tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

05/01/2016 : MOTH - First Second

MOTH

First Second

MusicVinyl
Cold WaveGothicIndiePost Punk

[75/100]   

Peter Out Records
05/01/2016, Luki PUKI

EN

Moth is a Copenhagen quartet on the darker goth side of post-punk. I picked up this release on Bandcamp a while ago and I found myself listening to it lots on my mp3 player. As a vinyl nerd it made sense to get the LP when I picked up fellow Peter Out band mates Hemgraven’s single as an christmas present to myself.

The tracks are split in two types. Slightly more upbeat guitar post-punk (think Pornography era Cure) and gloomier synth cold wave. This isn’t to say the songs don’t gel together. Patrick’s vocals and Runes terrific bass leave you in no doubt: it’s the same band. The variance in styles, which is almost every second track, simply makes the release more interesting to listen to. Vocals are in English and the lyrics are included with the LP.

It’s the band’s first album after a couple of singles and EP’s and it’s great stuff. The LP is limited to 500 copies and has been out since 2014, so hurry up and get a copy before they’re all sold out! 

Luki PUKI
05/01/2016

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W-D8hrHRSNE https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DI0RGZDgtSM#t=21

NL

Moth is een vierkoppige band uit Copenhagen die zijn pijlen richt op postpunk met een donker gothtintje. Het is al een tijdje geleden dat ik deze release van Bandcamp heb gehaald, maar ik betrap er mijzelf op dat ik er steeds naar blijf luisteren. Omdat ik een vinyljunk ben, wilde ik dan ook de lp in mijn collectie hebben. Samen met de single van Hemgraven die ook op Peter Out Records is uitgebracht, werd het mijn kerstcadeautje!

De tracks zijn in twee soorten opgesplitst. Enerzijds heb je de meer upbeat gitaargerichte postpunknummers (denk aan The Cure tijdens de Pornography-dagen) en anderzijds heb je de sombere cold wave die door synthesizers wordt gedomineerd. Dat betekent echter niet dat de nummers niet samenvloeien. Patricks zang en de geweldige bas van Runes laten er geen twijfel over bestaan dat het wel degelijk om dezelfde band gaat. De variatie in stijl maakt trouwens de release alleen maar interessanter. De zang is in het Engels en de teksten vind je binnenin de lp.

Na een paar singles en ep’s is dit de eerste plaat van Moth en die is gewoon geweldig! De lp is op slechts 500 exemplaren uitgebracht en al in 2014 verschenen, je schiet dus maar beter op voordat ze allemaal uitverkocht zijn!

 

Luki PUKI
05/01/2016

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W-D8hrHRSNE https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DI0RGZDgtSM#t=21

 

Next reviews
SOULSAVERS • Kubrick
JORIS LAARMAN • Joris Laarman Lab (Groningen, Groninger Museum, until/tot 10/04/2016)
BRIAN JAMES • The Guitar That Dripped Blood
LUCA BANDINI (SCHONWALD) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • Anyway
PLAY ALONE • Black Glass
END OF THE DREAM • All I Am
NISHE • Underlaps (EP)
MARCUS MARR & CHET FAKER • Work (EP)
DARKRAD • Little Black World

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative

Music reviews

18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn
19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 41-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
17
11
40 years of Grotesque by The Fall
17
11
Lord Of The Lost release Fears - 10th Anniversary Edition -
13
11
Today, 39 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh
21
11
LIEF HALL
Roses for Ruins
20
11
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
19
11
WULFBAND
Kalt Blut
18
11
NINE INCH NAILS
Closer
17
11
BLACK NAIL CABARET
My Casual God