tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

11/12/2016 : JO QUAIL - Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016

JO QUAIL

Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016

Concert
ClassicalExperimentalNeoclassicalSoundscapeSoundtrack

[90/100]   
11/12/2016, Ward DE PRINS

EN

From 22nd May to 28th August, the Arp Museum in Remagen organizes a retrospective of the British artist Barbara Hepworth. In that context, the British cellist Jo Quail was invited to give a concert in the museum, inspired by the objects of Hepworth.

The combination of those two brilliant women was hard to resist. Early in the afternoon, I went to the museum, of which the entrance is situated at the old train station of Remagen. Via an underground tunnel and a phenomenal elevator we entered the ultra-modern museum, with a stunning view over the Rhine.

Together with Tate Britain and the Kröller-Müller Museum, the Arp museum gathered over 100 works by Barbara Hepworth. Along with Henry Moore and Ben Nicholson, this sculptor was pioneering and innovative in the first half of the last century. And displayed in this beautiful museum, you get the perfect surroundings and time to see these art works up close and immerse yourself in the vision and wonderful creations of Barbara Hepworth.

Complete relaxed by this museum visit, enhanced with a nice meal at the old train station, I was ready for Jo Quail, who brought a performance divided in two sets.

The first set was entirely devoted to Five Incantations (her new album), presented in its entirety. Armed only with an electric cello and a looping station, Jo knows better than anyone to create a trance inducing soundscape in which you may and can lose yourself completely. All the actions, all the chords are allowed to grow harmonious compositions Beside the classic play, the cello gets also caressed, hit and strummed, or played with the back of the bow or even through the wooden frame of the cello, and all of that to create these magical sounds, like the waves of the sea or a hypnotic heartbeat. Perhaps it was this location, or the big picture of Hepworth above Jo Quail, or the magical view of the Rhine, but this concert was spot on and gave me goose bumps several times. Five Incantations is an absolutely brilliant album and live a delight for ear and eye.

After the first set, a short pause gave the audience the time to reflect on this music and immerse again in the atmosphere of Barbara Hepworth.

And then there was the second part. Jo began a new song, tentatively without a name and within a premature state, but as she said herself: such songs can only grow by sharing them and integrating the magic that is created with an audience. This song was based on a ruling by Barbara Hepworth (*), who found that her left hand wase presenting her thoughts, relaxed and sensitive, while her right hand carried out the instructions and thoughts. Likewise, Jo wanted to create a song that felt comfortable for the left hand, and was further supported by the right one. And even though this track is still very pure, without a lot of looping, you could hear and feel the atmosphere already very intensely. I’m curious how this number will evolve.

After this new song, three older songs were performed, which are – in my opinion - the most popular from her work. The upbeat Laurus, the slow but oh so melodic South West Night, and the mesmerising Adder Stone formed the brilliant end of a magical evening.

Arp museum : http://arpmuseum.org/

Jo Quail : http://www.joquail.co.uk/

(*) My left hand is my thinking hand. The right is only a motor hand. This holds the hammer. The left hand, the thinking hand, must be relaxed, sensitive. The rhythms of thought pass through the fingers and grip of this hand into the stone. It is also a listening hand. It listens for basic weaknesses of flaws in the stone; for the possibility or imminence of fractures. [Barbara Hepworth]

Ward DE PRINS
11/12/2016


NL

Het Arp Museum in Remagen organiseert van 22 mei tot 28 augustus een retrospectieve omtrent de Britse kunstenares Barbara Hepworth. In dat kader werd de Britse celliste Jo Quail uitgenodigd om in het museum, geïnspireerd door de objecten van Hepworth, een concert te geven.

Een dergelijke combinatie van twee briljante vrouwen kon ik niet aan me voorbij laten gaan en dus trok ik ruim op voorhand naar het museum, waarvan de ingang zich aan het oude station van Remagen bevindt, via een ondergrondse tunnel en een fenomenale lift die je naar het ultramoderne museum brengt, en dat met een prachtig uitzicht over de Rijn.

Samen met Tate Britain en het Kröller-Müller Museum bracht het Arp Museum meer dan 100 kunstwerken van Barbara Hepworth bij elkaar. De kunstenares was samen met Henry Moore en Ben Nicholson in de eerste helft van de vorige eeuw baanbrekend en innovatief. Uitgestald in dit prachtige museum, kreeg je de tijd om de kunstwerken van dichtbij te bekijken en jezelf onder te dompelen in haar visie en wonderlijke creaties.

Volledig Zen door dit museumbezoek, uitgebreid met een relaxte maaltijd in het oude treinstation, was ik helemaal klaar voor Jo Quail, die een set in twee delen bracht.

De eerste set werd geheel gewijd aan Five Incantations (haar nieuwe album) en dit werk werd ook als één geheel uitgevoerd. Enkel gewapend met een elektrische cello en een loopingstation weet Jo als geen ander een trance opwekkend klanklandschap te creëren waarin je jezelf helemaal kan en mag verliezen. Alle acties, alle akkoorden zijn toegelaten om de harmonieuze composities te laten groeien, en zo wordt er naast het klassieke spelen ook gestreeld, geslagen en getokkeld op de cello, maar wordt ook de achterzijde van de strijkstok of het houten kader van de cello bespeeld om de golven van de zee of een hypnotiserende hartslag te creëren. Misschien was het dit kader, of de grote foto van Hepworth boven Jo Quail, of het magische uitzicht over de Rijn, maar dit concert ging door merg en been en bezorgde me ettelijke keren kippenvel. Five Incantations is dan ook een absoluut briljant album en live een streling voor oor en oog.

Na de eerste set werd een korte pauze ingelast, waarbij het publiek zich in het museum opnieuw kon onderdompelen in de sfeer van Barbara Hepworth, nagenietend van de vijf bezweringen.

En dan was er het tweede deel, waarbij Jo begon met een nieuw nummer, voorlopig zonder naam en in een premature staat, maar zoals ze zelf zei: dergelijke nummers kunnen enkel ontstaan en groeien door ze te delen en de magie die ontstaat met een publiek erin te integreren. Dit nummer was trouwens gebaseerd op een uitspraak van Barbara Hepworth (*), die vond dat haar linkerhand haar gedachten vormden, relaxed en gevoelig, terwijl haar rechterhand ze uitvoerde. Zo ook wilde Jo een song creëren die aangenaam aanvoelde voor de linkerhand, en door de rechter werd ondersteund. En ook al was deze track nog zeer puur, zonder veel looping, hoorde en voelde de sfeer al zeer intens aan. Ik ben benieuwd hoe deze compositie verder zal groeien.

Na dit nieuwe nummer werden er nog drie nummers opgevoerd, die volgens mij de meest populaire uit haar oeuvre zijn. Het opdwepende Laurus, het trage doch o zo melodieuze South West Night, en afsluiter Adder Stone vormden het briljante einde van een magische avond.

Arp museum : http://arpmuseum.org/

Jo Quail : http://www.joquail.co.uk/

(*) My left hand is my thinking hand. The right is only a motor hand. This holds the hammer. The left hand, the thinking hand, must be relaxed, sensitive. The rhythms of thought pass through the fingers and grip of this hand into the stone. It is also a listening hand. It listens for basic weaknesses of flaws in the stone; for the possibility or imminence of fractures. [Barbara Hepworth]

Ward DE PRINS
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : JO QUAIL - Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016 11/12/2016 : JO QUAIL - Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016 11/12/2016 : JO QUAIL - Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016 11/12/2016 : JO QUAIL - Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016 11/12/2016 : JO QUAIL - Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016 11/12/2016 : JO QUAIL - Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016 11/12/2016 : JO QUAIL - Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016 11/12/2016 : JO QUAIL - Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016 11/12/2016 : JO QUAIL - Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016 11/12/2016 : JO QUAIL - Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016 11/12/2016 : JO QUAIL - Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016 11/12/2016 : JO QUAIL - Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016 11/12/2016 : JO QUAIL - Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016 11/12/2016 : JO QUAIL - Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016 11/12/2016 : JO QUAIL - Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016

 

Next reviews
LEAETHER STRIP • Reptile Man Drop: A Tribute To Simple Minds
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
PANTSERFABRIEK • Krachtpatser
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
PET SHOP BOYS • Super
MAD ABOUT MOUNTAINS • Radio Harlaz
MESH • Looking Skyward
BLACK MARBLE • It's Immaterial
DR. ARTHUR KRAUSE • The Only Time She Moves

 

Other reviews from JO QUAIL
JO QUAIL • Black Easter 2016

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH • Motetten (JardinDesVoix & Barokensemble Aspetti Musicali o.l.v. Koen Lamberechts, Gent, Sint-Elisabethkerk, 28/05/2016)
ANTONYMES • (For Now We See) Through a Glass Dimly
FOLIAS ANTIGUAS & CRIOLLAS (FROM THE OLD TO THE NEW WORLD) • Hesperion XXI & Tembembe Ensamble Continuo o.l.v. Jordi Savall (Antwerpen, deSingel, 20/4/2016)
MEILYR JONES • 2013

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
LINGOUF • Quatuor Solitaire
GROUP A • 70 + a =
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PASCAL PINON • Sundur
EGOR GRUSHIN • Once
ROBERTO ATTANASIO • Another Past

 

Same genre: SOUNDSCAPE
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
THE HUMAN VOICE • Silent Heart
ÆMAETH • The Roman
TOTAL COYOTEL • #Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12
CHVE • Rasa
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
CHRIS TENZ • Nails Through Bird Feet
SHE SPREAD SORROW • Rumspringa

 

Same genre: SOUNDTRACK
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST
AN PIERLE • Le Tout Nouveau Testament-OST
ARMONITE • The Sun is New Each Day
JEAN-MARC LEDERMAN • The Last Broadcast On Earth
MARTIN L. GORE • MG
KEVIN STRAUWEN • Moving Sound & Music For Film
THREE WINTERS • Chroma

Music reviews

16
11
STAATSEINDE
Neue Zyklus
11
11
AM TIERPARK
Trashy Luxury
08
11
BOY HARSHER
Country Girl
07
11
OUR BANSHEE
4200
06
11
IMPLANT
The Phone Call (EP)
04
11
SEESAYLE
Stamina

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
11
Then Comes Silence kick off tour today!
11
11
MORTIIS has reissued 'Ånden som Gjorde Opprør', 'Keiser av en Dimensjon Ukjent' and “Født til å Herske” (LP/CD/digital)
08
11
Blutengel releases new video and album 'Black'.
04
11
New band confirmations for the Out Of Line Weekender in Berlin!
02
11
Line-up International EBM Day @ De Casino, St-Niklaas (B) complete!
29
10
New album of FUTURE FUNK SQUAD

Concert reviews

10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’
19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'

PHOTOS

13
11
RED ZEBRA
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
THE BOLLOCK BROTHERS
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
STRUGGLER
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
DONDER, HEL & HAGEL
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
11
11
THE MISSION
De Casino
11
11
DEPARTMENT S
De Casino

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

18
11
MIIKE SNOW
Genghis Khan
17
11
ELVYA DULCIMER
Gover Si Vena
16
11
GRANDBROTHERS
From A Distance
15
11
THE TEA PARTY
Temptation
14
11
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
14
11
NO MORE
Suicide Commando (Official 1981 video & version)
13
11
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer