tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/01/2017 : SHE PLEASURES HERSELF - Fetish

SHE PLEASURES HERSELF

Fetish

MusicCD
Cold WaveNew wavePost Punk

[91/100]   

Manic Depression
30/01/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Cold wave with a bit of postpunk in one package. She Pleasures Herself is a trio hailing from Lisbon, Portugal who were formed in 2016 by David Wolf (from Uni_form/ When The Angels Breathe and Sweet Nico), producer, synths and guitars together with Nuno Francisco (from Uni_form/Alma Mater Society), on drums and programming and Nuno Varudo (from Persona Project/The Paper Road) as the lead singer and bass player. The music is rather hard to encompass into a single genre. They get inspiration from many bands such as Bauhaus, Depeche Mode, New Order, The Cure and Sisters of Mercy. The sound is blended with ever-present electronics (synths and drum machines) and can be called 'darkwave' over all but above all is still danceable and will get get a lot of people lingering on hundreds of dancefloors.

While listening to the album Fetish, all different influences are recognisable. Time is a dark postpunk song, Crime also. Trust makes me think about Joy Division, woolly all the way. And, the show must go on, She Pleasures Herself must be thinking, when playing Fake. We can hear some nice electric drum machine work which gives this gem extra gleaming sides. An awesome bass-riff and very dark voice lingers through Dance With Her. It sounds more old school new wave-gothic with a very smooth voice.

Tranquilizers make me nervous, I can't relax no more, should I go out or stay in, I never had this feeling before blasts out of the speakers. Yes, a nice cover of Belgium's Red Zebra's monsterhit Can't Live In A Living Room. The guitars seem to come from a long distance, very dry drums, and a dancing bass. Oceans Of Pleasure: blissful deep darkwave. Touch then brings us back to good old postpunk (what's in a name when I am saying 'old'?). Use You In Pogo has less to do with pogo...it's an electronic sounds based song. It brings us to The End. A very dark song, where we can feel a glimpse of Depeche Mode, although it's a dark and deep song,

Conclusion? Great album. Enough variety, sufficient distinctive sound which will get legs moving on many dark dancefloors. This album is well produced, great mixing, but above all great music. I've enjoyed it several times in the meantime, I hope you'll have the same feeling about it.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
30/01/2017


NL

Cold wave met een beetje postpunk in één pakket. She Pleasures Herself is een trio afkomstig uit Lissabon, Portugal, dat in 2016 werd gevormd door David Wolf (van Uni_form / When The Angels Breathe en Sweet Nico), producer, synths en gitaren samen met Nuno Francisco (van Uni_form / Alma Mater Society), op drums en programmering en Nuno Varudo (van Persona Project / The Paper Road) als zanger en bassist. De muziek is nogal moeilijk onder te brengen in één genre. Ze putten inspiratie uit verschillende bands zoals Bauhaus, Depeche Mode, New Order, The Cure, Sisters of Mercy... Het geluid wordt gemengd met elektronica (synths en drum machines) en kan onder de grote noemer coldwave worden geplaatst. De muziek is heel dansbaar en zal veel zwartjassen op de dansvloer krijgen in obscure zaaltjes, dat is zeker.

Tijdens het beluisteren van het album Fetish, zijn de genoemde invloeden heel herkenbaar. Time is een donkere postpunk song, Crime ook. Trust doet denken aan Joy Division, wollig all the way. En de show moet doorgaan, moet She Pleasures Herself hebben gedacht, bij het beluisteren van Fake. We ontwaren aangename elektrische drum machines die zich uit de naad werken. Dat geeft dit juweeltje een aantal extra glanzende en blinkende kantjes. Een geweldige bass-riff en een zeer donkere stem vormen de kern van Dance With Her. Het klinkt als old school new wave-gothic met een zeer gladde stem.

'Tranquilizers make me nervous, I can't relax no more, should I go out or stay in, I never had this feeling before' knalt uit de speakers. Ja hoor, een mooie cover van de monsterhit van het Belgische Red Zebra I can't Live In A Living Room. De gitaren klinken alsof ze van mijlenver toch onze gehoorgang willen bereiken. Zeer droge mokerslagen uit de drummachine en een basgitaar die er vrolijk en zorgeloos doorheen huppelt. Oceans Of Pleasure: zalig diep darkwave. You In Pogo heeft weinig te maken met pogo.. het is een op elektronische klanken gebaseerd lied. En dat brengt ons naar The End, dat zeer donker is. We vangen er een glimp Depeche Mode op, al is het een donker en diep nummer.

De conclusie? Een prachtig album. Genoeg afwisseling, een voldoende eigen geluid dat dat benen aan het dansen zal krijgen op menig donkere dansvloer. Het album is goed geproduced, schitterend gemixt, maar vooral de muziek is schitterend. Ik heb het intussen al vaak beluisterd en hoop dat jullie mijn mening delen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
30/01/2017


 

Next reviews
RAZORLINE • Razorline
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
XTC • Skylarking
THE HUMAN LEAGUE • A Very British Synthesizer Group

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
HONEYMOON COWBOYS • Still
EAUX SAINES • Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape
VANDEL • EXISTENCE
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
ORGANIC • Under Your Carbon Constellation
LES MAITRES • Les Maîtres
DER NOIR • A Dead Summer

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
DER KLINKE • Decade
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)