tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / digital review

09/01/2021 : CAUSENATION - Promises of hope and fear

CAUSENATION

Promises of hope and fear

MusicCD / Digital
Dark ElectroEBMSynth Wave

[81/100]   

Wool-E Discs
09/01/2021, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Causenation, a band rooted in Antwerp soil, presents us their brand new album Promises Of Hope And Fear as a sort of New Year's present. It will be released on the sympathetic Belgian label Wool-E-Discs by end of January 2021. In previous years the duo already immersed us in their dark electro and EBM sound, with a couple of EPs and remixes. Now they present us an eight track album!

It is internationally known Belgium has already produced a great deal of beauty within the EBM scene. Causenation adds its headstrong EBM to this legacy, still not limiting themselves in any way. ‘Demons Of The Night’ is for instance a more synth-pop-down-tempo and thus relaxed opener. One would be tempted to cuddle in an intimate hip-swinging way when hearing it. This album contains some more fine electro songs that lean towards this style.

‘The Things You Promise’ again, is a rather Dark-Wave hymn, just like ‘Black Lust’, although the latter uses somewhat more robust drumming. ‘Fear The Future’ is a true gem with a post-punk sound. Guitars gently bite into the silk skin layers formed by their synths. While ‘A Better Day’ brings us back to the somewhat more brutal, stomping but wonderful early dark days of EBM. Few compromises, solid rhythms, shockingly dark vibes.

Equally uncompromising and conjuring is ‘Marc Of Cain’. The rhythms are brutal. Musically it is ingeniously put together and it rages by, almost deafening and without any compassion. We are guided to the end with ‘Face Your Shame’. Although, little shame to be discerned here. On the contrary even! It rips and groans, painfully and relentless. Something we can really dig, certainly when robust guitars start to contribute their part halfway through the song.

With this Promises Of Hope And Fear, Causenation claims their place on the already quite impressive list of Belgian EBM. We already knew what they were up to from the previous releases, and this first full album does certainly not disappoint!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/01/2021


NL

Het in Antwerpse grond gewortelde Causenation schenkt ons als nieuwjaarsgeschenk hun album Promises Of Hope And Fear. Het verschijnt eind januari 2021 op het sympathieke Belgische Wool-E-Discs label. Voorgaande jaren dompelde het duo ons al onder in hun donkere electro en EBM, met een paar EP’s en remixes. Nu komen ze met een album met 8 songs.

Dat België binnen de EBM-scene al heel wat moois heeft voortgebracht, is internationaal geweten. Causenation voegt hier zijn eigengereide EBM aan toe. Zonder enige beperking. Demons Of The Night is een synthpop down-tempo relaxte opener. Het album bevat nog een aantal fijne electro-songs die daarbij aanleunen.

The Things You Promise is een darkwave hymne, net zoals Black Lust, al is bij dat nummer het drumwerk ietwat robuuster. Fear The Future is een juweeltje met een postpunk-sound. Zachtjes bijten gitaren zich vast in het zijden huidje van de synths.
En als we terugkeren naar de wat brutere, stampvoetende en donkere begindagen van de EBM, dan past A Better Day daar wonderwel in. Weinig compromissen, stevig ritme, ontluisterend donker qua vibe.
Even compromisloos en bezwerend is Marc Of Cain. De ritmes zijn nietsontziend. Muzikaal zit het ingenieus in elkaar en het dendert zonder compassie oorverdovend verder. We worden uitgeleide gedaan door Face Your Shame. Weinig schaamte te ontwaren, wel integendeel. Het scheurt en kreunt, doet pijnlijk aan en is meedogenloos. Iets waar wij geen neen tegen zeggen. Zeker niet wanneer robuuste gitaren daar halfweg nog een bijdrage aan leveren.

Causenation eist met deze Promises Of Hope And Fear hun plaats op in de al vrij indrukwekkende lijst van Belgische EBM-bands. We wisten al wat ze in hun mars hedden en dit eerste volwaardige album bevestigt de verwachtingen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/01/2021


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide