tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : CHELSEY AND THE NOISE - Losing Landscapes EP

CHELSEY AND THE NOISE

Losing Landscapes EP

MusicCD (EP)
Avant-gardeDreampopElectronics

[75/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Chelsey And The Noise comes from America, an interesting duo that released its first EP. Chelsey Hice and Brent "the Noise" Watters use analog synths and all kinds of strange electronic sounds.

Original sounds are always difficult to define, and that is the case with this release as well. You hear dance influences, although the post-punk sounds are more dominant.

Opener Graveyard sounds macabre: eerie bells, followed by menacing guitars that feel like a unstoppable rattlesnake through your brain, all completed with mysterious female vocals that float between Siouxsie and Björk. Although the songs are accessible, you also hear avant-garde influences.

Chelsey And The Noise is special, but above all it is good!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Uit Amerika komt Chelsey And The Noise, een duo dat net z'n eerste ep op de markt heeft gegooid. Chelsey Hice en Brent "the Noise" Watters maken gebruik van analoge synths en allerlei vreemde elektroklanken.

Originele geluiden zijn altijd moeilijk te omschrijven en dat geldt ook voor deze release. Je hoort dance-invloeden, hoewel het vooral de postpunkgeluiden zijn die bovendrijven.

Opener Graveyard klinkt zelfs vrij macaber: angstaanjagende klokgeluiden, gevolgd door dreigende gitaren die zich als een ratelslang gedragen, alles mooi aangevuld met mysterieuze vrouwelijke vocals die ergens tussen Siouxsie en Björk zweven. Hoewel de songs vrij toegankelijk zijn, hoor je tevens avant-gardistische invloeden.

Apart deze Chelsey And The Noise, maar daarom niet minder goed.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DORIC • Sleep Of Reason
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
SHINE NOIR • Shine Noir EP
JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COCAINE PISS • The Dancer
MORTILLERY • Shapeshifter
BRIGITTE ROSE (BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VITA NOCTIS • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives

 

Same genre: AVANT-GARDE
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
MCHNRY • The Shape
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Heartless
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)
LAURIE ANDERSON • Strange Angels
STEVE REICH • Four Organs/Phase Patterns
SYL KOUGAÏ • IΧΘΥΣ Transmission

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché
WILD NOTHING • Life of Pause

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules