tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

09/12/2016 :  - The history behind Waveteef

The history behind Waveteef

Article
09/12/2016, Christophe KOWALSKI

EN

Waveteef is surely one of the best Belgian festivals if you’re a fan of minimal wave and alternative synthpop. I asked organizer Matt Zwart how it all began. Waveteef started six years ago in Antwerp: it was a collaboration between Waveform and All Obscur And Wave. Waveform was the organization of Edward de Keijzer, while All Obscur And Wave was the brainchild of Mat Zwart. These two events merged (along with two other partners, Elisabeth and Lieselotte) to a new concept: Waveteef. It was Elizabeth who came up with the brilliant name, which obviously is a nod to the gabber scene from the 90s when a woman was called a rave bitch (raveteef-ed.). We found that quite funny, Mat Zwart told me.

The story began in an old vacant convent. In De Oude Kapel (The Old Chapel-ed.) gigs were organized regularly, with an empty church as a backstage. The monastery had a charming courtyard and had numerous passages in which you could move freely. Unfortunately there was a small fire, and the authorities of Antwerp decided to close the building.

The next location became the Anti-Fabriek, originally an old police court in Antwerp. Some parties were organized there. Three years ago, Mat decided to organize a two-day festival that is aimed at an international audience.

The first edition at the Anti-Fabriek was a great event, but unfortunately the sound was of a lesser quality, and so JH Wommel (an old fort from World War II) became the definite place for Waveteef, an environment that is also chosen for its atmosphere.

The concept is based on music with synthesizers, but you won’t find any classic band on Waveteef. The reason is simple: there is plenty of choice and many bands never get the chance to play. The number of visitors is limited to two hundred. So being fast is the message.

DJ Ushmar Ramone is responsible for BunkerSyndikat, a concept that is very close to Waveteef. Matt heard Ushmar for the first time in Sweden at the Kalabalikfestival and he invited the DJ to Antwerp.

This year's edition of Waveteef is on 8th and 9th April. The line-up includes: Deardeer, Orchidée Noire, Adam Usi, Alles, Doric, Ash Code, Parade Ground and The Frozen Autumn.

All info can be found on their Facebook page.

Christophe KOWALSKI
09/12/2016


NL

Waveteef is ongetwijfeld één van de beste Belgische festivals als je van minimal wave en alternatieve synthpop houdt. Ik vroeg aan organisator Mat Zwart hoe het allemaal begon. Waveteef ontstond zes jaar geleden in Antwerpen: het was een samenwerking tussen Waveform en All And Obscur Wave. Waveform was de organisatie van Edward de Keijzer, en All And Obscur Wave die van Mat Zwart. Samen fuseerden ze (samen met nog twee andere partners Elisabeth en Lieselotte) tot een nieuw concept: Waveteef. Het was trouwens Elisabeth die met de geniale naam Waveteef op de proppen kwam, wat uiteraard een knipoog naar de gabberscène uit de jaren 90 is toen een vrouw een raveteef werd genoemd. We vonden dat wel grappig, vertelde Mat Zwart me.

Het verhaal begon in een oud leegstaand klooster dat werd gekraakt. In de Oude Kapel werden op regelmatige basis optredens georganiseerd, met een lege kerk als backstageruimte.Het klooster had een charmante binnenkoer en er waren talloze gangetjes waarin je je vrij kon bewegen. Helaas was er een kleine brand waardoor de Antwerpse gemeente besloot om het pand te verzegelen.

Daarna is men naar de Anti-Fabriek getrokken, een oude politierechtbank in Antwerpen. Ook daar werden feestjes georganiseerd. Drie jaar geleden werd voor het eerst beslist om een tweedaags festival te organiseren dat zich op een internationaal publiek richt.

De eerste editie in de Anti-Fabriek was een zalig evenement, maar de geluidskwaliteit liet heel wat te wensen over, en zo werd uiteindelijk JH Wommel (een oud fort uit de Tweede Wereldoorlog) de definitieve stek, een plaats die ook heel wat met de sfeer te maken heeft.

Het concept is gebaseerd op synthesizersmuziek, maar zelden tref je een klassieke band op een Waveteef-affiche aan. In de wavescène is er immers keuze genoeg, ook al komen heel wat bands helaas te weinig aan bod. Het aantal bezoekers is gelimiteerd tot tweehonderd man. Snel wezen is dus de boodschap.

DJ Ushmar Ramone is verantwoordelijk voor BunkerSyndikat, een concept dat zeer dicht aanleunt bij dat van Waveteef. Mat hoorde Ushmar voor het eerst in Zweden tijdens het Kalabalikfestival en vroeg hem nadien om te komen draaien.

De editie van Waveteef gaat dit jaar door op 8 en 9 april. De line-up van de derde editie bestaat uit: Deardeer, Orchidée Noire, Adam Usi, Alles, Doric, Ash Code, Parade Ground en The Frozen Autumn.

Alle info vind je op hun Facebookpagina.

Christophe KOWALSKI
09/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless