tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ONMENS - Witruimte

ONMENS

Witruimte

MusicCD
EBMIndustrial RockNew BeatNoise

[84/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

After reading some positive reviews about their debut Misdracht, I was curious to discover Onmens. A good starting point is Witruimte, the sophomore album of the Genth-based duo Kasper Van Esbroeck and Sigfried Burroughs (aka Bert Minnaert, drummer of noise rock bands Kapitan Korsakov and The K).

How to describe the sound of Onmens? In reviews of colleagues often appear the names Front 242, Atari Teenage Riot and The Soft Moon. But those mainly electronic names don’t cover the content completely, as Onmens is also a rock band that plays a sort of industrial rock and sounds as the young lunatic nephews of The Neon Judgement. Acid noise rock (is there such a thing?). Acid in more than one sense. Corrosive retro-electronics.

It’s clear that the music of Onmens isn’t suitable for everyone, but adventurous music fans who aren’t discouraged by electronic violence and abrasive guitars, will discover a fascinating band.

Witruimte takes a raging start with Unit 11. Delightful filthy electronics, shrieking guitars and a shouting vocalist who wants to say something! The last time I was blown away by the beginning of an album dates from Atari Teenage Riot’s 60 Seconds Wipe Out. Just like Atari Teenage Riot, Onmens is aggressive, but Witruimte is more melodic. You hear it in Innerbitch and Whining Cross, in which Sigfried Burroughs uses clean(er) and varied vocals.

One of the highlights is Take A Life, an enthusiastic track with a catchy slogan that contains a fantastic EBM sequence and some demonic lalalalalas. I spoke of a highlight, but on the other hand there are no weak songs. Next to the short Voice Of God there are ten exciting tracks. It’s an intense record, very into your face! Rebellious and inflammatory.

From The Sound Of Belgium, the documentary about the history of Belgian electronic music, I remember how foreign producers praised the idiosyncratic Belgian projects for fusing several styles into their own unique sound. In that respect, Onmens, with its explosive cocktail of noise rock, new beat, EBM and industrial, is a band that we Belgians can be proud of.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


NL

Na tal van positieve recensies over hun debuut Misdracht, was ik nieuwsgierig om Onmens te ontdekken. Dat deed ik middels Witruimte, het tweede album van het Gentse duo Kasper Van Esbroeck en Sigfried Burroughs (aka Bert Minnaert, drummer van noiserockbands Kapitan Korsakov en The K).

Hoe zou je de sound van Onmens omschrijven? In recensies van collega's vielen de namen van Front 242, Atari Teenage Riot en The Soft Moon. Namen waar ik me in kan vinden, maar die de lading niet (volledig) dekken. Alle opgesomde projecten zijn overwegend elektronisch, maar Onmens is evenzeer een rockband en speelt een soort van industrial rock die klinkt als het jonge neefje van The Neon Judgement tijdens een woede-aanval of een vlaag van zinsverbijstering. Acidnoiserock (bestaat dat?). Acid in meer dan één opzicht. Bijtende retro-elektronica.

Blaffende honden bijten niet, volgens het spreekwoord, maar in het geval van Sigfried Burroughs kan je er niet gerust in zijn. Als door een wesp gestoken, gaat hij schuimbekkend tekeer. Zijn (Wit)ruimte betreed je op eigen risico. Dat de muziek van Onmens niet voor iedereen is weggelegd, is duidelijk. Maar de avontuurlijke muziekliefhebber die zich niet laat afschrikken door elektronisch geweld en abrasieve gitaren, kan een boeiende band ontdekken.

Met Unit 11 neemt Witruimte een razende start. Lekker smerige elektronica, gierende gitaren en een schreeuwende zanger die keet wil schoppen. Het is sedert 60 Seconds Wipe Out van Atari Teenage Riot geleden dat ik zo overdonderd ben door de start van een album. Net als Atari Teen Age, komt Onmens agressief uit de hoek, maar Witruimte is wel melodischer. Dat hoor je onder meer in Innerbitch en Whining Cross, waarin Sigfried Burroughs gebruikt maakt van cleane(re) vocalen die voldoende gevarieerd zijn.

Eén van de hoogtepunten op Witruimte is Take A Life. een uitbundige song met een aanstekelijke slogan (Wanna take a life), die me al vreemde blikken opleverde aan de kassa in de supermarkt. De track bevat een heerlijke EBM-sequence en een hondsdolle Smurf komt enkele demonische lalalalala's meezingen. Ik sprak van een hoogtepunt, maar anderzijds zijn er geen dieptepunten. Naast het korte tussendoortje Voice Of God, staan er op Witruimte tien, stuk voor stuk, boeiende tracks. Het is een intense plaat, zéér into your face. Puur en onversneden, opstandig en opruiend.

Onmens doet wat met een mens. Witruimte wekt meer energie op dan alle reactoren van Doel en Tihange samen (al is dat gezien de actualiteit niet het meest doeltreffende beeld.) Doeltreffend is Witruimte anders wel, geschikter dan een straffe kop koffie om te ontwaken na het nachtelijke tobben.

Uit The Sound Of Belgium, een documentaire over de geschiedennis van de Belgische elektronische muziek, bleef me bij dat buitenlandse producers de eigenzinnige Belgische projecten prezen die vanop hun slaapkamer uit een potpourri aan stijlen een eigen uniek geluid distileren. In die optiek is Onmens met z'n explosieve cocktail van noiserock, new beat, EBM en industrial een band waarop wij Belgen trots mogen zijn.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
MONICA JEFFRIES • In Circles EP
LUPI GLADIUS • L’Armonia Del Buio
• The history behind Waveteef
REMAIN IN SILENCE • ...And The Soul Goes On
MEILYR JONES • 2013
THE PHYSICISTS • My Love Is Dead
SONUS CORONA • Sonus Corona
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
INTO THE MIST • Dancing Into The Mist
POP. 1280 • Paradise

 

Other reviews from ONMENS
ONMENS • Misdracht

 

Same genre: EBM
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL ROCK
VENTENNER • Killing Jar
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NORMORIA • Origin
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood
VICTOR LOVE • Technomancy
FILTER • Crazy Eyes
MORTIIS • The Great Deceiver
IRIS VON GUL • Iris Von Gul

 

Same genre: NEW BEAT
ALEK DRIVE • Frontière
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Inspiration
!BANG ELEKTRONIKA • Aktivierung!

 

Same genre: NOISE
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)

Music reviews

18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding
05
03
I AM A ROCKETSHIP
Mind Grafitti

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win
15
03
'Locating Silver Lake': Digital movie release on March 22 - DVD coming soon!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love
12
03
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Eye on you (Fan made video)