tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl / digital review

02/09/2020 : CAWATANA - In The Silver Light (7')

CAWATANA

In The Silver Light (7')

MusicVinyl / Digital
Electro PopMinimalNew wave

[85/100]   

Senkrecht Records
02/09/2020, Fred GADGET

Cawatana call themselves an apocalyptic folk pop band. The band was originally founded in Hungary in 1999, by the duo Sörös Gergö and Kiss Balázs.

Whilst their first releases featured some harsher (percussion) elements, these elements seem to have disappeared now. On this great looking little 7” they present us reworks of two songs that were released earlier.

On the A-side we find a “Living In The 80s Version” of ‘Something In the Final Hour’, which appears in a different version on their 2010 (and third) mini album Advocation For Privileges. It’s a very melancholic but still nice sounding minimal electro poppy track, featuring the heavenly voice of Farkas Judit.

The B-side features the song ‘Silver Light’, taken from their 2015 EP Decline Of Privileges, but in this case in the “Pulse 4 Station Version”. On this track Kiss Balasz takes care of the vocals which give this song a slightly darker touch than the A-side.

In short: two great minimal electro tracks reminiscent of the likes of Absolute Body Control and John Foxx. This 7” is a real treat for the electro-minimal lovers and collectors amongst us. But it is also available digital, so no excuse! Buy that shit!

Fred GADGET
02/09/2020


 

Next reviews
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY • On Common Ground
TUKT • Tukt
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
KRALLICE • Mass Cathexis
TRANSPORT AERIAN • Big Heart
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame

 

Other reviews from CAWATANA
CAWATANA • Decline Of Privileges

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO POP + MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
SIXTH JUNE • Pleasure EP
DEPECHE MODE • Delta Machine

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

28
06
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
THE MISSION
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
IAMX
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
W.H. LUNG
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
FORCED TO MODE
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
TORUL
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
ATMOSPHERE
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete