tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

26/07/2018 : VIOLENCE - Le Flux de la Nature

VIOLENCE

Le Flux de la Nature

MusicCD (EP)
Electro WaveMinimalSynth Wave

[84/100]   

Electronic Emergencies
26/07/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Some bands have something. Some have a lot. One extravagant, the other dark, another surprising, others still apocalyptic. Violence from Quebec (Canada)... has it all in 4 songs on the EP Le Flux De La Nature. Rooted in the ground of New Wave, with French vocals and nerve-racking electronics - with which they are able to musically explode the complex rhythms of nature and intense human relationships on this amazing EP. Manuel Bisson's cover art compliments the music perfectly.

It sounds overwhelming, majestic, sad and affectionate, all together. A rollercoaster of emotions engulfs you like a tsunami. You do not see it, you don't expect it in the least but it hits hard. Violence stops all this in this great EP.

Will Your Ghost Follow You? An existential question that many people, believers or not, may imagine. Who or what are we and what remains after this world? Or are we only a reflection, a deceptivly mechanical thing that someone has baptised? Who knows and above all: who cares!

Then back to primal Wave with L'Eclat du Jamais Vu. Immensely cold and beautiful in simplicity. A minimally dressed song, specks of dust around an electronic body. A body in decay that tries to keep up upright.

The titlesong unfolds in a similar musical style, 40 years back in time without any compassion. And yet it sounds somewhat contemporary, even though the synthwave is icy cold. We get a hipshaking melody on an ice cold bassline and drums that sound like the analog machine history is revived. Allé hop... Two tiny little words that say what they mean: let's just do it'

Far too soon this EP ends with They've Crossed The Skyline. Modern sounding songwriting, where newer electronics win the match against the analogue force the band likes to use. It sounds techno / trance / tribal but is danceable to the smallest fibre.

In short, to finish: gimme more! Top Material!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
26/07/2018


NL

Sommige bands hébben iets. Sommige zelfs véél. De ene extravagant, de andere duister, weer een andere verrassend, andere weer apocalyptisch. Deze Violence uit Quebec (Canada)… heeft het allemaal en dat in 4 songs op de EP Le Flux De La Nature. Geworteld in de grond der new wave, met Franse vocalen, zenuwslopende electronica, waarmee ze op deze geweldige EP het complexe ritme van de natuur en de intense menselijke relaties muzikaal laten exploderen. De cover-art van Manuel Bisson vult de muziek perfect aan.

Het klinkt overweldigend, majestueus, treurig en aandoenlijk, allemaal tezamen. Een rollercoaster van emoties overspoelt je als een tsunami. Je ziet het niet komen, je verwacht het allerminst, maar het slaat keihard toe. Violence stopt dit allemaal in een geweldige EP.

Will your Ghost Follow You? Een existentiële vraag die menig mens, gelovig of niet, zich misschien wel stelt. Wie of wat zijn we en wat rest na het aardse? Of zijn we maar een reflectie, een bedrieglijk mechanisch iets wat men méns heeft gedoopt? Who knows en bovenal: who cares!

Dan terug naar de oer-wave met L’Eclat du Jamais Vu. Immens kil en mooi in zijn eenvoud. Een minimaal aangeklede song, flarden stof rond een elektronisch lichaam. Een lichaam in verval dat zich toch overeind poogt te houden.
De titelsong ontrolt zich in een soortgelijke muzikale stijl, 40 jaar terug de tijd in zonder enige mededogen. En toch klinkt het enigszins hedendaags, ook al is de synthwave ijzig koud. We krijgen een heupwiegende melodie op een ijskoude baslijn en drums die klinken alsof de analoge machinale geschiedenis herleeft. Allé hop… Twee nietig kleine woordjes die zeggen wat ze betekenen: laat ons ‘maar’ verder doen.
Véél te vroeg eindigt deze EP met They’ve Crossed The Skyline. Moderner klinkende songschrijverij, waar recentere electronica de wedstrijd wint tegen het analoge geweld waar de band zich graag van bedient. Het klinkt techno/trance/tribal-achtig, maar is dansbaar tot in de kleinste vezel.

Om kort te eindigen: gimme more! Topmateriaal!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
26/07/2018


 

Next reviews
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
NAUT • Raise The Lights
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER • Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
SIMPLE MINDS • Walk Between Worlds
PEDRO PENAS ROBLES • Joy Division, Paroles de fan
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
NEGANT • No !

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO WAVE + MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
PIG • Pain Is God
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
RINGFINGER • Pressure
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
ENZO KREFT • Control
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna