tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : PIETER VERMEYEN - Inuit

PIETER VERMEYEN

Inuit

MusicCD (EP)
AmbientClassicalElectronicsPost Classical

[88/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Ward DE PRINS

EN

The EP Inuit is the latest project of the young composer Pieter Vermeyen (Antwerp). He combines ambient, classical and electronic music. Inuit are the inhabitants of Greenland and they have more than 20 different terms for snow. Four of them were chosen by Pieter for the different titles on this EP. These compositions have their own atmosphere, but as a whole they work ultra relaxing or uplifting.

Aput (Snow On The Ground) opens slowly, sober and dignified and gradually grows into a multi-layered and complex song with a repetitive nature that makes me instantly relax.

Skriniya (Snow That Never Reaches The Ground) continues on this pace, but this time as an excellent composition for piano, clarinet and electronics, really marvellous.

Bluwid (Snow That Is Shaken Down From Objects In The Wind) is my personal highlight. The poem "do not stand at my grave and weep" by Mary Elizabeth Frye is put to musicbrilliantly. The dejected narrative voice that mumbles Fryes poem against a delicious sound carpet of melancholy repetitive piano and hopeful electronics, makes me pressing the repeat button at the end of the song again and again - absolutely sublime!

But also the last composition Talini (Snow Angels) has those qualities. The struggle between hope and melancholy is executed in the same wonderful way as in the preceding compositions.

Since this EP only contains four compositions (together half an hour) and there are more than 20 words for snow, I hope Pieter quickly records/releases some new compositions as an Inuit II EP. And I’m also very curious to experience this music live.

An absolute must - check it yourself in the better record store or on the website of Pieter Vermeyen!

http://pietervermeyen.bandcamp.com

http://www.pietervermeyen.com

Ward DE PRINS
11/12/2016


NL

De ep Inuit is het laatste project van de jonge Antwerpenaar Pieter Vermeyen. Hij combineert ambiente, klassieke en elektronische muziek tot één geheel. Inuit zijn inwoners van Groenland en zij hebben meer dan 20 verschillend termen voor sneeuw. 4 ervan werden door Pieter uitgekozen en vormen de titels op deze ep. Deze composities hebben elk hun eigen sfeertje doch als geheel werken ze ultra relaxerend of trance opwekkend.

Aput (Snow On The Ground) opent traag, sober en statig, doch groeit langzaam aan naar een meerlagig en complex geheel dat me door het repetitief karakter onmiddellijk gerelaxed onderuit doet zakken.

Skriniya (Snow That Never Reaches The Ground) gaat op dit tempo door, doch ditmaal als een uitgelezen compositie voor piano, elektronica en klarinet, overheerlijk.

Persoonlijk hoogtepunt is evenwel Bluwid (Snow That Is Shaken Down From Objects In The Wind), waarbij het gedicht “Do not stand at my grave and weep” van Mary Elizabeth Frye op magistrale wijze op muziek wordt gezet. De neerslachtige narratieve stem die het Fryes-gedicht mompelt tegen een overheerlijk klanktapijt van melancholisch en repetitief pianospel en hoopgevende elektronica, doen me keer op keer op het eind van de song op de repeatknop drukken – absoluut subliem!

Toch moet ook afsluiter Talini (Snow Angels) niet onderdoen. De tweestrijd tussen hoop en melancholie zoals ook in de voorgaande composities, wordt hier op eenzelfde heerlijke wijze doorgetrokken.

Aangezien deze ep maar 4 composities bevat (samen wel een half uur) en er meer dan 20 termen voor sneeuw zijn, hoop ik dat Pieter snel enkele nieuwe composities uitbrengt als een Inuit II-ep. En live wil ik dit zeker ook eens meemaken.

Een absolute aanrader – check zelf via de betere platenzaak of de website van Pieter Vermeyen!

http://pietervermeyen.bandcamp.com

http://www.pietervermeyen.com

Ward DE PRINS
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
OPETH • Sorceress
RON HOWARD • Inferno
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
PENFIELD • Parallaxi5
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BRIAN ENO • The Ship

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH • Motetten (JardinDesVoix & Barokensemble Aspetti Musicali o.l.v. Koen Lamberechts, Gent, Sint-Elisabethkerk, 28/05/2016)
ANTONYMES • (For Now We See) Through a Glass Dimly
FOLIAS ANTIGUAS & CRIOLLAS (FROM THE OLD TO THE NEW WORLD) • Hesperion XXI & Tembembe Ensamble Continuo o.l.v. Jordi Savall (Antwerpen, deSingel, 20/4/2016)
MEILYR JONES • 2013

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue
DER PLAN • Unkapitulierbar
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
AUTOMAT • OstWest
WRANGLER • White Glue

Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void