tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : POP. 1280 - Paradise

POP. 1280

Paradise

MusicCD
IndieNoisePost Punk
Sacred Bones Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

You are bored with those bands that keep on recycling the 80s without adding something new? Then Pop. 1280 might be an answer. The somewhat strange band name refers to a novel by Jim Thompson of whom people said that he turned crime into art. An ideal name for the fierce world of these New Yorkers.

Pyramids On Mars begins quietly. The track has something menacing, even mysterious... and it’s an ideal warm-up for what is yet to come, because on Phantom Freighter we are in a completely different dimension. Chris Bug uses the term cyberpunk to define his music, and there is of course some Suicide too, but it sounds at least as refreshing as what P.I.L. did on The Metal Box.

On In Silicio we hear some aggressive guitars which are mixed with haunting synths. Remember what Girls Against Boys and Half Japanese did. That good? Yes, that good! It is industrial rock without affectation or cheap gimmicks that hide the non-talent.

Dreams And Pleasure It Will Not Last Forever, shouts Bug on Chromidia, a lament that recalls the early days of Psychic TV. And then there is the USS ISS: the first few seconds seem to be a rip off of Bowie’s Rebel Rebel guitar riff, but after a few seconds it becomes simply... well… Killing Joke! Superb!

The title track Paradise can hardly be any darker, this is dark ambient par excellence. And we said it before, the 80s are definitely a big influence for Pop.1280. Listen to Rain Song and you think of the best Virgin Prunes had to offer. An echo we also hear in the aggressive The Last Undertaker. The closing song Kingdom Come is yet another punch that hurts.

Indeed, there’s no sight of a paradise at all, but what a record it is!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Heb je het ondertussen ook gehad met al die bands die de jaren 80 maar blijven recycleren zonder dat ze er iets nieuws aan toevoegen? Dan biedt Pop. 1280 misschien een antwoord. De wat vreemde bandnaam refereert aan een roman van Jim Thompson van wie men zegt dat hij van misdaad kunst maakte. Een ideale naam voor de bikkelharde wereld van deze New Yorkers.

Pyramids On Mars begint vrij rustig. De track heeft iets dreigends, mysterieus... een ideale opwarmer voor wat komen moet, want met Phantom Freighter zitten we meteen in een heel andere dimensie. Zelf gebruikt zanger Chris Bug de term cyberpunk als hij het over Pop. 1280 heeft, en al zit er wel een hele dosis Suicide in verwerkt, klinkt het minstens even verfrissend als wat P.I.L. bijna veertig jaar geleden op The Metal Box deed.

Op In Silicio worden agressieve gitaren met synths gemengd. Denk aan wat Girls Against Boys en Half Japanese deden. Is dat zo goed dan? Ja, zo goed, mijnheer! Industrial rock zonder aanstellerij of goedkope gimmicks die de onkunde verbergen.

Dreams And Pleasure It Won’t Last Forever schreeuwt Bug op Chromidia, een klaagzang die wat aan de begindagen van Psychic TV herinnert. En dan is er USS ISS: de eerste seconden lijken verdacht veel op de gitaarriff van Bowies Rebel Rebel, maar dan wordt het Killing Joke pur sang! Heerlijk!

De titeltrack Paradise kan moeilijk donkerder, dit is gewoon dark ambient. We zegden het eerder al, de jaren 80 zijn zeker een grote invloed voor Pop. 1280. Luister naar Rain Song en je denkt aan het beste van de Virgin Prunes. Een echo die we trouwens ook in het agressieve The Last Undertaker horen. De afsluiter Kingdom Come is nog maar eens een stomp in de maag die pijn doet.

Inderdaad, van een paradijs is amper sprake op deze gitzwarte plaat, maar wat voor eentje zeg!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017