tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

05/01/2016 : MOTH - First Second

MOTH

First Second

MusicVinyl
Cold WaveGothicIndiePost Punk

[75/100]   

Peter Out Records
05/01/2016, Luki PUKI

EN

Moth is a Copenhagen quartet on the darker goth side of post-punk. I picked up this release on Bandcamp a while ago and I found myself listening to it lots on my mp3 player. As a vinyl nerd it made sense to get the LP when I picked up fellow Peter Out band mates Hemgraven’s single as an christmas present to myself.

The tracks are split in two types. Slightly more upbeat guitar post-punk (think Pornography era Cure) and gloomier synth cold wave. This isn’t to say the songs don’t gel together. Patrick’s vocals and Runes terrific bass leave you in no doubt: it’s the same band. The variance in styles, which is almost every second track, simply makes the release more interesting to listen to. Vocals are in English and the lyrics are included with the LP.

It’s the band’s first album after a couple of singles and EP’s and it’s great stuff. The LP is limited to 500 copies and has been out since 2014, so hurry up and get a copy before they’re all sold out! 

Luki PUKI
05/01/2016

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W-D8hrHRSNE https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DI0RGZDgtSM#t=21

NL

Moth is een vierkoppige band uit Copenhagen die zijn pijlen richt op postpunk met een donker gothtintje. Het is al een tijdje geleden dat ik deze release van Bandcamp heb gehaald, maar ik betrap er mijzelf op dat ik er steeds naar blijf luisteren. Omdat ik een vinyljunk ben, wilde ik dan ook de lp in mijn collectie hebben. Samen met de single van Hemgraven die ook op Peter Out Records is uitgebracht, werd het mijn kerstcadeautje!

De tracks zijn in twee soorten opgesplitst. Enerzijds heb je de meer upbeat gitaargerichte postpunknummers (denk aan The Cure tijdens de Pornography-dagen) en anderzijds heb je de sombere cold wave die door synthesizers wordt gedomineerd. Dat betekent echter niet dat de nummers niet samenvloeien. Patricks zang en de geweldige bas van Runes laten er geen twijfel over bestaan dat het wel degelijk om dezelfde band gaat. De variatie in stijl maakt trouwens de release alleen maar interessanter. De zang is in het Engels en de teksten vind je binnenin de lp.

Na een paar singles en ep’s is dit de eerste plaat van Moth en die is gewoon geweldig! De lp is op slechts 500 exemplaren uitgebracht en al in 2014 verschenen, je schiet dus maar beter op voordat ze allemaal uitverkocht zijn!

 

Luki PUKI
05/01/2016

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W-D8hrHRSNE https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DI0RGZDgtSM#t=21

 

Next reviews
SOULSAVERS • Kubrick
JORIS LAARMAN • Joris Laarman Lab (Groningen, Groninger Museum, until/tot 10/04/2016)
BRIAN JAMES • The Guitar That Dripped Blood
LUCA BANDINI (SCHONWALD) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • Anyway
PLAY ALONE • Black Glass
END OF THE DREAM • All I Am
NISHE • Underlaps (EP)
MARCUS MARR & CHET FAKER • Work (EP)
DARKRAD • Little Black World

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
DER KLINKE • Decade
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

 

Same genre: INDIE
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us

Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual