tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/01/2017 : SHE PLEASURES HERSELF - Fetish

SHE PLEASURES HERSELF

Fetish

MusicCD
Cold WaveNew wavePost Punk

[91/100]   

Manic Depression
30/01/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Cold wave with a bit of postpunk in one package. She Pleasures Herself is a trio hailing from Lisbon, Portugal who were formed in 2016 by David Wolf (from Uni_form/ When The Angels Breathe and Sweet Nico), producer, synths and guitars together with Nuno Francisco (from Uni_form/Alma Mater Society), on drums and programming and Nuno Varudo (from Persona Project/The Paper Road) as the lead singer and bass player. The music is rather hard to encompass into a single genre. They get inspiration from many bands such as Bauhaus, Depeche Mode, New Order, The Cure and Sisters of Mercy. The sound is blended with ever-present electronics (synths and drum machines) and can be called 'darkwave' over all but above all is still danceable and will get get a lot of people lingering on hundreds of dancefloors.

While listening to the album Fetish, all different influences are recognisable. Time is a dark postpunk song, Crime also. Trust makes me think about Joy Division, woolly all the way. And, the show must go on, She Pleasures Herself must be thinking, when playing Fake. We can hear some nice electric drum machine work which gives this gem extra gleaming sides. An awesome bass-riff and very dark voice lingers through Dance With Her. It sounds more old school new wave-gothic with a very smooth voice.

Tranquilizers make me nervous, I can't relax no more, should I go out or stay in, I never had this feeling before blasts out of the speakers. Yes, a nice cover of Belgium's Red Zebra's monsterhit Can't Live In A Living Room. The guitars seem to come from a long distance, very dry drums, and a dancing bass. Oceans Of Pleasure: blissful deep darkwave. Touch then brings us back to good old postpunk (what's in a name when I am saying 'old'?). Use You In Pogo has less to do with pogo...it's an electronic sounds based song. It brings us to The End. A very dark song, where we can feel a glimpse of Depeche Mode, although it's a dark and deep song,

Conclusion? Great album. Enough variety, sufficient distinctive sound which will get legs moving on many dark dancefloors. This album is well produced, great mixing, but above all great music. I've enjoyed it several times in the meantime, I hope you'll have the same feeling about it.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
30/01/2017


NL

Cold wave met een beetje postpunk in één pakket. She Pleasures Herself is een trio afkomstig uit Lissabon, Portugal, dat in 2016 werd gevormd door David Wolf (van Uni_form / When The Angels Breathe en Sweet Nico), producer, synths en gitaren samen met Nuno Francisco (van Uni_form / Alma Mater Society), op drums en programmering en Nuno Varudo (van Persona Project / The Paper Road) als zanger en bassist. De muziek is nogal moeilijk onder te brengen in één genre. Ze putten inspiratie uit verschillende bands zoals Bauhaus, Depeche Mode, New Order, The Cure, Sisters of Mercy... Het geluid wordt gemengd met elektronica (synths en drum machines) en kan onder de grote noemer coldwave worden geplaatst. De muziek is heel dansbaar en zal veel zwartjassen op de dansvloer krijgen in obscure zaaltjes, dat is zeker.

Tijdens het beluisteren van het album Fetish, zijn de genoemde invloeden heel herkenbaar. Time is een donkere postpunk song, Crime ook. Trust doet denken aan Joy Division, wollig all the way. En de show moet doorgaan, moet She Pleasures Herself hebben gedacht, bij het beluisteren van Fake. We ontwaren aangename elektrische drum machines die zich uit de naad werken. Dat geeft dit juweeltje een aantal extra glanzende en blinkende kantjes. Een geweldige bass-riff en een zeer donkere stem vormen de kern van Dance With Her. Het klinkt als old school new wave-gothic met een zeer gladde stem.

'Tranquilizers make me nervous, I can't relax no more, should I go out or stay in, I never had this feeling before' knalt uit de speakers. Ja hoor, een mooie cover van de monsterhit van het Belgische Red Zebra I can't Live In A Living Room. De gitaren klinken alsof ze van mijlenver toch onze gehoorgang willen bereiken. Zeer droge mokerslagen uit de drummachine en een basgitaar die er vrolijk en zorgeloos doorheen huppelt. Oceans Of Pleasure: zalig diep darkwave. You In Pogo heeft weinig te maken met pogo.. het is een op elektronische klanken gebaseerd lied. En dat brengt ons naar The End, dat zeer donker is. We vangen er een glimp Depeche Mode op, al is het een donker en diep nummer.

De conclusie? Een prachtig album. Genoeg afwisseling, een voldoende eigen geluid dat dat benen aan het dansen zal krijgen op menig donkere dansvloer. Het album is goed geproduced, schitterend gemixt, maar vooral de muziek is schitterend. Ik heb het intussen al vaak beluisterd en hoop dat jullie mijn mening delen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
30/01/2017


 

Next reviews
RAZORLINE • Razorline
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
XTC • Skylarking
THE HUMAN LEAGUE • A Very British Synthesizer Group

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
HONEYMOON COWBOYS • Still
EAUX SAINES • Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape
VANDEL • EXISTENCE
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
ORGANIC • Under Your Carbon Constellation
LES MAITRES • Les Maîtres
DER NOIR • A Dead Summer

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 1 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You