tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MESH - Looking Skyward

MESH

Looking Skyward

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[84/100]   

Dependent
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A new release by Mesh is always an experience. Indeed, tastes may differ, but many readers will agree that Mesh is one of the best synth pop bands, if not the best. Just as the band it is often compared with (Depeche Mode), it seems as if Mesh gets better and better on every record. Automation Baby, which was released three years ago, is without doubt one of the finest things Mark Hockings and Rich Silverthorn ever did, especially as there is so much variety in the album. It took them a while before the successor was ready, but it was worth waiting. The newcomer is indeed full of songs that will be stuck in your head forever once you've heard them..

If a term like apocalyptic pop exists, then Mesh is surely the maker and creator. Each track has hit potential, contains a genius melody and it’s even a bit commercial, but the duo always turns it into something melancholic (or even dramatic).

The titles say enough: Before This World Ends or The Last One Standing. Words that make any mortal speechless, perfect to dance to with tears in your eyes. Mesh always had a patent on writing ballads with a dramatic touch, and these are also present on the new album (Tactile).

The first single from the album (Kill Your Darlings) ensures that the fans also have a singalong for the upcoming tour. The Traps We Made is synth pop in all its grandeur, and in The Fixer we hear a hint of future pop, although Mesh always remains Mesh.

Everything seems to be easy for Mark Hockings and Rich Silverthorn, however, Looking Skyward is a genius album. The duo from Bristol once again proves that it deserves to be on top of the synthpop scene...

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Een nieuwe release van Mesh is altijd een kleine belevenis. Smaken verschillen, toch denk ik dat heel wat lezers zullen beamen dat Mesh één van de beste synthpopbands is, om niet te zeggen de beste. Net zoals de band waarmee hij vaak worden vergeleken (Depeche Mode), lijkt het wel alsof Mesh op iedere plaat beter en beter wordt. Automation Baby, dat drie jaar geleden uitkwam, was zonder twijfel één van de mooiste dingen die Mark Hockings en Rich Silverthorn deden, vooral omdat er zo veel variatie in het album zat. Het duurde een tijdje vooraleer de opvolger klaar was, uiteindelijk loonde al dat wachten. De nieuweling staat inderdaad opnieuw bol van songs die voor altijd in je hoofd vastzitten eens je ze hebt gehoord

Als een term als apocalyptische pop bestaat, dan is Mesh er zeker de maker van. Iedere track is hitgevoelig, bevat een knappe melodie en is zelfs wat commercieel, maar het duo maakt er steeds iets melancholisch (zelfs dramatisch) van.

De titels liegen er ook niet om: Before This World Ends of The Last One Standing. Het zijn woorden waar een sterveling wel eens stil van wordt en ze worden op een manier gebracht waardoor je met tranen in de ogen danst. Mesh heeft altijd een patent gehad op het schrijven van ballades met een dramatisch tintje, en die zijn ook op het nieuwe album aanwezig (Tactile).

De eerste single uit de plaat (Kill Your Darlings) zorgt ervoor dat de fans ook een meezinger hebben voor de komende tour. The Traps We Made is synthpop in al zijn grandeur en in The Fixer horen we een vleugje futurepop ofschoon Mesh zichzelf blijft.

Alles lijkt simpel te gaan voor Mark Hockings en Rich Silverthorn, toch is Looking Skyward een geniale plaat waarmee het duo uit Bristol nog maar eens bewijst dat het verdient om tot de top van de synthpopwereld te worden gerekend…

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

22
10
VEDA RAYS
For The Rest To Rest
20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
10
DAVID J
Interview with David J
20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
ADULT.
Heartbreak (Live @ MOOGFEST SOUND LAB)
21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido