tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/01/2016 : TOTAL COYOTEL - #Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel

TOTAL COYOTEL

#Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel

MusicCD
ExperimentalSoundscape

[45/100]   

Ad Nauseam Records
06/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Steven Johnson Leyba is an artist, musician and activist. Together with a host of musicians and activists he made an album against the policy of multinationals like Nestlé that control our world. Leyba is quite controversial, because he uses the swastika symbol in his art, and his style is known as sexpressionism.

That raises expectations, but the result is rather boring. Mostly we hear spoken words with additional soundscapes. Opener Seven Ways of Coyote. Opening Denunciations Retroactive Enchantments starts as ambient and ends in a sound mush. Art War Declaration is like the title: a twelve-minute long indictment against the war, with some sounds in between. As a manifest it is perhaps interesting, but not to listen to!

14 tracks, and yes, they’re all 14 indictments against injustice. Occasionally you hear something fascinating, but as a whole it’s just too difficult to digest and too tedious. No, it's not because you're an activist and a well-known artist that you can make a fascinating album. But as a statement, it impresses…

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/01/2016


NL

Steven Johnson Leyba is kunstenaar, muzikant en activist. Hij trommelde een resem muzikanten en activisten op om een album te maken tegen multinationals zoals bijv. Nestlé omdat zij te veel de wereld controleren. Leyba is vrij controversieel omdat hij het swastikasymbool in zijn kunst gebruikt, en ook omdat zijn stijl bekend is als sekspressionisme.

Dit gegeven roept natuurlijk een aantal verwachtingen op, maar die worden helaas niet ingelost. We horen voornamelijk spoken words met daar bovenop soundscapes. Zo is opener Seven Ways of Coyote. Opening Denunciations Retroactive Enchantments een soort ambientachtig geluidstapijt dat eindigt als een brij. Art War Declaration is zoals de titel: een twaalf minuten durende aanklacht tegen de oorlog met daartussen wat klanken. Als manifest misschien wel interessant, als luistervoer heel wat minder boeiend.

Zo zijn er 14 tracks die vooral een aanklacht tegen één of ander onrecht zijn. Hier en daar vind je wel een boeiendfragment, maar als geheel vind ik het moeilijk verteerbaar en te langdradig. Neen, het is niet omdat je een activist en bekend kunstenaar bent, dat je ook een boeiend album kan maken. Als statement maakt het wel indruk…

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/01/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing