tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ROUGGE - Monochrome

ROUGGE

Monochrome

MusicCD
Dark PopNeoclassical

[76/100]   

Rougge Production
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Rougge? Perhaps you have not heard the name before, but in reviews the French musician is often compared to Thom Yorke, Anohni of Antony and the Johnsons or Sigur Ros. We add Dez Mona to that list, and with such names as a reference you know what to expect.

Rougge is music created on a piano. Stylistically it’s neoclassical, but in a way it’s pop too. Anyway, we try to describe it, because the unique music of Rougge is often categorized as unclassifiable. Rougge was not too keen on this and initially the composer feared that his career was a lost cause. False thought, because when Fragments was released in 2007, the enthusiasm on the net was so great that Rougge understood that he won many hearts with his neoclassical sound. So far Rougge’s music has been used in France for many projects (from exhibitions to theater plays).

Monochrome is the second album and made via crowdfunding. On this record we hear piano pieces with Rougge’s typical voice, accompanied by a string trio. Not your everyday music, but extremely beautiful!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Rougge? Wellicht heb je de naam nog niet al te vaak gehoord, maar in recensies wordt deze Franse muzikant in één adem genoemd met Thom Yorke, Anohni van Antony and the Johnsons of de mannen van Sigur Ros. Zelf voegen we daar Dez Mona aan toe, en eigenlijk weet je daarmee genoeg.

Rougge is muziek van een man op een piano. Qua stijl neoklassiek, maar door de aparte aanpak minstens even goed pop (nou ja). Nu goed, we doen ook maar een poging om Rougge te omschrijven, want de unieke muziek wordt regelmatig ondergebracht als niet te klasseren. Rougge zelf had daar heel wat problemen mee en dacht aanvankelijk dat zijn carrière een verloren zaak was. Niets bleek minder waar, want toen Fragments in 2007 werd uitgebracht, was het enthousiasme op het net zo groot dat de man begreep dat hij met zijn neoklassieke geluid heel wat harten had veroverd. Inmiddels zijn z'n composities in Frankrijk gebruikt voor heel wat kunstprojecten (van tentoonstellingen tot theaterstukken).

Monochrome is zijn tweede album, dat tot stand kwam dankzij crowdfunding. Op deze plaat horen we pianostukken met als begeleidende rode draad zijn typische klaagzang, aangevuld met een strijkerstrio. Niet alledaags, zo veel is duidelijk, wel bloedstollend mooi!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

10
05
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Fear And Cufre
09
05
NEL & JP
Desinterersse
07
05
DARKEST NIGHT 2024
30
04
ATTRITION
The Black Maria
26
04
HYBRYDS
Mythopia, the sequel
25
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Elysium

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
46 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 34 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 37 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
EVA X Drops Her 'Dopamine Blind' Video; A Nighttime Escape Story
08
05
44 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
05
XTR HUMAN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist, XTR Human
09
05
THE RED MOON MACABRE
Resurrected after 32 years in 2021, now very active again. Interview with Renzo Tellez, founder of the classic Goth Rock band ‘The Red Moon Macabre’.
06
05
NOW AFTER NOTHING
An Interview With Darkwave Band, NOW AFTER NOTHING
10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.

PHOTOS

20
05
MONO INC
Christuskirche Bochum
14
05
CHRISTIAN DEATH
Rockpalast Bochum Matrix
16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin4 Anderlecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
05
VENUS FLY TRAP
Rocket USA
19
05
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Should I Look Above
18
05
SCHWEFELGELB
Zu Zweit
17
05
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
16
05
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
15
05
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
14
05
ASH CODE
Nite Rite