tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/01/2016 : TOTAL COYOTEL - #Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel

TOTAL COYOTEL

#Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel

MusicCD
ExperimentalSoundscape

[45/100]   

Ad Nauseam Records
06/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Steven Johnson Leyba is an artist, musician and activist. Together with a host of musicians and activists he made an album against the policy of multinationals like Nestlé that control our world. Leyba is quite controversial, because he uses the swastika symbol in his art, and his style is known as sexpressionism.

That raises expectations, but the result is rather boring. Mostly we hear spoken words with additional soundscapes. Opener Seven Ways of Coyote. Opening Denunciations Retroactive Enchantments starts as ambient and ends in a sound mush. Art War Declaration is like the title: a twelve-minute long indictment against the war, with some sounds in between. As a manifest it is perhaps interesting, but not to listen to!

14 tracks, and yes, they’re all 14 indictments against injustice. Occasionally you hear something fascinating, but as a whole it’s just too difficult to digest and too tedious. No, it's not because you're an activist and a well-known artist that you can make a fascinating album. But as a statement, it impresses…

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/01/2016


NL

Steven Johnson Leyba is kunstenaar, muzikant en activist. Hij trommelde een resem muzikanten en activisten op om een album te maken tegen multinationals zoals bijv. Nestlé omdat zij te veel de wereld controleren. Leyba is vrij controversieel omdat hij het swastikasymbool in zijn kunst gebruikt, en ook omdat zijn stijl bekend is als sekspressionisme.

Dit gegeven roept natuurlijk een aantal verwachtingen op, maar die worden helaas niet ingelost. We horen voornamelijk spoken words met daar bovenop soundscapes. Zo is opener Seven Ways of Coyote. Opening Denunciations Retroactive Enchantments een soort ambientachtig geluidstapijt dat eindigt als een brij. Art War Declaration is zoals de titel: een twaalf minuten durende aanklacht tegen de oorlog met daartussen wat klanken. Als manifest misschien wel interessant, als luistervoer heel wat minder boeiend.

Zo zijn er 14 tracks die vooral een aanklacht tegen één of ander onrecht zijn. Hier en daar vind je wel een boeiendfragment, maar als geheel vind ik het moeilijk verteerbaar en te langdradig. Neen, het is niet omdat je een activist en bekend kunstenaar bent, dat je ook een boeiend album kan maken. Als statement maakt het wel indruk…

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/01/2016


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string
13
08
DAVEY SUICIDE
Rise Above