tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : FEWS - Means

FEWS

Means

MusicCD
IndiePost Punk

[83/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Luck is undoubtedly an important factor when talking about the succes of a band, although talent will always be an important prerequisite. Fews can count on both thanks to top producer Dan Carey (from Tame Impala to Franz Ferdinand), who discovered the demo of the band. This is an experienced formation, and you hear it right from the beginning of this debut.

In England, the band has been quite successful. Tracks like The Zoo and 100 Goosebumps are played to death on Music 6 and Fews already supported acts like the hugely popular Bloc Party.

The style? Noisy post-punk with irresistible rock melodies. The songs of these four (three Swedes and an American who ended up in England) have a high sing-along factor, but somehow they manage to keep their tunes interesting. It is music that makes you happy, (10 Things is just great indie pop), but it also breathes the Weltschmerz of modern, gray (or rather dreary) city life (The Zoo).

Noteworthy is the distinct style of singer Fred that is between Zachary Cole Smith of DIIV and Kevin Parker of Tame Impala. Psychedelic, dreamy, but with an enormous power. Almost all the songs on this album are radio friendly, and because of the original guitar riffs, it’s impossible to get them out of your head. Is Fews the future? We do not know, but it could well be!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Geluk is zonder twijfel een belangrijke factor met betrekking tot het succes van een band, ofschoon talent altijd zal primeren. Fews kon op beide rekenen, mede dank zij het feit dat topproducer Dan Carey (van Tame Impala tot Franz Ferdinand) de demo van de band ontdekte, en dat het hier om een vaardig gezeldschap gaat, dat hoor je vanaf de allereerste seconde van dit debuut.

In Engeland moet je dit viertal al lang niet meer voorstellen. Tracks als The Zoo en 100 Goosebumps zijn grijsgedraaid op Music 6 en Fews stond ook al in het voorprogramma van de immens populaire Bloc Party. De stijl? Noisy post-punk met onweerstaanbare rockmelodieën. De songs van deze vier (drie Zweden en een Amerikaan die uiteindelijk in Engeland zijn beland) bezitten steeds een hoge meezingfactor, maar op de één of andere manier slagen de heren erin om nooit plat te worden. Het is muziek die je tegelijk gelukkig maakt (10 Things is heerlijke indiepop), maar ook de weltschmerz van de moderne, grauwe (zeg maar troosteloze) stad zit erin (The Zoo).

Opmerkelijk bij Fews is de aparte stijl van zanger Fred die het midden houdt tussen die van Zachary Cole Smith van DIIV en Kevin Parker van Tame Impala. Psychedelisch, dromerig, maar toch mpet een een enorme kracht. Bijna alle tracks op deze cd zijn radiovriendelijk, en als gevolg van de originele gitaarpartijen, is het moeilijk om ze niet uit je hoofd te bannen. Is Fews de toekomst? We weten het niet, maar het zou best kunnen!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
NERVOSA • Agony
SPARK! • Maskiner
DEAD RABBITS • The Ticket That Exploded
RHOMBUS • Purity & Perversion
NEON LINES • Demo
STENDAL BLAST • Ein Abschied - Das Letzte Konzert
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH • Motetten (JardinDesVoix & Barokensemble Aspetti Musicali o.l.v. Koen Lamberechts, Gent, Sint-Elisabethkerk, 28/05/2016)
WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT • Wild Roses For The Exit

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + POST PUNK
DIIV • Is The Is Are
B BOYS • No Worry No Mind EP
SUNFLOWER BEAN • Human Ceremony
PROTOMARTYR • The Agent Intellect
MOTH • First Second
ORANJ SON • Psycho Disco Face
THE GARDEN • Haha
BLINDNESS • Wrapped In Plastic
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Haunted
ELECTRAFIXION • Burned

 

Same genre: INDIE
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane