tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/01/2016 : DARKRAD - Little Black World

DARKRAD

Little Black World

MusicCD
ElectronicsExperimentalIndustrial
Audiophob
03/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The name of the label says it all: Audiophob. Indeed: music to listen to! Earlier Little Black World of the Russian-American artist Jana Komaritsa (or Darkrad) was released on tape, but now the German label releases it on CD. And be happy for that, Darkrad’s music is not exactly what you'd call happy, but impressive it certainly is!

It’s not only the cover that is pitch black, the fifteen dark ambient-industrial songs sound like that as well. The titles say enough: Feel The Blood, All Is Wrong or Die In Eclipse. In some way, it seems like Jana is translating her personal nightmares into music.

The sounds are dark, mysterious (even Lynchian) and it all sounds pretty creepy. In fact so creepy, that regularly you turn around to see if anyone is behind you or not! You better put your headphones on when listening to Little Black World so you can discover all the details, because there are plenty of those!

Sometimes it feels like you're walking alone in the catacombs, every sound (even the smallest crack) makes you scared, Little Black World is the true meaning of fear. Dark ambient with a Haus Arafna touch, and even with some Skinny Puppy-like vocals. Sometimes it's kind of futuristic (Feel The Blood would be perfect for a Tarkovsky film). Discover Jana Komaritsa’s manoeuvres in the dark: they are brilliant!

Didier BECU
03/01/2016


NL

De naam van het label zegt eigenlijk alles: Audiophob, muziek om naar te luisteren dus. Eerder is Little Black World van de Russisch-Amerikaanse kunstenares Jana Komaritsa (ofwel Darkrad) op tape uitgebracht, maar nu zorgt het Duitse label voor een uitgave op cd. En prijs je daar zeer gelukkig om, Darkrads muziek is misschien niet meteen wat je vrolijk noemt, imponerend is ze zeker!

Het hoesje ziet er niet alleen gitzwart uit, ook de vijftien darkambient-industrialsongs klinken zo. De gekozen titels spreken boekdelen: Feel The Blood, All Is Wrong of Die In Eclipse. Neen, Jana is beslist geen vrolijke frans, en het lijkt wel alsof ze haar persoonlijke nachtmerries in muziek omzet.

De geluiden zijn donker, vrij mysterieus (zelfs wat Lynchiaans) en het klinkt allemaal vrij griezelig. Zelf zo griezelig, dat je geregeld achterom kijkt of er niemand achter je staat! Je zet dan ook beter de hoofdtelefoon op bij het beluisteren van Little Black World zodat je alle details kan ontdekken, want die zijn er in overvloed!

Soms lijkt het alsof je helemaal alleen in de catacomben bent belandt, ieder geluid (zelfs het kleinste gekraak) jaagt je de stuipen op het lijf. Dark ambient met wat Haus Arafna, en zelfs geregeld wat Skinny Puppy-achtige vocalen. Soms is het wat futuristisch (Feel The Blood zou ideaal passen bij een Tarkovski-film), dan weer duister minimaal. Ontdek de maneuvers in het donker van Jana Komaritsa: ze zijn geniaal!

Didier BECU
03/01/2016


 

Next reviews
MAURIZIO MOSCARELLI • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ROMA AMOR • Una Turbida Estate
END • Subhuman Tracks
EMBASSY OF SILENCE • Verisimilitude
DIMITRI (WOOL-E SHOP) • The Best Of 2015
KEVIN HEWICK • The Best Of 2015
MASSA • MASSA (EP)
JESSICA BARAN-SUREL • Aremorica – Land of Elves
VROMB • Choréographie
EXUVIATED • Last Call To The Void

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
GROUP A • 70 + a =
DENEUVE • Ugly
JOHN 3:16 • The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)
SEIJ MINUS AÇ • Black Acuity Suddenly Diagonal
COIL • Backwards
CABARET VOLTAIRE, CARTER TUTTI & ANDY STOTT • Paris, Villette Sonique (24/05/2015)
KEVIN STRAUWEN • Moving Sound & Music For Film
LINGOUF • Frequences Sensibles
MONO - AMINE • Human Farming
DEFRAG • Drown

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap