tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

05/01/2016 : MOTH - First Second

MOTH

First Second

MusicVinyl
Cold WaveGothicIndiePost Punk

[75/100]   

Peter Out Records
05/01/2016, Luki PUKI

EN

Moth is a Copenhagen quartet on the darker goth side of post-punk. I picked up this release on Bandcamp a while ago and I found myself listening to it lots on my mp3 player. As a vinyl nerd it made sense to get the LP when I picked up fellow Peter Out band mates Hemgraven’s single as an christmas present to myself.

The tracks are split in two types. Slightly more upbeat guitar post-punk (think Pornography era Cure) and gloomier synth cold wave. This isn’t to say the songs don’t gel together. Patrick’s vocals and Runes terrific bass leave you in no doubt: it’s the same band. The variance in styles, which is almost every second track, simply makes the release more interesting to listen to. Vocals are in English and the lyrics are included with the LP.

It’s the band’s first album after a couple of singles and EP’s and it’s great stuff. The LP is limited to 500 copies and has been out since 2014, so hurry up and get a copy before they’re all sold out! 

Luki PUKI
05/01/2016

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W-D8hrHRSNE https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DI0RGZDgtSM#t=21

NL

Moth is een vierkoppige band uit Copenhagen die zijn pijlen richt op postpunk met een donker gothtintje. Het is al een tijdje geleden dat ik deze release van Bandcamp heb gehaald, maar ik betrap er mijzelf op dat ik er steeds naar blijf luisteren. Omdat ik een vinyljunk ben, wilde ik dan ook de lp in mijn collectie hebben. Samen met de single van Hemgraven die ook op Peter Out Records is uitgebracht, werd het mijn kerstcadeautje!

De tracks zijn in twee soorten opgesplitst. Enerzijds heb je de meer upbeat gitaargerichte postpunknummers (denk aan The Cure tijdens de Pornography-dagen) en anderzijds heb je de sombere cold wave die door synthesizers wordt gedomineerd. Dat betekent echter niet dat de nummers niet samenvloeien. Patricks zang en de geweldige bas van Runes laten er geen twijfel over bestaan dat het wel degelijk om dezelfde band gaat. De variatie in stijl maakt trouwens de release alleen maar interessanter. De zang is in het Engels en de teksten vind je binnenin de lp.

Na een paar singles en ep’s is dit de eerste plaat van Moth en die is gewoon geweldig! De lp is op slechts 500 exemplaren uitgebracht en al in 2014 verschenen, je schiet dus maar beter op voordat ze allemaal uitverkocht zijn!

 

Luki PUKI
05/01/2016

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W-D8hrHRSNE https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DI0RGZDgtSM#t=21

 

Next reviews
SOULSAVERS • Kubrick
JORIS LAARMAN • Joris Laarman Lab (Groningen, Groninger Museum, until/tot 10/04/2016)
BRIAN JAMES • The Guitar That Dripped Blood
LUCA BANDINI (SCHONWALD) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • Anyway
PLAY ALONE • Black Glass
END OF THE DREAM • All I Am
NISHE • Underlaps (EP)
MARCUS MARR & CHET FAKER • Work (EP)
DARKRAD • Little Black World

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
SYGO CRIES • In Outside Places
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality

Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)