tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/01/2017 : SHE PLEASURES HERSELF - Fetish

SHE PLEASURES HERSELF

Fetish

MusicCD
Cold WaveNew wavePost Punk

[91/100]   

Manic Depression
30/01/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Cold wave with a bit of postpunk in one package. She Pleasures Herself is a trio hailing from Lisbon, Portugal who were formed in 2016 by David Wolf (from Uni_form/ When The Angels Breathe and Sweet Nico), producer, synths and guitars together with Nuno Francisco (from Uni_form/Alma Mater Society), on drums and programming and Nuno Varudo (from Persona Project/The Paper Road) as the lead singer and bass player. The music is rather hard to encompass into a single genre. They get inspiration from many bands such as Bauhaus, Depeche Mode, New Order, The Cure and Sisters of Mercy. The sound is blended with ever-present electronics (synths and drum machines) and can be called 'darkwave' over all but above all is still danceable and will get get a lot of people lingering on hundreds of dancefloors.

While listening to the album Fetish, all different influences are recognisable. Time is a dark postpunk song, Crime also. Trust makes me think about Joy Division, woolly all the way. And, the show must go on, She Pleasures Herself must be thinking, when playing Fake. We can hear some nice electric drum machine work which gives this gem extra gleaming sides. An awesome bass-riff and very dark voice lingers through Dance With Her. It sounds more old school new wave-gothic with a very smooth voice.

Tranquilizers make me nervous, I can't relax no more, should I go out or stay in, I never had this feeling before blasts out of the speakers. Yes, a nice cover of Belgium's Red Zebra's monsterhit Can't Live In A Living Room. The guitars seem to come from a long distance, very dry drums, and a dancing bass. Oceans Of Pleasure: blissful deep darkwave. Touch then brings us back to good old postpunk (what's in a name when I am saying 'old'?). Use You In Pogo has less to do with pogo...it's an electronic sounds based song. It brings us to The End. A very dark song, where we can feel a glimpse of Depeche Mode, although it's a dark and deep song,

Conclusion? Great album. Enough variety, sufficient distinctive sound which will get legs moving on many dark dancefloors. This album is well produced, great mixing, but above all great music. I've enjoyed it several times in the meantime, I hope you'll have the same feeling about it.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
30/01/2017


NL

Cold wave met een beetje postpunk in één pakket. She Pleasures Herself is een trio afkomstig uit Lissabon, Portugal, dat in 2016 werd gevormd door David Wolf (van Uni_form / When The Angels Breathe en Sweet Nico), producer, synths en gitaren samen met Nuno Francisco (van Uni_form / Alma Mater Society), op drums en programmering en Nuno Varudo (van Persona Project / The Paper Road) als zanger en bassist. De muziek is nogal moeilijk onder te brengen in één genre. Ze putten inspiratie uit verschillende bands zoals Bauhaus, Depeche Mode, New Order, The Cure, Sisters of Mercy... Het geluid wordt gemengd met elektronica (synths en drum machines) en kan onder de grote noemer coldwave worden geplaatst. De muziek is heel dansbaar en zal veel zwartjassen op de dansvloer krijgen in obscure zaaltjes, dat is zeker.

Tijdens het beluisteren van het album Fetish, zijn de genoemde invloeden heel herkenbaar. Time is een donkere postpunk song, Crime ook. Trust doet denken aan Joy Division, wollig all the way. En de show moet doorgaan, moet She Pleasures Herself hebben gedacht, bij het beluisteren van Fake. We ontwaren aangename elektrische drum machines die zich uit de naad werken. Dat geeft dit juweeltje een aantal extra glanzende en blinkende kantjes. Een geweldige bass-riff en een zeer donkere stem vormen de kern van Dance With Her. Het klinkt als old school new wave-gothic met een zeer gladde stem.

'Tranquilizers make me nervous, I can't relax no more, should I go out or stay in, I never had this feeling before' knalt uit de speakers. Ja hoor, een mooie cover van de monsterhit van het Belgische Red Zebra I can't Live In A Living Room. De gitaren klinken alsof ze van mijlenver toch onze gehoorgang willen bereiken. Zeer droge mokerslagen uit de drummachine en een basgitaar die er vrolijk en zorgeloos doorheen huppelt. Oceans Of Pleasure: zalig diep darkwave. You In Pogo heeft weinig te maken met pogo.. het is een op elektronische klanken gebaseerd lied. En dat brengt ons naar The End, dat zeer donker is. We vangen er een glimp Depeche Mode op, al is het een donker en diep nummer.

De conclusie? Een prachtig album. Genoeg afwisseling, een voldoende eigen geluid dat dat benen aan het dansen zal krijgen op menig donkere dansvloer. Het album is goed geproduced, schitterend gemixt, maar vooral de muziek is schitterend. Ik heb het intussen al vaak beluisterd en hoop dat jullie mijn mening delen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
30/01/2017


 

Next reviews
RAZORLINE • Razorline
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
XTC • Skylarking
THE HUMAN LEAGUE • A Very British Synthesizer Group

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
HONEYMOON COWBOYS • Still
EAUX SAINES • Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape
VANDEL • EXISTENCE
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
ORGANIC • Under Your Carbon Constellation
LES MAITRES • Les Maîtres
DER NOIR • A Dead Summer

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
DER KLINKE • Decade

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!
29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You
01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)