tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

30/01/2017 : SHE PLEASURES HERSELF - Fetish

SHE PLEASURES HERSELF

Fetish

MusicCD
Cold WaveNew wavePost Punk

[91/100]   

Manic Depression
30/01/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Cold wave with a bit of postpunk in one package. She Pleasures Herself is a trio hailing from Lisbon, Portugal who were formed in 2016 by David Wolf (from Uni_form/ When The Angels Breathe and Sweet Nico), producer, synths and guitars together with Nuno Francisco (from Uni_form/Alma Mater Society), on drums and programming and Nuno Varudo (from Persona Project/The Paper Road) as the lead singer and bass player. The music is rather hard to encompass into a single genre. They get inspiration from many bands such as Bauhaus, Depeche Mode, New Order, The Cure and Sisters of Mercy. The sound is blended with ever-present electronics (synths and drum machines) and can be called 'darkwave' over all but above all is still danceable and will get get a lot of people lingering on hundreds of dancefloors.

While listening to the album Fetish, all different influences are recognisable. Time is a dark postpunk song, Crime also. Trust makes me think about Joy Division, woolly all the way. And, the show must go on, She Pleasures Herself must be thinking, when playing Fake. We can hear some nice electric drum machine work which gives this gem extra gleaming sides. An awesome bass-riff and very dark voice lingers through Dance With Her. It sounds more old school new wave-gothic with a very smooth voice.

Tranquilizers make me nervous, I can't relax no more, should I go out or stay in, I never had this feeling before blasts out of the speakers. Yes, a nice cover of Belgium's Red Zebra's monsterhit Can't Live In A Living Room. The guitars seem to come from a long distance, very dry drums, and a dancing bass. Oceans Of Pleasure: blissful deep darkwave. Touch then brings us back to good old postpunk (what's in a name when I am saying 'old'?). Use You In Pogo has less to do with pogo...it's an electronic sounds based song. It brings us to The End. A very dark song, where we can feel a glimpse of Depeche Mode, although it's a dark and deep song,

Conclusion? Great album. Enough variety, sufficient distinctive sound which will get legs moving on many dark dancefloors. This album is well produced, great mixing, but above all great music. I've enjoyed it several times in the meantime, I hope you'll have the same feeling about it.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
30/01/2017


NL

Cold wave met een beetje postpunk in één pakket. She Pleasures Herself is een trio afkomstig uit Lissabon, Portugal, dat in 2016 werd gevormd door David Wolf (van Uni_form / When The Angels Breathe en Sweet Nico), producer, synths en gitaren samen met Nuno Francisco (van Uni_form / Alma Mater Society), op drums en programmering en Nuno Varudo (van Persona Project / The Paper Road) als zanger en bassist. De muziek is nogal moeilijk onder te brengen in één genre. Ze putten inspiratie uit verschillende bands zoals Bauhaus, Depeche Mode, New Order, The Cure, Sisters of Mercy... Het geluid wordt gemengd met elektronica (synths en drum machines) en kan onder de grote noemer coldwave worden geplaatst. De muziek is heel dansbaar en zal veel zwartjassen op de dansvloer krijgen in obscure zaaltjes, dat is zeker.

Tijdens het beluisteren van het album Fetish, zijn de genoemde invloeden heel herkenbaar. Time is een donkere postpunk song, Crime ook. Trust doet denken aan Joy Division, wollig all the way. En de show moet doorgaan, moet She Pleasures Herself hebben gedacht, bij het beluisteren van Fake. We ontwaren aangename elektrische drum machines die zich uit de naad werken. Dat geeft dit juweeltje een aantal extra glanzende en blinkende kantjes. Een geweldige bass-riff en een zeer donkere stem vormen de kern van Dance With Her. Het klinkt als old school new wave-gothic met een zeer gladde stem.

'Tranquilizers make me nervous, I can't relax no more, should I go out or stay in, I never had this feeling before' knalt uit de speakers. Ja hoor, een mooie cover van de monsterhit van het Belgische Red Zebra I can't Live In A Living Room. De gitaren klinken alsof ze van mijlenver toch onze gehoorgang willen bereiken. Zeer droge mokerslagen uit de drummachine en een basgitaar die er vrolijk en zorgeloos doorheen huppelt. Oceans Of Pleasure: zalig diep darkwave. You In Pogo heeft weinig te maken met pogo.. het is een op elektronische klanken gebaseerd lied. En dat brengt ons naar The End, dat zeer donker is. We vangen er een glimp Depeche Mode op, al is het een donker en diep nummer.

De conclusie? Een prachtig album. Genoeg afwisseling, een voldoende eigen geluid dat dat benen aan het dansen zal krijgen op menig donkere dansvloer. Het album is goed geproduced, schitterend gemixt, maar vooral de muziek is schitterend. Ik heb het intussen al vaak beluisterd en hoop dat jullie mijn mening delen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
30/01/2017


 

Next reviews
RAZORLINE • Razorline
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
XTC • Skylarking
THE HUMAN LEAGUE • A Very British Synthesizer Group

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
HONEYMOON COWBOYS • Still
EAUX SAINES • Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape
VANDEL • EXISTENCE
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
ORGANIC • Under Your Carbon Constellation
LES MAITRES • Les Maîtres
DER NOIR • A Dead Summer

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline
O VEUX • O Veux
WINTER SEVERITY INDEX • Human Taxonomy
NORMA LOY • Baphomet
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
THE NAMES • Names In Mutation
HANTE • This Fog That Never Ends
ATOMIC NEON • The Bodanegra Session
DAGEIST • 40

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
MEDIUM MEDIUM • The Glitterhouse
LES PANTIES • Cold Science
CRISPY AMBULANCE • Random Textures / Compulsion
EGRETS ON EGROT • Serve Us Tender
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter

Music reviews

22
09
CULT WITH NO NAME
Heir Of The Dog
20
09
THE NAMES
German Nights
18
09
SPARKS
Hippopotamus
16
09
SPARE SNARE
Unicorn
14
09
SPREADING POINT
MOMENTUM - PART II
04
09
HEXHEART
Midnight on a Moonless Night

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
09
The Knife releases new live album & DVD 'Live at Terminal 5
16
09
LA SCALTRA releases first video single from the forthcoming album FREAKSHOW
15
09
Mortiis releases a free 3-track charity single “Too Little Too Late'
13
09
New album from Electronica project MAURI - 'CYBORGS'
07
09
CAN founder and musician Holger Czukay died at the age of 79
30
08
WAX TRAX! EXPANDS MUSIC DOCUMENTARY WITH SO-CAL EVENT

Concert reviews

27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller
26
06
KRYONIX, SYNTHATTACK, BLEIB MODERN, WHISPERING SONS, THE VISION BLEAK
Zondag 4 juni

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
THE WEATHERMEN
The inside story of how The Weathermen's big hit 'Poison' was made...
19
09
MARTYR WHORE
''as a lady orgasm multiply times by 100000000000000'. This night was a big surprise cause we were not programmed in the line up in Madrid'
17
09
VERSUS
‘TO PRODUCE A COMMERCIAL ALBUM WAS NEVER OUR INTENTION’
15
09
MASQUERADE
It's too difficult as it is to tour these days when people prefer to stay at home and watch videos from the 80's on YouTube
13
09
THE QUINSY
Each concert is unique. But we are famous for our powerful gigs

PHOTOS

23
09
MECHANICAL CABARET
The Garage, London, UK
22
09
LEBANON HANOVER
The Garage, London, UK
22
09
SHE PAST AWAY
The Garage, London, UK
13
09
KMFDM
O2 Academy Islington, London, UK
12
09
REVOLTING COCKS
O2 Academy Islington, London, UK
28
08
DIE KRUPPS
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
28
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
DAVID BOWIE
Blackstar
22
09
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
21
09
THE CURE
The Lovecats
20
09
IAMX
North Star
19
09
TRAIN TO SPAIN
Believe In Love
18
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
17
09
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn