tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/05/2018 : STRUCK9 - Ritual Body Music

STRUCK9

Ritual Body Music

MusicCD
EBMElectro

[74/100]   

EKproduct
07/05/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Colombian, Struck9, storms us with 12 power-EBM tracks of the purest kind with their latest product: Ritual Body Music. Rarely an album title has been presented that covers the content so well. The dynamic, irresistible dance-seducing mix of old and newer EBM influences lasts 12 songs. Mid and up tempo rhythms, sequencing, samplers, laced with synths offer something for every electro head. EBM is not dead, that's for sure!

‘Ritual Body Music’ immediately urges dancing. Tight rhythm and an infectious melody, nothing more to it but still oh so effective. The characteristic EBM feeling is carefully infused and opens-up completely on the second song, ‘Execute’. Harsh cut old-school EBM albeit that the vocal line makes it sound softer. Halfway through the song, the buttons of electronic timelessness are definitely switched. Towards the end I can even sense a touch of new beat. And where did that style ever arise again....

‘Interconnected’ contains as many styles as are conceivable within the dance-loving electro scene. Old-school was also on the menu, right? ‘Bodytemple’, rough short melodies that attack your body temple with fairly strong punches. And while we are at it, why not one more on top with ‘Zero Day’, although some ingredients from EDM are added.

No matter how simple the rhythms are and how limited the sound spectrum in old school EBM may seem, ‘Kapital’ sounds as hard as it gets! Just like the Ramones stuffed countless CDs with songs built around 10 guitar chords, with endless variation, I have the same feeling here. ‘Resist’ grumbles happily and with ‘No Fracking U.S.A’. we are treated again with a combination of cork-dry EBM with great sounding synths that make their way through the drumming violence. 999MB is carved from different stone and sounds a bit more contemporary. Slightly more polished and braver than the previous tracks but who cares after all we have got already? Ditto for Peace that is more kinda synth-wave / synth-pop is in shape.

We are lead out with two remixes: Autodafeh had a go on ‘Zero Day’ and Atropine made a remix of ‘Execute TX81Z Overkill’.

A varied and balanced album by these Colombians, maybe without real highlights but still very enjoyable and danceable.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
07/05/2018


NL

Het Colombiaanse Struck9 bestormt je met 12 power-EBM-tracks van de zuiverste soort met hun nieuwste product: Ritual Body Music. Zelden een albumtitel voorgeschoteld gekregen die zo goed de lading dekt. De dynamische, onweerstaanbaar tot dansen verleidende mix van old- en nieuwere EBM-invloeden, duurt 12 songs lang. Mid- en uptempo-ritmes, sequencing, samplers, doorspekt met synths bieden elke electro-liefhebber wel iets. EBM is not dead, dat is zeker…

Ritual Body Music maant meteen aan tot dansen. Strakke ritmiek en een aanstekelijke melodie, meer heeft het niet om het lijf, maar o zo puntig. Het karakteristieke korte EBM-gevoel zit er voorzichtig in. En dat komt er op song twee, Execute, volledig uit. Snoeidroge old-school EBM, zij het dat de zanglijn het iets softer laat klinken. Halfweg de song worden de knopjes van de elektronische tijdloosheid massaal geswitcht. En zowaar naar het einde toe ontwaar ik een vleugje new beat. En waar ontstond dat ooit weer ….

Interconnected bevat evenveel stijlen als denkbaar binnen het dansminnende electrogeweld. Old-school stond ook op het menu.. jawel: Bodytemple. Een heel ruwe korte melodie die met vrij stevige stoten je tempel van een body te lijf gaat. En nu het toch vlotjes loopt, nog ééntje erbovenop met Zero Day, hoewel daar ingrediënten uit EDM worden toegevoegd.
Hoe eenvoudig de ritmes ook zijn en hoe beperkt het arsenaal klanken in old school ook lijkt, toch klinkt Kapital snoeihard. Zoals de Ramones talloze CD’s volstouwden met songs opgebouwd rond 10 gitaarakkoorden, met een eindeloze variatie, heb ik hier hetzelfde gevoel. Resist dreunt vrolijk verder en met No Fracking U.S.A. worden we getrakteerd op een combinatie van kurkdroge EBM met geweldige synths die zich een weg banen door het drumgeweld.
999MB is uit ander steen gehouwen, en meer hedendaags van toon. Iets meer gepolijst en braver dan de voorgaande nummers, maar wie maalt daar nu om? Idem voor Peace dat synthwave/synthpop van gedaante is.

We worden uitgeleide gedaan met twee remixes: Autodafeh leefde zich uit met een remix van Zero Day en Atropine maakte een remix van Execute TX81Z Overkill.

Een gevarieerd en uitgebalanceerd album van het Columbiaanse gezelschap, zonder echte uitschieters, maar genietbaar en dansbaar over de gehele lijn.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
07/05/2018


 

Next reviews
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
DER HAUPTMANN • (2017) German-Polish-French biographical drama, black & white, directed by Robert Schwentke based on true facts.
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
NEGANT • No !
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
DIVE • Underneath
ABSURD MINDS • Tempus Fugit

 

Same genre: EBM
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
KNK • Dead Body Music III

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
TOOL
Schism
26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots