tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/02/2012 : DER NOIR - A Dead Summer

DER NOIR

A Dead Summer

MusicCD
Cold WaveNew wavePost Punk

[86/100]   
27/02/2012, Didier PIETERS

EN

 Release-date: January 31, 2012

 A legend is born: DER NOIR!

A Cure/Sol Invictus intro, Cold Wave drums and impressive bass playing, resulting in a perfect New Wave / Gothic song … It’s possible! “Private Ceremony” is one of the best songs I've already heard this year: the voice is brilliant and the guitars are sublime. “A Dead Summer” offers fantastic (Minimal) Wave / Dark New Wave right from the start!

Der Noir is a Roman darkblack trio starring Manuele Frau (Voice), Luciano Lamanna (Rolands, Korgs and other Moogs) and Manuel Mazzenga (guitars). “A Dead Summer” is their highly recommended first album, offering 9 “Cold Pop Noir”-songs in English AND beautiful Italian. It’s also the first release on the new RBL Music Italia Label. Der Noir got help from some talented (and even sexy) musicians! The guest stars on “A Dead Summer” are Alessandro Adriani from the Mannequin Label AND Newclear Waves, Andreas Herz, Marco Benevento and the lovely Valentina “Mushy”.

A velvet melancholic timbre, dark depressive lyrics, ferociously “weeping” guitars and a great bass sound … I (utterly and absolutely) like and yes … I would (eagerly) recommend this to a friend!

To all you vinyl-freaks: there is also a limited vinyl edition of “A Dead Summer” out there. There are only 300 copies available, SO HURRY!

 

Didier PIETERS
27/02/2012


NL

Release-datum: 31 januari 2012

Introducing … (tromgeroffel): DER NOIR!

Een Cure/Sol Invictus intro, Cold Wave drums (uit een machientje, uiteraard) en vette bassen, riekend naar de oksels van Peter Hook, uitmondend in een perfecte New Wave / Gothic song. Het kan! Der Noir levert meteen (Minimal) Wave / Dark New Wave van de bovenste plank. “Private Ceremony” is één van de beste songs die ik dit jaar al hoorde: de stem is top en de gitaren zijn subliem. Laagje na laagje wordt toegevoegd, steeds meer waarde biedend. Wat een start van Manuele Frau (stem), Luciano Lamanna (Rolands, Korgs en andere Moogs) en Manuel Mazzenga (gitaren), samen Der Noir.

“A Dead Summer” is het debuutalbum van dit inktzwarte Romeinse trio. En het is een aanrader van formaat! Een beproefd recept in een eigentijds jasje, in Engels en Italiaans. Het label van dienst? Nieuwkomer RBL Music Italia. Der Noir kreeg overigens hulp van schoon en getalenteerd volk. Zo zijn er gastrolletjes voor Alessandro Adriani van het Mannequin label EN het fantastische Newclear Waves, Andreas Herz, Marco Benevento en niemand minder dan Valentina “Mushy”!

9 “Cold Pop Noir” Songs … een melancholisch timbre, donkerzwarte teksten, weemoedige gitaren en een strak basgeluid … Vind ik (uitermate en absoluut) leuk! En U? Kopen, die hap! Er is ook een gelimiteerde vinyleditie (300 exemplaren) verkrijgbaar!

Didier PIETERS
27/02/2012


 

Next reviews
CHAOS ALL STARS • I Need It All
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Iscariot Blues
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON: • The Lone Descent
NEON ELECTRONICS • Keylogger
SOPHYA • Words & Sounds
THE EDEN HOUSE • Timeflows
WINTERKÄLTE • Disturbance
APRIL • Sunderlands
FLUE • Vista
HEIMSTATT YIPOTASH • HY Breed

 

Other reviews from DER NOIR
DER NOIR • A Certain Idea Of Love

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
HONEYMOON COWBOYS • Still
EAUX SAINES • Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape
VANDEL • EXISTENCE
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
ORGANIC • Under Your Carbon Constellation
LES MAITRES • Les Maîtres

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song
24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh