tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MESH - Looking Skyward

MESH

Looking Skyward

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[84/100]   

Dependent
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A new release by Mesh is always an experience. Indeed, tastes may differ, but many readers will agree that Mesh is one of the best synth pop bands, if not the best. Just as the band it is often compared with (Depeche Mode), it seems as if Mesh gets better and better on every record. Automation Baby, which was released three years ago, is without doubt one of the finest things Mark Hockings and Rich Silverthorn ever did, especially as there is so much variety in the album. It took them a while before the successor was ready, but it was worth waiting. The newcomer is indeed full of songs that will be stuck in your head forever once you've heard them..

If a term like apocalyptic pop exists, then Mesh is surely the maker and creator. Each track has hit potential, contains a genius melody and it’s even a bit commercial, but the duo always turns it into something melancholic (or even dramatic).

The titles say enough: Before This World Ends or The Last One Standing. Words that make any mortal speechless, perfect to dance to with tears in your eyes. Mesh always had a patent on writing ballads with a dramatic touch, and these are also present on the new album (Tactile).

The first single from the album (Kill Your Darlings) ensures that the fans also have a singalong for the upcoming tour. The Traps We Made is synth pop in all its grandeur, and in The Fixer we hear a hint of future pop, although Mesh always remains Mesh.

Everything seems to be easy for Mark Hockings and Rich Silverthorn, however, Looking Skyward is a genius album. The duo from Bristol once again proves that it deserves to be on top of the synthpop scene...

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Een nieuwe release van Mesh is altijd een kleine belevenis. Smaken verschillen, toch denk ik dat heel wat lezers zullen beamen dat Mesh één van de beste synthpopbands is, om niet te zeggen de beste. Net zoals de band waarmee hij vaak worden vergeleken (Depeche Mode), lijkt het wel alsof Mesh op iedere plaat beter en beter wordt. Automation Baby, dat drie jaar geleden uitkwam, was zonder twijfel één van de mooiste dingen die Mark Hockings en Rich Silverthorn deden, vooral omdat er zo veel variatie in het album zat. Het duurde een tijdje vooraleer de opvolger klaar was, uiteindelijk loonde al dat wachten. De nieuweling staat inderdaad opnieuw bol van songs die voor altijd in je hoofd vastzitten eens je ze hebt gehoord

Als een term als apocalyptische pop bestaat, dan is Mesh er zeker de maker van. Iedere track is hitgevoelig, bevat een knappe melodie en is zelfs wat commercieel, maar het duo maakt er steeds iets melancholisch (zelfs dramatisch) van.

De titels liegen er ook niet om: Before This World Ends of The Last One Standing. Het zijn woorden waar een sterveling wel eens stil van wordt en ze worden op een manier gebracht waardoor je met tranen in de ogen danst. Mesh heeft altijd een patent gehad op het schrijven van ballades met een dramatisch tintje, en die zijn ook op het nieuwe album aanwezig (Tactile).

De eerste single uit de plaat (Kill Your Darlings) zorgt ervoor dat de fans ook een meezinger hebben voor de komende tour. The Traps We Made is synthpop in al zijn grandeur en in The Fixer horen we een vleugje futurepop ofschoon Mesh zichzelf blijft.

Alles lijkt simpel te gaan voor Mark Hockings en Rich Silverthorn, toch is Looking Skyward een geniale plaat waarmee het duo uit Bristol nog maar eens bewijst dat het verdient om tot de top van de synthpopwereld te worden gerekend…

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle
15
04
PSY'AVIAH
Lightflare

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days
14
04
Mourners release their first songs!
13
04
Empirion sign with Dependent
12
04
Nox Interna will release their EP 'A Minor Road' in May 2018

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos
21
04
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
20
04
MIDAS FALL
Glue
19
04
0KONTROL
Limbo
18
04
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
17
04
LANA DEL RABIES
Vicious End
16
04
DIAMOND BLACK
Ghost in the Glass