tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : PRIMAL SCREAM - Chaosmosis

PRIMAL SCREAM

Chaosmosis

MusicCD
DanceIndiePsychedelic

[86/100]   

PIAS
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you listen to the first Primal Scream-records, you never guess that the former drummer of The Jesus & Mary Chain would change the music scene. After a three year pause, the now 53-year-old Bobby Gillespie is back with his eleventh (!) album. On the cover we see the arrogant head of Gillespie on a 20-year-old photo, surrounded by all kinds of colors. An ideal cover, because it shows the diversity of this new Primal Scream album. It has a total length of 37 minutes and again the Scot works with all kinds of genres.

Trippin 'On Your Love puts the listener on the wrong track. This highly danceable track seems to come from Screamadelica (1981), when Bobby Gillespie united dance music and indie. A gem to open Chaosmosis, but this is just the beginning! (Feeling Like A) Demon Again is Primal Scream like we never heard it before: minimal dance pop. The melody would be ideal for a Refn-film. One listen and you are forever hooked!

After six minutes it is clear that Chaosmosis won’t be a happy Primal Scream-record. I Can Change flirts with 60's soul music, but Bobby creates (again) a completely new form.

100% Or Nothing sounds merrier, a bit funky, Private Wars is a resting point, and then there is that strange single: Where The Light Gets In, a duet with Sky Ferreira. You can say much about it, but at least this track does not sound like a typical Primal Scream song. When the Blackout Meets the Fallout sounds like the title: chaotic.

We do not know what stimulants Gillespie used in his life, but as long as the result is minimal psychedelic dance like Carnival Of Fools, he may take as much as he wants.

Golden Rope is just fantastic: heavenly gospel in a song that is reminiscent of the early days of Roxy Music... I Know That's Something Wrong With Me, Gillespie sings some forty or fifty times. Big music indeed!

So all the styles have been used? No, there is still some post-punk left! Autumn Paradise might be one of the best songs New Order never wrote.

It is now eight o'clock in the evening. It is the fifth time that I listen to this album. In love? Yes, that's just destiny when you are in the hands of a genius.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Als je de eerste plaatjes van Primal Scream beluistert, vermoed je niet dat de voormalige drummer van The Jesus & Mary Chain met zijn band de muziekscène zou veranderen. Na drie jaar pauze is de ondertussen 53-jarige Bobby Gillespie er met zijn elfde (!) plaat. Op het hoesje staat de arrogante kop van Gillespie te glunderen op een foto van zo’n twintig jaar geleden, omringd door allerlei kleuren. Een ideale hoes, want hij toont de diversiteit van deze nieuwe Primal Scream-plaat. Ze telt welgeteld 37 minuten en wederom goochelt de Schot met zowat alle mogelijke genres.

Trippin’ On Your Love zet de luisteraar meteen op het verkeerde been. Deze uiterst dansbare track lijkt wel uit het Screamadelica-album (1981) te komen, waarin Bobby Gillespie voor eeuwig dansmuziek en indie verenigde. Een lekker niemendalletje om Chaosmosis te openen, maar dan komt het! (Feeling Like A) Demon Again is Primal Scream zoals je het nog nooit hebt gehoord: minimale danspop. Het melodietje zou uiterst geschikt zijn voor een Refn-film. Een keer naar luisteren en je bent voor eeuwig verslaafd.

Na amper zes minuten is het duidelijk dat Chaosmosis niet meteen de vrolijkste Primal Scream-plaat is. In I Can Change wordt geflirt met 60's soulmuziek, maar uiteindelijk maakt Gillespie er weer iets compleet nieuws van.

100% Or Nothing is alweer iets vrolijker, zeg maar de betere funk, Private Wars het rustpunt, en dan is er natuurlijk die vreemde single: Where The Light Gets In, een duet met de mediageile Sky Ferreira. Je kan er veel over zeggen, in ieder geval klinkt deze track niet echt als een typische Primal Scream-song. When the Blackout Meets the Fallout klinkt net als de titel: chaotisch.

We willen niet weten welke genotsmiddelen deze Schot in zijn leven heeft gebruikt, maar zo lang dat resulteert in psychedelische minimal dance als Carnival Of Fools, mag hij rustig zijn gang gaan.

Golden Rope is gewoon fantastisch: hemelse gospel in een song die aan de begindagen van Roxy Music doet denken...I Know That’s Something Wrong With Me, zingt Gillespie zo’n veertig of vijftig keer na elkaar. Groots.

Alle stijlen benut? Neen, er is nog post-punk ook! En dus lijkt Autumn In Paradise het beste lied dat New Order nooit heeft geschreven.

Het is ondertussen acht uur ’s avonds. Het is de vijfde keer dat deze plaat draait. Verliefd? Ja, dat is nu eenmaal het lot als je in de handen bent van een genie.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
COLLAPSE • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (25/03/2016)
MORTIIS • The Great Deceiver
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Fractured Sign
DARK AWAKE • Imago Typhonis
• Black Easter 2016 Day 1 (26/03/2016)
MAX LILJA • Coalescaremonium 2016
S.E.M. • Coalescaremonium 2016
HEDERA HELIX • Coalescaremonium 2016
PRETENTIOUS MOI? • Coalescaremonium 2016
SIRENIA • Coalescaremonium 2016

 

Other reviews from PRIMAL SCREAM
PRIMAL SCREAM • Where The Light Gets In

 

Same genre: DANCE
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
THE INVISIBLE • Patience
DJ SHADOW • The Mountain Will Fall
MONOLITH • Domination
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Fractured Sign
DMX KREW • You Exist
XYMOX • Phoenix

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete