tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

08/01/2021 : RUE OBERKAMPF - Negativraum

RUE OBERKAMPF

Negativraum

Music7 inch
Electro WaveMinimalSynth Wave

[86/100]   

Ant-Zen
08/01/2021, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Rue Oberkampf, founded at the end of 2016 by three DJs, is hard to categorize due to their combination of techno and synth influences from the 1980's. They combine various electronic styles, from electro to minimal synth, to EBM and sometimes to techno / dance vibes. The atmosphere of misty, stroboscopic dance temples is never far away. Also on this 2-track EP Negativraum, which is released on Ant-Zen.

Again the sound cannot be easily categorized. ‘Negativetraum’ kicks-off with a trancy kinda drum'n'bass-like melody. Call it techno if you like, but one of the better kind. Especially when a neat rhythm section imposes itself later on. Julia's voice then bends the whole into a darker gem caught in smoke and black-lights. Without the song really having an eruption, it keeps you in a grip. And this for almost 7 minutes! Halfway through, a deep bass line thickens the sound. Combine that with a set of heavenly voices and a very catchy melody that repeats itself endlessly, yet constantly changing, and you get one long trip, just as a gift.

Then we get the ‘Doom version’ of a track called ‘Caméra’. A song that is excavated to the bone and excels in its simplicity. Purebred synth-wave that easily throws us decades back in time. Although made today, the "primal sound" is so nicely present. Hip sway enjoyment minutes long. Sometimes simplicity is so poignant.

Rue Oberkampf knows how to fascinate, also with this Negativetraum!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/01/2021


NL

Rue Oberkampf werd eind 2016 opgericht door drie dj’s. Ze zijn niet onder een noemer te vangen met hun combinatie van techno en synthinvloeden uit de jaren’80. De sfeer van mistige, met stroboscopen overgoten danstempels is nooit veraf. Ze combineren diverse electronische stijlen: van electro, over minimal synth, naar EBM en soms techno-/dance-vibes. Nu weer met de EP Negativraum die verschijnt op Ant-Zen.

De sound is niet te vangen. Negativraum start men een trancy drum’n’bass-like melodie. Voor mijn part noem je het techno (maar dan van de betere soort). Zeker als je de keurige ritmesectie hoort. Julia’s stem maakt van het geheel een donkerder, in rook en blacklights gevangen juweeltje. Zonder dat de song echt een eruptie kent, houdt hij je toch in zijn greep. En dat bijna 7 minuten lang. Halfweg dikt een diepe baslijn de sound wat aan. Combineer dat met een partijtje heavenly voices en een heel aanstekelijke melodie die zichzelf eindeloos, doch steeds minutieus veranderend, herhaalt en je krijgt gewoon één langgerekte trip zomaar cadeau.

En dan de (doom-versie) van Caméra. Een tot op het bot uitgebeende song die excelleert in zijn eenvoud. Rasechte synthwave die ons gemakkelijk enkele decennia terug in de tijd katapulteert. Ook al is de song vandaag gemaakt, de ‘oersound’ is lekker aanwezig. Heupwiegend genietend, minuten lang. Soms is eenvoud aangrijpend.

Rue Oberkampf weet te boeien, ook met deze Negativraum.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/01/2021


 

Next reviews
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
MERZBOW • Screaming Dove
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO WAVE + MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
SPC ECO • Fifteen

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
RINGFINGER • Pressure
ENZO KREFT • Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn