tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / digital review

09/01/2021 : CAUSENATION - Promises of hope and fear

CAUSENATION

Promises of hope and fear

MusicCD / Digital
Dark ElectroEBMSynth Wave

[81/100]   

Wool-E Discs
09/01/2021, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Causenation, a band rooted in Antwerp soil, presents us their brand new album Promises Of Hope And Fear as a sort of New Year's present. It will be released on the sympathetic Belgian label Wool-E-Discs by end of January 2021. In previous years the duo already immersed us in their dark electro and EBM sound, with a couple of EPs and remixes. Now they present us an eight track album!

It is internationally known Belgium has already produced a great deal of beauty within the EBM scene. Causenation adds its headstrong EBM to this legacy, still not limiting themselves in any way. ‘Demons Of The Night’ is for instance a more synth-pop-down-tempo and thus relaxed opener. One would be tempted to cuddle in an intimate hip-swinging way when hearing it. This album contains some more fine electro songs that lean towards this style.

‘The Things You Promise’ again, is a rather Dark-Wave hymn, just like ‘Black Lust’, although the latter uses somewhat more robust drumming. ‘Fear The Future’ is a true gem with a post-punk sound. Guitars gently bite into the silk skin layers formed by their synths. While ‘A Better Day’ brings us back to the somewhat more brutal, stomping but wonderful early dark days of EBM. Few compromises, solid rhythms, shockingly dark vibes.

Equally uncompromising and conjuring is ‘Marc Of Cain’. The rhythms are brutal. Musically it is ingeniously put together and it rages by, almost deafening and without any compassion. We are guided to the end with ‘Face Your Shame’. Although, little shame to be discerned here. On the contrary even! It rips and groans, painfully and relentless. Something we can really dig, certainly when robust guitars start to contribute their part halfway through the song.

With this Promises Of Hope And Fear, Causenation claims their place on the already quite impressive list of Belgian EBM. We already knew what they were up to from the previous releases, and this first full album does certainly not disappoint!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/01/2021


NL

Het in Antwerpse grond gewortelde Causenation schenkt ons als nieuwjaarsgeschenk hun album Promises Of Hope And Fear. Het verschijnt eind januari 2021 op het sympathieke Belgische Wool-E-Discs label. Voorgaande jaren dompelde het duo ons al onder in hun donkere electro en EBM, met een paar EP’s en remixes. Nu komen ze met een album met 8 songs.

Dat België binnen de EBM-scene al heel wat moois heeft voortgebracht, is internationaal geweten. Causenation voegt hier zijn eigengereide EBM aan toe. Zonder enige beperking. Demons Of The Night is een synthpop down-tempo relaxte opener. Het album bevat nog een aantal fijne electro-songs die daarbij aanleunen.

The Things You Promise is een darkwave hymne, net zoals Black Lust, al is bij dat nummer het drumwerk ietwat robuuster. Fear The Future is een juweeltje met een postpunk-sound. Zachtjes bijten gitaren zich vast in het zijden huidje van de synths.
En als we terugkeren naar de wat brutere, stampvoetende en donkere begindagen van de EBM, dan past A Better Day daar wonderwel in. Weinig compromissen, stevig ritme, ontluisterend donker qua vibe.
Even compromisloos en bezwerend is Marc Of Cain. De ritmes zijn nietsontziend. Muzikaal zit het ingenieus in elkaar en het dendert zonder compassie oorverdovend verder. We worden uitgeleide gedaan door Face Your Shame. Weinig schaamte te ontwaren, wel integendeel. Het scheurt en kreunt, doet pijnlijk aan en is meedogenloos. Iets waar wij geen neen tegen zeggen. Zeker niet wanneer robuuste gitaren daar halfweg nog een bijdrage aan leveren.

Causenation eist met deze Promises Of Hope And Fear hun plaats op in de al vrij indrukwekkende lijst van Belgische EBM-bands. We wisten al wat ze in hun mars hedden en dit eerste volwaardige album bevestigt de verwachtingen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/01/2021


Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown