tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : INVOKE THE INSULT - You Can Trust

INVOKE THE INSULT

You Can Trust

MusicCD
EBMElectro WaveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[80/100]   

EK Product
10/12/2016, Peter HESELMANS

EN

Invoke The Insult is a relatively new name in the Swedish electro scene. Jonas and Klas are both from the Gothenburg region, offering us some Scandinavian electro/industrial style. ITI has been five years around, and now finally the album You Can Trust is out: danceable electronic music with influences from bands like The Klinik, Cabaret Voltaire and Front 242.

Introvert opens with powerful beats, seasoned with colored rhythms. The aggressive vocals on this album are striking and make it all sound rougher. Drowning evolves from a fresh synth pop riff to a dark song. Talking about fanatics! Uneven Terms and With Me are pure EBM, hard machining beats with dark and grim sounds. Time to polish the combat shoes so we can conquer the dance floor of the underground. Hatelunch is one of my personal favorites on this album: intense, very rhythmic and topped with a few vocal samples. The fresh and chilly synth effects lift this track to a higher level.

The recipe Jonas and Klas is made of old-school and new-school. Dead Rage and Smothely Insain combine hard EBM sounds with cool electronic loops and rhythms. But it also can be more experimental; Failing System could do well in a dark alternative club. More dynamic and danceable synth sounds are heard in Extroverted. My Drug, has a very challenging chorus, a track that is slightly inspired by electro pop.

This first rendez-vous with ITI will be remembered, the love for electronic equipment, rhythm boxes and synths is clear on this album. Let us hope to hear more in the future.

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


NL

Een relatief nieuwe naam in de Zweedse electro scene is Invoke The Insult. Jonas en Klas beiden afkomstig uit de regio Göteborg, brengen ons een staaltje van hun Scandinavische electro/industrialstijl

ITI is echter al meer dan vijf jaar actief, en nu is er dus eindelijk het 13delig album You Can Trust: dansbare elektronische muziek met invloeden van bands als The Klinik, Cabaret Voltaire en zeker Front 242.

Introvert opent de debatten met koele doch krachtige beats, gekruid met gekleurde ritmes. Opvallend op dit album zijn de agressieve vocalen die de meeste tracks behoorlijk vuriger en ruwer laten klinken. Drowning evolueert van een frisse synthpopriff naar een behoorlijk fanatieke donkere song.

En over fanatiek gesproken: Uneven Terms en With Me bieden onvervalste EBM, harde machinale beats met donkere en grimmige klanken die ons spontaan de combatshoes laten oppoetsen om eens flink uit de bol te gaan op de undergrounddansvloer.

Hatelunch is een van mijn persoonlijke favorieten op dit album: intens, zeer ritmisch en opgetopt met enkele vocale samples. De frisse syntheffecten en kille bassen tillen deze track naar een aangename dimensie.

Het recept van Jonas en Klas is gelijktijdig oldschool en newschool georiënteerd, Deadrage en Smothely Insain combineren harde strijdbare EBM-klanken met koele elektronische loops en ritmes. Maar het mag ook iets experimenteler zijn; Failing System zou mooi tot zijn recht komen in een donkere alternatieve club. Meer dansbare en dynamische synthgeluiden in Extrovert en My Drug, met een heel uitdagend maar zeer fris en behaaglijk refrein, een track die zonder de snijdende zang iets meer electro-pop geïnspireerd is.

Deze eerste afspraak met ITI kan als een klein succesje beschouwd worden, de liefde voor elektronische apparatuur, ritmeboxen en synths straalt af op dit album en laten ons hopen op meer in de toekomst.

Tracklist:
01. Introvert 4:25 02. Drowning 5:07 03. Unever Terms 3:10 04. Hatelunch 5:10 05. Deadrage 6:09 06. Smothely Insain 5:50 07. With Me 4:29 08. Help Me Up 4:51 09. Move Along 6:17 10. My Drug (Mental Metal) 5:22 11. Failing System 5:01 12. Extrovert 4:27 13. Falling Free (bonus track) 4:02

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design