tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

04/12/2013 : DIODATI - Susurrus Lake

DIODATI

Susurrus Lake

MusicCD
Avant-gardeClassicalGothicJazz

[88/100]   

Krperschall Records
04/12/2013, Peter DOLPHEN

Diodati calls themselves a classical crossoverband. And that pretty much covers the sound of Susurrus Lake, their latest album, and a third one under the name Diodati (they also have two other releases out as Diodati Classic).

First question a lot of people ask if they do not know a certain band is: with what can you compare it? Well, if you want to compare them with a ‘larger’ band, it comes very close to the easy-listening tracks by Deine Lakaien in their White Lies-period. I hear avant-garde sounds, great piano, superb cello-lines and a breathtaking vocal that is carrying you through the story he’s telling. But most of all, I hear a lot of potential. This kind of music I can listen to for hours and hours, slowly sinking away…

I could fill this review with other blahblahblah on every track, but this time, I truly refuse to do so. Not because the release does not deserve it, but frankly: you should all experience this yourselves!

Don’t imagine yourself in some rancid backstreet underground room, but rather in a classy theatre, red velvet seats and a waiter bringing you a glass of the finest red wine… Or better yet: the wonderful acoustic setting of an old church, where this heavenly music would come to best it’s right.. But for now: I’ll settle for the CD on repeat, here in my black velvet seat, with my glass of Chardonay… eyes closed, imagining I’m in a classy theatre! 

Peter DOLPHEN
04/12/2013


04/12/2013 : DIODATI - Susurrus Lake 04/12/2013 : DIODATI - Susurrus Lake 04/12/2013 : DIODATI - Susurrus Lake 04/12/2013 : DIODATI - Susurrus Lake 04/12/2013 : DIODATI - Susurrus Lake

 

Next reviews
CHARLES LAUGHTON • The Night Of The Hunter
SKINSITIVE • Her(tz)oÏn mp3
REMETE • Egy
SILENT ENJOYMENT • St. Luke's Place
KEISHI OHTOMO • Rurôni Kenshin
OYAARSS • Smaida Greizi Nākamība
LOUIS LETERRIER • Now You See Me
FAUSTEN • Fausten
GUS VAN SANT • Promised Land
COEN OSCAR & HERMAN WILKEN • Fathomless

 

Same genre: AVANT-GARDE
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY • On Common Ground
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
MCHNRY • The Shape
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped

 

Same genre: JAZZ
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!
01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp