casinomaxi casino metropol canli casino

EN NL

11/12/2016 : PIETER VERMEYEN - Inuit

PIETER VERMEYEN

Inuit

MusicCD (EP)
AmbientClassicalElectronicsPost Classical

[88/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Ward DE PRINS

EN

The EP Inuit is the latest project of the young composer Pieter Vermeyen (Antwerp). He combines ambient, classical and electronic music. Inuit are the inhabitants of Greenland and they have more than 20 different terms for snow. Four of them were chosen by Pieter for the different titles on this EP. These compositions have their own atmosphere, but as a whole they work ultra relaxing or uplifting.

Aput (Snow On The Ground) opens slowly, sober and dignified and gradually grows into a multi-layered and complex song with a repetitive nature that makes me instantly relax.

Skriniya (Snow That Never Reaches The Ground) continues on this pace, but this time as an excellent composition for piano, clarinet and electronics, really marvellous.

Bluwid (Snow That Is Shaken Down From Objects In The Wind) is my personal highlight. The poem "do not stand at my grave and weep" by Mary Elizabeth Frye is put to musicbrilliantly. The dejected narrative voice that mumbles Fryes poem against a delicious sound carpet of melancholy repetitive piano and hopeful electronics, makes me pressing the repeat button at the end of the song again and again - absolutely sublime!

But also the last composition Talini (Snow Angels) has those qualities. The struggle between hope and melancholy is executed in the same wonderful way as in the preceding compositions.

Since this EP only contains four compositions (together half an hour) and there are more than 20 words for snow, I hope Pieter quickly records/releases some new compositions as an Inuit II EP. And I’m also very curious to experience this music live.

An absolute must - check it yourself in the better record store or on the website of Pieter Vermeyen!

http://pietervermeyen.bandcamp.com

http://www.pietervermeyen.com

Ward DE PRINS
11/12/2016


NL

De ep Inuit is het laatste project van de jonge Antwerpenaar Pieter Vermeyen. Hij combineert ambiente, klassieke en elektronische muziek tot één geheel. Inuit zijn inwoners van Groenland en zij hebben meer dan 20 verschillend termen voor sneeuw. 4 ervan werden door Pieter uitgekozen en vormen de titels op deze ep. Deze composities hebben elk hun eigen sfeertje doch als geheel werken ze ultra relaxerend of trance opwekkend.

Aput (Snow On The Ground) opent traag, sober en statig, doch groeit langzaam aan naar een meerlagig en complex geheel dat me door het repetitief karakter onmiddellijk gerelaxed onderuit doet zakken.

Skriniya (Snow That Never Reaches The Ground) gaat op dit tempo door, doch ditmaal als een uitgelezen compositie voor piano, elektronica en klarinet, overheerlijk.

Persoonlijk hoogtepunt is evenwel Bluwid (Snow That Is Shaken Down From Objects In The Wind), waarbij het gedicht “Do not stand at my grave and weep” van Mary Elizabeth Frye op magistrale wijze op muziek wordt gezet. De neerslachtige narratieve stem die het Fryes-gedicht mompelt tegen een overheerlijk klanktapijt van melancholisch en repetitief pianospel en hoopgevende elektronica, doen me keer op keer op het eind van de song op de repeatknop drukken – absoluut subliem!

Toch moet ook afsluiter Talini (Snow Angels) niet onderdoen. De tweestrijd tussen hoop en melancholie zoals ook in de voorgaande composities, wordt hier op eenzelfde heerlijke wijze doorgetrokken.

Aangezien deze ep maar 4 composities bevat (samen wel een half uur) en er meer dan 20 termen voor sneeuw zijn, hoop ik dat Pieter snel enkele nieuwe composities uitbrengt als een Inuit II-ep. En live wil ik dit zeker ook eens meemaken.

Een absolute aanrader – check zelf via de betere platenzaak of de website van Pieter Vermeyen!

http://pietervermeyen.bandcamp.com

http://www.pietervermeyen.com

Ward DE PRINS
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
OPETH • Sorceress
RON HOWARD • Inferno
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
PENFIELD • Parallaxi5
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
BE • One
SCATTER FACTORY • Scatter Factory
PALE THORNS • Somberland

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH • Motetten (JardinDesVoix & Barokensemble Aspetti Musicali o.l.v. Koen Lamberechts, Gent, Sint-Elisabethkerk, 28/05/2016)
ANTONYMES • (For Now We See) Through a Glass Dimly
FOLIAS ANTIGUAS & CRIOLLAS (FROM THE OLD TO THE NEW WORLD) • Hesperion XXI & Tembembe Ensamble Continuo o.l.v. Jordi Savall (Antwerpen, deSingel, 20/4/2016)
MEILYR JONES • 2013
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
WIM MERTENS • Diest, Live @ CC Diest (16/02/2016)
LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN • Missa Solemnis (Rotterdams Filharmonisch Orkest & Collegium Vocale, Antwerpen, deSingel, 13/02/2016)
BRAVE TIMBERS • Hope

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (STILL) Heartless
AUTOMAT • OstWest
WRANGLER • White Glue
YELLO • Toy
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Remix
THE INVISIBLE • Patience
LONE • Levitate
SEVERED HEADS • Stretcher redux
LINGOUF • Quatuor Solitaire
SCHEUBER • The Me I See

Music reviews

29
03
STRUCKTURA
Satues Also Die
27
03
PHALLUS DEI
Black Dawn
25
03
CYGNOSIC
Siren
24
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
(STILL) Heartless
23
03
PEINE PERDUE
Histoire d'une Âme
21
03
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO
Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
CUBANATE is back with ‘BRUTALISM'- a retrospective collection!
27
03
Steven Severin releases (a lot of) new work
26
03
DIVE (Dirk Ivens) releases brand new studio album 'Underneath'
24
03
115 bands announced for Wave Gotik Treffen
23
03
Alison Moyet announces new album “Other” (& tour)
22
03
Lokerse Feesten: 19 new bands announced!

Concert reviews

26
03
26 TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - JUNE 2TH - 5 TH 2017
Some minimal bands to check out !
21
03
ELM, MONO ELECTRONIC DENSITY, LUMYIA
Les Vierges Morbides, Café Bobble, Lomme/Rijsel - 11 maart 2017
02
03
THIS MORN'OMINA, STIN SCATZOR, MIREXXX, NOIZE MACHINE
Dark Discharge Industrial Night - Roubaix - 25/02/2017
28
01
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT
Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017
12
12
GROUND NERO - CHARNIER
Kinky Star - 9 december
11
12
KILLING JOKE
Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
03
ALVAR
2017 Dark Demo(n)s candidate
27
03
X-MOUTH SYNDROME
2017 Dark Demo(n)s candidate
24
03
ELM
2017 Dark Demo(n)s candidate
22
03
31ST TILE
2017 Dark Demo(n)s candidate
21
03
CAUSENATION
2017 Dark Demo(n)s candidate

PHOTOS

19
03
COLD CAVE
Fantastique Night XLXI, Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
19
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Fantastique Night XLXI, Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
13
03
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
DownHill XI Edition, Poppodium Volt, Sittard, The Netherlands
13
03
SUICIDE COMMANDO
DownHill XI Edition, Poppodium Volt, Sittard, The Netherlands
13
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
DownHill XI Edition, Poppodium Volt, Sittard, The Netherlands
13
03
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
DownHill XI Edition, Poppodium Volt, Sittard, The Netherlands
11
03
LEBANON HANOVER
BEURSSCHOUWBURG, Brussels, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

30
03
COVENANT
Sound Mirrors
29
03
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Conjure
28
03
GOOSE
Synrise
27
03
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love
26
03
BLONDIE
Call Me
25
03
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
24
03
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg