tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/01/2016 : DARKRAD - Little Black World

DARKRAD

Little Black World

MusicCD
ElectronicsExperimentalIndustrial
Audiophob
03/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The name of the label says it all: Audiophob. Indeed: music to listen to! Earlier Little Black World of the Russian-American artist Jana Komaritsa (or Darkrad) was released on tape, but now the German label releases it on CD. And be happy for that, Darkrad’s music is not exactly what you'd call happy, but impressive it certainly is!

It’s not only the cover that is pitch black, the fifteen dark ambient-industrial songs sound like that as well. The titles say enough: Feel The Blood, All Is Wrong or Die In Eclipse. In some way, it seems like Jana is translating her personal nightmares into music.

The sounds are dark, mysterious (even Lynchian) and it all sounds pretty creepy. In fact so creepy, that regularly you turn around to see if anyone is behind you or not! You better put your headphones on when listening to Little Black World so you can discover all the details, because there are plenty of those!

Sometimes it feels like you're walking alone in the catacombs, every sound (even the smallest crack) makes you scared, Little Black World is the true meaning of fear. Dark ambient with a Haus Arafna touch, and even with some Skinny Puppy-like vocals. Sometimes it's kind of futuristic (Feel The Blood would be perfect for a Tarkovsky film). Discover Jana Komaritsa’s manoeuvres in the dark: they are brilliant!

Didier BECU
03/01/2016


NL

De naam van het label zegt eigenlijk alles: Audiophob, muziek om naar te luisteren dus. Eerder is Little Black World van de Russisch-Amerikaanse kunstenares Jana Komaritsa (ofwel Darkrad) op tape uitgebracht, maar nu zorgt het Duitse label voor een uitgave op cd. En prijs je daar zeer gelukkig om, Darkrads muziek is misschien niet meteen wat je vrolijk noemt, imponerend is ze zeker!

Het hoesje ziet er niet alleen gitzwart uit, ook de vijftien darkambient-industrialsongs klinken zo. De gekozen titels spreken boekdelen: Feel The Blood, All Is Wrong of Die In Eclipse. Neen, Jana is beslist geen vrolijke frans, en het lijkt wel alsof ze haar persoonlijke nachtmerries in muziek omzet.

De geluiden zijn donker, vrij mysterieus (zelfs wat Lynchiaans) en het klinkt allemaal vrij griezelig. Zelf zo griezelig, dat je geregeld achterom kijkt of er niemand achter je staat! Je zet dan ook beter de hoofdtelefoon op bij het beluisteren van Little Black World zodat je alle details kan ontdekken, want die zijn er in overvloed!

Soms lijkt het alsof je helemaal alleen in de catacomben bent belandt, ieder geluid (zelfs het kleinste gekraak) jaagt je de stuipen op het lijf. Dark ambient met wat Haus Arafna, en zelfs geregeld wat Skinny Puppy-achtige vocalen. Soms is het wat futuristisch (Feel The Blood zou ideaal passen bij een Tarkovski-film), dan weer duister minimaal. Ontdek de maneuvers in het donker van Jana Komaritsa: ze zijn geniaal!

Didier BECU
03/01/2016


 

Next reviews
MAURIZIO MOSCARELLI • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ROMA AMOR • Una Turbida Estate
END • Subhuman Tracks
EMBASSY OF SILENCE • Verisimilitude
DIMITRI (WOOL-E SHOP) • The Best Of 2015
KEVIN HEWICK • The Best Of 2015
MASSA • MASSA (EP)
JESSICA BARAN-SUREL • Aremorica – Land of Elves
VROMB • Choréographie
EXUVIATED • Last Call To The Void

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
GROUP A • 70 + a =
DENEUVE • Ugly
JOHN 3:16 • The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)
SEIJ MINUS AÇ • Black Acuity Suddenly Diagonal
COIL • Backwards
CABARET VOLTAIRE, CARTER TUTTI & ANDY STOTT • Paris, Villette Sonique (24/05/2015)
KEVIN STRAUWEN • Moving Sound & Music For Film
LINGOUF • Frequences Sensibles
MONO - AMINE • Human Farming
DEFRAG • Drown

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger