tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : INVOKE THE INSULT - You Can Trust

INVOKE THE INSULT

You Can Trust

MusicCD
EBMElectro WaveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[80/100]   

EK Product
10/12/2016, Peter HESELMANS

EN

Invoke The Insult is a relatively new name in the Swedish electro scene. Jonas and Klas are both from the Gothenburg region, offering us some Scandinavian electro/industrial style. ITI has been five years around, and now finally the album You Can Trust is out: danceable electronic music with influences from bands like The Klinik, Cabaret Voltaire and Front 242.

Introvert opens with powerful beats, seasoned with colored rhythms. The aggressive vocals on this album are striking and make it all sound rougher. Drowning evolves from a fresh synth pop riff to a dark song. Talking about fanatics! Uneven Terms and With Me are pure EBM, hard machining beats with dark and grim sounds. Time to polish the combat shoes so we can conquer the dance floor of the underground. Hatelunch is one of my personal favorites on this album: intense, very rhythmic and topped with a few vocal samples. The fresh and chilly synth effects lift this track to a higher level.

The recipe Jonas and Klas is made of old-school and new-school. Dead Rage and Smothely Insain combine hard EBM sounds with cool electronic loops and rhythms. But it also can be more experimental; Failing System could do well in a dark alternative club. More dynamic and danceable synth sounds are heard in Extroverted. My Drug, has a very challenging chorus, a track that is slightly inspired by electro pop.

This first rendez-vous with ITI will be remembered, the love for electronic equipment, rhythm boxes and synths is clear on this album. Let us hope to hear more in the future.

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


NL

Een relatief nieuwe naam in de Zweedse electro scene is Invoke The Insult. Jonas en Klas beiden afkomstig uit de regio Göteborg, brengen ons een staaltje van hun Scandinavische electro/industrialstijl

ITI is echter al meer dan vijf jaar actief, en nu is er dus eindelijk het 13delig album You Can Trust: dansbare elektronische muziek met invloeden van bands als The Klinik, Cabaret Voltaire en zeker Front 242.

Introvert opent de debatten met koele doch krachtige beats, gekruid met gekleurde ritmes. Opvallend op dit album zijn de agressieve vocalen die de meeste tracks behoorlijk vuriger en ruwer laten klinken. Drowning evolueert van een frisse synthpopriff naar een behoorlijk fanatieke donkere song.

En over fanatiek gesproken: Uneven Terms en With Me bieden onvervalste EBM, harde machinale beats met donkere en grimmige klanken die ons spontaan de combatshoes laten oppoetsen om eens flink uit de bol te gaan op de undergrounddansvloer.

Hatelunch is een van mijn persoonlijke favorieten op dit album: intens, zeer ritmisch en opgetopt met enkele vocale samples. De frisse syntheffecten en kille bassen tillen deze track naar een aangename dimensie.

Het recept van Jonas en Klas is gelijktijdig oldschool en newschool georiënteerd, Deadrage en Smothely Insain combineren harde strijdbare EBM-klanken met koele elektronische loops en ritmes. Maar het mag ook iets experimenteler zijn; Failing System zou mooi tot zijn recht komen in een donkere alternatieve club. Meer dansbare en dynamische synthgeluiden in Extrovert en My Drug, met een heel uitdagend maar zeer fris en behaaglijk refrein, een track die zonder de snijdende zang iets meer electro-pop geïnspireerd is.

Deze eerste afspraak met ITI kan als een klein succesje beschouwd worden, de liefde voor elektronische apparatuur, ritmeboxen en synths straalt af op dit album en laten ons hopen op meer in de toekomst.

Tracklist:
01. Introvert 4:25 02. Drowning 5:07 03. Unever Terms 3:10 04. Hatelunch 5:10 05. Deadrage 6:09 06. Smothely Insain 5:50 07. With Me 4:29 08. Help Me Up 4:51 09. Move Along 6:17 10. My Drug (Mental Metal) 5:22 11. Failing System 5:01 12. Extrovert 4:27 13. Falling Free (bonus track) 4:02

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis