tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : INVOKE THE INSULT - You Can Trust

INVOKE THE INSULT

You Can Trust

MusicCD
EBMElectro WaveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[80/100]   

EK Product
10/12/2016, Peter HESELMANS

EN

Invoke The Insult is a relatively new name in the Swedish electro scene. Jonas and Klas are both from the Gothenburg region, offering us some Scandinavian electro/industrial style. ITI has been five years around, and now finally the album You Can Trust is out: danceable electronic music with influences from bands like The Klinik, Cabaret Voltaire and Front 242.

Introvert opens with powerful beats, seasoned with colored rhythms. The aggressive vocals on this album are striking and make it all sound rougher. Drowning evolves from a fresh synth pop riff to a dark song. Talking about fanatics! Uneven Terms and With Me are pure EBM, hard machining beats with dark and grim sounds. Time to polish the combat shoes so we can conquer the dance floor of the underground. Hatelunch is one of my personal favorites on this album: intense, very rhythmic and topped with a few vocal samples. The fresh and chilly synth effects lift this track to a higher level.

The recipe Jonas and Klas is made of old-school and new-school. Dead Rage and Smothely Insain combine hard EBM sounds with cool electronic loops and rhythms. But it also can be more experimental; Failing System could do well in a dark alternative club. More dynamic and danceable synth sounds are heard in Extroverted. My Drug, has a very challenging chorus, a track that is slightly inspired by electro pop.

This first rendez-vous with ITI will be remembered, the love for electronic equipment, rhythm boxes and synths is clear on this album. Let us hope to hear more in the future.

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


NL

Een relatief nieuwe naam in de Zweedse electro scene is Invoke The Insult. Jonas en Klas beiden afkomstig uit de regio Göteborg, brengen ons een staaltje van hun Scandinavische electro/industrialstijl

ITI is echter al meer dan vijf jaar actief, en nu is er dus eindelijk het 13delig album You Can Trust: dansbare elektronische muziek met invloeden van bands als The Klinik, Cabaret Voltaire en zeker Front 242.

Introvert opent de debatten met koele doch krachtige beats, gekruid met gekleurde ritmes. Opvallend op dit album zijn de agressieve vocalen die de meeste tracks behoorlijk vuriger en ruwer laten klinken. Drowning evolueert van een frisse synthpopriff naar een behoorlijk fanatieke donkere song.

En over fanatiek gesproken: Uneven Terms en With Me bieden onvervalste EBM, harde machinale beats met donkere en grimmige klanken die ons spontaan de combatshoes laten oppoetsen om eens flink uit de bol te gaan op de undergrounddansvloer.

Hatelunch is een van mijn persoonlijke favorieten op dit album: intens, zeer ritmisch en opgetopt met enkele vocale samples. De frisse syntheffecten en kille bassen tillen deze track naar een aangename dimensie.

Het recept van Jonas en Klas is gelijktijdig oldschool en newschool georiënteerd, Deadrage en Smothely Insain combineren harde strijdbare EBM-klanken met koele elektronische loops en ritmes. Maar het mag ook iets experimenteler zijn; Failing System zou mooi tot zijn recht komen in een donkere alternatieve club. Meer dansbare en dynamische synthgeluiden in Extrovert en My Drug, met een heel uitdagend maar zeer fris en behaaglijk refrein, een track die zonder de snijdende zang iets meer electro-pop geïnspireerd is.

Deze eerste afspraak met ITI kan als een klein succesje beschouwd worden, de liefde voor elektronische apparatuur, ritmeboxen en synths straalt af op dit album en laten ons hopen op meer in de toekomst.

Tracklist:
01. Introvert 4:25 02. Drowning 5:07 03. Unever Terms 3:10 04. Hatelunch 5:10 05. Deadrage 6:09 06. Smothely Insain 5:50 07. With Me 4:29 08. Help Me Up 4:51 09. Move Along 6:17 10. My Drug (Mental Metal) 5:22 11. Failing System 5:01 12. Extrovert 4:27 13. Falling Free (bonus track) 4:02

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!
29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)