tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

24/02/2012 : SOPHYA - Words & Sounds

SOPHYA

Words & Sounds

MusicVinyl
Cold WaveDark WaveNew wave

[82/100]   
24/02/2012, Filip VAN MUYLEM

It was a nice coming home discovering Sophya's new album in my mailbox. It was back in 2003 that I had last seen them, on stage at a "lefantasique.night". They have grown a lot since Ronny Moorings (Clan of Xymox) discovered them. They still have some Xymox sound on them, mixed with retro 80's, Dark en Classic New Wave (and some Siouxsie and the Banshees & Faith and the Muse sound). Idan and Sonja know what they are doing and keep you captivated through the whole album. I started picking up 'More', 'Another day', 'Desire', 'Blossom' (love the guitars and electric drums, 'Fiftyfour',... I was really driven far away with this song and really sunk into the music. The repeat buttom was on, so it took me hours before I decided to do something else and yes: it was hard leaving this kind of heavenly music behind.

www.sophya.net

www.facebook.com/sophyamusic

Filip VAN MUYLEM
24/02/2012


 

Next reviews
THE EDEN HOUSE • Timeflows
WINTERKÄLTE • Disturbance
APRIL • Sunderlands
FLUE • Vista
HEIMSTATT YIPOTASH • HY Breed
GRANDCHAOS • Rumours Of My Life
BLOOD AXIS • Ultimacy
FAUST • Something Dirty
JACK BEAUREGARD • The Magazines You Read
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Hardware

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + DARK WAVE + NEW WAVE
THE ALTERNATIVE WITH CHRIS ATWOOD • The Alternative With Chris Atwood Compilation
STUPID BITCH REJECT • Stupid Bitch Reject
INDIANS IN MOSCOW • Indians in Moscow
CHARLES DE GOAL • Crimson Muddle | Organic | LeFantastique.Night | T.A.G., Brussels (BE) | 3rd of December 2011

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain