tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

04/01/2016 : PLAY ALONE - Black Glass

PLAY ALONE

Black Glass

MusicDigital
Post Punk

[77/100]   

Self-released
04/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

I have no idea whether this band from Ohio chose the name Play Alone because this happens to be one of the best tracks by Asylum Party, the fact is that the similarities are striking!

Previously they made music as MACHINΣ., but recently (for some unknown reason) they decided to do something else. Black Glass is their first EP. It can be downloaded via Bandcamp.

Never Coming Back is a goth up-tempo song with a drum machine from the old Sisters Of Mercy era. The sound of The Soft Moon is never far away. A nice opener, but even better is the Lost At Sea, in which the wistful guitars sound a bit like (well) Asylum Party. Gorgeous, addictive and delightful music to dream away!

Black Glass is harder, with tight drums that evoke memories of Psychocandy, something you can hear in Know Your Pain too. Watch It Burn is a quieter track, with a psychedelic touch.

Well, we are really impressed by this digital release which is a perfect combination of old school cold wave and contemporary shoegaze. Play Alone is a name to write down in your notebook!

Didier BECU
04/01/2016


NL

Ik heb er geen flauw idee van of deze band uit Ohio koos voor de naam Play Alone omdat dit toevallig ook één van de beste tracks van Asylum Party is, feit is dat de gelijkenissen treffend zijn!

Eerder maakten ze muziek onder MACHINΣ., maar daar is onlangs (voor een onbekende reden) verandering in gebracht. Black Glass is hun allereerste ep die je via Bandcamp kan downloaden.

Never Coming Back is een uptempo gothnummer met een drummachine uit het oude Sisters Of Mercy-tijdperk en het geluid van The Soft Moon is nooit veraf. Een leuke opener, maar nog beter is Lost At Sea dat (tja) door zijn weemoedige gitaren een beetje Asylum Party-achtig klinkt. Prachtig, verslavend en muziek om heerlijk bij weg te dromen!

Black Glass is iets harder, de strakke drums roepen herinneringen op aan Psychocandy, iets wat je ook hoort in Know Your Pain. Watch It Burn is een wat rustiger nummer, met een psychedelisch laagje.

Tja, we zijn echt wel onder de indruk van deze digitale release die een perfecte combinatie is van old school cold wave en hedendaagse shoegaze. Play Alone is dan ook een naam om in je schriftje te noteren!

Didier BECU
04/01/2016


Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection