tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

08/01/2021 : RUE OBERKAMPF - Negativraum

RUE OBERKAMPF

Negativraum

Music7 inch
Electro WaveMinimalSynth Wave

[86/100]   

Ant-Zen
08/01/2021, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Rue Oberkampf, founded at the end of 2016 by three DJs, is hard to categorize due to their combination of techno and synth influences from the 1980's. They combine various electronic styles, from electro to minimal synth, to EBM and sometimes to techno / dance vibes. The atmosphere of misty, stroboscopic dance temples is never far away. Also on this 2-track EP Negativraum, which is released on Ant-Zen.

Again the sound cannot be easily categorized. ‘Negativetraum’ kicks-off with a trancy kinda drum'n'bass-like melody. Call it techno if you like, but one of the better kind. Especially when a neat rhythm section imposes itself later on. Julia's voice then bends the whole into a darker gem caught in smoke and black-lights. Without the song really having an eruption, it keeps you in a grip. And this for almost 7 minutes! Halfway through, a deep bass line thickens the sound. Combine that with a set of heavenly voices and a very catchy melody that repeats itself endlessly, yet constantly changing, and you get one long trip, just as a gift.

Then we get the ‘Doom version’ of a track called ‘Caméra’. A song that is excavated to the bone and excels in its simplicity. Purebred synth-wave that easily throws us decades back in time. Although made today, the "primal sound" is so nicely present. Hip sway enjoyment minutes long. Sometimes simplicity is so poignant.

Rue Oberkampf knows how to fascinate, also with this Negativetraum!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/01/2021


NL

Rue Oberkampf werd eind 2016 opgericht door drie dj’s. Ze zijn niet onder een noemer te vangen met hun combinatie van techno en synthinvloeden uit de jaren’80. De sfeer van mistige, met stroboscopen overgoten danstempels is nooit veraf. Ze combineren diverse electronische stijlen: van electro, over minimal synth, naar EBM en soms techno-/dance-vibes. Nu weer met de EP Negativraum die verschijnt op Ant-Zen.

De sound is niet te vangen. Negativraum start men een trancy drum’n’bass-like melodie. Voor mijn part noem je het techno (maar dan van de betere soort). Zeker als je de keurige ritmesectie hoort. Julia’s stem maakt van het geheel een donkerder, in rook en blacklights gevangen juweeltje. Zonder dat de song echt een eruptie kent, houdt hij je toch in zijn greep. En dat bijna 7 minuten lang. Halfweg dikt een diepe baslijn de sound wat aan. Combineer dat met een partijtje heavenly voices en een heel aanstekelijke melodie die zichzelf eindeloos, doch steeds minutieus veranderend, herhaalt en je krijgt gewoon één langgerekte trip zomaar cadeau.

En dan de (doom-versie) van Caméra. Een tot op het bot uitgebeende song die excelleert in zijn eenvoud. Rasechte synthwave die ons gemakkelijk enkele decennia terug in de tijd katapulteert. Ook al is de song vandaag gemaakt, de ‘oersound’ is lekker aanwezig. Heupwiegend genietend, minuten lang. Soms is eenvoud aangrijpend.

Rue Oberkampf weet te boeien, ook met deze Negativraum.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/01/2021


 

Next reviews
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
MERZBOW • Screaming Dove
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO WAVE + MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
PIG • Pain Is God
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
RINGFINGER • Pressure
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide