tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

12/01/2015 : KEVIN STRAUWEN - Moving Sound & Music For Film

KEVIN STRAUWEN

Moving Sound & Music For Film

MusicCassette
ElectronicsExperimentalIndustrialSoundscapeSoundtrack

[70/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
12/01/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

You might know Kevin Strauwen as the man behind the True Zebra project. Under that name, he released a self-titled album in 2010 and the CD Adoremotion in 2014. His compositions are situated between electro and industrial with a high experimental and ambient content. Meanwhile Wool-E Tapes has release the cassette Moving Sound & Music For Films, with tracks that Kevin Strauwen composed in the last 15 years for existing and not existing (short)films. These compositions are soundscapes that often attract the attention by their striking rhythm, the dark tones and the choral singing, other times you can imagine that they serve as background for dialogue scenes or as a backdrop for nature films (due to the use of sounds of birds). Moreover, they vary in length (between 1 and 6 minutes) and some fragments have more impact than others. Whether the songs were actually used for cinematic productions, we could not figure out, and the titles do not always unravel the underlying intention (would there be one) of the songs.

Introduction of the Characters in a Sound Track (2'52") starts threatening and rhythmic as the music for the opening sequence of a film noir. After a short choral, a guitar takes the lead and the menacing synth sound returns gently, while you can imagine that movie characters are walking through a dark alley or a windy park. Bird sounds welcome you in Boy Says Nothing (4'14"), in which the abrasive sound could come of footsteps, and the whispering voice is following the main character and creates a brooding atmosphere. Music for a Short Film When a Man ​​Lays Down (5'54") is quiet and minimalist, because not much is happening on the screen, while the piano in Music for a Short Film When a Man ​​Woke Up (1'30") barely triggers the action. Fade Away (3'51") actually has a real melody and vocals against a background of acoustic guitar and gentle electronic drops and Uncertain Boxed Saviour (6’15") is a wide and layered synth project, occasionally interrupted by distant birdsong on a bed of quietly growling electronic tones as fog horns in a creaky and industrial landscape of squealing cranes and shrieking forklifts. 1475 (1'02") introduces a distorted male voice against a pure industrial background and 7th at Sea (2'41") sounds like a simple (electronic) barrel organ, perhaps for a walk along the Amsterdam Zeedijk after a bad joint.

I Need to Change? (2'17") again introduces atmospheric sounds and then electro pop tunes, adorned with whispery, almost panting voices. Little Man on the Screen (2'2 ) is a perfect electro riddle for a movie scene in which little happens, but in which the voltage gradually increases, and finally Scars (3'06") floats on peaceful (and later less peaceful) electronic beats and hidden voices to a cinematic climax.

Moving Sound & Music For Films by Kevin Strauwen is out on Wool-E Tapes (cassette).

 

William LIÉNARD
12/01/2015


NL

Kevin Strauwen kent u wellicht als de man achter het project True Zebra. Onder die naam bracht hij een titelloos album uit in 2010 en de cd Adoremotion in 2014. Z’n composities situeren zich tussen electropop en industrial met een hoog experimenteel en ambient gehalte. Ondertussen is bij Wool-E Tapes de cassette Moving Sound & Music For Film verschenen met muziekstukken die Kevin Strauwen de voorbije 15 jaar componeerde (in eigen naam of alter ego’s) voor bestaande en niet bestaande (kort)films. Het zijn soundscapes die vaak de aandacht trekken door hun opvallend ritme, de donkere tonen of het inlassen van koorgezangen, andere keren kan je je voorstellen dat ze als achtergrond dienen voor dialoogscènes of als decor voor natuurfilms (wegens het gebruik van dierengeluiden). Bovendien variëren ze in lengte (tussen 1 en 6 minuten) en heeft het ene fragment al meer impact dan het andere. Of de muziekstukken ook werkelijk zijn gebruikt voor filmische producties, dat hebben we niet kunnen achterhalen, en de titels zijn niet altijd een startpunt om de achterliggende bedoeling (mocht daar al sprake van zijn) van de muziekfragmenten te ontrafelen.

Introduction of the Characters in a Sound Track (2’52”) begint dreigend en ritmisch als de inleiding van een film noir. Na een korte koorzang neemt de gitaar de leiding en keert het dreigende synthgeluid voorzichtig terug, waarbij je je kan voorstellen dat hoofd- en nevenpersonages door een donkere steeg lopen of door een windering park. Vogelgeluiden heten je welkom in Boy Says Nothing (4’14”), waarin het schurende geluid van voetstappen afkomstig kon zijn en de stem als een slepend parlando het hoofdpersonage op de voet volgt en op die manier een broeierige sfeer creëert. Music for a Short Film When a Man Lays Down (5’54”) is rustig en minimalistisch, want er gebeurt niet veel op het witte doek, terwijl de piano in Music for a Short Film When a Man Woke Up (1’30”) de actie nauwelijks op gang brengt. Fade Away (3’51”) heeft zowaar een echte melodie en een zangpartij tegen een achtergrond van akoestische gitaar en voorzichtige electronicadruppels en Uncertain Boxed Saviour (6’15”) is een breed en gelaagd opgezet synthproject, soms onderbroken voor verre vogelgeluiden op een bed van rustig grommend elektronische tonen als misthorens in een krakend en industrieel landschap van piepende kranen en snerpende heftrucks. 1475 (1’02”) introduceert een verwrongen mannenstem tegen een pure industrial achtergrond en 7 at Sea (2’41”) heeft de eenvoud van een elektronisch draaiorgel, misschien voor een wandeling langs de Amsterdamse Zeedijk na een slecht bekomen joint.

I Need to Change? (2’17”) pakt opnieuw breed uit met atmosferische en vervolgens opzwepende elektropoptonen, voorzien van fluisterende, haast hijgende stemmen. Little Man on the Screen (2’27”) is een perfecte electro riddle voor een filmscène waarin weinig gebeurt, maar waarin de spanning geleidelijk toeneemt en afsluiter Scars (3’06”) dobbert op rustige (en later minder rustige) elektronica beats en verscholen stemmen naar een filmische climax.

Moving Sound & Music For Film van Kevin Strauwen is uit als cassette op Wool-E Tapes.

Tracklist:
1. Introduction of the Characters in a Sound Track.
2. Boy Says Nothing
3. Music for a Short Film When a Man Lays Down
4. Music for a Short Film When a Man Woke Up
5. Fade Away
6. Uncertain Boxed Saviour
7. 1475
8. 7 at Sea
9. I Need to Change?
0. Little Man on the Screen
1. Scars

William LIÉNARD
12/01/2015


 

Next reviews
OSTROGOTH • Last Tribe Standing
• STAR TREK, THE NEXT GENERATION SEASON 7
ACCRUAL • Cheophiori
• FOYLE'S WAR-SEASON 8
DIRTY DEEP • Shotgun Wedding
BRIAN A MILLER • The Prince
DED PIXEL • Form. Follow. Function
DNMF • DNMF
• THE MISSING
POLAR DUST • Into The Burning Water

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here

 

Same genre: SOUNDSCAPE
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
THE HUMAN VOICE • Silent Heart
ÆMAETH • The Roman
TOTAL COYOTEL • #Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12
CHVE • Rasa

 

Same genre: SOUNDTRACK
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
LAU NAU • Poseidon
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST
AN PIERLE • Le Tout Nouveau Testament-OST
ARMONITE • The Sun is New Each Day

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel