tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

08/01/2021 : RUE OBERKAMPF - Negativraum

RUE OBERKAMPF

Negativraum

Music7 inch
Electro WaveMinimalSynth Wave

[86/100]   

Ant-Zen
08/01/2021, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Rue Oberkampf, founded at the end of 2016 by three DJs, is hard to categorize due to their combination of techno and synth influences from the 1980's. They combine various electronic styles, from electro to minimal synth, to EBM and sometimes to techno / dance vibes. The atmosphere of misty, stroboscopic dance temples is never far away. Also on this 2-track EP Negativraum, which is released on Ant-Zen.

Again the sound cannot be easily categorized. ‘Negativetraum’ kicks-off with a trancy kinda drum'n'bass-like melody. Call it techno if you like, but one of the better kind. Especially when a neat rhythm section imposes itself later on. Julia's voice then bends the whole into a darker gem caught in smoke and black-lights. Without the song really having an eruption, it keeps you in a grip. And this for almost 7 minutes! Halfway through, a deep bass line thickens the sound. Combine that with a set of heavenly voices and a very catchy melody that repeats itself endlessly, yet constantly changing, and you get one long trip, just as a gift.

Then we get the ‘Doom version’ of a track called ‘Caméra’. A song that is excavated to the bone and excels in its simplicity. Purebred synth-wave that easily throws us decades back in time. Although made today, the "primal sound" is so nicely present. Hip sway enjoyment minutes long. Sometimes simplicity is so poignant.

Rue Oberkampf knows how to fascinate, also with this Negativetraum!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/01/2021


NL

Rue Oberkampf werd eind 2016 opgericht door drie dj’s. Ze zijn niet onder een noemer te vangen met hun combinatie van techno en synthinvloeden uit de jaren’80. De sfeer van mistige, met stroboscopen overgoten danstempels is nooit veraf. Ze combineren diverse electronische stijlen: van electro, over minimal synth, naar EBM en soms techno-/dance-vibes. Nu weer met de EP Negativraum die verschijnt op Ant-Zen.

De sound is niet te vangen. Negativraum start men een trancy drum’n’bass-like melodie. Voor mijn part noem je het techno (maar dan van de betere soort). Zeker als je de keurige ritmesectie hoort. Julia’s stem maakt van het geheel een donkerder, in rook en blacklights gevangen juweeltje. Zonder dat de song echt een eruptie kent, houdt hij je toch in zijn greep. En dat bijna 7 minuten lang. Halfweg dikt een diepe baslijn de sound wat aan. Combineer dat met een partijtje heavenly voices en een heel aanstekelijke melodie die zichzelf eindeloos, doch steeds minutieus veranderend, herhaalt en je krijgt gewoon één langgerekte trip zomaar cadeau.

En dan de (doom-versie) van Caméra. Een tot op het bot uitgebeende song die excelleert in zijn eenvoud. Rasechte synthwave die ons gemakkelijk enkele decennia terug in de tijd katapulteert. Ook al is de song vandaag gemaakt, de ‘oersound’ is lekker aanwezig. Heupwiegend genietend, minuten lang. Soms is eenvoud aangrijpend.

Rue Oberkampf weet te boeien, ook met deze Negativraum.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/01/2021


 

Next reviews
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
MERZBOW • Screaming Dove
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO WAVE + MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
PIG • Pain Is God
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
RINGFINGER • Pressure
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
ENZO KREFT • Control
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict

Music reviews

22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 35 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
Mountains Crave
21
04
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
20
04
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
19
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl