tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : POP. 1280 - Paradise

POP. 1280

Paradise

MusicCD
IndieNoisePost Punk
Sacred Bones Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

You are bored with those bands that keep on recycling the 80s without adding something new? Then Pop. 1280 might be an answer. The somewhat strange band name refers to a novel by Jim Thompson of whom people said that he turned crime into art. An ideal name for the fierce world of these New Yorkers.

Pyramids On Mars begins quietly. The track has something menacing, even mysterious... and it’s an ideal warm-up for what is yet to come, because on Phantom Freighter we are in a completely different dimension. Chris Bug uses the term cyberpunk to define his music, and there is of course some Suicide too, but it sounds at least as refreshing as what P.I.L. did on The Metal Box.

On In Silicio we hear some aggressive guitars which are mixed with haunting synths. Remember what Girls Against Boys and Half Japanese did. That good? Yes, that good! It is industrial rock without affectation or cheap gimmicks that hide the non-talent.

Dreams And Pleasure It Will Not Last Forever, shouts Bug on Chromidia, a lament that recalls the early days of Psychic TV. And then there is the USS ISS: the first few seconds seem to be a rip off of Bowie’s Rebel Rebel guitar riff, but after a few seconds it becomes simply... well… Killing Joke! Superb!

The title track Paradise can hardly be any darker, this is dark ambient par excellence. And we said it before, the 80s are definitely a big influence for Pop.1280. Listen to Rain Song and you think of the best Virgin Prunes had to offer. An echo we also hear in the aggressive The Last Undertaker. The closing song Kingdom Come is yet another punch that hurts.

Indeed, there’s no sight of a paradise at all, but what a record it is!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Heb je het ondertussen ook gehad met al die bands die de jaren 80 maar blijven recycleren zonder dat ze er iets nieuws aan toevoegen? Dan biedt Pop. 1280 misschien een antwoord. De wat vreemde bandnaam refereert aan een roman van Jim Thompson van wie men zegt dat hij van misdaad kunst maakte. Een ideale naam voor de bikkelharde wereld van deze New Yorkers.

Pyramids On Mars begint vrij rustig. De track heeft iets dreigends, mysterieus... een ideale opwarmer voor wat komen moet, want met Phantom Freighter zitten we meteen in een heel andere dimensie. Zelf gebruikt zanger Chris Bug de term cyberpunk als hij het over Pop. 1280 heeft, en al zit er wel een hele dosis Suicide in verwerkt, klinkt het minstens even verfrissend als wat P.I.L. bijna veertig jaar geleden op The Metal Box deed.

Op In Silicio worden agressieve gitaren met synths gemengd. Denk aan wat Girls Against Boys en Half Japanese deden. Is dat zo goed dan? Ja, zo goed, mijnheer! Industrial rock zonder aanstellerij of goedkope gimmicks die de onkunde verbergen.

Dreams And Pleasure It Won’t Last Forever schreeuwt Bug op Chromidia, een klaagzang die wat aan de begindagen van Psychic TV herinnert. En dan is er USS ISS: de eerste seconden lijken verdacht veel op de gitaarriff van Bowies Rebel Rebel, maar dan wordt het Killing Joke pur sang! Heerlijk!

De titeltrack Paradise kan moeilijk donkerder, dit is gewoon dark ambient. We zegden het eerder al, de jaren 80 zijn zeker een grote invloed voor Pop. 1280. Luister naar Rain Song en je denkt aan het beste van de Virgin Prunes. Een echo die we trouwens ook in het agressieve The Last Undertaker horen. De afsluiter Kingdom Come is nog maar eens een stomp in de maag die pijn doet.

Inderdaad, van een paradijs is amper sprake op deze gitzwarte plaat, maar wat voor eentje zeg!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift