tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : PIETER VERMEYEN - Inuit

PIETER VERMEYEN

Inuit

MusicCD (EP)
AmbientClassicalElectronicsPost Classical

[88/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Ward DE PRINS

EN

The EP Inuit is the latest project of the young composer Pieter Vermeyen (Antwerp). He combines ambient, classical and electronic music. Inuit are the inhabitants of Greenland and they have more than 20 different terms for snow. Four of them were chosen by Pieter for the different titles on this EP. These compositions have their own atmosphere, but as a whole they work ultra relaxing or uplifting.

Aput (Snow On The Ground) opens slowly, sober and dignified and gradually grows into a multi-layered and complex song with a repetitive nature that makes me instantly relax.

Skriniya (Snow That Never Reaches The Ground) continues on this pace, but this time as an excellent composition for piano, clarinet and electronics, really marvellous.

Bluwid (Snow That Is Shaken Down From Objects In The Wind) is my personal highlight. The poem "do not stand at my grave and weep" by Mary Elizabeth Frye is put to musicbrilliantly. The dejected narrative voice that mumbles Fryes poem against a delicious sound carpet of melancholy repetitive piano and hopeful electronics, makes me pressing the repeat button at the end of the song again and again - absolutely sublime!

But also the last composition Talini (Snow Angels) has those qualities. The struggle between hope and melancholy is executed in the same wonderful way as in the preceding compositions.

Since this EP only contains four compositions (together half an hour) and there are more than 20 words for snow, I hope Pieter quickly records/releases some new compositions as an Inuit II EP. And I’m also very curious to experience this music live.

An absolute must - check it yourself in the better record store or on the website of Pieter Vermeyen!

http://pietervermeyen.bandcamp.com

http://www.pietervermeyen.com

Ward DE PRINS
11/12/2016


NL

De ep Inuit is het laatste project van de jonge Antwerpenaar Pieter Vermeyen. Hij combineert ambiente, klassieke en elektronische muziek tot één geheel. Inuit zijn inwoners van Groenland en zij hebben meer dan 20 verschillend termen voor sneeuw. 4 ervan werden door Pieter uitgekozen en vormen de titels op deze ep. Deze composities hebben elk hun eigen sfeertje doch als geheel werken ze ultra relaxerend of trance opwekkend.

Aput (Snow On The Ground) opent traag, sober en statig, doch groeit langzaam aan naar een meerlagig en complex geheel dat me door het repetitief karakter onmiddellijk gerelaxed onderuit doet zakken.

Skriniya (Snow That Never Reaches The Ground) gaat op dit tempo door, doch ditmaal als een uitgelezen compositie voor piano, elektronica en klarinet, overheerlijk.

Persoonlijk hoogtepunt is evenwel Bluwid (Snow That Is Shaken Down From Objects In The Wind), waarbij het gedicht “Do not stand at my grave and weep” van Mary Elizabeth Frye op magistrale wijze op muziek wordt gezet. De neerslachtige narratieve stem die het Fryes-gedicht mompelt tegen een overheerlijk klanktapijt van melancholisch en repetitief pianospel en hoopgevende elektronica, doen me keer op keer op het eind van de song op de repeatknop drukken – absoluut subliem!

Toch moet ook afsluiter Talini (Snow Angels) niet onderdoen. De tweestrijd tussen hoop en melancholie zoals ook in de voorgaande composities, wordt hier op eenzelfde heerlijke wijze doorgetrokken.

Aangezien deze ep maar 4 composities bevat (samen wel een half uur) en er meer dan 20 termen voor sneeuw zijn, hoop ik dat Pieter snel enkele nieuwe composities uitbrengt als een Inuit II-ep. En live wil ik dit zeker ook eens meemaken.

Een absolute aanrader – check zelf via de betere platenzaak of de website van Pieter Vermeyen!

http://pietervermeyen.bandcamp.com

http://www.pietervermeyen.com

Ward DE PRINS
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
OPETH • Sorceress
RON HOWARD • Inferno
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
PENFIELD • Parallaxi5
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH • Motetten (JardinDesVoix & Barokensemble Aspetti Musicali o.l.v. Koen Lamberechts, Gent, Sint-Elisabethkerk, 28/05/2016)

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

08
04
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
07
04
HAUSCHKA
My Kids Live On Mars
06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)