tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : INVOKE THE INSULT - You Can Trust

INVOKE THE INSULT

You Can Trust

MusicCD
EBMElectro WaveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[80/100]   

EK Product
10/12/2016, Peter HESELMANS

EN

Invoke The Insult is a relatively new name in the Swedish electro scene. Jonas and Klas are both from the Gothenburg region, offering us some Scandinavian electro/industrial style. ITI has been five years around, and now finally the album You Can Trust is out: danceable electronic music with influences from bands like The Klinik, Cabaret Voltaire and Front 242.

Introvert opens with powerful beats, seasoned with colored rhythms. The aggressive vocals on this album are striking and make it all sound rougher. Drowning evolves from a fresh synth pop riff to a dark song. Talking about fanatics! Uneven Terms and With Me are pure EBM, hard machining beats with dark and grim sounds. Time to polish the combat shoes so we can conquer the dance floor of the underground. Hatelunch is one of my personal favorites on this album: intense, very rhythmic and topped with a few vocal samples. The fresh and chilly synth effects lift this track to a higher level.

The recipe Jonas and Klas is made of old-school and new-school. Dead Rage and Smothely Insain combine hard EBM sounds with cool electronic loops and rhythms. But it also can be more experimental; Failing System could do well in a dark alternative club. More dynamic and danceable synth sounds are heard in Extroverted. My Drug, has a very challenging chorus, a track that is slightly inspired by electro pop.

This first rendez-vous with ITI will be remembered, the love for electronic equipment, rhythm boxes and synths is clear on this album. Let us hope to hear more in the future.

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


NL

Een relatief nieuwe naam in de Zweedse electro scene is Invoke The Insult. Jonas en Klas beiden afkomstig uit de regio Göteborg, brengen ons een staaltje van hun Scandinavische electro/industrialstijl

ITI is echter al meer dan vijf jaar actief, en nu is er dus eindelijk het 13delig album You Can Trust: dansbare elektronische muziek met invloeden van bands als The Klinik, Cabaret Voltaire en zeker Front 242.

Introvert opent de debatten met koele doch krachtige beats, gekruid met gekleurde ritmes. Opvallend op dit album zijn de agressieve vocalen die de meeste tracks behoorlijk vuriger en ruwer laten klinken. Drowning evolueert van een frisse synthpopriff naar een behoorlijk fanatieke donkere song.

En over fanatiek gesproken: Uneven Terms en With Me bieden onvervalste EBM, harde machinale beats met donkere en grimmige klanken die ons spontaan de combatshoes laten oppoetsen om eens flink uit de bol te gaan op de undergrounddansvloer.

Hatelunch is een van mijn persoonlijke favorieten op dit album: intens, zeer ritmisch en opgetopt met enkele vocale samples. De frisse syntheffecten en kille bassen tillen deze track naar een aangename dimensie.

Het recept van Jonas en Klas is gelijktijdig oldschool en newschool georiënteerd, Deadrage en Smothely Insain combineren harde strijdbare EBM-klanken met koele elektronische loops en ritmes. Maar het mag ook iets experimenteler zijn; Failing System zou mooi tot zijn recht komen in een donkere alternatieve club. Meer dansbare en dynamische synthgeluiden in Extrovert en My Drug, met een heel uitdagend maar zeer fris en behaaglijk refrein, een track die zonder de snijdende zang iets meer electro-pop geïnspireerd is.

Deze eerste afspraak met ITI kan als een klein succesje beschouwd worden, de liefde voor elektronische apparatuur, ritmeboxen en synths straalt af op dit album en laten ons hopen op meer in de toekomst.

Tracklist:
01. Introvert 4:25 02. Drowning 5:07 03. Unever Terms 3:10 04. Hatelunch 5:10 05. Deadrage 6:09 06. Smothely Insain 5:50 07. With Me 4:29 08. Help Me Up 4:51 09. Move Along 6:17 10. My Drug (Mental Metal) 5:22 11. Failing System 5:01 12. Extrovert 4:27 13. Falling Free (bonus track) 4:02

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
15
02
MINISTRY
Same Old Madness