tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : INVOKE THE INSULT - You Can Trust

INVOKE THE INSULT

You Can Trust

MusicCD
EBMElectro WaveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[80/100]   

EK Product
10/12/2016, Peter HESELMANS

EN

Invoke The Insult is a relatively new name in the Swedish electro scene. Jonas and Klas are both from the Gothenburg region, offering us some Scandinavian electro/industrial style. ITI has been five years around, and now finally the album You Can Trust is out: danceable electronic music with influences from bands like The Klinik, Cabaret Voltaire and Front 242.

Introvert opens with powerful beats, seasoned with colored rhythms. The aggressive vocals on this album are striking and make it all sound rougher. Drowning evolves from a fresh synth pop riff to a dark song. Talking about fanatics! Uneven Terms and With Me are pure EBM, hard machining beats with dark and grim sounds. Time to polish the combat shoes so we can conquer the dance floor of the underground. Hatelunch is one of my personal favorites on this album: intense, very rhythmic and topped with a few vocal samples. The fresh and chilly synth effects lift this track to a higher level.

The recipe Jonas and Klas is made of old-school and new-school. Dead Rage and Smothely Insain combine hard EBM sounds with cool electronic loops and rhythms. But it also can be more experimental; Failing System could do well in a dark alternative club. More dynamic and danceable synth sounds are heard in Extroverted. My Drug, has a very challenging chorus, a track that is slightly inspired by electro pop.

This first rendez-vous with ITI will be remembered, the love for electronic equipment, rhythm boxes and synths is clear on this album. Let us hope to hear more in the future.

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


NL

Een relatief nieuwe naam in de Zweedse electro scene is Invoke The Insult. Jonas en Klas beiden afkomstig uit de regio Göteborg, brengen ons een staaltje van hun Scandinavische electro/industrialstijl

ITI is echter al meer dan vijf jaar actief, en nu is er dus eindelijk het 13delig album You Can Trust: dansbare elektronische muziek met invloeden van bands als The Klinik, Cabaret Voltaire en zeker Front 242.

Introvert opent de debatten met koele doch krachtige beats, gekruid met gekleurde ritmes. Opvallend op dit album zijn de agressieve vocalen die de meeste tracks behoorlijk vuriger en ruwer laten klinken. Drowning evolueert van een frisse synthpopriff naar een behoorlijk fanatieke donkere song.

En over fanatiek gesproken: Uneven Terms en With Me bieden onvervalste EBM, harde machinale beats met donkere en grimmige klanken die ons spontaan de combatshoes laten oppoetsen om eens flink uit de bol te gaan op de undergrounddansvloer.

Hatelunch is een van mijn persoonlijke favorieten op dit album: intens, zeer ritmisch en opgetopt met enkele vocale samples. De frisse syntheffecten en kille bassen tillen deze track naar een aangename dimensie.

Het recept van Jonas en Klas is gelijktijdig oldschool en newschool georiënteerd, Deadrage en Smothely Insain combineren harde strijdbare EBM-klanken met koele elektronische loops en ritmes. Maar het mag ook iets experimenteler zijn; Failing System zou mooi tot zijn recht komen in een donkere alternatieve club. Meer dansbare en dynamische synthgeluiden in Extrovert en My Drug, met een heel uitdagend maar zeer fris en behaaglijk refrein, een track die zonder de snijdende zang iets meer electro-pop geïnspireerd is.

Deze eerste afspraak met ITI kan als een klein succesje beschouwd worden, de liefde voor elektronische apparatuur, ritmeboxen en synths straalt af op dit album en laten ons hopen op meer in de toekomst.

Tracklist:
01. Introvert 4:25 02. Drowning 5:07 03. Unever Terms 3:10 04. Hatelunch 5:10 05. Deadrage 6:09 06. Smothely Insain 5:50 07. With Me 4:29 08. Help Me Up 4:51 09. Move Along 6:17 10. My Drug (Mental Metal) 5:22 11. Failing System 5:01 12. Extrovert 4:27 13. Falling Free (bonus track) 4:02

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SPOOKYLAND • Beauty Already Beautiful
FEWS • Means
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
NERVOSA • Agony
SPARK! • Maskiner
DEAD RABBITS • The Ticket That Exploded
RHOMBUS • Purity & Perversion
NEON LINES • Demo
STENDAL BLAST • Ein Abschied - Das Letzte Konzert
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous

 

Same genre: EBM
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
SANDIE TRASH • Tu Veux Monter Dans Le Wagon?
S/HE • Who Do You Love
SEVERED HEADS • Stretcher

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
PARRALOX • Subculture
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words

Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On