tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/05/2018 : CONSPIRACY COVEN - Conspiracy Coven

CONSPIRACY COVEN

Conspiracy Coven

MusicCD
MinimalSynth Wave

[91/100]   

Sincronica
05/05/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Conspiracy Coven releases an album with the same name. This little jewel appears on the Sincronica label, which was founded in Spain in 2013. What else is there to say? Little, since it doesn’t say who is behind this musical project but it will not stop us from casting some light on this minimal / synth-wave gem.

On the menu is some straightforward minimal synth, produced by an army of analogue instruments. The intro ‘Strategy’ soft and sweet. In heavy contrast with ‘Steel & Fire’ which lashes out hard on body and limbs. ‘Plague’ is very minimalistic while ‘Reign’ is tapped from a darker and heavier synth barrel. A very tight sound, almost as indestructible and solid as … well … ‘indestructible’. An army of weird sounds degenerate into a bombastic masterpiece.

And just when it threatens to become too much, a beacon of light will meet you with ‘One Minute Silence’ but silence is anything but what you get here. ‘Deathbell’ boosts the tempo a bit with smooth and dark-wave undertone. ‘Burial Lights’ brings us some relative peace. A quiet rippling song with female vocals, which many will recognise.

Also ‘Crawl’ is more subdued and is full of ingeniously crafted electronica, cast from great melodies. There is also somewhat more experimental material on this disc like ‘Batcaves & Firebreathers’. The construction is more complex and the arrangements are very well done. And before we get finished off by ‘Ravaged’, we get the great minimal stomper ‘Beyond’.

The mystery will still last for a while and, if we can believe the label, we will perhaps never know the identity of the musicians behind this project. But what difference should that make to a music lover as long as the product is good? And good this LP is! The minimal-synth revival has yet another gem to be enjoyed, minimal synth of a very high level.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
05/05/2018


NL

Conspiracy Coven brengt een gelijknamig album uit. Het kleinood verschijnt op het in 2013 in Spanje opgerichte label Sincronica. Wat valt er nog meer te zeggen? Weinig, aangezien niet wordt vrijgegeven wie achter dit muziakle project zit. Maar dat weerhoudt ons er niet van dit minimal/synthwave juweeltje te belichten.

Op het menu rechttoe rechtaan minimal synth, geproduceerd door een leger aan analoog materiaal. De intro Strategy is braafjes een zeemzoet. In zwaar contrast met Steel & Fire dat met stevige uithalen de aanval op lijf en leden inzet. Plague is heel minimalistisch, Reign tapt dan weer uit een donkerder en zwaarwichtiger synth-vaatje. Een heel strakke sound. Onverwoestbaar stevig zoals Indestructible. Een leger aan weirdo geluiden ontaardt in een bombastisch meesterwerk.
Als het net teveel dreigt te worden komt een lichtbaken je tegemoet: One Minute Silence. Maar 'silence' is er allerminst. Deathbell drijft het tempo nog wat op met een darkwave ondertoon. Met Burial Lights krijgen we dan toch wat relatieve rust. Een rustige kabbelend nummer met vrouwelijke vocalen, die door velen herkend zullen worden.
Crawl is ook ingetogener en zit vol ingenieus uitgedokterde en in geweldige melodieën gegoten electronica. En er zit ook ietwat experimenteler materiaal op deze schijf, met Batcaves & Firebreathers. Complexer van opbouw is het in ieder geval. Een arrangement om 'u' tegen te zeggen. En vooraleer door Ravaged uigeleide gedaan te worden, krijgen we met Beyond een minimal-kraker van formaat.

Het mysterie zal nog even duren, en als we het label mogen geloven zullen we de identiteit van de musici achter dit project nooit kennen. Maar wat maakt het een muziekliefhebber uit, zolang het product goed is? En dat is deze LP volledig. De synthrevival heeft er weer een juweeltje bij: minimal synth van een heel hoog niveau.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
05/05/2018


 

Next reviews
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
DER HAUPTMANN • (2017) German-Polish-French biographical drama, black & white, directed by Robert Schwentke based on true facts.
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
PSY'AVIAH • Lightflare

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
DARK DOOR • Inferno
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
MESSIER 39 • Coil
HANTE • This Fog That Never Ends
PEINE PERDUE • La Peur Belle
LA STELE DES PLEURS • Le Regret/Gare Du Nord
METAL DISCO • Fetish Club Anthems

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
TRANQUIL EYES • Fact & Fiction
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'

Music reviews

24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music
05
05
CONSPIRACY COVEN
Conspiracy Coven
03
05
PAULINA CASSIDY
Drawing Up A Storm

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
05
Covenant to play exclusive vintage and full clubshow at BIMFEST 2018
23
05
Europe, watch out! International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest next month!
19
05
LOW FACTOR releases new album 'L'Oiseau du Désespoir'
17
05
'Worlds Left Behind', first full-length album by NEW HAUNTS
13
05
Adam & Eve release new song 'Unlucky Señor'
13
05
Today it’s exactly 21 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'
16
05
PERSEPHONE
Maybe You Can Describe The Production Like A Puzzle: You Have To Find Each And Every Piece And Put It Together
08
05
ELECTRO SYNTHETIC REBELLION (ESR)
‘My Work Has Never Been Driven By The Trends Or The Dancefloor/Club Appeal’
04
05
MARTYRIA
The Process Of Creating Our Music Is A Way Of Expressing This Spiritual Transformation
02
05
WARM BODIES
Live - 27th of March - Antwerp Music City

PHOTOS

26
05
CRASH COURSE IN SCIENCE
Het Bos, Antwerp, Belgium
26
05
AUTHOR & PUNISHER
Het Bos, Antwerp, Belgium
26
05
TREPANERINGSRITUALEN
Het Bos, Antwerp, Belgium
21
05
SKELETAL FAMILY
WGT
21
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
WGT
21
05
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
WGT
21
05
UNDERTHESKIN
WGT

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
05
AMATORSKI
Hear Me
26
05
THE 69 EYES
Jerusalem
25
05
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
24
05
LAID BACK
White Horse
23
05
DIRTY HARRY
D' BOP
22
05
STAHLR
Into The Black
21
05
VIRGIN PRUNES
Baby Turns Blue