tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

05/01/2016 : METAL DISCO - Fetish Club Anthems

METAL DISCO

Fetish Club Anthems

MusicCD (EP)
MinimalSynth Wave

[84/100]   

Werkstatt Recordings
05/01/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Of course we know Toxic Razor as one half of Paradox Obscur. Metal Disco is his side project, and after the release of Unearthly, he is back with Fetish Club Anthems (out on Werkstaat Recordings): an EP that features 11 songs (including 7 remixes). The songs are digitally available and in a very limited edition on CD and cassette (the favourite format of minimal).

Fetish is a typical minimal song: a pounding rhythm section and analogue synths that make the song very danceable. The vocals are tight and fit perfectly with the rhythm. Flux Decadence continues this style with its EBM sound.

Kamikaze Baby has a slower pace and a real 80's sound. Apart from the typical analogue sounds, there are samples mixed in the song that create a new beat-feeling. Suddenly Amnesia by Ibiza enters my brain! Many styles in one song, but they all flawlessly merge.

Raw Temptation sounds a bit more experimental. This superb instrumental is a tsunami of sounds which shows the versatility of the master.

And then there are those remixes! Successor (Binalog Remix) sounds a bit cosmic, and it’s definitely one of the lesser tracks. Up to the next one! The danceable techno beat of Kite (Vestron Vulture Remix) makes it impossible to sit still, while the whispering vocals create a strange feeling.

There are three remixes of Bliss. The Italian band Schonwald remixes the song with its typical trademark. Then there is the minimal version by Unidentified Man that is very danceable and the Glass Dancer Remix with its deep spherical interpretation. Both versions are very enjoyable.

Cat Rapes Dog reworks Metal Disco with uptempo drums and topped with a guitar riff and some synths.

It is obvious that Metal Disco is not the same as Paradox Obscur, as it has a very own unique sound. For lovers of minimalism and analogue machinery: go to Bandcamp!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
05/01/2016

http://synthesizer.bandcamp.com/album/235-metal-disco-fetish-club-anthems

NL

Toxic Razor kennen we als de helft van de geweldige Paradox Obscur. Met zijn zijproject Metal Disco brengt hij na Unearthly Vices, de ep Fetish Club Anthems op Werkstaat Recordings uit. De 11 nummers (waarvan 7 remixen) zijn digitaal beschikbaar en in een zeer beperkte oplage op cd, alsook op cassette (het formaat bij uitstek voor minimal).

Fetish is een typische minimal song: een pompende ritmesectie en analoge synths die het nummer zeer dansbaar maken. De vocalen zijn strak en passen perfect bij het ritme. Flux Decadence gaat met zijn EBM-geluid in dezelfde stijl voort: kort, gehakt en het raast voorbij.

Kamikaze Baby heeft een rustiger tempo en klinkt echt 80s. Naast de typische analoge klanken worden er ook samples door het nummer gemixt, wat mij af en toe een new beat-gevoel bezorgt. Tja, opeens daagt Ibiza van Amnesia weer op! De song heeft een mooie opbouw in diverse stijlen die vlekkeloos in elkaar overlopen.

Raw Temptation klinkt wat meer experimenteel. Toxic Razor heeft letterlijk de handen vol om in deze song de vele geluiden door elkaar te husselen. Een bijzonder knap instrumentaal nummer als een tsunami van klanken dat tevens de veelzijdigheid van de meester toont.

En dan zijn er de remixen! Successor (Binalog Remix) klinkt wat kosmisch. Het is een van de mindere nummers en eigenlijk noch mossel noch vis. Op naar de volgende dus! Door de dansbare technobeat van Kite (Vestron Vulture Remix) is het onmogelijk om stil te zitten, terwijl de fluisterende vocalen voor een vreemd gevoel zorgen.

De Italiaanse band Schönwald neemt Bliss onder handen en drukt er zijn typische stempel o. Bliss hoor je nog eens opnieuw in twee remixen. Er is de minimalversie van Unidentified Man die heel dansbaar is en de Glas Dancer Remix die voor een heel diepe sferische interpretatie zorgt. Beide zijn zeer genietbaar.

Cat Rapes Dogs buigt zich over Metal Disco: uptempo drum- en slagwerk dat overgoten wordt met een gitaarriff en wat synths.

Het is duidelijk dat Metal Disco géén doorslag is van Paradox Obscur, maar een heel eigen geluid heeft. Voor de liefhebbers van minimal en analoge machinerie: hup naar Bandcamp!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
05/01/2016

http://synthesizer.bandcamp.com/album/235-metal-disco-fetish-club-anthems

 

Next reviews
KABAK • Avu
MOTH • First Second
SOULSAVERS • Kubrick
JORIS LAARMAN • Joris Laarman Lab (Groningen, Groninger Museum, until/tot 10/04/2016)
BRIAN JAMES • The Guitar That Dripped Blood
LUCA BANDINI (SCHONWALD) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • Anyway
PLAY ALONE • Black Glass
END OF THE DREAM • All I Am
NISHE • Underlaps (EP)

 

Other reviews from METAL DISCO
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
METAL DISCO • Unearthly Vices

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
RINGFINGER • Pressure
ENZO KREFT • Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
10
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession