tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

26/07/2018 : VIOLENCE - Le Flux de la Nature

VIOLENCE

Le Flux de la Nature

MusicCD (EP)
Electro WaveMinimalSynth Wave

[84/100]   

Electronic Emergencies
26/07/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Some bands have something. Some have a lot. One extravagant, the other dark, another surprising, others still apocalyptic. Violence from Quebec (Canada)... has it all in 4 songs on the EP Le Flux De La Nature. Rooted in the ground of New Wave, with French vocals and nerve-racking electronics - with which they are able to musically explode the complex rhythms of nature and intense human relationships on this amazing EP. Manuel Bisson's cover art compliments the music perfectly.

It sounds overwhelming, majestic, sad and affectionate, all together. A rollercoaster of emotions engulfs you like a tsunami. You do not see it, you don't expect it in the least but it hits hard. Violence stops all this in this great EP.

Will Your Ghost Follow You? An existential question that many people, believers or not, may imagine. Who or what are we and what remains after this world? Or are we only a reflection, a deceptivly mechanical thing that someone has baptised? Who knows and above all: who cares!

Then back to primal Wave with L'Eclat du Jamais Vu. Immensely cold and beautiful in simplicity. A minimally dressed song, specks of dust around an electronic body. A body in decay that tries to keep up upright.

The titlesong unfolds in a similar musical style, 40 years back in time without any compassion. And yet it sounds somewhat contemporary, even though the synthwave is icy cold. We get a hipshaking melody on an ice cold bassline and drums that sound like the analog machine history is revived. Allé hop... Two tiny little words that say what they mean: let's just do it'

Far too soon this EP ends with They've Crossed The Skyline. Modern sounding songwriting, where newer electronics win the match against the analogue force the band likes to use. It sounds techno / trance / tribal but is danceable to the smallest fibre.

In short, to finish: gimme more! Top Material!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
26/07/2018


NL

Sommige bands hébben iets. Sommige zelfs véél. De ene extravagant, de andere duister, weer een andere verrassend, andere weer apocalyptisch. Deze Violence uit Quebec (Canada)… heeft het allemaal en dat in 4 songs op de EP Le Flux De La Nature. Geworteld in de grond der new wave, met Franse vocalen, zenuwslopende electronica, waarmee ze op deze geweldige EP het complexe ritme van de natuur en de intense menselijke relaties muzikaal laten exploderen. De cover-art van Manuel Bisson vult de muziek perfect aan.

Het klinkt overweldigend, majestueus, treurig en aandoenlijk, allemaal tezamen. Een rollercoaster van emoties overspoelt je als een tsunami. Je ziet het niet komen, je verwacht het allerminst, maar het slaat keihard toe. Violence stopt dit allemaal in een geweldige EP.

Will your Ghost Follow You? Een existentiële vraag die menig mens, gelovig of niet, zich misschien wel stelt. Wie of wat zijn we en wat rest na het aardse? Of zijn we maar een reflectie, een bedrieglijk mechanisch iets wat men méns heeft gedoopt? Who knows en bovenal: who cares!

Dan terug naar de oer-wave met L’Eclat du Jamais Vu. Immens kil en mooi in zijn eenvoud. Een minimaal aangeklede song, flarden stof rond een elektronisch lichaam. Een lichaam in verval dat zich toch overeind poogt te houden.
De titelsong ontrolt zich in een soortgelijke muzikale stijl, 40 jaar terug de tijd in zonder enige mededogen. En toch klinkt het enigszins hedendaags, ook al is de synthwave ijzig koud. We krijgen een heupwiegende melodie op een ijskoude baslijn en drums die klinken alsof de analoge machinale geschiedenis herleeft. Allé hop… Twee nietig kleine woordjes die zeggen wat ze betekenen: laat ons ‘maar’ verder doen.
Véél te vroeg eindigt deze EP met They’ve Crossed The Skyline. Moderner klinkende songschrijverij, waar recentere electronica de wedstrijd wint tegen het analoge geweld waar de band zich graag van bedient. Het klinkt techno/trance/tribal-achtig, maar is dansbaar tot in de kleinste vezel.

Om kort te eindigen: gimme more! Topmateriaal!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
26/07/2018


 

Next reviews
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
NAUT • Raise The Lights
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER • Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
SIMPLE MINDS • Walk Between Worlds
PEDRO PENAS ROBLES • Joy Division, Paroles de fan
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
NEGANT • No !

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
SANDIE TRASH • Tu Veux Monter Dans Le Wagon?
S/HE • Who Do You Love

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi