tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ROUGGE - Monochrome

ROUGGE

Monochrome

MusicCD
Dark PopNeoclassical

[76/100]   

Rougge Production
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Rougge? Perhaps you have not heard the name before, but in reviews the French musician is often compared to Thom Yorke, Anohni of Antony and the Johnsons or Sigur Ros. We add Dez Mona to that list, and with such names as a reference you know what to expect.

Rougge is music created on a piano. Stylistically it’s neoclassical, but in a way it’s pop too. Anyway, we try to describe it, because the unique music of Rougge is often categorized as unclassifiable. Rougge was not too keen on this and initially the composer feared that his career was a lost cause. False thought, because when Fragments was released in 2007, the enthusiasm on the net was so great that Rougge understood that he won many hearts with his neoclassical sound. So far Rougge’s music has been used in France for many projects (from exhibitions to theater plays).

Monochrome is the second album and made via crowdfunding. On this record we hear piano pieces with Rougge’s typical voice, accompanied by a string trio. Not your everyday music, but extremely beautiful!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Rougge? Wellicht heb je de naam nog niet al te vaak gehoord, maar in recensies wordt deze Franse muzikant in één adem genoemd met Thom Yorke, Anohni van Antony and the Johnsons of de mannen van Sigur Ros. Zelf voegen we daar Dez Mona aan toe, en eigenlijk weet je daarmee genoeg.

Rougge is muziek van een man op een piano. Qua stijl neoklassiek, maar door de aparte aanpak minstens even goed pop (nou ja). Nu goed, we doen ook maar een poging om Rougge te omschrijven, want de unieke muziek wordt regelmatig ondergebracht als niet te klasseren. Rougge zelf had daar heel wat problemen mee en dacht aanvankelijk dat zijn carrière een verloren zaak was. Niets bleek minder waar, want toen Fragments in 2007 werd uitgebracht, was het enthousiasme op het net zo groot dat de man begreep dat hij met zijn neoklassieke geluid heel wat harten had veroverd. Inmiddels zijn z'n composities in Frankrijk gebruikt voor heel wat kunstprojecten (van tentoonstellingen tot theaterstukken).

Monochrome is zijn tweede album, dat tot stand kwam dankzij crowdfunding. Op deze plaat horen we pianostukken met als begeleidende rode draad zijn typische klaagzang, aangevuld met een strijkerstrio. Niet alledaags, zo veel is duidelijk, wel bloedstollend mooi!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...
01
02
Luna Del Luna Addresses Trauma And Abuse With Debut EP

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky
31
01
MIREXXX
Nine angles