tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ROUGGE - Monochrome

ROUGGE

Monochrome

MusicCD
Dark PopNeoclassical

[76/100]   

Rougge Production
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Rougge? Perhaps you have not heard the name before, but in reviews the French musician is often compared to Thom Yorke, Anohni of Antony and the Johnsons or Sigur Ros. We add Dez Mona to that list, and with such names as a reference you know what to expect.

Rougge is music created on a piano. Stylistically it’s neoclassical, but in a way it’s pop too. Anyway, we try to describe it, because the unique music of Rougge is often categorized as unclassifiable. Rougge was not too keen on this and initially the composer feared that his career was a lost cause. False thought, because when Fragments was released in 2007, the enthusiasm on the net was so great that Rougge understood that he won many hearts with his neoclassical sound. So far Rougge’s music has been used in France for many projects (from exhibitions to theater plays).

Monochrome is the second album and made via crowdfunding. On this record we hear piano pieces with Rougge’s typical voice, accompanied by a string trio. Not your everyday music, but extremely beautiful!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Rougge? Wellicht heb je de naam nog niet al te vaak gehoord, maar in recensies wordt deze Franse muzikant in één adem genoemd met Thom Yorke, Anohni van Antony and the Johnsons of de mannen van Sigur Ros. Zelf voegen we daar Dez Mona aan toe, en eigenlijk weet je daarmee genoeg.

Rougge is muziek van een man op een piano. Qua stijl neoklassiek, maar door de aparte aanpak minstens even goed pop (nou ja). Nu goed, we doen ook maar een poging om Rougge te omschrijven, want de unieke muziek wordt regelmatig ondergebracht als niet te klasseren. Rougge zelf had daar heel wat problemen mee en dacht aanvankelijk dat zijn carrière een verloren zaak was. Niets bleek minder waar, want toen Fragments in 2007 werd uitgebracht, was het enthousiasme op het net zo groot dat de man begreep dat hij met zijn neoklassieke geluid heel wat harten had veroverd. Inmiddels zijn z'n composities in Frankrijk gebruikt voor heel wat kunstprojecten (van tentoonstellingen tot theaterstukken).

Monochrome is zijn tweede album, dat tot stand kwam dankzij crowdfunding. Op deze plaat horen we pianostukken met als begeleidende rode draad zijn typische klaagzang, aangevuld met een strijkerstrio. Niet alledaags, zo veel is duidelijk, wel bloedstollend mooi!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Russian Dark Community in search of new blood
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover