tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

04/01/2016 : PLAY ALONE - Black Glass

PLAY ALONE

Black Glass

MusicDigital
Post Punk

[77/100]   

Self-released
04/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

I have no idea whether this band from Ohio chose the name Play Alone because this happens to be one of the best tracks by Asylum Party, the fact is that the similarities are striking!

Previously they made music as MACHINΣ., but recently (for some unknown reason) they decided to do something else. Black Glass is their first EP. It can be downloaded via Bandcamp.

Never Coming Back is a goth up-tempo song with a drum machine from the old Sisters Of Mercy era. The sound of The Soft Moon is never far away. A nice opener, but even better is the Lost At Sea, in which the wistful guitars sound a bit like (well) Asylum Party. Gorgeous, addictive and delightful music to dream away!

Black Glass is harder, with tight drums that evoke memories of Psychocandy, something you can hear in Know Your Pain too. Watch It Burn is a quieter track, with a psychedelic touch.

Well, we are really impressed by this digital release which is a perfect combination of old school cold wave and contemporary shoegaze. Play Alone is a name to write down in your notebook!

Didier BECU
04/01/2016


NL

Ik heb er geen flauw idee van of deze band uit Ohio koos voor de naam Play Alone omdat dit toevallig ook één van de beste tracks van Asylum Party is, feit is dat de gelijkenissen treffend zijn!

Eerder maakten ze muziek onder MACHINΣ., maar daar is onlangs (voor een onbekende reden) verandering in gebracht. Black Glass is hun allereerste ep die je via Bandcamp kan downloaden.

Never Coming Back is een uptempo gothnummer met een drummachine uit het oude Sisters Of Mercy-tijdperk en het geluid van The Soft Moon is nooit veraf. Een leuke opener, maar nog beter is Lost At Sea dat (tja) door zijn weemoedige gitaren een beetje Asylum Party-achtig klinkt. Prachtig, verslavend en muziek om heerlijk bij weg te dromen!

Black Glass is iets harder, de strakke drums roepen herinneringen op aan Psychocandy, iets wat je ook hoort in Know Your Pain. Watch It Burn is een wat rustiger nummer, met een psychedelisch laagje.

Tja, we zijn echt wel onder de indruk van deze digitale release die een perfecte combinatie is van old school cold wave en hedendaagse shoegaze. Play Alone is dan ook een naam om in je schriftje te noteren!

Didier BECU
04/01/2016


Music reviews

17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R
13
08
AIMA
Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
12
08
AUGER
From Now On I

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS
07
08
CHELSEA announce European Tour in September

Concert reviews

07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo
17
08
MOTOR!K
Static
16
08
ENZO KREFT
Disobedient
15
08
DER KLINKE
CURTAINS
14
08
SPIRITUAL FRONT
Tenderness Through Violence
13
08
TEST DEPARTMENT
Landlord
12
08
MERCIFUL NUNS
BLACK HALO