tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MCHNRY - The Shape

MCHNRY

The Shape

MusicCD
Avant-gardeIndustrialNo Wave

[70/100]   

Laterax Recordings
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you like difficult music, then you should definitely try MCHNRY (probably to be pronounced as Machinery). If you think that difficult does not exist, you might appreciate the strange combinations of Levi Huygevoort and Arnold Kooij. Why strange? Well, because the two Dutch mix live art and live music. Visual art combined with music. Allegedly this is a unique experience on stage. We want to believe it, but this is only a CD. We are not complaining, and although there is no description about the music as such, we are fascinated by it.

The debut album The Shape has ten tracks which are driven by idiosyncratic noise guitars with hints from No Wave; even the recalcitrant post-punk of The Fall can be a reference.

Not that you will sing-along for one minute, but already from opener Re-Fill it feels like a good trip with electric guitars that take you to a place you’ll never guess. The Shape sounds a bit like Soulwax with David Byrne influences, even if we realize that we're just looking for some nice words to fit the sound fits in a category.

It is music that leads your soul to the abyss, like The Bandager. But MCHNRY is art, and Draw A Blank is like Dadaism: cracking sounds with a wistful guitar in the background. Speaking of melancholy sounds! Void is a collage of strange voices,giving the feeling that you are leaving the earth, a soul that finds its way into the universe, only the sad sound of a lone guitar remains. Sometimes the spirit of late Alan Vega wanders around, as in The Earth Is a Spaceship. And what to do with a band that writes a song like Punk Rock that does not sound like punk rock? Embrace that band!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Als je van moeilijke muziek houdt, dan moet je beslist MCHNRY (wellicht uit te spreken als Machinery) een kans gunnen. En kijk, als je ervan overtuigd bent dat moeilijk niet bestaat, zal je ongetwijfeld de vreemde combinatie Levi van Huygevoort en Arnold Kooij appreciëren. Waarom vreemd? Wel gewoon omdat de twee Nederlanders live art en live muziek tot één geheel vermengen. Beeldend kunst die wordt samengevoegd met muziek. Naar verluidt is dat op het podium een unieke ervaring. Dat willen we best geloven, maar wij moeten het stellen met een schijfje. Niet dat we klagen, want hoewel er geen beschrijving bestaat voor hun muziek, ben je er toch door gefascineerd.

Het debuutalbum The Shape telt tien tracks die worden voortgestuwd door eigenzinnige noisegitaren die je met wat goede wil bij No Wave kan onderbrengen, ook al loert de tegendraadse postpunk van The Fall om de hoek.
Van enige meezingbaarheid is natuurlijk geen sprake, toch voel je je meteen lekker als je de opener Re-Fill hoort: elektrische gitaren die je meenemen op een trip, ook al is het nooit duidelijk waar je terecht zal komen. Zo klinkt The Shape misschien als Soulwax met het weerbarstige gitaargeluid van een David Byrne, maar tegelijkertijd beseffen we dat we gewoon op zoek zijn naar mooie woorden voor een geluid dat niet in een hokje past.

Het is muziek die je ziel naar de afgrond leidt, zoals The Bandager. Maar MCHNRY is kunst, en Draw A Blank is dan ook Dadaïsme, krakende geluiden met op de achtergrond een weemoedige gitaar. Over zwaarmoedige geluiden gesproken! Void is een collage van vreemde stemmetjes die je het gevoel geven dat je de aarde verlaat, een ziel die zijn weg zoekt in het heelal, al wat overblijft is het trieste geluid van een eenzame gitaar. Soms ligt de invloed er iets dikker op; zo dwaalt de geest van Alan Vega zaliger wel wat rond in The Earth Is a Spaceship. Maar wat doe je met een band die een track maakt met de titel Punk Rock zonder dat die als punkrock klinkt? Omarmen!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju
10
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
You, Vicious!
09
11
VIRGIN PRUNES
Hérésie
08
11
HATCHLING
Alpha
07
11
THURSTON MOORE WITH TOM SURGAL
Klangfarbenmelodie​.​. And The Colorist Strikes Primitiv

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!
09
11
Today, 37 years ago, Men At Work released their debut album Business As Usual!
08
11
This month its 31 years since Canadian industrial band Front Line Assembly released their first official album, The Initial Command!
08
11
Last chance to watch 'Locating Silver Lake': Eric Bilitch's movie celebrates Texas premiere at the Lone Star Film Festival this weekend!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!

Concert reviews

06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'
07
11
BRIX AND THE EXTRICATED
Interview with Brix Smith-Start
05
11
GERTRUD STEIN
'La coriandre et le persil ont beau se ressembler, dans le papet Vaudois, la coriandre ça le fait moyen.'

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)
11
11
DUSK
EPOKA 3000 (extended version)
10
11
PARADOX OBSCUR
Afterlife Effect (Official Video)
09
11
MEANDER
This is Meander.
08
11
BUZZ KULL
Avoiding The Light (official video)
07
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
Control Freak