tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/01/2016 : TOTAL COYOTEL - #Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel

TOTAL COYOTEL

#Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel

MusicCD
ExperimentalSoundscape

[45/100]   

Ad Nauseam Records
06/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Steven Johnson Leyba is an artist, musician and activist. Together with a host of musicians and activists he made an album against the policy of multinationals like Nestlé that control our world. Leyba is quite controversial, because he uses the swastika symbol in his art, and his style is known as sexpressionism.

That raises expectations, but the result is rather boring. Mostly we hear spoken words with additional soundscapes. Opener Seven Ways of Coyote. Opening Denunciations Retroactive Enchantments starts as ambient and ends in a sound mush. Art War Declaration is like the title: a twelve-minute long indictment against the war, with some sounds in between. As a manifest it is perhaps interesting, but not to listen to!

14 tracks, and yes, they’re all 14 indictments against injustice. Occasionally you hear something fascinating, but as a whole it’s just too difficult to digest and too tedious. No, it's not because you're an activist and a well-known artist that you can make a fascinating album. But as a statement, it impresses…

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/01/2016


NL

Steven Johnson Leyba is kunstenaar, muzikant en activist. Hij trommelde een resem muzikanten en activisten op om een album te maken tegen multinationals zoals bijv. Nestlé omdat zij te veel de wereld controleren. Leyba is vrij controversieel omdat hij het swastikasymbool in zijn kunst gebruikt, en ook omdat zijn stijl bekend is als sekspressionisme.

Dit gegeven roept natuurlijk een aantal verwachtingen op, maar die worden helaas niet ingelost. We horen voornamelijk spoken words met daar bovenop soundscapes. Zo is opener Seven Ways of Coyote. Opening Denunciations Retroactive Enchantments een soort ambientachtig geluidstapijt dat eindigt als een brij. Art War Declaration is zoals de titel: een twaalf minuten durende aanklacht tegen de oorlog met daartussen wat klanken. Als manifest misschien wel interessant, als luistervoer heel wat minder boeiend.

Zo zijn er 14 tracks die vooral een aanklacht tegen één of ander onrecht zijn. Hier en daar vind je wel een boeiendfragment, maar als geheel vind ik het moeilijk verteerbaar en te langdradig. Neen, het is niet omdat je een activist en bekend kunstenaar bent, dat je ook een boeiend album kan maken. Als statement maakt het wel indruk…

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/01/2016


Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
11
40 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
31 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 39 Years Old Today
24
11
From Human To Numan | Tubeway Army at 44
23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 43-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 34 years ago!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace

PHOTOS

25
11
QNTAL
Christuskirche Bochum
24
11
THE CURE
Sportpaleis Antwerpen
18
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Porta Nigra Autumn Passage
18
11
HEILUNG
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
EIVOR
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
LILI REFRAIN
Ruhrcongress Bochum
15
11
VERSENGOLD
Ruhrcongress Bochum

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Sense
25
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
11
DARK POEM
Too Dark To See
23
11
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
(Let's Get) Physical
22
11
DOUBLE ECHO
Ancient Youth
21
11
NABTA
Drop The Mask
20
11
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt