tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

03/05/2018 : PAULINA CASSIDY - Drawing Up A Storm

PAULINA CASSIDY

Drawing Up A Storm

MusicDigital
AmbientDarkwaveDreampopEthereal / Heavenly Voices

[85/100]   

Projekt Records
03/05/2018, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

Canadian musician and illustrator Paulina Cassidy has just released her second solo album on the beloved US label Projekt Records. Drawing Up A Storm is a digital release of twelve beautiful tracks that go from instrumental soundscapes to more song-oriented compositions but always very atmospheric and dream-like.

It's easy to pigeonhole Cassidy's music as fairy-like and there's definitely a certain otherworldly quality to it, especially thanks to its connection with her work as a visual artist and illustrator, which always conveys a certain late-XIX century fairytale atmosphere. And yet her music is much more than that. Her use of electronic beats, synths and samples is fantastic (for example in tracks like 'Ocean Nymph' or 'Seahorses') and shows that she's paying attention to contemporary electronic music and possibly also to impossible-to-classify artists like the Finnish producer Lau Nau (whose latest album I also reviewed here) and especially fellow Canadian band Tasseomancy, with whom she definitely shares a similar approach. All this reminds us that Projekt was always a very forward-looking and experimental label, especially in the nineties (what other Darkwave label could have released a band like lovesliescrushing, for example?). So this album sits well with both contemporary Dream Pop, and with the rest of the Projekt legacy.

Apart from the aforementioned tracks, other highlights include the amazing album opener 'Waterdancer' and the title track 'Drawing Up A Storm', both of them Darkwave gems in the tradition of Black Tape For A Blue Girl, Love Is Colder Than Death, and even early Cranes. Here Cassidy's vocals manage to be earthly and ethereal at the same time, which is no mean feat. Also highly recommended are all of the instrumental tracks actually, especially 'Fireflies In The Amethyst Skies'.

The album as a whole is a truly magical experience from start to finish and a fine addition to the Projekt catalogue.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
03/05/2018


03/05/2018 : PAULINA CASSIDY - Drawing Up A Storm 03/05/2018 : PAULINA CASSIDY - Drawing Up A Storm

 

Next reviews
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
DER HAUPTMANN • (2017) German-Polish-French biographical drama, black & white, directed by Robert Schwentke based on true facts.
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
PSY'AVIAH • Lightflare
MINISTRY • Amerikkkant

 

Other reviews from PAULINA CASSIDY
PAULINA CASSIDY • Sugar Wingshiver

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
MYRKUR • Mausoleum

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché
WILD NOTHING • Life of Pause

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
BRODKA • Clashes
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
RED MECCA • Electricity

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid