tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : FEWS - Means

FEWS

Means

MusicCD
IndiePost Punk

[83/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Luck is undoubtedly an important factor when talking about the succes of a band, although talent will always be an important prerequisite. Fews can count on both thanks to top producer Dan Carey (from Tame Impala to Franz Ferdinand), who discovered the demo of the band. This is an experienced formation, and you hear it right from the beginning of this debut.

In England, the band has been quite successful. Tracks like The Zoo and 100 Goosebumps are played to death on Music 6 and Fews already supported acts like the hugely popular Bloc Party.

The style? Noisy post-punk with irresistible rock melodies. The songs of these four (three Swedes and an American who ended up in England) have a high sing-along factor, but somehow they manage to keep their tunes interesting. It is music that makes you happy, (10 Things is just great indie pop), but it also breathes the Weltschmerz of modern, gray (or rather dreary) city life (The Zoo).

Noteworthy is the distinct style of singer Fred that is between Zachary Cole Smith of DIIV and Kevin Parker of Tame Impala. Psychedelic, dreamy, but with an enormous power. Almost all the songs on this album are radio friendly, and because of the original guitar riffs, it’s impossible to get them out of your head. Is Fews the future? We do not know, but it could well be!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Geluk is zonder twijfel een belangrijke factor met betrekking tot het succes van een band, ofschoon talent altijd zal primeren. Fews kon op beide rekenen, mede dank zij het feit dat topproducer Dan Carey (van Tame Impala tot Franz Ferdinand) de demo van de band ontdekte, en dat het hier om een vaardig gezeldschap gaat, dat hoor je vanaf de allereerste seconde van dit debuut.

In Engeland moet je dit viertal al lang niet meer voorstellen. Tracks als The Zoo en 100 Goosebumps zijn grijsgedraaid op Music 6 en Fews stond ook al in het voorprogramma van de immens populaire Bloc Party. De stijl? Noisy post-punk met onweerstaanbare rockmelodieën. De songs van deze vier (drie Zweden en een Amerikaan die uiteindelijk in Engeland zijn beland) bezitten steeds een hoge meezingfactor, maar op de één of andere manier slagen de heren erin om nooit plat te worden. Het is muziek die je tegelijk gelukkig maakt (10 Things is heerlijke indiepop), maar ook de weltschmerz van de moderne, grauwe (zeg maar troosteloze) stad zit erin (The Zoo).

Opmerkelijk bij Fews is de aparte stijl van zanger Fred die het midden houdt tussen die van Zachary Cole Smith van DIIV en Kevin Parker van Tame Impala. Psychedelisch, dromerig, maar toch mpet een een enorme kracht. Bijna alle tracks op deze cd zijn radiovriendelijk, en als gevolg van de originele gitaarpartijen, is het moeilijk om ze niet uit je hoofd te bannen. Is Fews de toekomst? We weten het niet, maar het zou best kunnen!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination