tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : FEWS - Means

FEWS

Means

MusicCD
IndiePost Punk

[83/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Luck is undoubtedly an important factor when talking about the succes of a band, although talent will always be an important prerequisite. Fews can count on both thanks to top producer Dan Carey (from Tame Impala to Franz Ferdinand), who discovered the demo of the band. This is an experienced formation, and you hear it right from the beginning of this debut.

In England, the band has been quite successful. Tracks like The Zoo and 100 Goosebumps are played to death on Music 6 and Fews already supported acts like the hugely popular Bloc Party.

The style? Noisy post-punk with irresistible rock melodies. The songs of these four (three Swedes and an American who ended up in England) have a high sing-along factor, but somehow they manage to keep their tunes interesting. It is music that makes you happy, (10 Things is just great indie pop), but it also breathes the Weltschmerz of modern, gray (or rather dreary) city life (The Zoo).

Noteworthy is the distinct style of singer Fred that is between Zachary Cole Smith of DIIV and Kevin Parker of Tame Impala. Psychedelic, dreamy, but with an enormous power. Almost all the songs on this album are radio friendly, and because of the original guitar riffs, it’s impossible to get them out of your head. Is Fews the future? We do not know, but it could well be!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Geluk is zonder twijfel een belangrijke factor met betrekking tot het succes van een band, ofschoon talent altijd zal primeren. Fews kon op beide rekenen, mede dank zij het feit dat topproducer Dan Carey (van Tame Impala tot Franz Ferdinand) de demo van de band ontdekte, en dat het hier om een vaardig gezeldschap gaat, dat hoor je vanaf de allereerste seconde van dit debuut.

In Engeland moet je dit viertal al lang niet meer voorstellen. Tracks als The Zoo en 100 Goosebumps zijn grijsgedraaid op Music 6 en Fews stond ook al in het voorprogramma van de immens populaire Bloc Party. De stijl? Noisy post-punk met onweerstaanbare rockmelodieën. De songs van deze vier (drie Zweden en een Amerikaan die uiteindelijk in Engeland zijn beland) bezitten steeds een hoge meezingfactor, maar op de één of andere manier slagen de heren erin om nooit plat te worden. Het is muziek die je tegelijk gelukkig maakt (10 Things is heerlijke indiepop), maar ook de weltschmerz van de moderne, grauwe (zeg maar troosteloze) stad zit erin (The Zoo).

Opmerkelijk bij Fews is de aparte stijl van zanger Fred die het midden houdt tussen die van Zachary Cole Smith van DIIV en Kevin Parker van Tame Impala. Psychedelisch, dromerig, maar toch mpet een een enorme kracht. Bijna alle tracks op deze cd zijn radiovriendelijk, en als gevolg van de originele gitaarpartijen, is het moeilijk om ze niet uit je hoofd te bannen. Is Fews de toekomst? We weten het niet, maar het zou best kunnen!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys
21
02
XTORT
Zwart
03
02
MERCIFUL NUNS
Oneironauts
02
02
ANTLER RECORDS
Early Years Vol 1
01
02
YELWORC
The Ghosts I Called

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
38 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 5 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 46 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
24.2.24 International EBM day is coming closer!
20
02
This Charming Band | 40 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album

Concert reviews

16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023
06
05
SIOUXSIE
The glorious resurrection after ten years of silence.

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
ELEKTRIKILL
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Band, Elektrikill
03
02
HAMMERSHOI
French works well with these musical genres. It’s not like rock’n roll in French! It sucks, no ?
27
01
PAS MUSIQUE
An Interview With Pas Musique
26
01
TRAGIC VISIONS
An Interview With EBM/Industrial Band, Tragic Visions
22
01
CAT RAPES DOG
'We will try to put as much energy as possible into our performance. There will be no power ballads!'

PHOTOS

19
02
EKLIPSE FORCED TO MODE ONE CARESS TOUR
Christuskirche Bochum
18
02
LA MUERTE
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
STIN SCATZOR
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
THE ARCH
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
LEBANON HANOVER
Christuskirche Bochum
11
02
SELOFAN
JunkYard Dortmund

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
27
02
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
26
02
MONICA RICHARDS
Into My Own
25
02
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
24
02
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
23
02
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
22
02
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies