tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

05/01/2016 : MOTH - First Second

MOTH

First Second

MusicVinyl
Cold WaveGothicIndiePost Punk

[75/100]   

Peter Out Records
05/01/2016, Luki PUKI

EN

Moth is a Copenhagen quartet on the darker goth side of post-punk. I picked up this release on Bandcamp a while ago and I found myself listening to it lots on my mp3 player. As a vinyl nerd it made sense to get the LP when I picked up fellow Peter Out band mates Hemgraven’s single as an christmas present to myself.

The tracks are split in two types. Slightly more upbeat guitar post-punk (think Pornography era Cure) and gloomier synth cold wave. This isn’t to say the songs don’t gel together. Patrick’s vocals and Runes terrific bass leave you in no doubt: it’s the same band. The variance in styles, which is almost every second track, simply makes the release more interesting to listen to. Vocals are in English and the lyrics are included with the LP.

It’s the band’s first album after a couple of singles and EP’s and it’s great stuff. The LP is limited to 500 copies and has been out since 2014, so hurry up and get a copy before they’re all sold out! 

Luki PUKI
05/01/2016

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W-D8hrHRSNE https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DI0RGZDgtSM#t=21

NL

Moth is een vierkoppige band uit Copenhagen die zijn pijlen richt op postpunk met een donker gothtintje. Het is al een tijdje geleden dat ik deze release van Bandcamp heb gehaald, maar ik betrap er mijzelf op dat ik er steeds naar blijf luisteren. Omdat ik een vinyljunk ben, wilde ik dan ook de lp in mijn collectie hebben. Samen met de single van Hemgraven die ook op Peter Out Records is uitgebracht, werd het mijn kerstcadeautje!

De tracks zijn in twee soorten opgesplitst. Enerzijds heb je de meer upbeat gitaargerichte postpunknummers (denk aan The Cure tijdens de Pornography-dagen) en anderzijds heb je de sombere cold wave die door synthesizers wordt gedomineerd. Dat betekent echter niet dat de nummers niet samenvloeien. Patricks zang en de geweldige bas van Runes laten er geen twijfel over bestaan dat het wel degelijk om dezelfde band gaat. De variatie in stijl maakt trouwens de release alleen maar interessanter. De zang is in het Engels en de teksten vind je binnenin de lp.

Na een paar singles en ep’s is dit de eerste plaat van Moth en die is gewoon geweldig! De lp is op slechts 500 exemplaren uitgebracht en al in 2014 verschenen, je schiet dus maar beter op voordat ze allemaal uitverkocht zijn!

 

Luki PUKI
05/01/2016

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W-D8hrHRSNE https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DI0RGZDgtSM#t=21

 

Next reviews
SOULSAVERS • Kubrick
JORIS LAARMAN • Joris Laarman Lab (Groningen, Groninger Museum, until/tot 10/04/2016)
BRIAN JAMES • The Guitar That Dripped Blood
LUCA BANDINI (SCHONWALD) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • Anyway
PLAY ALONE • Black Glass
END OF THE DREAM • All I Am
NISHE • Underlaps (EP)
MARCUS MARR & CHET FAKER • Work (EP)
DARKRAD • Little Black World

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
O VEUX • O Veux

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless

 

Same genre: INDIE
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
STRUGGLER • The Gap
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
XTC • Skylarking

Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void
10
07
BLACK NAIL CABARET
Bête Noire