tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : PRIMAL SCREAM - Chaosmosis

PRIMAL SCREAM

Chaosmosis

MusicCD
DanceIndiePsychedelic

[86/100]   

PIAS
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you listen to the first Primal Scream-records, you never guess that the former drummer of The Jesus & Mary Chain would change the music scene. After a three year pause, the now 53-year-old Bobby Gillespie is back with his eleventh (!) album. On the cover we see the arrogant head of Gillespie on a 20-year-old photo, surrounded by all kinds of colors. An ideal cover, because it shows the diversity of this new Primal Scream album. It has a total length of 37 minutes and again the Scot works with all kinds of genres.

Trippin 'On Your Love puts the listener on the wrong track. This highly danceable track seems to come from Screamadelica (1981), when Bobby Gillespie united dance music and indie. A gem to open Chaosmosis, but this is just the beginning! (Feeling Like A) Demon Again is Primal Scream like we never heard it before: minimal dance pop. The melody would be ideal for a Refn-film. One listen and you are forever hooked!

After six minutes it is clear that Chaosmosis won’t be a happy Primal Scream-record. I Can Change flirts with 60's soul music, but Bobby creates (again) a completely new form.

100% Or Nothing sounds merrier, a bit funky, Private Wars is a resting point, and then there is that strange single: Where The Light Gets In, a duet with Sky Ferreira. You can say much about it, but at least this track does not sound like a typical Primal Scream song. When the Blackout Meets the Fallout sounds like the title: chaotic.

We do not know what stimulants Gillespie used in his life, but as long as the result is minimal psychedelic dance like Carnival Of Fools, he may take as much as he wants.

Golden Rope is just fantastic: heavenly gospel in a song that is reminiscent of the early days of Roxy Music... I Know That's Something Wrong With Me, Gillespie sings some forty or fifty times. Big music indeed!

So all the styles have been used? No, there is still some post-punk left! Autumn Paradise might be one of the best songs New Order never wrote.

It is now eight o'clock in the evening. It is the fifth time that I listen to this album. In love? Yes, that's just destiny when you are in the hands of a genius.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Als je de eerste plaatjes van Primal Scream beluistert, vermoed je niet dat de voormalige drummer van The Jesus & Mary Chain met zijn band de muziekscène zou veranderen. Na drie jaar pauze is de ondertussen 53-jarige Bobby Gillespie er met zijn elfde (!) plaat. Op het hoesje staat de arrogante kop van Gillespie te glunderen op een foto van zo’n twintig jaar geleden, omringd door allerlei kleuren. Een ideale hoes, want hij toont de diversiteit van deze nieuwe Primal Scream-plaat. Ze telt welgeteld 37 minuten en wederom goochelt de Schot met zowat alle mogelijke genres.

Trippin’ On Your Love zet de luisteraar meteen op het verkeerde been. Deze uiterst dansbare track lijkt wel uit het Screamadelica-album (1981) te komen, waarin Bobby Gillespie voor eeuwig dansmuziek en indie verenigde. Een lekker niemendalletje om Chaosmosis te openen, maar dan komt het! (Feeling Like A) Demon Again is Primal Scream zoals je het nog nooit hebt gehoord: minimale danspop. Het melodietje zou uiterst geschikt zijn voor een Refn-film. Een keer naar luisteren en je bent voor eeuwig verslaafd.

Na amper zes minuten is het duidelijk dat Chaosmosis niet meteen de vrolijkste Primal Scream-plaat is. In I Can Change wordt geflirt met 60's soulmuziek, maar uiteindelijk maakt Gillespie er weer iets compleet nieuws van.

100% Or Nothing is alweer iets vrolijker, zeg maar de betere funk, Private Wars het rustpunt, en dan is er natuurlijk die vreemde single: Where The Light Gets In, een duet met de mediageile Sky Ferreira. Je kan er veel over zeggen, in ieder geval klinkt deze track niet echt als een typische Primal Scream-song. When the Blackout Meets the Fallout klinkt net als de titel: chaotisch.

We willen niet weten welke genotsmiddelen deze Schot in zijn leven heeft gebruikt, maar zo lang dat resulteert in psychedelische minimal dance als Carnival Of Fools, mag hij rustig zijn gang gaan.

Golden Rope is gewoon fantastisch: hemelse gospel in een song die aan de begindagen van Roxy Music doet denken...I Know That’s Something Wrong With Me, zingt Gillespie zo’n veertig of vijftig keer na elkaar. Groots.

Alle stijlen benut? Neen, er is nog post-punk ook! En dus lijkt Autumn In Paradise het beste lied dat New Order nooit heeft geschreven.

Het is ondertussen acht uur ’s avonds. Het is de vijfde keer dat deze plaat draait. Verliefd? Ja, dat is nu eenmaal het lot als je in de handen bent van een genie.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
COLLAPSE • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (25/03/2016)
MORTIIS • The Great Deceiver
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Fractured Sign
DARK AWAKE • Imago Typhonis
• Black Easter 2016 Day 1 (26/03/2016)
MAX LILJA • Coalescaremonium 2016
S.E.M. • Coalescaremonium 2016
HEDERA HELIX • Coalescaremonium 2016
PRETENTIOUS MOI? • Coalescaremonium 2016
SIRENIA • Coalescaremonium 2016

 

Other reviews from PRIMAL SCREAM
PRIMAL SCREAM • Where The Light Gets In

 

Same genre: DANCE
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
THE INVISIBLE • Patience
DJ SHADOW • The Mountain Will Fall
MONOLITH • Domination
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Fractured Sign
DMX KREW • You Exist
XYMOX • Phoenix
PRIMAL SCREAM • Where The Light Gets In
UNDERWORLD • Second Toughest In The Infants-Redux

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
01
ASHRR’S Dark Industrialized New Single, “ALL YOURS ALL MINE (DARKER DAYS MIX)” Is Streaming Now
25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
BIG TIME KILL
Again and Again
28
01
DEPECHE MODE
Enjoy The Silence
27
01
GEOMETRIC VISION
Apocalypse Queen
26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic