tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/02/2012 : DER NOIR - A Dead Summer

DER NOIR

A Dead Summer

MusicCD
Cold WaveNew wavePost Punk

[86/100]   
27/02/2012, Didier PIETERS

EN

 Release-date: January 31, 2012

 A legend is born: DER NOIR!

A Cure/Sol Invictus intro, Cold Wave drums and impressive bass playing, resulting in a perfect New Wave / Gothic song … It’s possible! “Private Ceremony” is one of the best songs I've already heard this year: the voice is brilliant and the guitars are sublime. “A Dead Summer” offers fantastic (Minimal) Wave / Dark New Wave right from the start!

Der Noir is a Roman darkblack trio starring Manuele Frau (Voice), Luciano Lamanna (Rolands, Korgs and other Moogs) and Manuel Mazzenga (guitars). “A Dead Summer” is their highly recommended first album, offering 9 “Cold Pop Noir”-songs in English AND beautiful Italian. It’s also the first release on the new RBL Music Italia Label. Der Noir got help from some talented (and even sexy) musicians! The guest stars on “A Dead Summer” are Alessandro Adriani from the Mannequin Label AND Newclear Waves, Andreas Herz, Marco Benevento and the lovely Valentina “Mushy”.

A velvet melancholic timbre, dark depressive lyrics, ferociously “weeping” guitars and a great bass sound … I (utterly and absolutely) like and yes … I would (eagerly) recommend this to a friend!

To all you vinyl-freaks: there is also a limited vinyl edition of “A Dead Summer” out there. There are only 300 copies available, SO HURRY!

 

Didier PIETERS
27/02/2012


NL

Release-datum: 31 januari 2012

Introducing … (tromgeroffel): DER NOIR!

Een Cure/Sol Invictus intro, Cold Wave drums (uit een machientje, uiteraard) en vette bassen, riekend naar de oksels van Peter Hook, uitmondend in een perfecte New Wave / Gothic song. Het kan! Der Noir levert meteen (Minimal) Wave / Dark New Wave van de bovenste plank. “Private Ceremony” is één van de beste songs die ik dit jaar al hoorde: de stem is top en de gitaren zijn subliem. Laagje na laagje wordt toegevoegd, steeds meer waarde biedend. Wat een start van Manuele Frau (stem), Luciano Lamanna (Rolands, Korgs en andere Moogs) en Manuel Mazzenga (gitaren), samen Der Noir.

“A Dead Summer” is het debuutalbum van dit inktzwarte Romeinse trio. En het is een aanrader van formaat! Een beproefd recept in een eigentijds jasje, in Engels en Italiaans. Het label van dienst? Nieuwkomer RBL Music Italia. Der Noir kreeg overigens hulp van schoon en getalenteerd volk. Zo zijn er gastrolletjes voor Alessandro Adriani van het Mannequin label EN het fantastische Newclear Waves, Andreas Herz, Marco Benevento en niemand minder dan Valentina “Mushy”!

9 “Cold Pop Noir” Songs … een melancholisch timbre, donkerzwarte teksten, weemoedige gitaren en een strak basgeluid … Vind ik (uitermate en absoluut) leuk! En U? Kopen, die hap! Er is ook een gelimiteerde vinyleditie (300 exemplaren) verkrijgbaar!

Didier PIETERS
27/02/2012


 

Next reviews
CHAOS ALL STARS • I Need It All
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Iscariot Blues
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON: • The Lone Descent
NEON ELECTRONICS • Keylogger
SOPHYA • Words & Sounds
THE EDEN HOUSE • Timeflows
WINTERKÄLTE • Disturbance
APRIL • Sunderlands
FLUE • Vista
HEIMSTATT YIPOTASH • HY Breed

 

Other reviews from DER NOIR
DER NOIR • A Certain Idea Of Love

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
HONEYMOON COWBOYS • Still
EAUX SAINES • Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape
VANDEL • EXISTENCE
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
ORGANIC • Under Your Carbon Constellation
LES MAITRES • Les Maîtres

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)