tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : MONOLITH - Domination

MONOLITH

Domination

MusicCD
DanceDark ElectroElectronicsIndustrial

[90/100]   

Hands Productions
10/12/2016, Peter HESELMANS

EN

Two years after his debut Crashed for Dotmund’s Hands-label, the successor Domination is out now. Eric Van Wonterghem (Sonar, ABC, Insect) is a veteran in the genre, but this does not mean that he takes things easy these days. With his 9th album, Eric is (once again) on target. The whole dark alternative electronic path is traveled, sometimes with some hip techno shoes, sometimes you have to take your industrial combat shoes. Yes, even sandals are required for some ethnic sounds.

The title track (and opener) starts hesitant with some electronic effects, but soon they come: dance beats with a military precision, the recognizable massive underground techno of Monolith, the industrial engine is started for 15 tracks.

Anxious sounds mark Angel Of Death, the chilly beats are combined with a confusing bass which lead us into dark places, the incident repetitive beats do the rest, and thus creates an electronic trance that takes us away of the land of the damned.

The versatility of this Flemish artist is worldwide known, Bridges leads us to the alternative club scene, the bombastic rhythms are strengthed withmore chilling beats, razor-sharp sounds that form a perfect whole and make your body rumble. Dancing shoes are required for old school songs like Oppression and Nerve Net: monotonous hypnotic sounds that lead you to the dark underground club.

With Reconstructed Eric makes another dancefloor killer, the hard 130bpm techno beats are pumped in your mind and your body is completely under the influence of these masterful melodies.

In Dust Of India we discover repetitive ethnic sounds which are combined with the hypnotic and repetitive loops that lead us into an Asian trance, just like in Baigari with subdued exotic sounds and atmospheres that breathes some rest, even if you’re brutally awakened from this spiritual ecstasy by The Bell Witch: pure techno sounds and modern rhythms, and again dance material from the top shelf.

The rhythm ‘n noise fans are also pleased with Religion Of Peace: uncompromising hard beats topped with repetitive barbaric sounds and a bombast that makes your eardrums slowly melt. We finish with one of my personal favorites, Together As One: deep dark industrial techno beats that bring you into ecstasy, topped up with some electronic effects.

This Belgian artist, who has his base in Berlin now, presents us a pearl of rhythmic underground music. For three decades, Eric makes steamy beats, sometimes in combination with dark atmospheres and ethnic sounds, but always harmonious. A must for every fan of the genre, with (as always) new surprises and a perfect balance of ambient, tribal, noise, soundscapes, and of course a tsunami of danceable beats. Immerse yourself in this sea of ​​industrial experimental sounds and enjoy this great album.

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


NL

Twee jaar na zijn debuut ‘Crashed’ voor het Dotmunds Hands label is er nu de opvolger ‘Domination’. Eric Van Wonterghem (Sonar, ABC, Insect) kan als een veteraan in het genre beschouwd worden, maar dit wil zeker niet zeggen dat er van enige ‘retour’ al sprake zou zijn. Met zijn 9e album in totaal is het ook nu weer in de roos. Het hele donkere alternatieve elektronische pad wordt bewandeld, soms met hippe techno schoentjes, dan weer komen de zware industriële combat shoes tevoorschijn, ja er is zelfs plaats voor excentrieke sandalen om de nodige etnische klanken te lijf te gaan.

Openend met de titeltrack, aarzelend met de nodige elektronische effecten, en dan zijn ze daar, met militaire precisie worden dansbeats op je losgelaten, dit is de herkenbare massieve underground techno van Monolith, en de energetische industriële motor wordt gestart voor een 15 tracks durende muzikale belevenis.

Angstige klanken dan op 'Angel Of Death', de kille beats in combinatie met verwarrende bassen loodsen ons naar donkere oorden, de invallende repetitieve beats doen de rest, en zo wordt een elektronische trance gecreëerd die ons doet wegdromen naar het land der verdoemden.

Maar de veelzijdigheid van deze Vlaamse artiest is wereldwijd bekend, 'Bridges' brengt ons onherroepelijk naar het alternatieve club circuit, de bombastische ritmes krijgen na een tijdje de versterking van meer ijzingwekkende beats, messcherpe klanken die samenkomen tot een perfect geheel en door heel je lijf denderen. Dansschoenen aan dus, ook voor old school nummers als 'Oppression' en 'Nerve Net', monotone hypnotiserende geluiden die je wegvoeren naar een donkere underground club in de vroege uurtjes.

Maar met 'Reconstructed' schakelt Eric nog een tandje hoger, een echte dansvloerknaller, stilzitten is hier niet meer aan de orde, de harde 130bpm techno beats veroveren je geest en laten je niet meer los tot je lichaam zich volledig overgeeft aan deze magistrale melodieën.

In 'Dust Of India' wordt de Disco Buddha vakkundig ingeruild voor een praktiserende hindoe, de repetitieve etnische klanken in combinatie met de hypnotiserende en terugkerende loops brengen ons in een Aziatische trance, zo ook in 'Baigari', de ingetogen exotische klanken en atmosferen geven een gevoel van totale overgave en rust, om dan weer brutaal te ontwaken uit deze geestelijke extase met 'The Bell Witch', pure techno geluiden met opwindende en moderne ritmes, en nogmaals dansmateriaal van de bovenste plank.

Ook de rhytm’ n noise liefhebbers komen aan hun trekken, met ‘Religion Of Peace’ worden compromisloze harde beats overgoten met repetitieve barbaarse geluiden en geserveerd met de nodige bombast en laten zo je trommelvliezen langzaam wegsmelten. Eindigen met een van mijn persoonlijke favorieten, ‘Together As One', diepe donkere techno industriële beats die je in vervoering brengen, opgetopt met de nodige elektronische effecten, aarzelende samples en gekleurde klanken

Deze Belgische artiest, die ondertussen zijn basis heeft in Berlijn presenteert ons hier een pareltje in ritmische underground muziek. Al drie decennia lang brengt Eric ons stomende beats, soms in combinatie met donkere atmosferen of etnische klanken, maar die steeds een harmonisch en soms zelf een euforisch gevoel geven met de nodige ruimte voor persoonlijke fantasie. Een must dus voor elke liefhebber van het genre met steeds weer nieuwe verrassingen en een perfecte balans vormen tussen ambient, tribal, noise, soundscapes en natuurlijk een tsunami aan dansbare beats. Laat je onderdompelen in deze zee van industriële experimentele klanken en geniet van dit heerlijk album.

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
DINOSAUR JR. • Sint-Niklaas, De Casino 16-06-2016
LISA CUTHBERT • Kinky Star, Ghent (15/06/2016)
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
SAMARIS • Antwerp, Trix (15/06/2016)
DATE AT MIDNIGHT • Songs To Fall And Forget
PATENBRIGADE: WOLFF • Trabantenstadt
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
THE CULT OF FREE LOVE • Love Revolution
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody

 

Other reviews from MONOLITH
MONOLITH • Crashed
MONOLITH • The Inner Core

 

Same genre: DANCE
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
THE INVISIBLE • Patience
DJ SHADOW • The Mountain Will Fall
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Fractured Sign
DMX KREW • You Exist
XYMOX • Phoenix
PRIMAL SCREAM • Where The Light Gets In
UNDERWORLD • Second Toughest In The Infants-Redux

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man