tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/05/2018 : STRUCK9 - Ritual Body Music

STRUCK9

Ritual Body Music

MusicCD
EBMElectro

[74/100]   

EKproduct
07/05/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Colombian, Struck9, storms us with 12 power-EBM tracks of the purest kind with their latest product: Ritual Body Music. Rarely an album title has been presented that covers the content so well. The dynamic, irresistible dance-seducing mix of old and newer EBM influences lasts 12 songs. Mid and up tempo rhythms, sequencing, samplers, laced with synths offer something for every electro head. EBM is not dead, that's for sure!

‘Ritual Body Music’ immediately urges dancing. Tight rhythm and an infectious melody, nothing more to it but still oh so effective. The characteristic EBM feeling is carefully infused and opens-up completely on the second song, ‘Execute’. Harsh cut old-school EBM albeit that the vocal line makes it sound softer. Halfway through the song, the buttons of electronic timelessness are definitely switched. Towards the end I can even sense a touch of new beat. And where did that style ever arise again....

‘Interconnected’ contains as many styles as are conceivable within the dance-loving electro scene. Old-school was also on the menu, right? ‘Bodytemple’, rough short melodies that attack your body temple with fairly strong punches. And while we are at it, why not one more on top with ‘Zero Day’, although some ingredients from EDM are added.

No matter how simple the rhythms are and how limited the sound spectrum in old school EBM may seem, ‘Kapital’ sounds as hard as it gets! Just like the Ramones stuffed countless CDs with songs built around 10 guitar chords, with endless variation, I have the same feeling here. ‘Resist’ grumbles happily and with ‘No Fracking U.S.A’. we are treated again with a combination of cork-dry EBM with great sounding synths that make their way through the drumming violence. 999MB is carved from different stone and sounds a bit more contemporary. Slightly more polished and braver than the previous tracks but who cares after all we have got already? Ditto for Peace that is more kinda synth-wave / synth-pop is in shape.

We are lead out with two remixes: Autodafeh had a go on ‘Zero Day’ and Atropine made a remix of ‘Execute TX81Z Overkill’.

A varied and balanced album by these Colombians, maybe without real highlights but still very enjoyable and danceable.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
07/05/2018


NL

Het Colombiaanse Struck9 bestormt je met 12 power-EBM-tracks van de zuiverste soort met hun nieuwste product: Ritual Body Music. Zelden een albumtitel voorgeschoteld gekregen die zo goed de lading dekt. De dynamische, onweerstaanbaar tot dansen verleidende mix van old- en nieuwere EBM-invloeden, duurt 12 songs lang. Mid- en uptempo-ritmes, sequencing, samplers, doorspekt met synths bieden elke electro-liefhebber wel iets. EBM is not dead, dat is zeker…

Ritual Body Music maant meteen aan tot dansen. Strakke ritmiek en een aanstekelijke melodie, meer heeft het niet om het lijf, maar o zo puntig. Het karakteristieke korte EBM-gevoel zit er voorzichtig in. En dat komt er op song twee, Execute, volledig uit. Snoeidroge old-school EBM, zij het dat de zanglijn het iets softer laat klinken. Halfweg de song worden de knopjes van de elektronische tijdloosheid massaal geswitcht. En zowaar naar het einde toe ontwaar ik een vleugje new beat. En waar ontstond dat ooit weer ….

Interconnected bevat evenveel stijlen als denkbaar binnen het dansminnende electrogeweld. Old-school stond ook op het menu.. jawel: Bodytemple. Een heel ruwe korte melodie die met vrij stevige stoten je tempel van een body te lijf gaat. En nu het toch vlotjes loopt, nog ééntje erbovenop met Zero Day, hoewel daar ingrediënten uit EDM worden toegevoegd.
Hoe eenvoudig de ritmes ook zijn en hoe beperkt het arsenaal klanken in old school ook lijkt, toch klinkt Kapital snoeihard. Zoals de Ramones talloze CD’s volstouwden met songs opgebouwd rond 10 gitaarakkoorden, met een eindeloze variatie, heb ik hier hetzelfde gevoel. Resist dreunt vrolijk verder en met No Fracking U.S.A. worden we getrakteerd op een combinatie van kurkdroge EBM met geweldige synths die zich een weg banen door het drumgeweld.
999MB is uit ander steen gehouwen, en meer hedendaags van toon. Iets meer gepolijst en braver dan de voorgaande nummers, maar wie maalt daar nu om? Idem voor Peace dat synthwave/synthpop van gedaante is.

We worden uitgeleide gedaan met twee remixes: Autodafeh leefde zich uit met een remix van Zero Day en Atropine maakte een remix van Execute TX81Z Overkill.

Een gevarieerd en uitgebalanceerd album van het Columbiaanse gezelschap, zonder echte uitschieters, maar genietbaar en dansbaar over de gehele lijn.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
07/05/2018


 

Next reviews
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
DER HAUPTMANN • (2017) German-Polish-French biographical drama, black & white, directed by Robert Schwentke based on true facts.
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO
NEGANT • No !
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
DIVE • Underneath
ABSURD MINDS • Tempus Fugit
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
CRISIS ACTOR • Superstar
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche

 

Same genre: EBM
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
FAREWELL • Sequoia
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach

Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string