tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/01/2017 : SHE PLEASURES HERSELF - Fetish

SHE PLEASURES HERSELF

Fetish

MusicCD
Cold WaveNew wavePost Punk

[91/100]   

Manic Depression
30/01/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Cold wave with a bit of postpunk in one package. She Pleasures Herself is a trio hailing from Lisbon, Portugal who were formed in 2016 by David Wolf (from Uni_form/ When The Angels Breathe and Sweet Nico), producer, synths and guitars together with Nuno Francisco (from Uni_form/Alma Mater Society), on drums and programming and Nuno Varudo (from Persona Project/The Paper Road) as the lead singer and bass player. The music is rather hard to encompass into a single genre. They get inspiration from many bands such as Bauhaus, Depeche Mode, New Order, The Cure and Sisters of Mercy. The sound is blended with ever-present electronics (synths and drum machines) and can be called 'darkwave' over all but above all is still danceable and will get get a lot of people lingering on hundreds of dancefloors.

While listening to the album Fetish, all different influences are recognisable. Time is a dark postpunk song, Crime also. Trust makes me think about Joy Division, woolly all the way. And, the show must go on, She Pleasures Herself must be thinking, when playing Fake. We can hear some nice electric drum machine work which gives this gem extra gleaming sides. An awesome bass-riff and very dark voice lingers through Dance With Her. It sounds more old school new wave-gothic with a very smooth voice.

Tranquilizers make me nervous, I can't relax no more, should I go out or stay in, I never had this feeling before blasts out of the speakers. Yes, a nice cover of Belgium's Red Zebra's monsterhit Can't Live In A Living Room. The guitars seem to come from a long distance, very dry drums, and a dancing bass. Oceans Of Pleasure: blissful deep darkwave. Touch then brings us back to good old postpunk (what's in a name when I am saying 'old'?). Use You In Pogo has less to do with pogo...it's an electronic sounds based song. It brings us to The End. A very dark song, where we can feel a glimpse of Depeche Mode, although it's a dark and deep song,

Conclusion? Great album. Enough variety, sufficient distinctive sound which will get legs moving on many dark dancefloors. This album is well produced, great mixing, but above all great music. I've enjoyed it several times in the meantime, I hope you'll have the same feeling about it.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
30/01/2017


NL

Cold wave met een beetje postpunk in één pakket. She Pleasures Herself is een trio afkomstig uit Lissabon, Portugal, dat in 2016 werd gevormd door David Wolf (van Uni_form / When The Angels Breathe en Sweet Nico), producer, synths en gitaren samen met Nuno Francisco (van Uni_form / Alma Mater Society), op drums en programmering en Nuno Varudo (van Persona Project / The Paper Road) als zanger en bassist. De muziek is nogal moeilijk onder te brengen in één genre. Ze putten inspiratie uit verschillende bands zoals Bauhaus, Depeche Mode, New Order, The Cure, Sisters of Mercy... Het geluid wordt gemengd met elektronica (synths en drum machines) en kan onder de grote noemer coldwave worden geplaatst. De muziek is heel dansbaar en zal veel zwartjassen op de dansvloer krijgen in obscure zaaltjes, dat is zeker.

Tijdens het beluisteren van het album Fetish, zijn de genoemde invloeden heel herkenbaar. Time is een donkere postpunk song, Crime ook. Trust doet denken aan Joy Division, wollig all the way. En de show moet doorgaan, moet She Pleasures Herself hebben gedacht, bij het beluisteren van Fake. We ontwaren aangename elektrische drum machines die zich uit de naad werken. Dat geeft dit juweeltje een aantal extra glanzende en blinkende kantjes. Een geweldige bass-riff en een zeer donkere stem vormen de kern van Dance With Her. Het klinkt als old school new wave-gothic met een zeer gladde stem.

'Tranquilizers make me nervous, I can't relax no more, should I go out or stay in, I never had this feeling before' knalt uit de speakers. Ja hoor, een mooie cover van de monsterhit van het Belgische Red Zebra I can't Live In A Living Room. De gitaren klinken alsof ze van mijlenver toch onze gehoorgang willen bereiken. Zeer droge mokerslagen uit de drummachine en een basgitaar die er vrolijk en zorgeloos doorheen huppelt. Oceans Of Pleasure: zalig diep darkwave. You In Pogo heeft weinig te maken met pogo.. het is een op elektronische klanken gebaseerd lied. En dat brengt ons naar The End, dat zeer donker is. We vangen er een glimp Depeche Mode op, al is het een donker en diep nummer.

De conclusie? Een prachtig album. Genoeg afwisseling, een voldoende eigen geluid dat dat benen aan het dansen zal krijgen op menig donkere dansvloer. Het album is goed geproduced, schitterend gemixt, maar vooral de muziek is schitterend. Ik heb het intussen al vaak beluisterd en hoop dat jullie mijn mening delen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
30/01/2017


 

Next reviews
RAZORLINE • Razorline
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
XTC • Skylarking
THE HUMAN LEAGUE • A Very British Synthesizer Group

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
HONEYMOON COWBOYS • Still
EAUX SAINES • Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape
VANDEL • EXISTENCE
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
ORGANIC • Under Your Carbon Constellation
LES MAITRES • Les Maîtres
DER NOIR • A Dead Summer

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
DARK • Nightmare
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

28
06
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
THE MISSION
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
IAMX
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
W.H. LUNG
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
FORCED TO MODE
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
TORUL
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
ATMOSPHERE
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete