tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/05/2018 : CONSPIRACY COVEN - Conspiracy Coven

CONSPIRACY COVEN

Conspiracy Coven

MusicCD
MinimalSynth Wave

[91/100]   

Sincronica
05/05/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Conspiracy Coven releases an album with the same name. This little jewel appears on the Sincronica label, which was founded in Spain in 2013. What else is there to say? Little, since it doesn’t say who is behind this musical project but it will not stop us from casting some light on this minimal / synth-wave gem.

On the menu is some straightforward minimal synth, produced by an army of analogue instruments. The intro ‘Strategy’ soft and sweet. In heavy contrast with ‘Steel & Fire’ which lashes out hard on body and limbs. ‘Plague’ is very minimalistic while ‘Reign’ is tapped from a darker and heavier synth barrel. A very tight sound, almost as indestructible and solid as … well … ‘indestructible’. An army of weird sounds degenerate into a bombastic masterpiece.

And just when it threatens to become too much, a beacon of light will meet you with ‘One Minute Silence’ but silence is anything but what you get here. ‘Deathbell’ boosts the tempo a bit with smooth and dark-wave undertone. ‘Burial Lights’ brings us some relative peace. A quiet rippling song with female vocals, which many will recognise.

Also ‘Crawl’ is more subdued and is full of ingeniously crafted electronica, cast from great melodies. There is also somewhat more experimental material on this disc like ‘Batcaves & Firebreathers’. The construction is more complex and the arrangements are very well done. And before we get finished off by ‘Ravaged’, we get the great minimal stomper ‘Beyond’.

The mystery will still last for a while and, if we can believe the label, we will perhaps never know the identity of the musicians behind this project. But what difference should that make to a music lover as long as the product is good? And good this LP is! The minimal-synth revival has yet another gem to be enjoyed, minimal synth of a very high level.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
05/05/2018


NL

Conspiracy Coven brengt een gelijknamig album uit. Het kleinood verschijnt op het in 2013 in Spanje opgerichte label Sincronica. Wat valt er nog meer te zeggen? Weinig, aangezien niet wordt vrijgegeven wie achter dit muziakle project zit. Maar dat weerhoudt ons er niet van dit minimal/synthwave juweeltje te belichten.

Op het menu rechttoe rechtaan minimal synth, geproduceerd door een leger aan analoog materiaal. De intro Strategy is braafjes een zeemzoet. In zwaar contrast met Steel & Fire dat met stevige uithalen de aanval op lijf en leden inzet. Plague is heel minimalistisch, Reign tapt dan weer uit een donkerder en zwaarwichtiger synth-vaatje. Een heel strakke sound. Onverwoestbaar stevig zoals Indestructible. Een leger aan weirdo geluiden ontaardt in een bombastisch meesterwerk.
Als het net teveel dreigt te worden komt een lichtbaken je tegemoet: One Minute Silence. Maar 'silence' is er allerminst. Deathbell drijft het tempo nog wat op met een darkwave ondertoon. Met Burial Lights krijgen we dan toch wat relatieve rust. Een rustige kabbelend nummer met vrouwelijke vocalen, die door velen herkend zullen worden.
Crawl is ook ingetogener en zit vol ingenieus uitgedokterde en in geweldige melodieën gegoten electronica. En er zit ook ietwat experimenteler materiaal op deze schijf, met Batcaves & Firebreathers. Complexer van opbouw is het in ieder geval. Een arrangement om 'u' tegen te zeggen. En vooraleer door Ravaged uigeleide gedaan te worden, krijgen we met Beyond een minimal-kraker van formaat.

Het mysterie zal nog even duren, en als we het label mogen geloven zullen we de identiteit van de musici achter dit project nooit kennen. Maar wat maakt het een muziekliefhebber uit, zolang het product goed is? En dat is deze LP volledig. De synthrevival heeft er weer een juweeltje bij: minimal synth van een heel hoog niveau.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
05/05/2018


Music reviews

22
07
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Pink Obsession
11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
07
R.I.P. Rüdiger Frank (1967-2019) (Printed At Bismarck's Death, The Tors Of Dartmoor)
18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

22
07
L'AME IMMORTELLE
Amphi
22
07
PINK TURNS BLUE
Amphi
22
07
HENRIC DE LA COUR
Amphi
22
07
BLUTENGEL
Amphi
22
07
LORD OF THE LOST
Amphi
22
07
HOCICO
Amphi
22
07
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
07
STIN SCATZOR
Hellgium
22
07
LIZARD SMILE
Silence In Your Eyes
21
07
MINUIT MACHINE
BATTLES
20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart