tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ONMENS - Witruimte

ONMENS

Witruimte

MusicCD
EBMIndustrial RockNew BeatNoise

[84/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

After reading some positive reviews about their debut Misdracht, I was curious to discover Onmens. A good starting point is Witruimte, the sophomore album of the Genth-based duo Kasper Van Esbroeck and Sigfried Burroughs (aka Bert Minnaert, drummer of noise rock bands Kapitan Korsakov and The K).

How to describe the sound of Onmens? In reviews of colleagues often appear the names Front 242, Atari Teenage Riot and The Soft Moon. But those mainly electronic names don’t cover the content completely, as Onmens is also a rock band that plays a sort of industrial rock and sounds as the young lunatic nephews of The Neon Judgement. Acid noise rock (is there such a thing?). Acid in more than one sense. Corrosive retro-electronics.

It’s clear that the music of Onmens isn’t suitable for everyone, but adventurous music fans who aren’t discouraged by electronic violence and abrasive guitars, will discover a fascinating band.

Witruimte takes a raging start with Unit 11. Delightful filthy electronics, shrieking guitars and a shouting vocalist who wants to say something! The last time I was blown away by the beginning of an album dates from Atari Teenage Riot’s 60 Seconds Wipe Out. Just like Atari Teenage Riot, Onmens is aggressive, but Witruimte is more melodic. You hear it in Innerbitch and Whining Cross, in which Sigfried Burroughs uses clean(er) and varied vocals.

One of the highlights is Take A Life, an enthusiastic track with a catchy slogan that contains a fantastic EBM sequence and some demonic lalalalalas. I spoke of a highlight, but on the other hand there are no weak songs. Next to the short Voice Of God there are ten exciting tracks. It’s an intense record, very into your face! Rebellious and inflammatory.

From The Sound Of Belgium, the documentary about the history of Belgian electronic music, I remember how foreign producers praised the idiosyncratic Belgian projects for fusing several styles into their own unique sound. In that respect, Onmens, with its explosive cocktail of noise rock, new beat, EBM and industrial, is a band that we Belgians can be proud of.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


NL

Na tal van positieve recensies over hun debuut Misdracht, was ik nieuwsgierig om Onmens te ontdekken. Dat deed ik middels Witruimte, het tweede album van het Gentse duo Kasper Van Esbroeck en Sigfried Burroughs (aka Bert Minnaert, drummer van noiserockbands Kapitan Korsakov en The K).

Hoe zou je de sound van Onmens omschrijven? In recensies van collega's vielen de namen van Front 242, Atari Teenage Riot en The Soft Moon. Namen waar ik me in kan vinden, maar die de lading niet (volledig) dekken. Alle opgesomde projecten zijn overwegend elektronisch, maar Onmens is evenzeer een rockband en speelt een soort van industrial rock die klinkt als het jonge neefje van The Neon Judgement tijdens een woede-aanval of een vlaag van zinsverbijstering. Acidnoiserock (bestaat dat?). Acid in meer dan één opzicht. Bijtende retro-elektronica.

Blaffende honden bijten niet, volgens het spreekwoord, maar in het geval van Sigfried Burroughs kan je er niet gerust in zijn. Als door een wesp gestoken, gaat hij schuimbekkend tekeer. Zijn (Wit)ruimte betreed je op eigen risico. Dat de muziek van Onmens niet voor iedereen is weggelegd, is duidelijk. Maar de avontuurlijke muziekliefhebber die zich niet laat afschrikken door elektronisch geweld en abrasieve gitaren, kan een boeiende band ontdekken.

Met Unit 11 neemt Witruimte een razende start. Lekker smerige elektronica, gierende gitaren en een schreeuwende zanger die keet wil schoppen. Het is sedert 60 Seconds Wipe Out van Atari Teenage Riot geleden dat ik zo overdonderd ben door de start van een album. Net als Atari Teen Age, komt Onmens agressief uit de hoek, maar Witruimte is wel melodischer. Dat hoor je onder meer in Innerbitch en Whining Cross, waarin Sigfried Burroughs gebruikt maakt van cleane(re) vocalen die voldoende gevarieerd zijn.

Eén van de hoogtepunten op Witruimte is Take A Life. een uitbundige song met een aanstekelijke slogan (Wanna take a life), die me al vreemde blikken opleverde aan de kassa in de supermarkt. De track bevat een heerlijke EBM-sequence en een hondsdolle Smurf komt enkele demonische lalalalala's meezingen. Ik sprak van een hoogtepunt, maar anderzijds zijn er geen dieptepunten. Naast het korte tussendoortje Voice Of God, staan er op Witruimte tien, stuk voor stuk, boeiende tracks. Het is een intense plaat, zéér into your face. Puur en onversneden, opstandig en opruiend.

Onmens doet wat met een mens. Witruimte wekt meer energie op dan alle reactoren van Doel en Tihange samen (al is dat gezien de actualiteit niet het meest doeltreffende beeld.) Doeltreffend is Witruimte anders wel, geschikter dan een straffe kop koffie om te ontwaken na het nachtelijke tobben.

Uit The Sound Of Belgium, een documentaire over de geschiedennis van de Belgische elektronische muziek, bleef me bij dat buitenlandse producers de eigenzinnige Belgische projecten prezen die vanop hun slaapkamer uit een potpourri aan stijlen een eigen uniek geluid distileren. In die optiek is Onmens met z'n explosieve cocktail van noiserock, new beat, EBM en industrial een band waarop wij Belgen trots mogen zijn.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
MONICA JEFFRIES • In Circles EP
LUPI GLADIUS • L’Armonia Del Buio
• The history behind Waveteef
REMAIN IN SILENCE • ...And The Soul Goes On
MEILYR JONES • 2013
THE PHYSICISTS • My Love Is Dead
SONUS CORONA • Sonus Corona
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
INTO THE MIST • Dancing Into The Mist
POP. 1280 • Paradise

 

Other reviews from ONMENS
ONMENS • Misdracht

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL ROCK
PIG • Pain Is God
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
KMFDM • Paradise
KIM GORDON • No Home Record
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
VENTENNER • Killing Jar
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NORMORIA • Origin
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016

 

Same genre: NEW BEAT
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
ALEK DRIVE • Frontière
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Inspiration
!BANG ELEKTRONIKA • Aktivierung!

 

Same genre: NOISE
THE HEAT INC. • EP
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection