tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

09/12/2013 : SIXTH JUNE - Pleasure EP

SIXTH JUNE

Pleasure EP

MusicVinyl
DreampopElectro PopMinimalNew wave

[90/100]   

Mannequin
09/12/2013, Didier BECU

Since the day Sixth June were part of BIMfest, I always had a very special love for this Serbian duo. The music from Laszlo Antal and Lidija Andonov sounds indeed very 80’s, but at the same time contemporary as well. I know, they’re not the first who are doing such things….just read our mag and you’ll find plenty of them.
The only thing is that it often feels like Sixth June are just a bit better than the others, just like if their songs are classics themselves…. Indestructible monuments on their own. Yeah, Ireally use such big words.
After hearing their brand new 5 tracks 12'' EP Pleasure, I feel like to use these words again....

A song like Drowning is like the best thing I’ve heard since….say Snowy Red. Kill Me is early Clan Of Xymox melted with X-Mal Deutschland. Analog synthesizers, that irresistible voice of Lidija, those melodies that keep on haunting you. In short: Sixth June are just everything you expect from a splendid band! In the past their music has already been compared to John Foxx or Xeno & Oaklander, and that’s exactly how it sounds like! And who knows, even more!

The band already has released material on Genetic, but their newest EP is out on Mannequin, one of today's Germany's finest label.
One listen and it's enough to know why Sixth June are important. So yeah, extremely recommended and dangerous to get addicted to!

Didier BECU
09/12/2013


 

Next reviews
UMMAGMA • UMMAGMA
CESC GAY • Una pistola en cada mano
MARK COUSINS • A Story Of Children & Film
JOHNATHAN CHRISTIAN • Beautiful Hideous
IN THE NURSERY • The Calling
XMH • The Business EP
PRETTY ADDICTED • Filth
JEAN-JACQUES BEINIEIX • Betty Blue (37°2 Le Matin)
DR. KRANCK • Aus der Dunkelheit kommt das Licht
ATLASES • Upbringing EP

 

Other reviews from SIXTH JUNE
SIXTH JUNE • Back for a day EP

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
SCHEUBER • The Me I See

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
On this day, only one years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60.
22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
23
01
MIREXXX
Death Angel
23
01
YAZOO
Situation
22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born