tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

04/01/2016 : PLAY ALONE - Black Glass

PLAY ALONE

Black Glass

MusicDigital
Post Punk

[77/100]   

Self-released
04/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

I have no idea whether this band from Ohio chose the name Play Alone because this happens to be one of the best tracks by Asylum Party, the fact is that the similarities are striking!

Previously they made music as MACHINΣ., but recently (for some unknown reason) they decided to do something else. Black Glass is their first EP. It can be downloaded via Bandcamp.

Never Coming Back is a goth up-tempo song with a drum machine from the old Sisters Of Mercy era. The sound of The Soft Moon is never far away. A nice opener, but even better is the Lost At Sea, in which the wistful guitars sound a bit like (well) Asylum Party. Gorgeous, addictive and delightful music to dream away!

Black Glass is harder, with tight drums that evoke memories of Psychocandy, something you can hear in Know Your Pain too. Watch It Burn is a quieter track, with a psychedelic touch.

Well, we are really impressed by this digital release which is a perfect combination of old school cold wave and contemporary shoegaze. Play Alone is a name to write down in your notebook!

Didier BECU
04/01/2016


NL

Ik heb er geen flauw idee van of deze band uit Ohio koos voor de naam Play Alone omdat dit toevallig ook één van de beste tracks van Asylum Party is, feit is dat de gelijkenissen treffend zijn!

Eerder maakten ze muziek onder MACHINΣ., maar daar is onlangs (voor een onbekende reden) verandering in gebracht. Black Glass is hun allereerste ep die je via Bandcamp kan downloaden.

Never Coming Back is een uptempo gothnummer met een drummachine uit het oude Sisters Of Mercy-tijdperk en het geluid van The Soft Moon is nooit veraf. Een leuke opener, maar nog beter is Lost At Sea dat (tja) door zijn weemoedige gitaren een beetje Asylum Party-achtig klinkt. Prachtig, verslavend en muziek om heerlijk bij weg te dromen!

Black Glass is iets harder, de strakke drums roepen herinneringen op aan Psychocandy, iets wat je ook hoort in Know Your Pain. Watch It Burn is een wat rustiger nummer, met een psychedelisch laagje.

Tja, we zijn echt wel onder de indruk van deze digitale release die een perfecte combinatie is van old school cold wave en hedendaagse shoegaze. Play Alone is dan ook een naam om in je schriftje te noteren!

Didier BECU
04/01/2016


Music reviews

27
01
MARTIN L. GORE
The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 39 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)