tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/05/2018 : CONSPIRACY COVEN - Conspiracy Coven

CONSPIRACY COVEN

Conspiracy Coven

MusicCD
MinimalSynth Wave

[91/100]   

Sincronica
05/05/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Conspiracy Coven releases an album with the same name. This little jewel appears on the Sincronica label, which was founded in Spain in 2013. What else is there to say? Little, since it doesn’t say who is behind this musical project but it will not stop us from casting some light on this minimal / synth-wave gem.

On the menu is some straightforward minimal synth, produced by an army of analogue instruments. The intro ‘Strategy’ soft and sweet. In heavy contrast with ‘Steel & Fire’ which lashes out hard on body and limbs. ‘Plague’ is very minimalistic while ‘Reign’ is tapped from a darker and heavier synth barrel. A very tight sound, almost as indestructible and solid as … well … ‘indestructible’. An army of weird sounds degenerate into a bombastic masterpiece.

And just when it threatens to become too much, a beacon of light will meet you with ‘One Minute Silence’ but silence is anything but what you get here. ‘Deathbell’ boosts the tempo a bit with smooth and dark-wave undertone. ‘Burial Lights’ brings us some relative peace. A quiet rippling song with female vocals, which many will recognise.

Also ‘Crawl’ is more subdued and is full of ingeniously crafted electronica, cast from great melodies. There is also somewhat more experimental material on this disc like ‘Batcaves & Firebreathers’. The construction is more complex and the arrangements are very well done. And before we get finished off by ‘Ravaged’, we get the great minimal stomper ‘Beyond’.

The mystery will still last for a while and, if we can believe the label, we will perhaps never know the identity of the musicians behind this project. But what difference should that make to a music lover as long as the product is good? And good this LP is! The minimal-synth revival has yet another gem to be enjoyed, minimal synth of a very high level.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
05/05/2018


NL

Conspiracy Coven brengt een gelijknamig album uit. Het kleinood verschijnt op het in 2013 in Spanje opgerichte label Sincronica. Wat valt er nog meer te zeggen? Weinig, aangezien niet wordt vrijgegeven wie achter dit muziakle project zit. Maar dat weerhoudt ons er niet van dit minimal/synthwave juweeltje te belichten.

Op het menu rechttoe rechtaan minimal synth, geproduceerd door een leger aan analoog materiaal. De intro Strategy is braafjes een zeemzoet. In zwaar contrast met Steel & Fire dat met stevige uithalen de aanval op lijf en leden inzet. Plague is heel minimalistisch, Reign tapt dan weer uit een donkerder en zwaarwichtiger synth-vaatje. Een heel strakke sound. Onverwoestbaar stevig zoals Indestructible. Een leger aan weirdo geluiden ontaardt in een bombastisch meesterwerk.
Als het net teveel dreigt te worden komt een lichtbaken je tegemoet: One Minute Silence. Maar 'silence' is er allerminst. Deathbell drijft het tempo nog wat op met een darkwave ondertoon. Met Burial Lights krijgen we dan toch wat relatieve rust. Een rustige kabbelend nummer met vrouwelijke vocalen, die door velen herkend zullen worden.
Crawl is ook ingetogener en zit vol ingenieus uitgedokterde en in geweldige melodieën gegoten electronica. En er zit ook ietwat experimenteler materiaal op deze schijf, met Batcaves & Firebreathers. Complexer van opbouw is het in ieder geval. Een arrangement om 'u' tegen te zeggen. En vooraleer door Ravaged uigeleide gedaan te worden, krijgen we met Beyond een minimal-kraker van formaat.

Het mysterie zal nog even duren, en als we het label mogen geloven zullen we de identiteit van de musici achter dit project nooit kennen. Maar wat maakt het een muziekliefhebber uit, zolang het product goed is? En dat is deze LP volledig. De synthrevival heeft er weer een juweeltje bij: minimal synth van een heel hoog niveau.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
05/05/2018


 

Next reviews
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
DER HAUPTMANN • (2017) German-Polish-French biographical drama, black & white, directed by Robert Schwentke based on true facts.
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
PSY'AVIAH • Lightflare

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
DARK DOOR • Inferno
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
MESSIER 39 • Coil
HANTE • This Fog That Never Ends

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
TRANQUIL EYES • Fact & Fiction
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)

Music reviews

16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London
21
12
RESISTOR
Ice Cold Gold
20
12
RADIOAKTIVISTS
Radioakt One

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
01
The Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 Release
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - One Year Anniversary
14
01
Zwaremachine are heading over to Europe for 3 dates in January!
14
01
Ryan Murphy announces main cast of his new TV show 'Ratched'
13
01
The Weathermen have remastered and released their live backing track instrumentals!
12
01
Dark Ambient Act LOUSBERG Announces THE DEATH OF HUMANITY

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.
22
12
MICHAEL MCKEEGAN
'We had to approach the songs in a different manner.'
10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life
15
01
SCHULTZ
I hate You
14
01
LOLA ANGST
Wie Gott
13
01
RED ZEBRA
No Kitchen In The House
12
01
LENE LOVICH BAND
Lucky Number
11
01
OHMELECTRONIC
Everything Is Gone
10
01
WAITING FOR WORDS
Great New World