tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

09/12/2013 : SIXTH JUNE - Pleasure EP

SIXTH JUNE

Pleasure EP

MusicVinyl
DreampopElectro PopMinimalNew wave

[90/100]   

Mannequin
09/12/2013, Didier BECU

Since the day Sixth June were part of BIMfest, I always had a very special love for this Serbian duo. The music from Laszlo Antal and Lidija Andonov sounds indeed very 80’s, but at the same time contemporary as well. I know, they’re not the first who are doing such things….just read our mag and you’ll find plenty of them.
The only thing is that it often feels like Sixth June are just a bit better than the others, just like if their songs are classics themselves…. Indestructible monuments on their own. Yeah, Ireally use such big words.
After hearing their brand new 5 tracks 12'' EP Pleasure, I feel like to use these words again....

A song like Drowning is like the best thing I’ve heard since….say Snowy Red. Kill Me is early Clan Of Xymox melted with X-Mal Deutschland. Analog synthesizers, that irresistible voice of Lidija, those melodies that keep on haunting you. In short: Sixth June are just everything you expect from a splendid band! In the past their music has already been compared to John Foxx or Xeno & Oaklander, and that’s exactly how it sounds like! And who knows, even more!

The band already has released material on Genetic, but their newest EP is out on Mannequin, one of today's Germany's finest label.
One listen and it's enough to know why Sixth June are important. So yeah, extremely recommended and dangerous to get addicted to!

Didier BECU
09/12/2013


 

Next reviews
UMMAGMA • UMMAGMA
CESC GAY • Una pistola en cada mano
MARK COUSINS • A Story Of Children & Film
JOHNATHAN CHRISTIAN • Beautiful Hideous
IN THE NURSERY • The Calling
XMH • The Business EP
PRETTY ADDICTED • Filth
JEAN-JACQUES BEINIEIX • Betty Blue (37°2 Le Matin)
DR. KRANCK • Aus der Dunkelheit kommt das Licht
ATLASES • Upbringing EP

 

Other reviews from SIXTH JUNE
SIXTH JUNE • Back for a day EP

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
KALTE NACHT • The Last Breath
LOVATARAXX • Tilda Vaast
XTORT • Zwart
STAATSEINDE • De Nieuwe Golf
CHRYPTOCHROMA • Ominous Clouds
ENZO KREFT • Shelter
STAATSEINDE • Fehlerlinie
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SKINNY PUPPY • PIAS 40
THE NEON JUDGEMENT • Blue Screens 1995 -2009
A SLICE OF LIFE • Tabula Rasa
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht

Music reviews

05
04
KALTE NACHT
The Last Breath
02
04
LOVATARAXX
Tilda Vaast
14
03
THEN COMES SILENCE
Trickery
13
03
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT
Remixes
27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 38 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
39 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
15
04
On this day, 23 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
37 years ago MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
11
04
LIVERNOIS Addresses The Human Reaction To Trauma With ':ablation:'

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.
03
04
FRONTAL BOUNDARY
An Interview With Harsh Electro Band, Frontal Boundary
20
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
An Interview With Bestial Mouths
19
03
TVASHTAR
We never insisted on being an all-female band.

PHOTOS

16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
FRACTIONAL
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
O VEUX
Wasted Night #5 Borgloon

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
ANIMACHINES
Pandemia
20
04
CHAOS RESEARCH
In Power we entrust the Love advocated
19
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
18
04
COCAINE PISS
The Dancer
17
04
CHMCL STR8JCKT
Dressed to Kill
16
04
30,000 MONKIES
Coproliet
15
04
WIM MERTENS
Struggle For Pleasure