institution and We Shall Live Again that features Thomas Ekelund of Trepanieringsritualen on guitar.

Dolly Parton is also present. Her song The Lonely Comming Down (a single on Old Europa Cafe) gets a very special treatment, to say the least. Two songs (To The Earth and The Other End Of The Bottle) are done with Der Blutharsh And The Infinite Church Of The Leading Hand.

Whether you know Deutsch Nepal or not, you always have a reason to buy this compilation. Either to discover the music, or just to have the release in your collection!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Er heeft in de undergroundscène al heel wat inkt over gevloeid, maar het Zweedse Cold Meat Industry is het label dat dark ambient creëerde, een genre dat vaak tot vervelens toe is gekopieerd. Het aantal releases in dit genre is bijna niet bij te houden, en ofschoon er heel wat pareltjes te ontdekken zijn, blijf je vaak met een hele hoop schijfjes achter die niet meer dan een kopie van de grootmeesters uit het genre zijn.

Dit label werd in 1987 door Roger Karmanik opgericht die zelf ook met Brighter Death Now muziek maakt. Een groep die er vanaf het begin bijzat was Deutsch Nepal: het muzikale project van Peter Andersson (of indien je dat liever hoort :Lina Baby Doll). Het in 1991 opgerichte eenmansproject dat naar een track uit Wolf City van Amon Düül is vernoemd, bracht begin dit jaar nog de opmerkelijke Alcohology uit. Nu is er Dystopian Partycollection II, wat uiteraard een vervolg is op het eerste deel uit 2008 en waarop een hele resem onuitgebracht of onvindbaar materiaal stond.

Het tweede luik bevat 12 tracks die tussen 2009 en 2016 zijn opgenomen. Hoewel iedere song uit een verschillende periode komt, zit er toch een homogene lijn in deze compilatie. Het woord ‘toegankelijk” bij Deutsch Nepal gebruiken is misschien net een brug te ver, toch liggen de experimentele (bijna avant-gardistische) songs op deze plaat ver af van dark ambient of power electronics.

Zelf heb ik er nooit bij stilgestaan, maar Peters stem lijkt eigenlijk ontzettend veel op die van Blaine L. Reininger. Je merkt dezelfde weemoed, maar ook die typische wanhoop.

Het hoesje vermeldt wel de woorden “Party! Party! Party!” (wie Peter kent, weet dat een blikje bier meer of minder voor hem geen probleem is), toch zijn alle tracks loodzwaar zonder dat ze van de luisteraar al te veel moeite vergen.

Zoals gezegd gaat het om herwerkte opnames, of songs die alleen maar op een obscure 7” stonden (Institution of We Shall Live Again met op gitaar Thomas Ekelund van Trepanieringsritualen).

Ook Dolly Parton moet eraan geloven, zo krijgt haar The Lonely Comming Down (als single op Old Europa Cafe verschenen) toch wel een zeer aparte bewerking. Op twee songs (To The Earth en In The Other End Of The Bottle) hoor je de medewerking van Der Blutharsh And The Infinite Church Of The Leading Hand.

Of je nu Deutsch Nepal kent of niet, je hebt altijd een reden om deze compilatie in huis te halen. Ofwel om te ontdekken, of gewoon om er alles van in huis te hebben!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
TELEVISION + LAIL ARAD • London, Electric Brixton (12/06/2016)
NEIL YOUNG+PROMISE OF THE REAL + LAURA MARLING • London, O2 Arena (11/06/2016)
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
OUT OUT • Look Up Hannah
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
ELECTRIC DRAGON • Paranormalizer
TRUE ZEBRA • War Of The Words
WOLF IN THE WOOD • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (10/06/2016)

 

Other reviews from DEUTSCH NEPAL
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Alcohology

 

Same genre: AVANT-GARDE
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
MCHNRY • The Shape
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Heartless
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)
LAURIE ANDERSON • Strange Angels
STEVE REICH • Four Organs/Phase Patterns

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
DARKHER • Realms
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MORBUS M. • Fight Or Die
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler
SPHYXION • Sphyxion

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

Music reviews

12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel
01
04
FRAGRANCE
Now That I'm Real
31
03
PARADE GROUND
Life [Live In Frankfurt]

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!
10
04
THRILLSVILLE Releases Dark Electronic Single, 'Second Sleep'

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

18
04
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
Dark Skies over Witten V Werkstatt Witten Germany
18
04
AUGER
Dark Skies over Witten V Wekstatt Witten Germany
06
04
PERSEPHONE
@ A Mourning hall concert Gelsenkirchen
24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline
18
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
17
04
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
16
04
ANNI HOGAN
Angels Of Romance (featuring Gavin Friday
15
04
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
15
04
JO QUAIL
The Falconer
14
04
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Tell Them