tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

26/07/2018 : VIOLENCE - Le Flux de la Nature

VIOLENCE

Le Flux de la Nature

MusicCD (EP)
Electro WaveMinimalSynth Wave

[84/100]   

Electronic Emergencies
26/07/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Some bands have something. Some have a lot. One extravagant, the other dark, another surprising, others still apocalyptic. Violence from Quebec (Canada)... has it all in 4 songs on the EP Le Flux De La Nature. Rooted in the ground of New Wave, with French vocals and nerve-racking electronics - with which they are able to musically explode the complex rhythms of nature and intense human relationships on this amazing EP. Manuel Bisson's cover art compliments the music perfectly.

It sounds overwhelming, majestic, sad and affectionate, all together. A rollercoaster of emotions engulfs you like a tsunami. You do not see it, you don't expect it in the least but it hits hard. Violence stops all this in this great EP.

Will Your Ghost Follow You? An existential question that many people, believers or not, may imagine. Who or what are we and what remains after this world? Or are we only a reflection, a deceptivly mechanical thing that someone has baptised? Who knows and above all: who cares!

Then back to primal Wave with L'Eclat du Jamais Vu. Immensely cold and beautiful in simplicity. A minimally dressed song, specks of dust around an electronic body. A body in decay that tries to keep up upright.

The titlesong unfolds in a similar musical style, 40 years back in time without any compassion. And yet it sounds somewhat contemporary, even though the synthwave is icy cold. We get a hipshaking melody on an ice cold bassline and drums that sound like the analog machine history is revived. Allé hop... Two tiny little words that say what they mean: let's just do it'

Far too soon this EP ends with They've Crossed The Skyline. Modern sounding songwriting, where newer electronics win the match against the analogue force the band likes to use. It sounds techno / trance / tribal but is danceable to the smallest fibre.

In short, to finish: gimme more! Top Material!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
26/07/2018


NL

Sommige bands hébben iets. Sommige zelfs véél. De ene extravagant, de andere duister, weer een andere verrassend, andere weer apocalyptisch. Deze Violence uit Quebec (Canada)… heeft het allemaal en dat in 4 songs op de EP Le Flux De La Nature. Geworteld in de grond der new wave, met Franse vocalen, zenuwslopende electronica, waarmee ze op deze geweldige EP het complexe ritme van de natuur en de intense menselijke relaties muzikaal laten exploderen. De cover-art van Manuel Bisson vult de muziek perfect aan.

Het klinkt overweldigend, majestueus, treurig en aandoenlijk, allemaal tezamen. Een rollercoaster van emoties overspoelt je als een tsunami. Je ziet het niet komen, je verwacht het allerminst, maar het slaat keihard toe. Violence stopt dit allemaal in een geweldige EP.

Will your Ghost Follow You? Een existentiële vraag die menig mens, gelovig of niet, zich misschien wel stelt. Wie of wat zijn we en wat rest na het aardse? Of zijn we maar een reflectie, een bedrieglijk mechanisch iets wat men méns heeft gedoopt? Who knows en bovenal: who cares!

Dan terug naar de oer-wave met L’Eclat du Jamais Vu. Immens kil en mooi in zijn eenvoud. Een minimaal aangeklede song, flarden stof rond een elektronisch lichaam. Een lichaam in verval dat zich toch overeind poogt te houden.
De titelsong ontrolt zich in een soortgelijke muzikale stijl, 40 jaar terug de tijd in zonder enige mededogen. En toch klinkt het enigszins hedendaags, ook al is de synthwave ijzig koud. We krijgen een heupwiegende melodie op een ijskoude baslijn en drums die klinken alsof de analoge machinale geschiedenis herleeft. Allé hop… Twee nietig kleine woordjes die zeggen wat ze betekenen: laat ons ‘maar’ verder doen.
Véél te vroeg eindigt deze EP met They’ve Crossed The Skyline. Moderner klinkende songschrijverij, waar recentere electronica de wedstrijd wint tegen het analoge geweld waar de band zich graag van bedient. Het klinkt techno/trance/tribal-achtig, maar is dansbaar tot in de kleinste vezel.

Om kort te eindigen: gimme more! Topmateriaal!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
26/07/2018


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl