casinomaxi casino metropol canli casino

EN NL

30/01/2017 : SHE PLEASURES HERSELF - Fetish

SHE PLEASURES HERSELF

Fetish

MusicCD
Cold WaveNew wavePost Punk

[91/100]   

Manic Depression
30/01/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Cold wave with a bit of postpunk in one package. She Pleasures Herself is a trio hailing from Lisbon, Portugal who were formed in 2016 by David Wolf (from Uni_form/ When The Angels Breathe and Sweet Nico), producer, synths and guitars together with Nuno Francisco (from Uni_form/Alma Mater Society), on drums and programming and Nuno Varudo (from Persona Project/The Paper Road) as the lead singer and bass player. The music is rather hard to encompass into a single genre. They get inspiration from many bands such as Bauhaus, Depeche Mode, New Order, The Cure and Sisters of Mercy. The sound is blended with ever-present electronics (synths and drum machines) and can be called 'darkwave' over all but above all is still danceable and will get get a lot of people lingering on hundreds of dancefloors.

While listening to the album Fetish, all different influences are recognisable. Time is a dark postpunk song, Crime also. Trust makes me think about Joy Division, woolly all the way. And, the show must go on, She Pleasures Herself must be thinking, when playing Fake. We can hear some nice electric drum machine work which gives this gem extra gleaming sides. An awesome bass-riff and very dark voice lingers through Dance With Her. It sounds more old school new wave-gothic with a very smooth voice.

Tranquilizers make me nervous, I can't relax no more, should I go out or stay in, I never had this feeling before blasts out of the speakers. Yes, a nice cover of Belgium's Red Zebra's monsterhit Can't Live In A Living Room. The guitars seem to come from a long distance, very dry drums, and a dancing bass. Oceans Of Pleasure: blissful deep darkwave. Touch then brings us back to good old postpunk (what's in a name when I am saying 'old'?). Use You In Pogo has less to do with pogo...it's an electronic sounds based song. It brings us to The End. A very dark song, where we can feel a glimpse of Depeche Mode, although it's a dark and deep song,

Conclusion? Great album. Enough variety, sufficient distinctive sound which will get legs moving on many dark dancefloors. This album is well produced, great mixing, but above all great music. I've enjoyed it several times in the meantime, I hope you'll have the same feeling about it.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
30/01/2017


NL

Cold wave met een beetje postpunk in één pakket. She Pleasures Herself is een trio afkomstig uit Lissabon, Portugal, dat in 2016 werd gevormd door David Wolf (van Uni_form / When The Angels Breathe en Sweet Nico), producer, synths en gitaren samen met Nuno Francisco (van Uni_form / Alma Mater Society), op drums en programmering en Nuno Varudo (van Persona Project / The Paper Road) als zanger en bassist. De muziek is nogal moeilijk onder te brengen in één genre. Ze putten inspiratie uit verschillende bands zoals Bauhaus, Depeche Mode, New Order, The Cure, Sisters of Mercy... Het geluid wordt gemengd met elektronica (synths en drum machines) en kan onder de grote noemer coldwave worden geplaatst. De muziek is heel dansbaar en zal veel zwartjassen op de dansvloer krijgen in obscure zaaltjes, dat is zeker.

Tijdens het beluisteren van het album Fetish, zijn de genoemde invloeden heel herkenbaar. Time is een donkere postpunk song, Crime ook. Trust doet denken aan Joy Division, wollig all the way. En de show moet doorgaan, moet She Pleasures Herself hebben gedacht, bij het beluisteren van Fake. We ontwaren aangename elektrische drum machines die zich uit de naad werken. Dat geeft dit juweeltje een aantal extra glanzende en blinkende kantjes. Een geweldige bass-riff en een zeer donkere stem vormen de kern van Dance With Her. Het klinkt als old school new wave-gothic met een zeer gladde stem.

'Tranquilizers make me nervous, I can't relax no more, should I go out or stay in, I never had this feeling before' knalt uit de speakers. Ja hoor, een mooie cover van de monsterhit van het Belgische Red Zebra I can't Live In A Living Room. De gitaren klinken alsof ze van mijlenver toch onze gehoorgang willen bereiken. Zeer droge mokerslagen uit de drummachine en een basgitaar die er vrolijk en zorgeloos doorheen huppelt. Oceans Of Pleasure: zalig diep darkwave. You In Pogo heeft weinig te maken met pogo.. het is een op elektronische klanken gebaseerd lied. En dat brengt ons naar The End, dat zeer donker is. We vangen er een glimp Depeche Mode op, al is het een donker en diep nummer.

De conclusie? Een prachtig album. Genoeg afwisseling, een voldoende eigen geluid dat dat benen aan het dansen zal krijgen op menig donkere dansvloer. Het album is goed geproduced, schitterend gemixt, maar vooral de muziek is schitterend. Ik heb het intussen al vaak beluisterd en hoop dat jullie mijn mening delen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
30/01/2017


 

Next reviews
RAZORLINE • Razorline
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
XTC • Skylarking
THE HUMAN LEAGUE • A Very British Synthesizer Group

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
HONEYMOON COWBOYS • Still
EAUX SAINES • Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape
VANDEL • EXISTENCE
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
ORGANIC • Under Your Carbon Constellation
LES MAITRES • Les Maîtres
DER NOIR • A Dead Summer

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline
O VEUX • O Veux
WINTER SEVERITY INDEX • Human Taxonomy
NORMA LOY • Baphomet
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
THE NAMES • Names In Mutation
HANTE • This Fog That Never Ends
ATOMIC NEON • The Bodanegra Session
DAGEIST • 40

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
SIMPLE MINDS • New Gold Dream '81 '82 '83 '84

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
MEDIUM MEDIUM • The Glitterhouse
LES PANTIES • Cold Science
CRISPY AMBULANCE • Random Textures / Compulsion
EGRETS ON EGROT • Serve Us Tender
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
KARIES • Es Geht Sich Aus
ODONIS ODONIS • Post Plague
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days

Music reviews

29
03
STRUCKTURA
Satues Also Die
27
03
PHALLUS DEI
Black Dawn
25
03
CYGNOSIC
Siren
24
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
(STILL) Heartless
23
03
PEINE PERDUE
Histoire d'une Âme
21
03
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO
Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
CUBANATE is back with ‘BRUTALISM'- a retrospective collection!
27
03
Steven Severin releases (a lot of) new work
26
03
DIVE (Dirk Ivens) releases brand new studio album 'Underneath'
24
03
115 bands announced for Wave Gotik Treffen
23
03
Alison Moyet announces new album “Other” (& tour)
22
03
Lokerse Feesten: 19 new bands announced!

Concert reviews

26
03
26 TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - JUNE 2TH - 5 TH 2017
Some minimal bands to check out !
21
03
ELM, MONO ELECTRONIC DENSITY, LUMYIA
Les Vierges Morbides, Café Bobble, Lomme/Rijsel - 11 maart 2017
02
03
THIS MORN'OMINA, STIN SCATZOR, MIREXXX, NOIZE MACHINE
Dark Discharge Industrial Night - Roubaix - 25/02/2017
28
01
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT
Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017
12
12
GROUND NERO - CHARNIER
Kinky Star - 9 december
11
12
KILLING JOKE
Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
03
ALVAR
2017 Dark Demo(n)s candidate
27
03
X-MOUTH SYNDROME
2017 Dark Demo(n)s candidate
24
03
ELM
2017 Dark Demo(n)s candidate
22
03
31ST TILE
2017 Dark Demo(n)s candidate
21
03
CAUSENATION
2017 Dark Demo(n)s candidate

PHOTOS

19
03
COLD CAVE
Fantastique Night XLXI, Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
19
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Fantastique Night XLXI, Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
13
03
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
DownHill XI Edition, Poppodium Volt, Sittard, The Netherlands
13
03
SUICIDE COMMANDO
DownHill XI Edition, Poppodium Volt, Sittard, The Netherlands
13
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
DownHill XI Edition, Poppodium Volt, Sittard, The Netherlands
13
03
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
DownHill XI Edition, Poppodium Volt, Sittard, The Netherlands
11
03
LEBANON HANOVER
BEURSSCHOUWBURG, Brussels, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

30
03
COVENANT
Sound Mirrors
29
03
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Conjure
28
03
GOOSE
Synrise
27
03
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love
26
03
BLONDIE
Call Me
25
03
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
24
03
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg