tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : POP. 1280 - Paradise

POP. 1280

Paradise

MusicCD
IndieNoisePost Punk
Sacred Bones Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

You are bored with those bands that keep on recycling the 80s without adding something new? Then Pop. 1280 might be an answer. The somewhat strange band name refers to a novel by Jim Thompson of whom people said that he turned crime into art. An ideal name for the fierce world of these New Yorkers.

Pyramids On Mars begins quietly. The track has something menacing, even mysterious... and it’s an ideal warm-up for what is yet to come, because on Phantom Freighter we are in a completely different dimension. Chris Bug uses the term cyberpunk to define his music, and there is of course some Suicide too, but it sounds at least as refreshing as what P.I.L. did on The Metal Box.

On In Silicio we hear some aggressive guitars which are mixed with haunting synths. Remember what Girls Against Boys and Half Japanese did. That good? Yes, that good! It is industrial rock without affectation or cheap gimmicks that hide the non-talent.

Dreams And Pleasure It Will Not Last Forever, shouts Bug on Chromidia, a lament that recalls the early days of Psychic TV. And then there is the USS ISS: the first few seconds seem to be a rip off of Bowie’s Rebel Rebel guitar riff, but after a few seconds it becomes simply... well… Killing Joke! Superb!

The title track Paradise can hardly be any darker, this is dark ambient par excellence. And we said it before, the 80s are definitely a big influence for Pop.1280. Listen to Rain Song and you think of the best Virgin Prunes had to offer. An echo we also hear in the aggressive The Last Undertaker. The closing song Kingdom Come is yet another punch that hurts.

Indeed, there’s no sight of a paradise at all, but what a record it is!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Heb je het ondertussen ook gehad met al die bands die de jaren 80 maar blijven recycleren zonder dat ze er iets nieuws aan toevoegen? Dan biedt Pop. 1280 misschien een antwoord. De wat vreemde bandnaam refereert aan een roman van Jim Thompson van wie men zegt dat hij van misdaad kunst maakte. Een ideale naam voor de bikkelharde wereld van deze New Yorkers.

Pyramids On Mars begint vrij rustig. De track heeft iets dreigends, mysterieus... een ideale opwarmer voor wat komen moet, want met Phantom Freighter zitten we meteen in een heel andere dimensie. Zelf gebruikt zanger Chris Bug de term cyberpunk als hij het over Pop. 1280 heeft, en al zit er wel een hele dosis Suicide in verwerkt, klinkt het minstens even verfrissend als wat P.I.L. bijna veertig jaar geleden op The Metal Box deed.

Op In Silicio worden agressieve gitaren met synths gemengd. Denk aan wat Girls Against Boys en Half Japanese deden. Is dat zo goed dan? Ja, zo goed, mijnheer! Industrial rock zonder aanstellerij of goedkope gimmicks die de onkunde verbergen.

Dreams And Pleasure It Won’t Last Forever schreeuwt Bug op Chromidia, een klaagzang die wat aan de begindagen van Psychic TV herinnert. En dan is er USS ISS: de eerste seconden lijken verdacht veel op de gitaarriff van Bowies Rebel Rebel, maar dan wordt het Killing Joke pur sang! Heerlijk!

De titeltrack Paradise kan moeilijk donkerder, dit is gewoon dark ambient. We zegden het eerder al, de jaren 80 zijn zeker een grote invloed voor Pop. 1280. Luister naar Rain Song en je denkt aan het beste van de Virgin Prunes. Een echo die we trouwens ook in het agressieve The Last Undertaker horen. De afsluiter Kingdom Come is nog maar eens een stomp in de maag die pijn doet.

Inderdaad, van een paradijs is amper sprake op deze gitzwarte plaat, maar wat voor eentje zeg!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SIMI NAH • B52, Eernegem (26/03/2016)
• Black Easter Day 2 : an impression
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
LAVVI EBBEL • Wir Schaffen Das!
AEON SABLE • Hypaerion
FIELDS OF TROY • Hardship
ANTIMATTER • Zoetermeer, De Boerderij (25/03/2016)
AHRAYEPH • Desert Songs
ROUGGE • Monochrome
• Black Easter Day 1: an impression

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: NOISE
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box

Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover