tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

05/01/2016 : MOTH - First Second

MOTH

First Second

MusicVinyl
Cold WaveGothicIndiePost Punk

[75/100]   

Peter Out Records
05/01/2016, Luki PUKI

EN

Moth is a Copenhagen quartet on the darker goth side of post-punk. I picked up this release on Bandcamp a while ago and I found myself listening to it lots on my mp3 player. As a vinyl nerd it made sense to get the LP when I picked up fellow Peter Out band mates Hemgraven’s single as an christmas present to myself.

The tracks are split in two types. Slightly more upbeat guitar post-punk (think Pornography era Cure) and gloomier synth cold wave. This isn’t to say the songs don’t gel together. Patrick’s vocals and Runes terrific bass leave you in no doubt: it’s the same band. The variance in styles, which is almost every second track, simply makes the release more interesting to listen to. Vocals are in English and the lyrics are included with the LP.

It’s the band’s first album after a couple of singles and EP’s and it’s great stuff. The LP is limited to 500 copies and has been out since 2014, so hurry up and get a copy before they’re all sold out! 

Luki PUKI
05/01/2016

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W-D8hrHRSNE https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DI0RGZDgtSM#t=21

NL

Moth is een vierkoppige band uit Copenhagen die zijn pijlen richt op postpunk met een donker gothtintje. Het is al een tijdje geleden dat ik deze release van Bandcamp heb gehaald, maar ik betrap er mijzelf op dat ik er steeds naar blijf luisteren. Omdat ik een vinyljunk ben, wilde ik dan ook de lp in mijn collectie hebben. Samen met de single van Hemgraven die ook op Peter Out Records is uitgebracht, werd het mijn kerstcadeautje!

De tracks zijn in twee soorten opgesplitst. Enerzijds heb je de meer upbeat gitaargerichte postpunknummers (denk aan The Cure tijdens de Pornography-dagen) en anderzijds heb je de sombere cold wave die door synthesizers wordt gedomineerd. Dat betekent echter niet dat de nummers niet samenvloeien. Patricks zang en de geweldige bas van Runes laten er geen twijfel over bestaan dat het wel degelijk om dezelfde band gaat. De variatie in stijl maakt trouwens de release alleen maar interessanter. De zang is in het Engels en de teksten vind je binnenin de lp.

Na een paar singles en ep’s is dit de eerste plaat van Moth en die is gewoon geweldig! De lp is op slechts 500 exemplaren uitgebracht en al in 2014 verschenen, je schiet dus maar beter op voordat ze allemaal uitverkocht zijn!

 

Luki PUKI
05/01/2016

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W-D8hrHRSNE https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DI0RGZDgtSM#t=21

 

Next reviews
SOULSAVERS • Kubrick
JORIS LAARMAN • Joris Laarman Lab (Groningen, Groninger Museum, until/tot 10/04/2016)
BRIAN JAMES • The Guitar That Dripped Blood
LUCA BANDINI (SCHONWALD) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • Anyway
PLAY ALONE • Black Glass
END OF THE DREAM • All I Am
NISHE • Underlaps (EP)
MARCUS MARR & CHET FAKER • Work (EP)
DARKRAD • Little Black World

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP

 

Same genre: INDIE
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
NAUT • Raise The Lights
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked