tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : MONOLITH - Domination

MONOLITH

Domination

MusicCD
DanceDark ElectroElectronicsIndustrial

[90/100]   

Hands Productions
10/12/2016, Peter HESELMANS

EN

Two years after his debut Crashed for Dotmund’s Hands-label, the successor Domination is out now. Eric Van Wonterghem (Sonar, ABC, Insect) is a veteran in the genre, but this does not mean that he takes things easy these days. With his 9th album, Eric is (once again) on target. The whole dark alternative electronic path is traveled, sometimes with some hip techno shoes, sometimes you have to take your industrial combat shoes. Yes, even sandals are required for some ethnic sounds.

The title track (and opener) starts hesitant with some electronic effects, but soon they come: dance beats with a military precision, the recognizable massive underground techno of Monolith, the industrial engine is started for 15 tracks.

Anxious sounds mark Angel Of Death, the chilly beats are combined with a confusing bass which lead us into dark places, the incident repetitive beats do the rest, and thus creates an electronic trance that takes us away of the land of the damned.

The versatility of this Flemish artist is worldwide known, Bridges leads us to the alternative club scene, the bombastic rhythms are strengthed withmore chilling beats, razor-sharp sounds that form a perfect whole and make your body rumble. Dancing shoes are required for old school songs like Oppression and Nerve Net: monotonous hypnotic sounds that lead you to the dark underground club.

With Reconstructed Eric makes another dancefloor killer, the hard 130bpm techno beats are pumped in your mind and your body is completely under the influence of these masterful melodies.

In Dust Of India we discover repetitive ethnic sounds which are combined with the hypnotic and repetitive loops that lead us into an Asian trance, just like in Baigari with subdued exotic sounds and atmospheres that breathes some rest, even if you’re brutally awakened from this spiritual ecstasy by The Bell Witch: pure techno sounds and modern rhythms, and again dance material from the top shelf.

The rhythm ‘n noise fans are also pleased with Religion Of Peace: uncompromising hard beats topped with repetitive barbaric sounds and a bombast that makes your eardrums slowly melt. We finish with one of my personal favorites, Together As One: deep dark industrial techno beats that bring you into ecstasy, topped up with some electronic effects.

This Belgian artist, who has his base in Berlin now, presents us a pearl of rhythmic underground music. For three decades, Eric makes steamy beats, sometimes in combination with dark atmospheres and ethnic sounds, but always harmonious. A must for every fan of the genre, with (as always) new surprises and a perfect balance of ambient, tribal, noise, soundscapes, and of course a tsunami of danceable beats. Immerse yourself in this sea of ​​industrial experimental sounds and enjoy this great album.

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


NL

Twee jaar na zijn debuut ‘Crashed’ voor het Dotmunds Hands label is er nu de opvolger ‘Domination’. Eric Van Wonterghem (Sonar, ABC, Insect) kan als een veteraan in het genre beschouwd worden, maar dit wil zeker niet zeggen dat er van enige ‘retour’ al sprake zou zijn. Met zijn 9e album in totaal is het ook nu weer in de roos. Het hele donkere alternatieve elektronische pad wordt bewandeld, soms met hippe techno schoentjes, dan weer komen de zware industriële combat shoes tevoorschijn, ja er is zelfs plaats voor excentrieke sandalen om de nodige etnische klanken te lijf te gaan.

Openend met de titeltrack, aarzelend met de nodige elektronische effecten, en dan zijn ze daar, met militaire precisie worden dansbeats op je losgelaten, dit is de herkenbare massieve underground techno van Monolith, en de energetische industriële motor wordt gestart voor een 15 tracks durende muzikale belevenis.

Angstige klanken dan op 'Angel Of Death', de kille beats in combinatie met verwarrende bassen loodsen ons naar donkere oorden, de invallende repetitieve beats doen de rest, en zo wordt een elektronische trance gecreëerd die ons doet wegdromen naar het land der verdoemden.

Maar de veelzijdigheid van deze Vlaamse artiest is wereldwijd bekend, 'Bridges' brengt ons onherroepelijk naar het alternatieve club circuit, de bombastische ritmes krijgen na een tijdje de versterking van meer ijzingwekkende beats, messcherpe klanken die samenkomen tot een perfect geheel en door heel je lijf denderen. Dansschoenen aan dus, ook voor old school nummers als 'Oppression' en 'Nerve Net', monotone hypnotiserende geluiden die je wegvoeren naar een donkere underground club in de vroege uurtjes.

Maar met 'Reconstructed' schakelt Eric nog een tandje hoger, een echte dansvloerknaller, stilzitten is hier niet meer aan de orde, de harde 130bpm techno beats veroveren je geest en laten je niet meer los tot je lichaam zich volledig overgeeft aan deze magistrale melodieën.

In 'Dust Of India' wordt de Disco Buddha vakkundig ingeruild voor een praktiserende hindoe, de repetitieve etnische klanken in combinatie met de hypnotiserende en terugkerende loops brengen ons in een Aziatische trance, zo ook in 'Baigari', de ingetogen exotische klanken en atmosferen geven een gevoel van totale overgave en rust, om dan weer brutaal te ontwaken uit deze geestelijke extase met 'The Bell Witch', pure techno geluiden met opwindende en moderne ritmes, en nogmaals dansmateriaal van de bovenste plank.

Ook de rhytm’ n noise liefhebbers komen aan hun trekken, met ‘Religion Of Peace’ worden compromisloze harde beats overgoten met repetitieve barbaarse geluiden en geserveerd met de nodige bombast en laten zo je trommelvliezen langzaam wegsmelten. Eindigen met een van mijn persoonlijke favorieten, ‘Together As One', diepe donkere techno industriële beats die je in vervoering brengen, opgetopt met de nodige elektronische effecten, aarzelende samples en gekleurde klanken

Deze Belgische artiest, die ondertussen zijn basis heeft in Berlijn presenteert ons hier een pareltje in ritmische underground muziek. Al drie decennia lang brengt Eric ons stomende beats, soms in combinatie met donkere atmosferen of etnische klanken, maar die steeds een harmonisch en soms zelf een euforisch gevoel geven met de nodige ruimte voor persoonlijke fantasie. Een must dus voor elke liefhebber van het genre met steeds weer nieuwe verrassingen en een perfecte balans vormen tussen ambient, tribal, noise, soundscapes en natuurlijk een tsunami aan dansbare beats. Laat je onderdompelen in deze zee van industriële experimentele klanken en geniet van dit heerlijk album.

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
DINOSAUR JR. • Sint-Niklaas, De Casino 16-06-2016
LISA CUTHBERT • Kinky Star, Ghent (15/06/2016)
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
SAMARIS • Antwerp, Trix (15/06/2016)
DATE AT MIDNIGHT • Songs To Fall And Forget
PATENBRIGADE: WOLFF • Trabantenstadt
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
THE CULT OF FREE LOVE • Love Revolution
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody

 

Other reviews from MONOLITH
MONOLITH • Crashed
MONOLITH • The Inner Core

 

Same genre: DANCE
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
THE INVISIBLE • Patience
DJ SHADOW • The Mountain Will Fall
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Fractured Sign
DMX KREW • You Exist
XYMOX • Phoenix
PRIMAL SCREAM • Where The Light Gets In

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra
25
09
WULF 7
Porta Nigra
21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom