tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : FEWS - Means

FEWS

Means

MusicCD
IndiePost Punk

[83/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Luck is undoubtedly an important factor when talking about the succes of a band, although talent will always be an important prerequisite. Fews can count on both thanks to top producer Dan Carey (from Tame Impala to Franz Ferdinand), who discovered the demo of the band. This is an experienced formation, and you hear it right from the beginning of this debut.

In England, the band has been quite successful. Tracks like The Zoo and 100 Goosebumps are played to death on Music 6 and Fews already supported acts like the hugely popular Bloc Party.

The style? Noisy post-punk with irresistible rock melodies. The songs of these four (three Swedes and an American who ended up in England) have a high sing-along factor, but somehow they manage to keep their tunes interesting. It is music that makes you happy, (10 Things is just great indie pop), but it also breathes the Weltschmerz of modern, gray (or rather dreary) city life (The Zoo).

Noteworthy is the distinct style of singer Fred that is between Zachary Cole Smith of DIIV and Kevin Parker of Tame Impala. Psychedelic, dreamy, but with an enormous power. Almost all the songs on this album are radio friendly, and because of the original guitar riffs, it’s impossible to get them out of your head. Is Fews the future? We do not know, but it could well be!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Geluk is zonder twijfel een belangrijke factor met betrekking tot het succes van een band, ofschoon talent altijd zal primeren. Fews kon op beide rekenen, mede dank zij het feit dat topproducer Dan Carey (van Tame Impala tot Franz Ferdinand) de demo van de band ontdekte, en dat het hier om een vaardig gezeldschap gaat, dat hoor je vanaf de allereerste seconde van dit debuut.

In Engeland moet je dit viertal al lang niet meer voorstellen. Tracks als The Zoo en 100 Goosebumps zijn grijsgedraaid op Music 6 en Fews stond ook al in het voorprogramma van de immens populaire Bloc Party. De stijl? Noisy post-punk met onweerstaanbare rockmelodieën. De songs van deze vier (drie Zweden en een Amerikaan die uiteindelijk in Engeland zijn beland) bezitten steeds een hoge meezingfactor, maar op de één of andere manier slagen de heren erin om nooit plat te worden. Het is muziek die je tegelijk gelukkig maakt (10 Things is heerlijke indiepop), maar ook de weltschmerz van de moderne, grauwe (zeg maar troosteloze) stad zit erin (The Zoo).

Opmerkelijk bij Fews is de aparte stijl van zanger Fred die het midden houdt tussen die van Zachary Cole Smith van DIIV en Kevin Parker van Tame Impala. Psychedelisch, dromerig, maar toch mpet een een enorme kracht. Bijna alle tracks op deze cd zijn radiovriendelijk, en als gevolg van de originele gitaarpartijen, is het moeilijk om ze niet uit je hoofd te bannen. Is Fews de toekomst? We weten het niet, maar het zou best kunnen!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!
10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls