tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

06/01/2016 : TOTAL COYOTEL - #Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel

TOTAL COYOTEL

#Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel

MusicCD
ExperimentalSoundscape

[45/100]   

Ad Nauseam Records
06/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Steven Johnson Leyba is an artist, musician and activist. Together with a host of musicians and activists he made an album against the policy of multinationals like Nestlé that control our world. Leyba is quite controversial, because he uses the swastika symbol in his art, and his style is known as sexpressionism.

That raises expectations, but the result is rather boring. Mostly we hear spoken words with additional soundscapes. Opener Seven Ways of Coyote. Opening Denunciations Retroactive Enchantments starts as ambient and ends in a sound mush. Art War Declaration is like the title: a twelve-minute long indictment against the war, with some sounds in between. As a manifest it is perhaps interesting, but not to listen to!

14 tracks, and yes, they’re all 14 indictments against injustice. Occasionally you hear something fascinating, but as a whole it’s just too difficult to digest and too tedious. No, it's not because you're an activist and a well-known artist that you can make a fascinating album. But as a statement, it impresses…

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/01/2016


NL

Steven Johnson Leyba is kunstenaar, muzikant en activist. Hij trommelde een resem muzikanten en activisten op om een album te maken tegen multinationals zoals bijv. Nestlé omdat zij te veel de wereld controleren. Leyba is vrij controversieel omdat hij het swastikasymbool in zijn kunst gebruikt, en ook omdat zijn stijl bekend is als sekspressionisme.

Dit gegeven roept natuurlijk een aantal verwachtingen op, maar die worden helaas niet ingelost. We horen voornamelijk spoken words met daar bovenop soundscapes. Zo is opener Seven Ways of Coyote. Opening Denunciations Retroactive Enchantments een soort ambientachtig geluidstapijt dat eindigt als een brij. Art War Declaration is zoals de titel: een twaalf minuten durende aanklacht tegen de oorlog met daartussen wat klanken. Als manifest misschien wel interessant, als luistervoer heel wat minder boeiend.

Zo zijn er 14 tracks die vooral een aanklacht tegen één of ander onrecht zijn. Hier en daar vind je wel een boeiendfragment, maar als geheel vind ik het moeilijk verteerbaar en te langdradig. Neen, het is niet omdat je een activist en bekend kunstenaar bent, dat je ook een boeiend album kan maken. Als statement maakt het wel indruk…

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/01/2016


Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.
18
12
North American Industrial/Metal band Ministry announce new album with new single & video!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury
13
01
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)
12
01
REIZSTROM
Invisible Force