tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ONMENS - Witruimte

ONMENS

Witruimte

MusicCD
EBMIndustrial RockNew BeatNoise

[84/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

After reading some positive reviews about their debut Misdracht, I was curious to discover Onmens. A good starting point is Witruimte, the sophomore album of the Genth-based duo Kasper Van Esbroeck and Sigfried Burroughs (aka Bert Minnaert, drummer of noise rock bands Kapitan Korsakov and The K).

How to describe the sound of Onmens? In reviews of colleagues often appear the names Front 242, Atari Teenage Riot and The Soft Moon. But those mainly electronic names don’t cover the content completely, as Onmens is also a rock band that plays a sort of industrial rock and sounds as the young lunatic nephews of The Neon Judgement. Acid noise rock (is there such a thing?). Acid in more than one sense. Corrosive retro-electronics.

It’s clear that the music of Onmens isn’t suitable for everyone, but adventurous music fans who aren’t discouraged by electronic violence and abrasive guitars, will discover a fascinating band.

Witruimte takes a raging start with Unit 11. Delightful filthy electronics, shrieking guitars and a shouting vocalist who wants to say something! The last time I was blown away by the beginning of an album dates from Atari Teenage Riot’s 60 Seconds Wipe Out. Just like Atari Teenage Riot, Onmens is aggressive, but Witruimte is more melodic. You hear it in Innerbitch and Whining Cross, in which Sigfried Burroughs uses clean(er) and varied vocals.

One of the highlights is Take A Life, an enthusiastic track with a catchy slogan that contains a fantastic EBM sequence and some demonic lalalalalas. I spoke of a highlight, but on the other hand there are no weak songs. Next to the short Voice Of God there are ten exciting tracks. It’s an intense record, very into your face! Rebellious and inflammatory.

From The Sound Of Belgium, the documentary about the history of Belgian electronic music, I remember how foreign producers praised the idiosyncratic Belgian projects for fusing several styles into their own unique sound. In that respect, Onmens, with its explosive cocktail of noise rock, new beat, EBM and industrial, is a band that we Belgians can be proud of.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


NL

Na tal van positieve recensies over hun debuut Misdracht, was ik nieuwsgierig om Onmens te ontdekken. Dat deed ik middels Witruimte, het tweede album van het Gentse duo Kasper Van Esbroeck en Sigfried Burroughs (aka Bert Minnaert, drummer van noiserockbands Kapitan Korsakov en The K).

Hoe zou je de sound van Onmens omschrijven? In recensies van collega's vielen de namen van Front 242, Atari Teenage Riot en The Soft Moon. Namen waar ik me in kan vinden, maar die de lading niet (volledig) dekken. Alle opgesomde projecten zijn overwegend elektronisch, maar Onmens is evenzeer een rockband en speelt een soort van industrial rock die klinkt als het jonge neefje van The Neon Judgement tijdens een woede-aanval of een vlaag van zinsverbijstering. Acidnoiserock (bestaat dat?). Acid in meer dan één opzicht. Bijtende retro-elektronica.

Blaffende honden bijten niet, volgens het spreekwoord, maar in het geval van Sigfried Burroughs kan je er niet gerust in zijn. Als door een wesp gestoken, gaat hij schuimbekkend tekeer. Zijn (Wit)ruimte betreed je op eigen risico. Dat de muziek van Onmens niet voor iedereen is weggelegd, is duidelijk. Maar de avontuurlijke muziekliefhebber die zich niet laat afschrikken door elektronisch geweld en abrasieve gitaren, kan een boeiende band ontdekken.

Met Unit 11 neemt Witruimte een razende start. Lekker smerige elektronica, gierende gitaren en een schreeuwende zanger die keet wil schoppen. Het is sedert 60 Seconds Wipe Out van Atari Teenage Riot geleden dat ik zo overdonderd ben door de start van een album. Net als Atari Teen Age, komt Onmens agressief uit de hoek, maar Witruimte is wel melodischer. Dat hoor je onder meer in Innerbitch en Whining Cross, waarin Sigfried Burroughs gebruikt maakt van cleane(re) vocalen die voldoende gevarieerd zijn.

Eén van de hoogtepunten op Witruimte is Take A Life. een uitbundige song met een aanstekelijke slogan (Wanna take a life), die me al vreemde blikken opleverde aan de kassa in de supermarkt. De track bevat een heerlijke EBM-sequence en een hondsdolle Smurf komt enkele demonische lalalalala's meezingen. Ik sprak van een hoogtepunt, maar anderzijds zijn er geen dieptepunten. Naast het korte tussendoortje Voice Of God, staan er op Witruimte tien, stuk voor stuk, boeiende tracks. Het is een intense plaat, zéér into your face. Puur en onversneden, opstandig en opruiend.

Onmens doet wat met een mens. Witruimte wekt meer energie op dan alle reactoren van Doel en Tihange samen (al is dat gezien de actualiteit niet het meest doeltreffende beeld.) Doeltreffend is Witruimte anders wel, geschikter dan een straffe kop koffie om te ontwaken na het nachtelijke tobben.

Uit The Sound Of Belgium, een documentaire over de geschiedennis van de Belgische elektronische muziek, bleef me bij dat buitenlandse producers de eigenzinnige Belgische projecten prezen die vanop hun slaapkamer uit een potpourri aan stijlen een eigen uniek geluid distileren. In die optiek is Onmens met z'n explosieve cocktail van noiserock, new beat, EBM en industrial een band waarop wij Belgen trots mogen zijn.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
MONICA JEFFRIES • In Circles EP
LUPI GLADIUS • L’Armonia Del Buio
• The history behind Waveteef
REMAIN IN SILENCE • ...And The Soul Goes On
MEILYR JONES • 2013
THE PHYSICISTS • My Love Is Dead
SONUS CORONA • Sonus Corona
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
INTO THE MIST • Dancing Into The Mist
POP. 1280 • Paradise

 

Other reviews from ONMENS
ONMENS • Misdracht

 

Same genre: EBM
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL ROCK
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NORMORIA • Origin
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood
VICTOR LOVE • Technomancy
FILTER • Crazy Eyes
MORTIIS • The Great Deceiver
IRIS VON GUL • Iris Von Gul
3TEETH • 3TEETH

 

Same genre: NEW BEAT
ALEK DRIVE • Frontière
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Inspiration
!BANG ELEKTRONIKA • Aktivierung!

 

Same genre: NOISE
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!
29
08
41 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag
15
09
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Die Interimsliebenden