tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : FEWS - Means

FEWS

Means

MusicCD
IndiePost Punk

[83/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Luck is undoubtedly an important factor when talking about the succes of a band, although talent will always be an important prerequisite. Fews can count on both thanks to top producer Dan Carey (from Tame Impala to Franz Ferdinand), who discovered the demo of the band. This is an experienced formation, and you hear it right from the beginning of this debut.

In England, the band has been quite successful. Tracks like The Zoo and 100 Goosebumps are played to death on Music 6 and Fews already supported acts like the hugely popular Bloc Party.

The style? Noisy post-punk with irresistible rock melodies. The songs of these four (three Swedes and an American who ended up in England) have a high sing-along factor, but somehow they manage to keep their tunes interesting. It is music that makes you happy, (10 Things is just great indie pop), but it also breathes the Weltschmerz of modern, gray (or rather dreary) city life (The Zoo).

Noteworthy is the distinct style of singer Fred that is between Zachary Cole Smith of DIIV and Kevin Parker of Tame Impala. Psychedelic, dreamy, but with an enormous power. Almost all the songs on this album are radio friendly, and because of the original guitar riffs, it’s impossible to get them out of your head. Is Fews the future? We do not know, but it could well be!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Geluk is zonder twijfel een belangrijke factor met betrekking tot het succes van een band, ofschoon talent altijd zal primeren. Fews kon op beide rekenen, mede dank zij het feit dat topproducer Dan Carey (van Tame Impala tot Franz Ferdinand) de demo van de band ontdekte, en dat het hier om een vaardig gezeldschap gaat, dat hoor je vanaf de allereerste seconde van dit debuut.

In Engeland moet je dit viertal al lang niet meer voorstellen. Tracks als The Zoo en 100 Goosebumps zijn grijsgedraaid op Music 6 en Fews stond ook al in het voorprogramma van de immens populaire Bloc Party. De stijl? Noisy post-punk met onweerstaanbare rockmelodieën. De songs van deze vier (drie Zweden en een Amerikaan die uiteindelijk in Engeland zijn beland) bezitten steeds een hoge meezingfactor, maar op de één of andere manier slagen de heren erin om nooit plat te worden. Het is muziek die je tegelijk gelukkig maakt (10 Things is heerlijke indiepop), maar ook de weltschmerz van de moderne, grauwe (zeg maar troosteloze) stad zit erin (The Zoo).

Opmerkelijk bij Fews is de aparte stijl van zanger Fred die het midden houdt tussen die van Zachary Cole Smith van DIIV en Kevin Parker van Tame Impala. Psychedelisch, dromerig, maar toch mpet een een enorme kracht. Bijna alle tracks op deze cd zijn radiovriendelijk, en als gevolg van de originele gitaarpartijen, is het moeilijk om ze niet uit je hoofd te bannen. Is Fews de toekomst? We weten het niet, maar het zou best kunnen!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'

PHOTOS

28
09
FADERHEAD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
GRENDEL
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
VANGUARD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
SYNTHATTACK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
THE JOKE JAY
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser
25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders