tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

09/12/2016 :  - The history behind Waveteef

The history behind Waveteef

Article
09/12/2016, Christophe KOWALSKI

EN

Waveteef is surely one of the best Belgian festivals if you’re a fan of minimal wave and alternative synthpop. I asked organizer Matt Zwart how it all began. Waveteef started six years ago in Antwerp: it was a collaboration between Waveform and All Obscur And Wave. Waveform was the organization of Edward de Keijzer, while All Obscur And Wave was the brainchild of Mat Zwart. These two events merged (along with two other partners, Elisabeth and Lieselotte) to a new concept: Waveteef. It was Elizabeth who came up with the brilliant name, which obviously is a nod to the gabber scene from the 90s when a woman was called a rave bitch (raveteef-ed.). We found that quite funny, Mat Zwart told me.

The story began in an old vacant convent. In De Oude Kapel (The Old Chapel-ed.) gigs were organized regularly, with an empty church as a backstage. The monastery had a charming courtyard and had numerous passages in which you could move freely. Unfortunately there was a small fire, and the authorities of Antwerp decided to close the building.

The next location became the Anti-Fabriek, originally an old police court in Antwerp. Some parties were organized there. Three years ago, Mat decided to organize a two-day festival that is aimed at an international audience.

The first edition at the Anti-Fabriek was a great event, but unfortunately the sound was of a lesser quality, and so JH Wommel (an old fort from World War II) became the definite place for Waveteef, an environment that is also chosen for its atmosphere.

The concept is based on music with synthesizers, but you won’t find any classic band on Waveteef. The reason is simple: there is plenty of choice and many bands never get the chance to play. The number of visitors is limited to two hundred. So being fast is the message.

DJ Ushmar Ramone is responsible for BunkerSyndikat, a concept that is very close to Waveteef. Matt heard Ushmar for the first time in Sweden at the Kalabalikfestival and he invited the DJ to Antwerp.

This year's edition of Waveteef is on 8th and 9th April. The line-up includes: Deardeer, Orchidée Noire, Adam Usi, Alles, Doric, Ash Code, Parade Ground and The Frozen Autumn.

All info can be found on their Facebook page.

Christophe KOWALSKI
09/12/2016


NL

Waveteef is ongetwijfeld één van de beste Belgische festivals als je van minimal wave en alternatieve synthpop houdt. Ik vroeg aan organisator Mat Zwart hoe het allemaal begon. Waveteef ontstond zes jaar geleden in Antwerpen: het was een samenwerking tussen Waveform en All And Obscur Wave. Waveform was de organisatie van Edward de Keijzer, en All And Obscur Wave die van Mat Zwart. Samen fuseerden ze (samen met nog twee andere partners Elisabeth en Lieselotte) tot een nieuw concept: Waveteef. Het was trouwens Elisabeth die met de geniale naam Waveteef op de proppen kwam, wat uiteraard een knipoog naar de gabberscène uit de jaren 90 is toen een vrouw een raveteef werd genoemd. We vonden dat wel grappig, vertelde Mat Zwart me.

Het verhaal begon in een oud leegstaand klooster dat werd gekraakt. In de Oude Kapel werden op regelmatige basis optredens georganiseerd, met een lege kerk als backstageruimte.Het klooster had een charmante binnenkoer en er waren talloze gangetjes waarin je je vrij kon bewegen. Helaas was er een kleine brand waardoor de Antwerpse gemeente besloot om het pand te verzegelen.

Daarna is men naar de Anti-Fabriek getrokken, een oude politierechtbank in Antwerpen. Ook daar werden feestjes georganiseerd. Drie jaar geleden werd voor het eerst beslist om een tweedaags festival te organiseren dat zich op een internationaal publiek richt.

De eerste editie in de Anti-Fabriek was een zalig evenement, maar de geluidskwaliteit liet heel wat te wensen over, en zo werd uiteindelijk JH Wommel (een oud fort uit de Tweede Wereldoorlog) de definitieve stek, een plaats die ook heel wat met de sfeer te maken heeft.

Het concept is gebaseerd op synthesizersmuziek, maar zelden tref je een klassieke band op een Waveteef-affiche aan. In de wavescène is er immers keuze genoeg, ook al komen heel wat bands helaas te weinig aan bod. Het aantal bezoekers is gelimiteerd tot tweehonderd man. Snel wezen is dus de boodschap.

DJ Ushmar Ramone is verantwoordelijk voor BunkerSyndikat, een concept dat zeer dicht aanleunt bij dat van Waveteef. Mat hoorde Ushmar voor het eerst in Zweden tijdens het Kalabalikfestival en vroeg hem nadien om te komen draaien.

De editie van Waveteef gaat dit jaar door op 8 en 9 april. De line-up van de derde editie bestaat uit: Deardeer, Orchidée Noire, Adam Usi, Alles, Doric, Ash Code, Parade Ground en The Frozen Autumn.

Alle info vind je op hun Facebookpagina.

Christophe KOWALSKI
09/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
07
1 year Rüdiger Frank of Printed At Bismarck's Death and The Tors Of Dartmoor passed away...
11
07
0 years of Computer Love by Kraftwerk
10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
07
PAGE HAMILTON (HELMET)
'I think in 2021 we’ll have a new album...'
09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
07
LAURIE ANDERSON
O Superman
11
07
SIRENIA
Once My Light
10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence