tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

04/01/2016 : PLAY ALONE - Black Glass

PLAY ALONE

Black Glass

MusicDigital
Post Punk

[77/100]   

Self-released
04/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

I have no idea whether this band from Ohio chose the name Play Alone because this happens to be one of the best tracks by Asylum Party, the fact is that the similarities are striking!

Previously they made music as MACHINΣ., but recently (for some unknown reason) they decided to do something else. Black Glass is their first EP. It can be downloaded via Bandcamp.

Never Coming Back is a goth up-tempo song with a drum machine from the old Sisters Of Mercy era. The sound of The Soft Moon is never far away. A nice opener, but even better is the Lost At Sea, in which the wistful guitars sound a bit like (well) Asylum Party. Gorgeous, addictive and delightful music to dream away!

Black Glass is harder, with tight drums that evoke memories of Psychocandy, something you can hear in Know Your Pain too. Watch It Burn is a quieter track, with a psychedelic touch.

Well, we are really impressed by this digital release which is a perfect combination of old school cold wave and contemporary shoegaze. Play Alone is a name to write down in your notebook!

Didier BECU
04/01/2016


NL

Ik heb er geen flauw idee van of deze band uit Ohio koos voor de naam Play Alone omdat dit toevallig ook één van de beste tracks van Asylum Party is, feit is dat de gelijkenissen treffend zijn!

Eerder maakten ze muziek onder MACHINΣ., maar daar is onlangs (voor een onbekende reden) verandering in gebracht. Black Glass is hun allereerste ep die je via Bandcamp kan downloaden.

Never Coming Back is een uptempo gothnummer met een drummachine uit het oude Sisters Of Mercy-tijdperk en het geluid van The Soft Moon is nooit veraf. Een leuke opener, maar nog beter is Lost At Sea dat (tja) door zijn weemoedige gitaren een beetje Asylum Party-achtig klinkt. Prachtig, verslavend en muziek om heerlijk bij weg te dromen!

Black Glass is iets harder, de strakke drums roepen herinneringen op aan Psychocandy, iets wat je ook hoort in Know Your Pain. Watch It Burn is een wat rustiger nummer, met een psychedelisch laagje.

Tja, we zijn echt wel onder de indruk van deze digitale release die een perfecte combinatie is van old school cold wave en hedendaagse shoegaze. Play Alone is dan ook een naam om in je schriftje te noteren!

Didier BECU
04/01/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis