tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ROUGGE - Monochrome

ROUGGE

Monochrome

MusicCD
Dark PopNeoclassical

[76/100]   

Rougge Production
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Rougge? Perhaps you have not heard the name before, but in reviews the French musician is often compared to Thom Yorke, Anohni of Antony and the Johnsons or Sigur Ros. We add Dez Mona to that list, and with such names as a reference you know what to expect.

Rougge is music created on a piano. Stylistically it’s neoclassical, but in a way it’s pop too. Anyway, we try to describe it, because the unique music of Rougge is often categorized as unclassifiable. Rougge was not too keen on this and initially the composer feared that his career was a lost cause. False thought, because when Fragments was released in 2007, the enthusiasm on the net was so great that Rougge understood that he won many hearts with his neoclassical sound. So far Rougge’s music has been used in France for many projects (from exhibitions to theater plays).

Monochrome is the second album and made via crowdfunding. On this record we hear piano pieces with Rougge’s typical voice, accompanied by a string trio. Not your everyday music, but extremely beautiful!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Rougge? Wellicht heb je de naam nog niet al te vaak gehoord, maar in recensies wordt deze Franse muzikant in één adem genoemd met Thom Yorke, Anohni van Antony and the Johnsons of de mannen van Sigur Ros. Zelf voegen we daar Dez Mona aan toe, en eigenlijk weet je daarmee genoeg.

Rougge is muziek van een man op een piano. Qua stijl neoklassiek, maar door de aparte aanpak minstens even goed pop (nou ja). Nu goed, we doen ook maar een poging om Rougge te omschrijven, want de unieke muziek wordt regelmatig ondergebracht als niet te klasseren. Rougge zelf had daar heel wat problemen mee en dacht aanvankelijk dat zijn carrière een verloren zaak was. Niets bleek minder waar, want toen Fragments in 2007 werd uitgebracht, was het enthousiasme op het net zo groot dat de man begreep dat hij met zijn neoklassieke geluid heel wat harten had veroverd. Inmiddels zijn z'n composities in Frankrijk gebruikt voor heel wat kunstprojecten (van tentoonstellingen tot theaterstukken).

Monochrome is zijn tweede album, dat tot stand kwam dankzij crowdfunding. Op deze plaat horen we pianostukken met als begeleidende rode draad zijn typische klaagzang, aangevuld met een strijkerstrio. Niet alledaags, zo veel is duidelijk, wel bloedstollend mooi!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
15
02
MINISTRY
Same Old Madness
14
02
POLICE DES MOEURS
Première neige
13
02
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH
Alice