tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MCHNRY - The Shape

MCHNRY

The Shape

MusicCD
Avant-gardeIndustrialNo Wave

[70/100]   

Laterax Recordings
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you like difficult music, then you should definitely try MCHNRY (probably to be pronounced as Machinery). If you think that difficult does not exist, you might appreciate the strange combinations of Levi Huygevoort and Arnold Kooij. Why strange? Well, because the two Dutch mix live art and live music. Visual art combined with music. Allegedly this is a unique experience on stage. We want to believe it, but this is only a CD. We are not complaining, and although there is no description about the music as such, we are fascinated by it.

The debut album The Shape has ten tracks which are driven by idiosyncratic noise guitars with hints from No Wave; even the recalcitrant post-punk of The Fall can be a reference.

Not that you will sing-along for one minute, but already from opener Re-Fill it feels like a good trip with electric guitars that take you to a place you’ll never guess. The Shape sounds a bit like Soulwax with David Byrne influences, even if we realize that we're just looking for some nice words to fit the sound fits in a category.

It is music that leads your soul to the abyss, like The Bandager. But MCHNRY is art, and Draw A Blank is like Dadaism: cracking sounds with a wistful guitar in the background. Speaking of melancholy sounds! Void is a collage of strange voices,giving the feeling that you are leaving the earth, a soul that finds its way into the universe, only the sad sound of a lone guitar remains. Sometimes the spirit of late Alan Vega wanders around, as in The Earth Is a Spaceship. And what to do with a band that writes a song like Punk Rock that does not sound like punk rock? Embrace that band!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Als je van moeilijke muziek houdt, dan moet je beslist MCHNRY (wellicht uit te spreken als Machinery) een kans gunnen. En kijk, als je ervan overtuigd bent dat moeilijk niet bestaat, zal je ongetwijfeld de vreemde combinatie Levi van Huygevoort en Arnold Kooij appreciëren. Waarom vreemd? Wel gewoon omdat de twee Nederlanders live art en live muziek tot één geheel vermengen. Beeldend kunst die wordt samengevoegd met muziek. Naar verluidt is dat op het podium een unieke ervaring. Dat willen we best geloven, maar wij moeten het stellen met een schijfje. Niet dat we klagen, want hoewel er geen beschrijving bestaat voor hun muziek, ben je er toch door gefascineerd.

Het debuutalbum The Shape telt tien tracks die worden voortgestuwd door eigenzinnige noisegitaren die je met wat goede wil bij No Wave kan onderbrengen, ook al loert de tegendraadse postpunk van The Fall om de hoek.
Van enige meezingbaarheid is natuurlijk geen sprake, toch voel je je meteen lekker als je de opener Re-Fill hoort: elektrische gitaren die je meenemen op een trip, ook al is het nooit duidelijk waar je terecht zal komen. Zo klinkt The Shape misschien als Soulwax met het weerbarstige gitaargeluid van een David Byrne, maar tegelijkertijd beseffen we dat we gewoon op zoek zijn naar mooie woorden voor een geluid dat niet in een hokje past.

Het is muziek die je ziel naar de afgrond leidt, zoals The Bandager. Maar MCHNRY is kunst, en Draw A Blank is dan ook Dadaïsme, krakende geluiden met op de achtergrond een weemoedige gitaar. Over zwaarmoedige geluiden gesproken! Void is een collage van vreemde stemmetjes die je het gevoel geven dat je de aarde verlaat, een ziel die zijn weg zoekt in het heelal, al wat overblijft is het trieste geluid van een eenzame gitaar. Soms ligt de invloed er iets dikker op; zo dwaalt de geest van Alan Vega zaliger wel wat rond in The Earth Is a Spaceship. Maar wat doe je met een band die een track maakt met de titel Punk Rock zonder dat die als punkrock klinkt? Omarmen!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6
18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel
17
09
SYDNEY VALETTE
Précipice
16
09
HELDMACHINE
Die Braut, das Meer