tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MESH - Looking Skyward

MESH

Looking Skyward

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[84/100]   

Dependent
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A new release by Mesh is always an experience. Indeed, tastes may differ, but many readers will agree that Mesh is one of the best synth pop bands, if not the best. Just as the band it is often compared with (Depeche Mode), it seems as if Mesh gets better and better on every record. Automation Baby, which was released three years ago, is without doubt one of the finest things Mark Hockings and Rich Silverthorn ever did, especially as there is so much variety in the album. It took them a while before the successor was ready, but it was worth waiting. The newcomer is indeed full of songs that will be stuck in your head forever once you've heard them..

If a term like apocalyptic pop exists, then Mesh is surely the maker and creator. Each track has hit potential, contains a genius melody and it’s even a bit commercial, but the duo always turns it into something melancholic (or even dramatic).

The titles say enough: Before This World Ends or The Last One Standing. Words that make any mortal speechless, perfect to dance to with tears in your eyes. Mesh always had a patent on writing ballads with a dramatic touch, and these are also present on the new album (Tactile).

The first single from the album (Kill Your Darlings) ensures that the fans also have a singalong for the upcoming tour. The Traps We Made is synth pop in all its grandeur, and in The Fixer we hear a hint of future pop, although Mesh always remains Mesh.

Everything seems to be easy for Mark Hockings and Rich Silverthorn, however, Looking Skyward is a genius album. The duo from Bristol once again proves that it deserves to be on top of the synthpop scene...

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Een nieuwe release van Mesh is altijd een kleine belevenis. Smaken verschillen, toch denk ik dat heel wat lezers zullen beamen dat Mesh één van de beste synthpopbands is, om niet te zeggen de beste. Net zoals de band waarmee hij vaak worden vergeleken (Depeche Mode), lijkt het wel alsof Mesh op iedere plaat beter en beter wordt. Automation Baby, dat drie jaar geleden uitkwam, was zonder twijfel één van de mooiste dingen die Mark Hockings en Rich Silverthorn deden, vooral omdat er zo veel variatie in het album zat. Het duurde een tijdje vooraleer de opvolger klaar was, uiteindelijk loonde al dat wachten. De nieuweling staat inderdaad opnieuw bol van songs die voor altijd in je hoofd vastzitten eens je ze hebt gehoord

Als een term als apocalyptische pop bestaat, dan is Mesh er zeker de maker van. Iedere track is hitgevoelig, bevat een knappe melodie en is zelfs wat commercieel, maar het duo maakt er steeds iets melancholisch (zelfs dramatisch) van.

De titels liegen er ook niet om: Before This World Ends of The Last One Standing. Het zijn woorden waar een sterveling wel eens stil van wordt en ze worden op een manier gebracht waardoor je met tranen in de ogen danst. Mesh heeft altijd een patent gehad op het schrijven van ballades met een dramatisch tintje, en die zijn ook op het nieuwe album aanwezig (Tactile).

De eerste single uit de plaat (Kill Your Darlings) zorgt ervoor dat de fans ook een meezinger hebben voor de komende tour. The Traps We Made is synthpop in al zijn grandeur en in The Fixer horen we een vleugje futurepop ofschoon Mesh zichzelf blijft.

Alles lijkt simpel te gaan voor Mark Hockings en Rich Silverthorn, toch is Looking Skyward een geniale plaat waarmee het duo uit Bristol nog maar eens bewijst dat het verdient om tot de top van de synthpopwereld te worden gerekend…

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains