tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this mp3/download review

04/01/2016 : PLAY ALONE - Black Glass

PLAY ALONE

Black Glass

MusicMP3/Download
Post Punk

[77/100]   

Self-released
04/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

I have no idea whether this band from Ohio chose the name Play Alone because this happens to be one of the best tracks by Asylum Party, the fact is that the similarities are striking!

Previously they made music as MACHINΣ., but recently (for some unknown reason) they decided to do something else. Black Glass is their first EP. It can be downloaded via Bandcamp.

Never Coming Back is a goth up-tempo song with a drum machine from the old Sisters Of Mercy era. The sound of The Soft Moon is never far away. A nice opener, but even better is the Lost At Sea, in which the wistful guitars sound a bit like (well) Asylum Party. Gorgeous, addictive and delightful music to dream away!

Black Glass is harder, with tight drums that evoke memories of Psychocandy, something you can hear in Know Your Pain too. Watch It Burn is a quieter track, with a psychedelic touch.

Well, we are really impressed by this digital release which is a perfect combination of old school cold wave and contemporary shoegaze. Play Alone is a name to write down in your notebook!

Didier BECU
04/01/2016


NL

Ik heb er geen flauw idee van of deze band uit Ohio koos voor de naam Play Alone omdat dit toevallig ook één van de beste tracks van Asylum Party is, feit is dat de gelijkenissen treffend zijn!

Eerder maakten ze muziek onder MACHINΣ., maar daar is onlangs (voor een onbekende reden) verandering in gebracht. Black Glass is hun allereerste ep die je via Bandcamp kan downloaden.

Never Coming Back is een uptempo gothnummer met een drummachine uit het oude Sisters Of Mercy-tijdperk en het geluid van The Soft Moon is nooit veraf. Een leuke opener, maar nog beter is Lost At Sea dat (tja) door zijn weemoedige gitaren een beetje Asylum Party-achtig klinkt. Prachtig, verslavend en muziek om heerlijk bij weg te dromen!

Black Glass is iets harder, de strakke drums roepen herinneringen op aan Psychocandy, iets wat je ook hoort in Know Your Pain. Watch It Burn is een wat rustiger nummer, met een psychedelisch laagje.

Tja, we zijn echt wel onder de indruk van deze digitale release die een perfecte combinatie is van old school cold wave en hedendaagse shoegaze. Play Alone is dan ook een naam om in je schriftje te noteren!

Didier BECU
04/01/2016


Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void
10
07
BLACK NAIL CABARET
Bête Noire