tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/09/2015 : ONMENS - Misdracht

ONMENS

Misdracht

MusicCD
ElectronicsNo WaveNoise

[82/100]   

Self-released
20/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The best thing an artist once said to me (it was Pierre Pauly of Parade Ground) is that true art has to be like vomit. When an artist shows the audience his inner demons, then something nice is happening, say an unsustainable tension that grabs you by the throat. It is not always healthy, but it continues to amaze you. Although the music of Onmens (Dutch for Not-Human) is miles away from what Parade Ground is doing, you notice that these two musicians of Ghent (Belgium) share the same energy, tragedy and beauty. Of course you can interpret beauty in different ways, because there will be quite a few people who are upset by what Onmens is doing, but they are wrong anyway!

The music of Kasper Van Esbroeck and Sigfried Burroughs (who also plays in Kapitan Korsakov and The K.) is a potpourri of various styles. You can hear the terror sound of Atari Teenage Riot, the aggression of early Swans, the noise of Dutch punkband The Ex, the repetitive song structures of Suicide and a million other delicious sounds. These styles might seem incompatible, but Onmens has done it and their debut album is a sledgehammer that hits you unconscious. The only problem you might have is that your neighbour may call the cops because Misdracht is very loud!

If there is one factor that you’ll find in each track then it must be the deafening sound. Just like Alec Empire, the music can never be loud enough and with the use of a little bit of imagination ugliness suddenly becomes something beautiful (even vomit can taste delicious). Onmens is dangerous, they’re making a poison that makes your brain work.

The opener Posturing immediately reveals what you are going to hear during the next 40 minutes: distorted voices, a sort of Einstürzende Neubauten with a beat and an excellent portion of No Wave. The influence of Michael Gira and Marc Ribot can be heard in Motherly Bruised. Gra is something like Cabaret Voltaire, while Shrine surely would be approved by Colin Newman to have a place on Chairs Missing. Least Of Good feels like the best of The Neon Judgement with a harsh sound, while All The Grace reminds us of Suicide. In fact, you always can compare their songs to something that you’ve heard before, these two musicians are indeed not ashamed to admit that they have their own influences, the main thing is that Kasper Van Esbroeck and Sigfried Burroughs do something different with it.

Perhaps you have to be a bit sick in your mind to love Onmens. But for those who dare to walk outside the lines, we suggest they try the way Kasper Van Esbroeck and Sigfried Burroughs have chosen. Just don’t complain if your neighbour has called the police as we warned you!

Didier BECU
20/09/2015


NL

Het mooiste wat een kunstenaar ooit tegen me zei (het was Pierre Pauly van Parade Ground) is dat echte kunst braaksel moet zijn. Als een artiest zijn ziel en innerlijke demonen uitbraakt en die op een of andere manier aan zijn publiek toont, dan ontstaat er iets moois, zeg maar een onhoudbare spanning die je bij de keel grijpt. Het is niet altijd even gezond, maar het blijft je wel verbazen. Ofschoon de muziek van Onmens mijlenver af ligt van wat Parade Ground doet (alhoewel), voel je bij deze twee Gentenaren dezelfde energie, tragiek en schoonheid. Het blijven natuurlijk begrippen die je op allerlei manieren kan interpreteren, want er zullen behoorlijk wat mensen zijn die Onmens ronduit schokend vinden. Ze hebben groot ongelijk!

De muziek van Kasper Van Esbroeck en Sigfried Burroughs (ook actief bij Kapitan Korsakov en The K.) is een potpourri van diverse stijlen. Je hoort de geluidsterreur van Atari Teenage Riot, de agressie van de vroegere Swans, de pokkeherrie van The Ex, het repetitieve van Suicide en andere heerlijke geluiden. Het zijn stijlen die op het eerste gezicht onverenigbaar zijn, maar Onmens doet het en hun debuutplaat is dan ook een mokerslag die je bewusteloos slaat, en er wellicht ook voor zorgt dat de buurvrouw binnen de kortste keren de politiediensten naar je woonkamer stuurt.

Als er één factor is die steeds terugkomt in de nummers dan is dat het oorverdovende geluid. Onmens is een beetje zoals Alec Empire, het kan nooit luid genoeg en mits wat fantasie wordt lelijkheid plotseling iets moois (ook al is het braaksel, maar ook dat kan lekker zijn). Onmens is gevaarlijk, een gif dat je brein laat werken.

Opener Posturing verraadt meteen wat je de komende 40 minuten mag verwachten: vervormde stemmen, een soort van Einsturzende Neubauten met een beat en een flinke portie No Wave. De invloed van Michael Gira of Marc Ribot zijn in Motherly Bruised nog meer hoorbaar. Gra heeft dan weer iets van Cabaret Voltaire, terwijl Shrine dan weer een nummer is dat zonder twijfel de goedkeuring van Colin Newman zou hebben gekregen om op Chairs Missing te belanden. Least Of Good heeft het beste van The Neon Judgement in zich, terwijl All The Grace dan weer aan Suicide doet denken. Tja, het doet altijd wel aan iets denken en deze twee muzikanten zijn ook niet te beschaamd om toe te geven dat zij hun eigen invloeden hebben, maar het voornaamste is dat Kasper Van Esbroeck en Sigfried Burroughs er iets apart mee doen.

Je moet wellicht een heel klein beetje gestoord zijn om Onmens te appreciëren, maar voor wie naast de lijntjes durft te lopen, raden we met plezier de richting van Kasper Van Esbroeck en Sigfried Burroughs aan. Achteraf wel niet komen klagen als die buurvrouw een combi op je heeft afgestuurd! 

Didier BECU
20/09/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless