tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : PIETER VERMEYEN - Inuit

PIETER VERMEYEN

Inuit

MusicCD (EP)
AmbientClassicalElectronicsPost Classical

[88/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Ward DE PRINS

EN

The EP Inuit is the latest project of the young composer Pieter Vermeyen (Antwerp). He combines ambient, classical and electronic music. Inuit are the inhabitants of Greenland and they have more than 20 different terms for snow. Four of them were chosen by Pieter for the different titles on this EP. These compositions have their own atmosphere, but as a whole they work ultra relaxing or uplifting.

Aput (Snow On The Ground) opens slowly, sober and dignified and gradually grows into a multi-layered and complex song with a repetitive nature that makes me instantly relax.

Skriniya (Snow That Never Reaches The Ground) continues on this pace, but this time as an excellent composition for piano, clarinet and electronics, really marvellous.

Bluwid (Snow That Is Shaken Down From Objects In The Wind) is my personal highlight. The poem "do not stand at my grave and weep" by Mary Elizabeth Frye is put to musicbrilliantly. The dejected narrative voice that mumbles Fryes poem against a delicious sound carpet of melancholy repetitive piano and hopeful electronics, makes me pressing the repeat button at the end of the song again and again - absolutely sublime!

But also the last composition Talini (Snow Angels) has those qualities. The struggle between hope and melancholy is executed in the same wonderful way as in the preceding compositions.

Since this EP only contains four compositions (together half an hour) and there are more than 20 words for snow, I hope Pieter quickly records/releases some new compositions as an Inuit II EP. And I’m also very curious to experience this music live.

An absolute must - check it yourself in the better record store or on the website of Pieter Vermeyen!

http://pietervermeyen.bandcamp.com

http://www.pietervermeyen.com

Ward DE PRINS
11/12/2016


NL

De ep Inuit is het laatste project van de jonge Antwerpenaar Pieter Vermeyen. Hij combineert ambiente, klassieke en elektronische muziek tot één geheel. Inuit zijn inwoners van Groenland en zij hebben meer dan 20 verschillend termen voor sneeuw. 4 ervan werden door Pieter uitgekozen en vormen de titels op deze ep. Deze composities hebben elk hun eigen sfeertje doch als geheel werken ze ultra relaxerend of trance opwekkend.

Aput (Snow On The Ground) opent traag, sober en statig, doch groeit langzaam aan naar een meerlagig en complex geheel dat me door het repetitief karakter onmiddellijk gerelaxed onderuit doet zakken.

Skriniya (Snow That Never Reaches The Ground) gaat op dit tempo door, doch ditmaal als een uitgelezen compositie voor piano, elektronica en klarinet, overheerlijk.

Persoonlijk hoogtepunt is evenwel Bluwid (Snow That Is Shaken Down From Objects In The Wind), waarbij het gedicht “Do not stand at my grave and weep” van Mary Elizabeth Frye op magistrale wijze op muziek wordt gezet. De neerslachtige narratieve stem die het Fryes-gedicht mompelt tegen een overheerlijk klanktapijt van melancholisch en repetitief pianospel en hoopgevende elektronica, doen me keer op keer op het eind van de song op de repeatknop drukken – absoluut subliem!

Toch moet ook afsluiter Talini (Snow Angels) niet onderdoen. De tweestrijd tussen hoop en melancholie zoals ook in de voorgaande composities, wordt hier op eenzelfde heerlijke wijze doorgetrokken.

Aangezien deze ep maar 4 composities bevat (samen wel een half uur) en er meer dan 20 termen voor sneeuw zijn, hoop ik dat Pieter snel enkele nieuwe composities uitbrengt als een Inuit II-ep. En live wil ik dit zeker ook eens meemaken.

Een absolute aanrader – check zelf via de betere platenzaak of de website van Pieter Vermeyen!

http://pietervermeyen.bandcamp.com

http://www.pietervermeyen.com

Ward DE PRINS
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
OPETH • Sorceress
RON HOWARD • Inferno
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
PENFIELD • Parallaxi5
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH • Motetten (JardinDesVoix & Barokensemble Aspetti Musicali o.l.v. Koen Lamberechts, Gent, Sint-Elisabethkerk, 28/05/2016)

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover