tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

25/04/2018 : RITUAL VEIL - Wolf In The Night

RITUAL VEIL

Wolf In The Night

MusicCD (EP)
New wavePost Punk

[86/100]   

Other Voices Records
25/04/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Ritual Veil, based in Portland, can't get enough. The trio must have thought: we take some new wave, postpunk and synth-pop as a base, apply a coat of sexy beats with a dark edge and to top it off, give it a twist of gothic flavour. Would that work? Yes, it would!

Wolf In The Night appeared on Other Voices Records. A 7-track album, which by first listening brings up the following question: is this an normal EP or a 'Best Of', filled with super-hits? Well, it is still the first, filled with stylized, full-bodied, finely finished songs. They sound very retro and yet contemporary at the same time. Artistically thought through, a voice with the necessary sincere melancholy, beautiful beats and synths that happily wander through the songs with glee.

Favorite Toy opens as a pure post-punk song, only to turn slowly synth-pop-like. Guitars are prominent and present everywhere but in a correct balance to the other instruments. Gray Filter sounds up-tempo and poppy, and oh so danceable. Title-song Wolf In The Night is cut from the same wood. Fans of Depeche Mode and bands like New Order will certainly find their taste in Time Again. Ritual Veil will evoke that wonderful eighties feeling in many lovers of gothic.

Perfect for parties in dark places, preferably cellars, where everyone so it seems, strides weightlessly across the dance floor. With this music, yes you can!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
25/04/2018


NL

Ritual Veil, met uitvalsbasis Portland, lust er wel pap van. Het trio dacht: we nemen wat new wave, postpunk en synthpop als basis, en dekken dat toe met een mantel van sexy beats en een donker randje. En we geven het een twist van gothic-flavor. Zou dat werken? Ja, het werkt.

Op Other Voices Records verscheen Wolf In The Night. Een 7 nummers tellend album, waarvan bij een eerste luisterbeurt de vraag opborrelt: is dit een EP of een 'Best Of', met allemaal superhits? Het is het eerste. Gestileerde, volwaardige, fijn afgewerkte songs. Ze klinken retro, en eigentijds tegelijk. Artistiek doordacht, een stemgeluid met de nodige oprechte melancholie, mooie beats en synths die in alle vrolijkheid dartel doorheen de songs huppen.

Favorite Toy opent als rasechte postpunksong, om dan toch weer heel synthpop-achtig te worden. Gitaren zijn overal wel prominent aanwezig, maar in een juiste verhouding ten opzichte van het andere instrumentale. Grey Filter klinkt dan weer uptempo poppy, maar o zo dansbaar. Titelsong Wolf In The Night is uit hetzelfde hout gesneden. De liefhebbers van Depeche Mode en bands als New Order vinden zeker hun gading in Time Again. Ritual Veil zal bij menig gothic-liefher een eighties-gevoel oproepen.

Fuiven in donkere zalen, bij voorkeur kelders, waar iedereen als het ware gewichtloos over de dansvloer schrijdt. Met deze plaat kan dat!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
25/04/2018


 

Next reviews
DER HAUPTMANN • (2017) German-Polish-French biographical drama, black & white, directed by Robert Schwentke based on true facts.
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
PSY'AVIAH • Lightflare
MINISTRY • Amerikkkant
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk
THE ASSOCIATES • Fourth Drawer Down.
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
WHISPERING SONS • Image
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
CRIMEN • Silent Animals

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid