tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : A-HA - London, O2 Arena (26/03/2016)

A-HA

London, O2 Arena (26/03/2016)

Concert
09/12/2016, Marija BULJETA

I was very eager to finally see A-ha, and as I have never seen the band live before, I really had no clue about how this experience was going to look like, but my expectations were high.

At 15 minutes to 9 the lights at the London O2 arena went down and the blue light appeared on the stage; I was almost nervous to see Morten and the guys and hoped to hear some great music they had produced in some more than 30 years.

As soon as they started, they went straight for one of their greatest hits I've Been Losing You, giving something solid to the audience: the A-ha pleasure they came for. From the first song it was clear they were going to give a superb performance as they were flawless indeed. The trio was supported by a drummer, a bass player, one more synth guy and a wonderful female backing vocal. But just as you can perform flawlessly on an instrument, on a stage the most sensitive of all instruments is the human voice, and Morten sounded wonderful; like the nightingale he always was! There was no difference from hearing a studio record as far as his voice was concerned.

The crowd did not have to wait long for another old hit, Cry Wolf, and I am sure we all became very nostalgic at that moment. They had great visuals along with this song, as there were some wolf animations appearing on the video walls behind them. And if you had far seats, you could see the guys at the large video walls on each side of the stage; nicely done!

Move to Memphis was the next one, and by that time, the crowd was already head over heels with A-ha! But as they said at the beginning, the evening would be a retrospective of their 30+ years long career, we could really expect a hit parade, as indeed it was; for the fourth one, they chose Stay on These Roads. They decided to play one more from Scoundrel Days album: The Swing of Things.

It took them a while to play a song from their last album, and they chose Cast in Steel. Even though I am not so thrilled with this one, hearing it live gave it a new dimension, so I got to the bottom of its emotional potential you can maybe not feel while listening at home. The great sequence after this one would surely be Crying in the Rain and they played it! I think no one could keep quiet, and I sang it all the way and really annoyed the closest person to me, I think! Next one was Mother Nature Goes To Heaven from Foot of the Mountain so we got to hear something more recent from them, and as they said it would be a retrospective of their 30 years, it surely was. If you have not been their true fan since their early days, this one would maybe skip your attention, but one more from Scoundrel Days was played: We're Looking for the Whales, and so far this album was the most present on the stage this night. The only song from Minor Earth Major Sky was Velvet and I think that is the only song I truly don't like. As Morten had gone from the stage for a break, Paul took the microphone to sing. Magne, who was in fact the only contact with the audience, took the next one. He excused himself for not being such a brilliant vocalist, asking for the support of the fans to sing Lifelines, a marvelous song that I would rather leave to the voice of Morten, so he really ruined it a bit for me.

Maybe I should know who their backing vocal was, as it was one superb female voice and the lady sang a very nice version of Here I Stand and Face the Rain that is one of my dearest songs from the Hunting High and Low album. Her performance gave a new life to the song, and it was a really nice surprise. I could not have imagined it being sang by anyone but Morten, but Morten just got himself a great competition here. After Morten's re-appearing on the stage, the band played Sycamore Leaves, the second one tonight from East of the Sun, West of the Moon. I was blessed with my favorite song from Cast in Steel as they played She's Humming a Tune next and Foot of the Mountain after it, and at that time I really couldn’t believe how much more meaningful everything sounded when played live, even the songs I don't usually like to listen to at home. Morten's voice was crystal clear throughout the whole evening and the years did nothing to that man; his voice and his looks are preserved. The only thing that I regretted was Morten's complete lack of communication with the audience, maybe a smile here and there, but Morten seemed distant and the only one who was doing the job you would expect from a lead singer was Magne, the keyboardist.

At the moment they started playing Hunting High and Low, the whole arena got up on its feet and I have witnessed one of the most touching moments on a live show. This performance was so breathtaking, so emotional, so everything; it was really the highlight of the entire evening for me. The arena went wild, and Morten made the first connection with the audience, encouraging us to sing, stretching his microphone to us, and keeping us busy doing his job for some moments. And finally they played Scoundrel Days, one of my favorite A-ha songs, before they decided to retreat.

Of course they could not avoid the encore and one more treat was played: The Sun Always Shines on TV. We were somehow expecting Take On Me next, but instead we heard an acoustic version of Under the Make Up from Cast in Steel. I missed the great orchestral arrangements that I consider the greatest strength of the song, but it was nice to hear a different version and this was the second time this evening that Morten showed this much emotion while performing and I got the impression that he is more at home with performing emotional ballads. As they could not leave the UK crowd without one gem, they of course had to, and really had to play The Living Daylights; at least you need to indulge the fans of both A-ha and James Bond when in the 007 country! And the time to part with us sadly came too soon, there were so many songs that we would have still liked hearing and the crowd would simply not move after they retreated from the stage for the second time. And it was obvious they needed to come back for at least one more, and what else to give to their devoted fans, but the ultimate hit of theirs: Take on Me!

Marija BULJETA
09/12/2016


Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)