tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MCHNRY - The Shape

MCHNRY

The Shape

MusicCD
Avant-gardeIndustrialNo Wave

[70/100]   

Laterax Recordings
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you like difficult music, then you should definitely try MCHNRY (probably to be pronounced as Machinery). If you think that difficult does not exist, you might appreciate the strange combinations of Levi Huygevoort and Arnold Kooij. Why strange? Well, because the two Dutch mix live art and live music. Visual art combined with music. Allegedly this is a unique experience on stage. We want to believe it, but this is only a CD. We are not complaining, and although there is no description about the music as such, we are fascinated by it.

The debut album The Shape has ten tracks which are driven by idiosyncratic noise guitars with hints from No Wave; even the recalcitrant post-punk of The Fall can be a reference.

Not that you will sing-along for one minute, but already from opener Re-Fill it feels like a good trip with electric guitars that take you to a place you’ll never guess. The Shape sounds a bit like Soulwax with David Byrne influences, even if we realize that we're just looking for some nice words to fit the sound fits in a category.

It is music that leads your soul to the abyss, like The Bandager. But MCHNRY is art, and Draw A Blank is like Dadaism: cracking sounds with a wistful guitar in the background. Speaking of melancholy sounds! Void is a collage of strange voices,giving the feeling that you are leaving the earth, a soul that finds its way into the universe, only the sad sound of a lone guitar remains. Sometimes the spirit of late Alan Vega wanders around, as in The Earth Is a Spaceship. And what to do with a band that writes a song like Punk Rock that does not sound like punk rock? Embrace that band!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Als je van moeilijke muziek houdt, dan moet je beslist MCHNRY (wellicht uit te spreken als Machinery) een kans gunnen. En kijk, als je ervan overtuigd bent dat moeilijk niet bestaat, zal je ongetwijfeld de vreemde combinatie Levi van Huygevoort en Arnold Kooij appreciëren. Waarom vreemd? Wel gewoon omdat de twee Nederlanders live art en live muziek tot één geheel vermengen. Beeldend kunst die wordt samengevoegd met muziek. Naar verluidt is dat op het podium een unieke ervaring. Dat willen we best geloven, maar wij moeten het stellen met een schijfje. Niet dat we klagen, want hoewel er geen beschrijving bestaat voor hun muziek, ben je er toch door gefascineerd.

Het debuutalbum The Shape telt tien tracks die worden voortgestuwd door eigenzinnige noisegitaren die je met wat goede wil bij No Wave kan onderbrengen, ook al loert de tegendraadse postpunk van The Fall om de hoek.
Van enige meezingbaarheid is natuurlijk geen sprake, toch voel je je meteen lekker als je de opener Re-Fill hoort: elektrische gitaren die je meenemen op een trip, ook al is het nooit duidelijk waar je terecht zal komen. Zo klinkt The Shape misschien als Soulwax met het weerbarstige gitaargeluid van een David Byrne, maar tegelijkertijd beseffen we dat we gewoon op zoek zijn naar mooie woorden voor een geluid dat niet in een hokje past.

Het is muziek die je ziel naar de afgrond leidt, zoals The Bandager. Maar MCHNRY is kunst, en Draw A Blank is dan ook Dadaïsme, krakende geluiden met op de achtergrond een weemoedige gitaar. Over zwaarmoedige geluiden gesproken! Void is een collage van vreemde stemmetjes die je het gevoel geven dat je de aarde verlaat, een ziel die zijn weg zoekt in het heelal, al wat overblijft is het trieste geluid van een eenzame gitaar. Soms ligt de invloed er iets dikker op; zo dwaalt de geest van Alan Vega zaliger wel wat rond in The Earth Is a Spaceship. Maar wat doe je met een band die een track maakt met de titel Punk Rock zonder dat die als punkrock klinkt? Omarmen!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
10
07
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' opens this Friday followed by a cast and director Q&A!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!
18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void
10
07
BLACK NAIL CABARET
Bête Noire
09
07
PSY'AVIAH FT MARIEKE LIGHTBAND
The Great Disconnect