tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/01/2016 : DARKRAD - Little Black World

DARKRAD

Little Black World

MusicCD
ElectronicsExperimentalIndustrial
Audiophob
03/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The name of the label says it all: Audiophob. Indeed: music to listen to! Earlier Little Black World of the Russian-American artist Jana Komaritsa (or Darkrad) was released on tape, but now the German label releases it on CD. And be happy for that, Darkrad’s music is not exactly what you'd call happy, but impressive it certainly is!

It’s not only the cover that is pitch black, the fifteen dark ambient-industrial songs sound like that as well. The titles say enough: Feel The Blood, All Is Wrong or Die In Eclipse. In some way, it seems like Jana is translating her personal nightmares into music.

The sounds are dark, mysterious (even Lynchian) and it all sounds pretty creepy. In fact so creepy, that regularly you turn around to see if anyone is behind you or not! You better put your headphones on when listening to Little Black World so you can discover all the details, because there are plenty of those!

Sometimes it feels like you're walking alone in the catacombs, every sound (even the smallest crack) makes you scared, Little Black World is the true meaning of fear. Dark ambient with a Haus Arafna touch, and even with some Skinny Puppy-like vocals. Sometimes it's kind of futuristic (Feel The Blood would be perfect for a Tarkovsky film). Discover Jana Komaritsa’s manoeuvres in the dark: they are brilliant!

Didier BECU
03/01/2016


NL

De naam van het label zegt eigenlijk alles: Audiophob, muziek om naar te luisteren dus. Eerder is Little Black World van de Russisch-Amerikaanse kunstenares Jana Komaritsa (ofwel Darkrad) op tape uitgebracht, maar nu zorgt het Duitse label voor een uitgave op cd. En prijs je daar zeer gelukkig om, Darkrads muziek is misschien niet meteen wat je vrolijk noemt, imponerend is ze zeker!

Het hoesje ziet er niet alleen gitzwart uit, ook de vijftien darkambient-industrialsongs klinken zo. De gekozen titels spreken boekdelen: Feel The Blood, All Is Wrong of Die In Eclipse. Neen, Jana is beslist geen vrolijke frans, en het lijkt wel alsof ze haar persoonlijke nachtmerries in muziek omzet.

De geluiden zijn donker, vrij mysterieus (zelfs wat Lynchiaans) en het klinkt allemaal vrij griezelig. Zelf zo griezelig, dat je geregeld achterom kijkt of er niemand achter je staat! Je zet dan ook beter de hoofdtelefoon op bij het beluisteren van Little Black World zodat je alle details kan ontdekken, want die zijn er in overvloed!

Soms lijkt het alsof je helemaal alleen in de catacomben bent belandt, ieder geluid (zelfs het kleinste gekraak) jaagt je de stuipen op het lijf. Dark ambient met wat Haus Arafna, en zelfs geregeld wat Skinny Puppy-achtige vocalen. Soms is het wat futuristisch (Feel The Blood zou ideaal passen bij een Tarkovski-film), dan weer duister minimaal. Ontdek de maneuvers in het donker van Jana Komaritsa: ze zijn geniaal!

Didier BECU
03/01/2016


 

Next reviews
MAURIZIO MOSCARELLI • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ROMA AMOR • Una Turbida Estate
END • Subhuman Tracks
EMBASSY OF SILENCE • Verisimilitude
DIMITRI (WOOL-E SHOP) • The Best Of 2015
KEVIN HEWICK • The Best Of 2015
MASSA • MASSA (EP)
JESSICA BARAN-SUREL • Aremorica – Land of Elves
VROMB • Choréographie
EXUVIATED • Last Call To The Void

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
GROUP A • 70 + a =
DENEUVE • Ugly
JOHN 3:16 • The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)
SEIJ MINUS AÇ • Black Acuity Suddenly Diagonal
COIL • Backwards
CABARET VOLTAIRE, CARTER TUTTI & ANDY STOTT • Paris, Villette Sonique (24/05/2015)
KEVIN STRAUWEN • Moving Sound & Music For Film
LINGOUF • Frequences Sensibles
MONO - AMINE • Human Farming
DEFRAG • Drown

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual