tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : POP. 1280 - Paradise

POP. 1280

Paradise

MusicCD
IndieNoisePost Punk
Sacred Bones Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

You are bored with those bands that keep on recycling the 80s without adding something new? Then Pop. 1280 might be an answer. The somewhat strange band name refers to a novel by Jim Thompson of whom people said that he turned crime into art. An ideal name for the fierce world of these New Yorkers.

Pyramids On Mars begins quietly. The track has something menacing, even mysterious... and it’s an ideal warm-up for what is yet to come, because on Phantom Freighter we are in a completely different dimension. Chris Bug uses the term cyberpunk to define his music, and there is of course some Suicide too, but it sounds at least as refreshing as what P.I.L. did on The Metal Box.

On In Silicio we hear some aggressive guitars which are mixed with haunting synths. Remember what Girls Against Boys and Half Japanese did. That good? Yes, that good! It is industrial rock without affectation or cheap gimmicks that hide the non-talent.

Dreams And Pleasure It Will Not Last Forever, shouts Bug on Chromidia, a lament that recalls the early days of Psychic TV. And then there is the USS ISS: the first few seconds seem to be a rip off of Bowie’s Rebel Rebel guitar riff, but after a few seconds it becomes simply... well… Killing Joke! Superb!

The title track Paradise can hardly be any darker, this is dark ambient par excellence. And we said it before, the 80s are definitely a big influence for Pop.1280. Listen to Rain Song and you think of the best Virgin Prunes had to offer. An echo we also hear in the aggressive The Last Undertaker. The closing song Kingdom Come is yet another punch that hurts.

Indeed, there’s no sight of a paradise at all, but what a record it is!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Heb je het ondertussen ook gehad met al die bands die de jaren 80 maar blijven recycleren zonder dat ze er iets nieuws aan toevoegen? Dan biedt Pop. 1280 misschien een antwoord. De wat vreemde bandnaam refereert aan een roman van Jim Thompson van wie men zegt dat hij van misdaad kunst maakte. Een ideale naam voor de bikkelharde wereld van deze New Yorkers.

Pyramids On Mars begint vrij rustig. De track heeft iets dreigends, mysterieus... een ideale opwarmer voor wat komen moet, want met Phantom Freighter zitten we meteen in een heel andere dimensie. Zelf gebruikt zanger Chris Bug de term cyberpunk als hij het over Pop. 1280 heeft, en al zit er wel een hele dosis Suicide in verwerkt, klinkt het minstens even verfrissend als wat P.I.L. bijna veertig jaar geleden op The Metal Box deed.

Op In Silicio worden agressieve gitaren met synths gemengd. Denk aan wat Girls Against Boys en Half Japanese deden. Is dat zo goed dan? Ja, zo goed, mijnheer! Industrial rock zonder aanstellerij of goedkope gimmicks die de onkunde verbergen.

Dreams And Pleasure It Won’t Last Forever schreeuwt Bug op Chromidia, een klaagzang die wat aan de begindagen van Psychic TV herinnert. En dan is er USS ISS: de eerste seconden lijken verdacht veel op de gitaarriff van Bowies Rebel Rebel, maar dan wordt het Killing Joke pur sang! Heerlijk!

De titeltrack Paradise kan moeilijk donkerder, dit is gewoon dark ambient. We zegden het eerder al, de jaren 80 zijn zeker een grote invloed voor Pop. 1280. Luister naar Rain Song en je denkt aan het beste van de Virgin Prunes. Een echo die we trouwens ook in het agressieve The Last Undertaker horen. De afsluiter Kingdom Come is nog maar eens een stomp in de maag die pijn doet.

Inderdaad, van een paradijs is amper sprake op deze gitzwarte plaat, maar wat voor eentje zeg!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SIMI NAH • B52, Eernegem (26/03/2016)
• Black Easter Day 2 : an impression
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
LAVVI EBBEL • Wir Schaffen Das!
AEON SABLE • Hypaerion
FIELDS OF TROY • Hardship
ANTIMATTER • Zoetermeer, De Boerderij (25/03/2016)
AHRAYEPH • Desert Songs
ROUGGE • Monochrome
• Black Easter Day 1: an impression

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: NOISE
THE HEAT INC. • EP
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation