tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MCHNRY - The Shape

MCHNRY

The Shape

MusicCD
Avant-gardeIndustrialNo Wave

[70/100]   

Laterax Recordings
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you like difficult music, then you should definitely try MCHNRY (probably to be pronounced as Machinery). If you think that difficult does not exist, you might appreciate the strange combinations of Levi Huygevoort and Arnold Kooij. Why strange? Well, because the two Dutch mix live art and live music. Visual art combined with music. Allegedly this is a unique experience on stage. We want to believe it, but this is only a CD. We are not complaining, and although there is no description about the music as such, we are fascinated by it.

The debut album The Shape has ten tracks which are driven by idiosyncratic noise guitars with hints from No Wave; even the recalcitrant post-punk of The Fall can be a reference.

Not that you will sing-along for one minute, but already from opener Re-Fill it feels like a good trip with electric guitars that take you to a place you’ll never guess. The Shape sounds a bit like Soulwax with David Byrne influences, even if we realize that we're just looking for some nice words to fit the sound fits in a category.

It is music that leads your soul to the abyss, like The Bandager. But MCHNRY is art, and Draw A Blank is like Dadaism: cracking sounds with a wistful guitar in the background. Speaking of melancholy sounds! Void is a collage of strange voices,giving the feeling that you are leaving the earth, a soul that finds its way into the universe, only the sad sound of a lone guitar remains. Sometimes the spirit of late Alan Vega wanders around, as in The Earth Is a Spaceship. And what to do with a band that writes a song like Punk Rock that does not sound like punk rock? Embrace that band!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Als je van moeilijke muziek houdt, dan moet je beslist MCHNRY (wellicht uit te spreken als Machinery) een kans gunnen. En kijk, als je ervan overtuigd bent dat moeilijk niet bestaat, zal je ongetwijfeld de vreemde combinatie Levi van Huygevoort en Arnold Kooij appreciëren. Waarom vreemd? Wel gewoon omdat de twee Nederlanders live art en live muziek tot één geheel vermengen. Beeldend kunst die wordt samengevoegd met muziek. Naar verluidt is dat op het podium een unieke ervaring. Dat willen we best geloven, maar wij moeten het stellen met een schijfje. Niet dat we klagen, want hoewel er geen beschrijving bestaat voor hun muziek, ben je er toch door gefascineerd.

Het debuutalbum The Shape telt tien tracks die worden voortgestuwd door eigenzinnige noisegitaren die je met wat goede wil bij No Wave kan onderbrengen, ook al loert de tegendraadse postpunk van The Fall om de hoek.
Van enige meezingbaarheid is natuurlijk geen sprake, toch voel je je meteen lekker als je de opener Re-Fill hoort: elektrische gitaren die je meenemen op een trip, ook al is het nooit duidelijk waar je terecht zal komen. Zo klinkt The Shape misschien als Soulwax met het weerbarstige gitaargeluid van een David Byrne, maar tegelijkertijd beseffen we dat we gewoon op zoek zijn naar mooie woorden voor een geluid dat niet in een hokje past.

Het is muziek die je ziel naar de afgrond leidt, zoals The Bandager. Maar MCHNRY is kunst, en Draw A Blank is dan ook Dadaïsme, krakende geluiden met op de achtergrond een weemoedige gitaar. Over zwaarmoedige geluiden gesproken! Void is een collage van vreemde stemmetjes die je het gevoel geven dat je de aarde verlaat, een ziel die zijn weg zoekt in het heelal, al wat overblijft is het trieste geluid van een eenzame gitaar. Soms ligt de invloed er iets dikker op; zo dwaalt de geest van Alan Vega zaliger wel wat rond in The Earth Is a Spaceship. Maar wat doe je met een band die een track maakt met de titel Punk Rock zonder dat die als punkrock klinkt? Omarmen!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag
22
02
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth