tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/02/2012 : DER NOIR - A Dead Summer

DER NOIR

A Dead Summer

MusicCD
Cold WaveNew wavePost Punk

[86/100]   
27/02/2012, Didier PIETERS

EN

 Release-date: January 31, 2012

 A legend is born: DER NOIR!

A Cure/Sol Invictus intro, Cold Wave drums and impressive bass playing, resulting in a perfect New Wave / Gothic song … It’s possible! “Private Ceremony” is one of the best songs I've already heard this year: the voice is brilliant and the guitars are sublime. “A Dead Summer” offers fantastic (Minimal) Wave / Dark New Wave right from the start!

Der Noir is a Roman darkblack trio starring Manuele Frau (Voice), Luciano Lamanna (Rolands, Korgs and other Moogs) and Manuel Mazzenga (guitars). “A Dead Summer” is their highly recommended first album, offering 9 “Cold Pop Noir”-songs in English AND beautiful Italian. It’s also the first release on the new RBL Music Italia Label. Der Noir got help from some talented (and even sexy) musicians! The guest stars on “A Dead Summer” are Alessandro Adriani from the Mannequin Label AND Newclear Waves, Andreas Herz, Marco Benevento and the lovely Valentina “Mushy”.

A velvet melancholic timbre, dark depressive lyrics, ferociously “weeping” guitars and a great bass sound … I (utterly and absolutely) like and yes … I would (eagerly) recommend this to a friend!

To all you vinyl-freaks: there is also a limited vinyl edition of “A Dead Summer” out there. There are only 300 copies available, SO HURRY!

 

Didier PIETERS
27/02/2012


NL

Release-datum: 31 januari 2012

Introducing … (tromgeroffel): DER NOIR!

Een Cure/Sol Invictus intro, Cold Wave drums (uit een machientje, uiteraard) en vette bassen, riekend naar de oksels van Peter Hook, uitmondend in een perfecte New Wave / Gothic song. Het kan! Der Noir levert meteen (Minimal) Wave / Dark New Wave van de bovenste plank. “Private Ceremony” is één van de beste songs die ik dit jaar al hoorde: de stem is top en de gitaren zijn subliem. Laagje na laagje wordt toegevoegd, steeds meer waarde biedend. Wat een start van Manuele Frau (stem), Luciano Lamanna (Rolands, Korgs en andere Moogs) en Manuel Mazzenga (gitaren), samen Der Noir.

“A Dead Summer” is het debuutalbum van dit inktzwarte Romeinse trio. En het is een aanrader van formaat! Een beproefd recept in een eigentijds jasje, in Engels en Italiaans. Het label van dienst? Nieuwkomer RBL Music Italia. Der Noir kreeg overigens hulp van schoon en getalenteerd volk. Zo zijn er gastrolletjes voor Alessandro Adriani van het Mannequin label EN het fantastische Newclear Waves, Andreas Herz, Marco Benevento en niemand minder dan Valentina “Mushy”!

9 “Cold Pop Noir” Songs … een melancholisch timbre, donkerzwarte teksten, weemoedige gitaren en een strak basgeluid … Vind ik (uitermate en absoluut) leuk! En U? Kopen, die hap! Er is ook een gelimiteerde vinyleditie (300 exemplaren) verkrijgbaar!

Didier PIETERS
27/02/2012


 

Next reviews
CHAOS ALL STARS • I Need It All
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Iscariot Blues
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON: • The Lone Descent
NEON ELECTRONICS • Keylogger
SOPHYA • Words & Sounds
THE EDEN HOUSE • Timeflows
WINTERKÄLTE • Disturbance
APRIL • Sunderlands
FLUE • Vista
HEIMSTATT YIPOTASH • HY Breed

 

Other reviews from DER NOIR
DER NOIR • A Certain Idea Of Love

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
HONEYMOON COWBOYS • Still
EAUX SAINES • Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape
VANDEL • EXISTENCE
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
ORGANIC • Under Your Carbon Constellation
LES MAITRES • Les Maîtres

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!
01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp