tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/01/2016 : TOTAL COYOTEL - #Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel

TOTAL COYOTEL

#Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel

MusicCD
ExperimentalSoundscape

[45/100]   

Ad Nauseam Records
06/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Steven Johnson Leyba is an artist, musician and activist. Together with a host of musicians and activists he made an album against the policy of multinationals like Nestlé that control our world. Leyba is quite controversial, because he uses the swastika symbol in his art, and his style is known as sexpressionism.

That raises expectations, but the result is rather boring. Mostly we hear spoken words with additional soundscapes. Opener Seven Ways of Coyote. Opening Denunciations Retroactive Enchantments starts as ambient and ends in a sound mush. Art War Declaration is like the title: a twelve-minute long indictment against the war, with some sounds in between. As a manifest it is perhaps interesting, but not to listen to!

14 tracks, and yes, they’re all 14 indictments against injustice. Occasionally you hear something fascinating, but as a whole it’s just too difficult to digest and too tedious. No, it's not because you're an activist and a well-known artist that you can make a fascinating album. But as a statement, it impresses…

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/01/2016


NL

Steven Johnson Leyba is kunstenaar, muzikant en activist. Hij trommelde een resem muzikanten en activisten op om een album te maken tegen multinationals zoals bijv. Nestlé omdat zij te veel de wereld controleren. Leyba is vrij controversieel omdat hij het swastikasymbool in zijn kunst gebruikt, en ook omdat zijn stijl bekend is als sekspressionisme.

Dit gegeven roept natuurlijk een aantal verwachtingen op, maar die worden helaas niet ingelost. We horen voornamelijk spoken words met daar bovenop soundscapes. Zo is opener Seven Ways of Coyote. Opening Denunciations Retroactive Enchantments een soort ambientachtig geluidstapijt dat eindigt als een brij. Art War Declaration is zoals de titel: een twaalf minuten durende aanklacht tegen de oorlog met daartussen wat klanken. Als manifest misschien wel interessant, als luistervoer heel wat minder boeiend.

Zo zijn er 14 tracks die vooral een aanklacht tegen één of ander onrecht zijn. Hier en daar vind je wel een boeiendfragment, maar als geheel vind ik het moeilijk verteerbaar en te langdradig. Neen, het is niet omdat je een activist en bekend kunstenaar bent, dat je ook een boeiend album kan maken. Als statement maakt het wel indruk…

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/01/2016


Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me