tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MESH - Looking Skyward

MESH

Looking Skyward

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[84/100]   

Dependent
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A new release by Mesh is always an experience. Indeed, tastes may differ, but many readers will agree that Mesh is one of the best synth pop bands, if not the best. Just as the band it is often compared with (Depeche Mode), it seems as if Mesh gets better and better on every record. Automation Baby, which was released three years ago, is without doubt one of the finest things Mark Hockings and Rich Silverthorn ever did, especially as there is so much variety in the album. It took them a while before the successor was ready, but it was worth waiting. The newcomer is indeed full of songs that will be stuck in your head forever once you've heard them..

If a term like apocalyptic pop exists, then Mesh is surely the maker and creator. Each track has hit potential, contains a genius melody and it’s even a bit commercial, but the duo always turns it into something melancholic (or even dramatic).

The titles say enough: Before This World Ends or The Last One Standing. Words that make any mortal speechless, perfect to dance to with tears in your eyes. Mesh always had a patent on writing ballads with a dramatic touch, and these are also present on the new album (Tactile).

The first single from the album (Kill Your Darlings) ensures that the fans also have a singalong for the upcoming tour. The Traps We Made is synth pop in all its grandeur, and in The Fixer we hear a hint of future pop, although Mesh always remains Mesh.

Everything seems to be easy for Mark Hockings and Rich Silverthorn, however, Looking Skyward is a genius album. The duo from Bristol once again proves that it deserves to be on top of the synthpop scene...

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Een nieuwe release van Mesh is altijd een kleine belevenis. Smaken verschillen, toch denk ik dat heel wat lezers zullen beamen dat Mesh één van de beste synthpopbands is, om niet te zeggen de beste. Net zoals de band waarmee hij vaak worden vergeleken (Depeche Mode), lijkt het wel alsof Mesh op iedere plaat beter en beter wordt. Automation Baby, dat drie jaar geleden uitkwam, was zonder twijfel één van de mooiste dingen die Mark Hockings en Rich Silverthorn deden, vooral omdat er zo veel variatie in het album zat. Het duurde een tijdje vooraleer de opvolger klaar was, uiteindelijk loonde al dat wachten. De nieuweling staat inderdaad opnieuw bol van songs die voor altijd in je hoofd vastzitten eens je ze hebt gehoord

Als een term als apocalyptische pop bestaat, dan is Mesh er zeker de maker van. Iedere track is hitgevoelig, bevat een knappe melodie en is zelfs wat commercieel, maar het duo maakt er steeds iets melancholisch (zelfs dramatisch) van.

De titels liegen er ook niet om: Before This World Ends of The Last One Standing. Het zijn woorden waar een sterveling wel eens stil van wordt en ze worden op een manier gebracht waardoor je met tranen in de ogen danst. Mesh heeft altijd een patent gehad op het schrijven van ballades met een dramatisch tintje, en die zijn ook op het nieuwe album aanwezig (Tactile).

De eerste single uit de plaat (Kill Your Darlings) zorgt ervoor dat de fans ook een meezinger hebben voor de komende tour. The Traps We Made is synthpop in al zijn grandeur en in The Fixer horen we een vleugje futurepop ofschoon Mesh zichzelf blijft.

Alles lijkt simpel te gaan voor Mark Hockings en Rich Silverthorn, toch is Looking Skyward een geniale plaat waarmee het duo uit Bristol nog maar eens bewijst dat het verdient om tot de top van de synthpopwereld te worden gerekend…

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap