tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MESH - Looking Skyward

MESH

Looking Skyward

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[84/100]   

Dependent
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A new release by Mesh is always an experience. Indeed, tastes may differ, but many readers will agree that Mesh is one of the best synth pop bands, if not the best. Just as the band it is often compared with (Depeche Mode), it seems as if Mesh gets better and better on every record. Automation Baby, which was released three years ago, is without doubt one of the finest things Mark Hockings and Rich Silverthorn ever did, especially as there is so much variety in the album. It took them a while before the successor was ready, but it was worth waiting. The newcomer is indeed full of songs that will be stuck in your head forever once you've heard them..

If a term like apocalyptic pop exists, then Mesh is surely the maker and creator. Each track has hit potential, contains a genius melody and it’s even a bit commercial, but the duo always turns it into something melancholic (or even dramatic).

The titles say enough: Before This World Ends or The Last One Standing. Words that make any mortal speechless, perfect to dance to with tears in your eyes. Mesh always had a patent on writing ballads with a dramatic touch, and these are also present on the new album (Tactile).

The first single from the album (Kill Your Darlings) ensures that the fans also have a singalong for the upcoming tour. The Traps We Made is synth pop in all its grandeur, and in The Fixer we hear a hint of future pop, although Mesh always remains Mesh.

Everything seems to be easy for Mark Hockings and Rich Silverthorn, however, Looking Skyward is a genius album. The duo from Bristol once again proves that it deserves to be on top of the synthpop scene...

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Een nieuwe release van Mesh is altijd een kleine belevenis. Smaken verschillen, toch denk ik dat heel wat lezers zullen beamen dat Mesh één van de beste synthpopbands is, om niet te zeggen de beste. Net zoals de band waarmee hij vaak worden vergeleken (Depeche Mode), lijkt het wel alsof Mesh op iedere plaat beter en beter wordt. Automation Baby, dat drie jaar geleden uitkwam, was zonder twijfel één van de mooiste dingen die Mark Hockings en Rich Silverthorn deden, vooral omdat er zo veel variatie in het album zat. Het duurde een tijdje vooraleer de opvolger klaar was, uiteindelijk loonde al dat wachten. De nieuweling staat inderdaad opnieuw bol van songs die voor altijd in je hoofd vastzitten eens je ze hebt gehoord

Als een term als apocalyptische pop bestaat, dan is Mesh er zeker de maker van. Iedere track is hitgevoelig, bevat een knappe melodie en is zelfs wat commercieel, maar het duo maakt er steeds iets melancholisch (zelfs dramatisch) van.

De titels liegen er ook niet om: Before This World Ends of The Last One Standing. Het zijn woorden waar een sterveling wel eens stil van wordt en ze worden op een manier gebracht waardoor je met tranen in de ogen danst. Mesh heeft altijd een patent gehad op het schrijven van ballades met een dramatisch tintje, en die zijn ook op het nieuwe album aanwezig (Tactile).

De eerste single uit de plaat (Kill Your Darlings) zorgt ervoor dat de fans ook een meezinger hebben voor de komende tour. The Traps We Made is synthpop in al zijn grandeur en in The Fixer horen we een vleugje futurepop ofschoon Mesh zichzelf blijft.

Alles lijkt simpel te gaan voor Mark Hockings en Rich Silverthorn, toch is Looking Skyward een geniale plaat waarmee het duo uit Bristol nog maar eens bewijst dat het verdient om tot de top van de synthpopwereld te worden gerekend…

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell