tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ROUGGE - Monochrome

ROUGGE

Monochrome

MusicCD
Dark PopNeoclassical

[76/100]   

Rougge Production
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Rougge? Perhaps you have not heard the name before, but in reviews the French musician is often compared to Thom Yorke, Anohni of Antony and the Johnsons or Sigur Ros. We add Dez Mona to that list, and with such names as a reference you know what to expect.

Rougge is music created on a piano. Stylistically it’s neoclassical, but in a way it’s pop too. Anyway, we try to describe it, because the unique music of Rougge is often categorized as unclassifiable. Rougge was not too keen on this and initially the composer feared that his career was a lost cause. False thought, because when Fragments was released in 2007, the enthusiasm on the net was so great that Rougge understood that he won many hearts with his neoclassical sound. So far Rougge’s music has been used in France for many projects (from exhibitions to theater plays).

Monochrome is the second album and made via crowdfunding. On this record we hear piano pieces with Rougge’s typical voice, accompanied by a string trio. Not your everyday music, but extremely beautiful!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Rougge? Wellicht heb je de naam nog niet al te vaak gehoord, maar in recensies wordt deze Franse muzikant in één adem genoemd met Thom Yorke, Anohni van Antony and the Johnsons of de mannen van Sigur Ros. Zelf voegen we daar Dez Mona aan toe, en eigenlijk weet je daarmee genoeg.

Rougge is muziek van een man op een piano. Qua stijl neoklassiek, maar door de aparte aanpak minstens even goed pop (nou ja). Nu goed, we doen ook maar een poging om Rougge te omschrijven, want de unieke muziek wordt regelmatig ondergebracht als niet te klasseren. Rougge zelf had daar heel wat problemen mee en dacht aanvankelijk dat zijn carrière een verloren zaak was. Niets bleek minder waar, want toen Fragments in 2007 werd uitgebracht, was het enthousiasme op het net zo groot dat de man begreep dat hij met zijn neoklassieke geluid heel wat harten had veroverd. Inmiddels zijn z'n composities in Frankrijk gebruikt voor heel wat kunstprojecten (van tentoonstellingen tot theaterstukken).

Monochrome is zijn tweede album, dat tot stand kwam dankzij crowdfunding. Op deze plaat horen we pianostukken met als begeleidende rode draad zijn typische klaagzang, aangevuld met een strijkerstrio. Niet alledaags, zo veel is duidelijk, wel bloedstollend mooi!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation