tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : PRIMAL SCREAM - Chaosmosis

PRIMAL SCREAM

Chaosmosis

MusicCD
DanceIndiePsychedelic

[86/100]   

PIAS
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you listen to the first Primal Scream-records, you never guess that the former drummer of The Jesus & Mary Chain would change the music scene. After a three year pause, the now 53-year-old Bobby Gillespie is back with his eleventh (!) album. On the cover we see the arrogant head of Gillespie on a 20-year-old photo, surrounded by all kinds of colors. An ideal cover, because it shows the diversity of this new Primal Scream album. It has a total length of 37 minutes and again the Scot works with all kinds of genres.

Trippin 'On Your Love puts the listener on the wrong track. This highly danceable track seems to come from Screamadelica (1981), when Bobby Gillespie united dance music and indie. A gem to open Chaosmosis, but this is just the beginning! (Feeling Like A) Demon Again is Primal Scream like we never heard it before: minimal dance pop. The melody would be ideal for a Refn-film. One listen and you are forever hooked!

After six minutes it is clear that Chaosmosis won’t be a happy Primal Scream-record. I Can Change flirts with 60's soul music, but Bobby creates (again) a completely new form.

100% Or Nothing sounds merrier, a bit funky, Private Wars is a resting point, and then there is that strange single: Where The Light Gets In, a duet with Sky Ferreira. You can say much about it, but at least this track does not sound like a typical Primal Scream song. When the Blackout Meets the Fallout sounds like the title: chaotic.

We do not know what stimulants Gillespie used in his life, but as long as the result is minimal psychedelic dance like Carnival Of Fools, he may take as much as he wants.

Golden Rope is just fantastic: heavenly gospel in a song that is reminiscent of the early days of Roxy Music... I Know That's Something Wrong With Me, Gillespie sings some forty or fifty times. Big music indeed!

So all the styles have been used? No, there is still some post-punk left! Autumn Paradise might be one of the best songs New Order never wrote.

It is now eight o'clock in the evening. It is the fifth time that I listen to this album. In love? Yes, that's just destiny when you are in the hands of a genius.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Als je de eerste plaatjes van Primal Scream beluistert, vermoed je niet dat de voormalige drummer van The Jesus & Mary Chain met zijn band de muziekscène zou veranderen. Na drie jaar pauze is de ondertussen 53-jarige Bobby Gillespie er met zijn elfde (!) plaat. Op het hoesje staat de arrogante kop van Gillespie te glunderen op een foto van zo’n twintig jaar geleden, omringd door allerlei kleuren. Een ideale hoes, want hij toont de diversiteit van deze nieuwe Primal Scream-plaat. Ze telt welgeteld 37 minuten en wederom goochelt de Schot met zowat alle mogelijke genres.

Trippin’ On Your Love zet de luisteraar meteen op het verkeerde been. Deze uiterst dansbare track lijkt wel uit het Screamadelica-album (1981) te komen, waarin Bobby Gillespie voor eeuwig dansmuziek en indie verenigde. Een lekker niemendalletje om Chaosmosis te openen, maar dan komt het! (Feeling Like A) Demon Again is Primal Scream zoals je het nog nooit hebt gehoord: minimale danspop. Het melodietje zou uiterst geschikt zijn voor een Refn-film. Een keer naar luisteren en je bent voor eeuwig verslaafd.

Na amper zes minuten is het duidelijk dat Chaosmosis niet meteen de vrolijkste Primal Scream-plaat is. In I Can Change wordt geflirt met 60's soulmuziek, maar uiteindelijk maakt Gillespie er weer iets compleet nieuws van.

100% Or Nothing is alweer iets vrolijker, zeg maar de betere funk, Private Wars het rustpunt, en dan is er natuurlijk die vreemde single: Where The Light Gets In, een duet met de mediageile Sky Ferreira. Je kan er veel over zeggen, in ieder geval klinkt deze track niet echt als een typische Primal Scream-song. When the Blackout Meets the Fallout klinkt net als de titel: chaotisch.

We willen niet weten welke genotsmiddelen deze Schot in zijn leven heeft gebruikt, maar zo lang dat resulteert in psychedelische minimal dance als Carnival Of Fools, mag hij rustig zijn gang gaan.

Golden Rope is gewoon fantastisch: hemelse gospel in een song die aan de begindagen van Roxy Music doet denken...I Know That’s Something Wrong With Me, zingt Gillespie zo’n veertig of vijftig keer na elkaar. Groots.

Alle stijlen benut? Neen, er is nog post-punk ook! En dus lijkt Autumn In Paradise het beste lied dat New Order nooit heeft geschreven.

Het is ondertussen acht uur ’s avonds. Het is de vijfde keer dat deze plaat draait. Verliefd? Ja, dat is nu eenmaal het lot als je in de handen bent van een genie.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
COLLAPSE • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (25/03/2016)
MORTIIS • The Great Deceiver
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Fractured Sign
DARK AWAKE • Imago Typhonis
• Black Easter 2016 Day 1 (26/03/2016)
MAX LILJA • Coalescaremonium 2016
S.E.M. • Coalescaremonium 2016
HEDERA HELIX • Coalescaremonium 2016
PRETENTIOUS MOI? • Coalescaremonium 2016
SIRENIA • Coalescaremonium 2016

 

Other reviews from PRIMAL SCREAM
PRIMAL SCREAM • Where The Light Gets In

 

Same genre: DANCE
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
THE INVISIBLE • Patience
DJ SHADOW • The Mountain Will Fall
MONOLITH • Domination
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Fractured Sign
DMX KREW • You Exist
XYMOX • Phoenix
PRIMAL SCREAM • Where The Light Gets In
UNDERWORLD • Second Toughest In The Infants-Redux

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On