tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : POP. 1280 - Paradise

POP. 1280

Paradise

MusicCD
IndieNoisePost Punk
Sacred Bones Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

You are bored with those bands that keep on recycling the 80s without adding something new? Then Pop. 1280 might be an answer. The somewhat strange band name refers to a novel by Jim Thompson of whom people said that he turned crime into art. An ideal name for the fierce world of these New Yorkers.

Pyramids On Mars begins quietly. The track has something menacing, even mysterious... and it’s an ideal warm-up for what is yet to come, because on Phantom Freighter we are in a completely different dimension. Chris Bug uses the term cyberpunk to define his music, and there is of course some Suicide too, but it sounds at least as refreshing as what P.I.L. did on The Metal Box.

On In Silicio we hear some aggressive guitars which are mixed with haunting synths. Remember what Girls Against Boys and Half Japanese did. That good? Yes, that good! It is industrial rock without affectation or cheap gimmicks that hide the non-talent.

Dreams And Pleasure It Will Not Last Forever, shouts Bug on Chromidia, a lament that recalls the early days of Psychic TV. And then there is the USS ISS: the first few seconds seem to be a rip off of Bowie’s Rebel Rebel guitar riff, but after a few seconds it becomes simply... well… Killing Joke! Superb!

The title track Paradise can hardly be any darker, this is dark ambient par excellence. And we said it before, the 80s are definitely a big influence for Pop.1280. Listen to Rain Song and you think of the best Virgin Prunes had to offer. An echo we also hear in the aggressive The Last Undertaker. The closing song Kingdom Come is yet another punch that hurts.

Indeed, there’s no sight of a paradise at all, but what a record it is!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Heb je het ondertussen ook gehad met al die bands die de jaren 80 maar blijven recycleren zonder dat ze er iets nieuws aan toevoegen? Dan biedt Pop. 1280 misschien een antwoord. De wat vreemde bandnaam refereert aan een roman van Jim Thompson van wie men zegt dat hij van misdaad kunst maakte. Een ideale naam voor de bikkelharde wereld van deze New Yorkers.

Pyramids On Mars begint vrij rustig. De track heeft iets dreigends, mysterieus... een ideale opwarmer voor wat komen moet, want met Phantom Freighter zitten we meteen in een heel andere dimensie. Zelf gebruikt zanger Chris Bug de term cyberpunk als hij het over Pop. 1280 heeft, en al zit er wel een hele dosis Suicide in verwerkt, klinkt het minstens even verfrissend als wat P.I.L. bijna veertig jaar geleden op The Metal Box deed.

Op In Silicio worden agressieve gitaren met synths gemengd. Denk aan wat Girls Against Boys en Half Japanese deden. Is dat zo goed dan? Ja, zo goed, mijnheer! Industrial rock zonder aanstellerij of goedkope gimmicks die de onkunde verbergen.

Dreams And Pleasure It Won’t Last Forever schreeuwt Bug op Chromidia, een klaagzang die wat aan de begindagen van Psychic TV herinnert. En dan is er USS ISS: de eerste seconden lijken verdacht veel op de gitaarriff van Bowies Rebel Rebel, maar dan wordt het Killing Joke pur sang! Heerlijk!

De titeltrack Paradise kan moeilijk donkerder, dit is gewoon dark ambient. We zegden het eerder al, de jaren 80 zijn zeker een grote invloed voor Pop. 1280. Luister naar Rain Song en je denkt aan het beste van de Virgin Prunes. Een echo die we trouwens ook in het agressieve The Last Undertaker horen. De afsluiter Kingdom Come is nog maar eens een stomp in de maag die pijn doet.

Inderdaad, van een paradijs is amper sprake op deze gitzwarte plaat, maar wat voor eentje zeg!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
10
06
O VEUX
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
APPARAAT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ENZO KREFT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ROSA PARKS
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno
12
06
THE EDEN HOUSE
Misery